Anyone have full draw for quarters??
LUCOZADE SPORT MUNSTER JUNIOR CUP
Quarter Final Draw
Leeside v Pike Rvs
Villa or Blackcastle v Nenagh AFC
Tramore or Lisselton v Carrick or Regional
Clonmel Town v Clonmel Celtic
Games to take place on Sunday 28th March 2010
In the event of a team being involved in the FAI Senior Cup on the 28th March their quarter final game will take place on the 21/3/10 if possible, otherwise on the 4/4/10.
littleman
02/03/2010, 8:05 PM
At least Leeside are at home,an they will give Oike a good game.Leeside have to be delighted with the draw at home in the quaters.
el nino coro
03/03/2010, 5:58 PM
rockmount in munster senior cup semi final last year and gratton in fai two or three years ago
Rockmount got to the final of the munster senior cup last year where they were beaten 2-1 by waterford united.
http://www.paddypower.com/football/irish-football/munster-junior-cup?ev_oc_grp_ids=91532
Paddy Powers have priced up munster junior cup.
Pike Rovers 10/3 (javascript:void(0);) Nenagh 8/1 (javascript:void(0);) Lisselton 16/1 (javascript:void(0);) Clonmel Town 7/2 (javascript:void(0);) Clonmel Celtic 9/1 (javascript:void(0);) Villa FC 16/1 (javascript:void(0);) Carrick United 9/2 (javascript:void(0);) Tramore AFC 9/1 (javascript:void(0);) Blackcastle 33/1 (javascript:void(0);) Leeside 13/2 (javascript:void(0);) Regional United 10/1 (javascript:void(0);)
Begrudger
06/03/2010, 4:38 PM
Evertonian,if you were from outside of Cork Id understand such a comment as one posted by someone who hasnt a clue about the state of junior soccer in Cork .But your I take it from your avatar,an Everton person.How in the name of all things holy would you post a statement like you just have.Leeside only won the Munster Junior a couple of seasons back.Greenmount a few before that an Passage also.Grattan lost the quaters of then Fai junior only 3 seasons ago an the last 16 only the next season.
Kinsale have reached the last 16 only last year an a few other times also on an Leeside have a great chance of reaching a quater final of the Fai this week,an are already in the quaters of the Munster junior.Not to mention Springfield who have been super on their cup run to the Fai last 16.Cork Aul sides have been doing better an better,especially in the Fai an Mjc,you simply cant compare the Msl junior sides to the top Aul sides.You would have been far more correct if you had said the MSL junior sides have had little or no success reaching the latter stages of the Munster Junior or Fai.Im all for being honest but what ya posted was,no is just nonsence.
I would have to agree more with the previous poster it does seem as though teams from cork have under achieved in recent years in MJC and FAI to be fair saying a team reached the quarter finals of these competitions is good for that club but far from good in terms of a league and county the size of cork when you concider the size of the pool of players available in cork. Look at clonmell 2 teams representing them in the last 16 and they have no where near the catchment areas of some clubs in parts of cork city.
Be honest with your self the standard of junior football in cork is way below what it should be... And it seems as though the senior sides have been getting well and truly crushed by junior sides like pike in the munster senior cup for years .
nononsense
07/03/2010, 10:21 PM
Result of game to-day - Villa (Waterford) 2, Blackcastle (Templemore) 1. Villa now at home to Nenagh. Way now clear for all quarter-finals on Sunday March 28th.
limfan
08/03/2010, 12:22 PM
Does anyone know has the draw been made for the 1/4 finals?
Innishvilla
08/03/2010, 12:38 PM
Does anyone know has the draw been made for the 1/4 finals?
Leeside v Pike Rovers
Villa FC v Nenagh AFC
Tramore/Lisselton v Carrick/Regional
Clonmel Town v Clonmel Celtic
Nononsense do you have results from Tramore v Lisselton and Carrick v Regional games if the 1/4 lineup is now complete as I've missed those?
nononsense
08/03/2010, 10:25 PM
Sorry Innishvilla, I was premature with my comments. The Tramore/Lisselton game is scheduled for next Sunday 14th March. The Carrick/Regional game is scheduled for either March 21st or March 28th, depending on Regional's possible involvment in F.A.I. Senior Cup.
Innishvilla
09/03/2010, 8:13 AM
Sorry Innishvilla, I was premature with my comments. The Tramore/Lisselton game is scheduled for next Sunday 14th March. The Carrick/Regional game is scheduled for either March 21st or March 28th, depending on Regional's possible involvment in F.A.I. Senior Cup.
No bother - I was just afraid I'd missed the results...
super_mario
09/03/2010, 12:15 PM
I would have to agree more with the previous poster it does seem as though teams from cork have under achieved in recent years in MJC and FAI to be fair saying a team reached the quarter finals of these competitions is good for that club but far from good in terms of a league and county the size of cork when you concider the size of the pool of players available in cork. Look at clonmell 2 teams representing them in the last 16 and they have no where near the catchment areas of some clubs in parts of cork city.
Be honest with your self the standard of junior football in cork is way below what it should be... And it seems as though the senior sides have been getting well and truly crushed by junior sides like pike in the munster senior cup for years .
Cant understand these comments at all yes we have more players to choose from down in cork but also the players have lots of more teams to choose from, in my area alone there is something like 22 if not more teams in a 5 mile radius, and thats not including teams just outside the city such as leeside, ballincollig, etc, and 4-5 very very good GAA teams all trying to get the best players for there respective teams so the competition for players is fierce
Begrudger
10/03/2010, 5:17 AM
Cant understand these comments at all yes we have more players to choose from down in cork but also the players have lots of more teams to choose from, in my area alone there is something like 22 if not more teams in a 5 mile radius, and thats not including teams just outside the city such as leeside, ballincollig, etc, and 4-5 very very good GAA teams all trying to get the best players for there respective teams so the competition for players is fierce
And clubs in limerick or clonmel aren't tapping up young lads ie rugby in limk and hurling in clonmel. My point is only that i personally believe junior football in cork is under achieving as a reult of senior soccer which is a shame...................
Innishvilla
10/03/2010, 8:00 AM
And clubs in limerick or clonmel aren't tapping up young lads ie rugby in limk and hurling in clonmel. My point is only that i personally believe junior football in cork is under achieving as a reult of senior soccer which is a shame...................
OK that's a bit different now - yes cork Junior soccer is not as strong as others mainly due to the presence of a large Senior League; but also due to an element of talent dilution... Look at the number of clubs in cork - Cork AUL 94 teams - Cork Business & shipping league 20 - MSL 30 intermediate + 23 junior - West Cork League 33 teams, and there are also a batch of east cork clubs in the West Waterford/East Cork league - say half 10. That give a total of >200 clubs in Cork... and as outlined above in the city the areas where soccer is strongest there can be a lot of teams competing for the players.
I acknowledge the competition from other sports is pretty much the same everywhere else - I wouldn't look at that as an excuse as every club in the country has this issue - but I also think we can all say that the story in Clonmel is the exception rather than the rule, it really is a credit to the town to produce two teams of that level - there must be an excellent underage structure bringing through all these talented players!
But I also think some earlier comments about the MSL senior teams being weak are a bit off - in one off cup games you can get some weird results but looking back over the years the MSL have been very strong in the FAI intermediate and in the FAI senior - even this year 4 of the 8 1/4 finalists in the Munster Senior cup are Cork sides.
thebooboys
10/03/2010, 7:40 PM
redcardrory, the answer is easy. Cork Aul teams compete with the top teams in most other counties eg limerick, tipp etc. No disrespect to St. Marys but they are not a rockmount, avondale or douglas hall. that would be a different kettle of fish for ye. That said the cork AUL does have some very strong teams that would push most top limerick teams. Pike vs Leeside in 2 weeks will hopefully be a tough,close encounter. junior in limerick is so strong because that is ye're top tier of teams...........
limfan
15/03/2010, 1:56 PM
Tramore 1-1 Lisselton (Lisselton won on penalties)
Wel done Lisselton. They have a home tie in the next round and getting that expierience of the fai 1/4 final last year and reaching the last 8 of the mjc i fancy them as strong contenders for this competition esp now at home teams wont like travelling down here to kerry.
Innishvilla
15/03/2010, 2:33 PM
With Munster clubs doing so well in the FAI this years MJC line up looks seriously strong -
Pike, Clonmel Town and Regional - all semi-finalists in FAI
Carrick, Leeside, Clonmel Celtic - got to last 16 in FAI
only 3 of the nine team left in competition didn't have significant runs in FAI (Nenagh AFC, Villa FC and Lisselton) and none of them are bad sides either...
Great season for Munster football - here's hoping for some cracking games.
My pick of the 1/4's are the visit of the extreamly impressive Pike to a strong Leeside side and the battle between the two Clonmel sides...
limfan
15/03/2010, 2:50 PM
With Munster clubs doing so well in the FAI this years MJC line up looks seriously strong -
Pike, Clonmel Town and Regional - all semi-finalists in FAI
Carrick, Leeside, Clonmel Celtic - got to last 16 in FAI
only 3 of the nine team left in competition didn't have significant runs in FAI (Nenagh AFC, Villa FC and Lisselton) and none of them are bad sides either...
Great season for Munster football - here's hoping for some cracking games.
My pick of the 1/4's are the visit of the extreamly impressive Pike to a strong Leeside side and the battle between the two Clonmel sides...
Couldnt agree more
Junior football is so strong in Munster its nearly as hard to win the mjc than it is the fai
inspiron
15/03/2010, 6:07 PM
Tramore 1-1 Lisselton (Lisselton won on penalties)
Wel done Lisselton. They have a home tie in the next round and getting that expierience of the fai 1/4 final last year and reaching the last 8 of the mjc i fancy them as strong contenders for this competition esp now at home teams wont like travelling down here to kerry.
Tramore better team by a country mile here, simply could not score. Hard to see Carrick or Regional falling in Kerry.
limfan
16/03/2010, 11:52 AM
Tramore better team by a country mile here, simply could not score. Hard to see Carrick or Regional falling in Kerry.
I wasnt at the game, reports down here suggest that Tramore were the better team, In the past Kerry teams either in fai or mjc always fail away from home. Lisselton were missing a few players and were always gna be up against it. Fair play to them for their win and hard luck Tramore.
Any team that comes down to Kerry will find it tough aginst lisselton, a good example in the past when teams like waterford ud, kilkenny city, cobh ramblers and cork city have played aginst kerry(6 or 7 lisselton players) in Eircom league cup, they were by miles the better teams but failed to win.
Home advantage is huge.
nononsense
16/03/2010, 10:52 PM
munster junior cup 23/03/10
carrick v regionel 2.30 carrick
The 23rd hardly correct - a Tuesday afternoon at 2.30pm? Should it be Sunday next 21/03/10?
abbeyvale
16/03/2010, 10:59 PM
The 23rd hardly correct - a Tuesday afternoon at 2.30pm? Should it be Sunday next 21/03/10?
Yes, its this Sunday the 21/03/10
realcelt
17/03/2010, 9:55 AM
I wasnt at the game, reports down here suggest that Tramore were the better team, In the past Kerry teams either in fai or mjc always fail away from home. Lisselton were missing a few players and were always gna be up against it. Fair play to them for their win and hard luck Tramore.
Any team that comes down to Kerry will find it tough aginst lisselton, a good example in the past when teams like waterford ud, kilkenny city, cobh ramblers and cork city have played aginst kerry(6 or 7 lisselton players) in Eircom league cup, they were by miles the better teams but failed to win.
Home advantage is huge.
Alot of that would of been down to all the former Dynamos players on the team being honest I think:smirk:
inspiron
17/03/2010, 9:23 PM
Reading the local Waterford paper they said Tramore simple threw the game away last week.
Innishvilla
19/03/2010, 3:23 PM
Semi Final draw
Clonmel Town or Clonmel Celtic v Villa FC or Nenagh AFC
Leeside or Pike Rvs v Lisselton Rvs or Carrick Utd or Regional Utd
carrick hoops
21/03/2010, 4:27 PM
carrick 4 regional 0
.regional started the better , but once carrick scored at the end of the first half , they never looked in trouble ,
makes last weeks loss in the f a i even more frustrating !!!
2 each for the fitzgeralds (wayne and tommy)... away in kerry next ..
Poolman
21/03/2010, 7:26 PM
Won't have it all yere own way down there carrick.they are very strong at home.who won town and Celtic match
nononsense
21/03/2010, 10:09 PM
Clonmel Town v Clonmel Celtic is scheduled for next week-end.
limfan
23/03/2010, 10:31 AM
I am looking forward to this game, it should be a cracker and i would agree that carrick wont have it all their own way.
My prediction would be extra time and peno's
soccer8
23/03/2010, 10:59 AM
I am looking forward to this game, it should be a cracker and i would agree that carrick wont have it all their own way.
My prediction would be extra time and peno's
I reckon Carrick will come out on top...... 4-0 v Regional was the scoreline flattering or were they far better than regional?
Gearysfan
25/03/2010, 9:18 AM
I reckon Carrick will come out on top...... 4-0 v Regional was the scoreline flattering or were they far better than regional?
From what i saw. Carrick got two lucky goals, one definetly off-side. They are a good footballing side and i think they are good at home. I have seen lisselton playing this season too and i think at home they should be too good for carrick. Should be a great match but home advantage should tell alot
the only 1
28/03/2010, 4:04 PM
pike won 2nil carrick won 3-1
C.T.F.C
28/03/2010, 4:16 PM
Town 2 Celtic 1
tipp man
28/03/2010, 8:24 PM
Carrick won 4-1. Came from behind and slaughtered Lisselton in the second half. Lisselton had two sent off but game was over by then.
Carrick v Pike will be a super game. How this Carrick side lost to St. Michaels in the FAIJC is a mystery to me.
abbeyvale
28/03/2010, 9:57 PM
Semi Final draw
Clonmel Town v Villa FC or Nenagh AFC
Pike Rvs v Carrick Utd
pacman
28/03/2010, 10:08 PM
I heard Pike were very lucky to get out of cork with a win today. 0-0 up to the 85th minute apparently with Leeside well on top.
Wasnt at the game so anybody verify if true?
blackjack
28/03/2010, 10:52 PM
as you said you were not at the game,pike on top for most of the game (that said it was a bad game to watch)not a easy venue to go to and come away with a win.
Town Fan
29/03/2010, 8:15 AM
Town 2 Celtic 1
Town were the better side in what was a poor game. Celtic had plenty of the ball but never tested Richie Ryan. That was until the 96th minute, when Paddy Keane gave Celtic a free right on the edge of the box. For what only he knows, it was a poor decision in a game he handled superbly. Richie Ryan saved the shot but David Joyce scored the rebound but he was offside. It was a close call but from where I was standing a correct one. however had Freiberg not flagged there would not have been two many complaints.
Town deserved to win. Two good goals, Craig Condon will have nightmares about the first one. Celtic have now played Michaels and Town in the big cups and come up short. They are a handy side but they need a few more players. Great win for Town.
Roberto
29/03/2010, 9:27 AM
Town were the better side in what was a poor game. Celtic had plenty of the ball but never tested Richie Ryan. That was until the 96th minute, when Paddy Keane gave Celtic a free right on the edge of the box. For what only he knows, it was a poor decision in a game he handled superbly. Richie Ryan saved the shot but David Joyce scored the rebound but he was offside. It was a close call but from where I was standing a correct one. however had Freiberg not flagged there would not have been two many complaints.
Town deserved to win. Two good goals, Craig Condon will have nightmares about the first one. Celtic have now played Michaels and Town in the big cups and come up short. They are a handy side but they need a few more players. Great win for Town.
Agree with most of what you have to say. To be honest for a quarter final it was a poor game and in my opinion neither side deserved to win. It was obvious Joyce was offside when he scored but was he offisde when the free was taken? You seem sure he was eventhough all onlookers would have focussed on the free kick and subsequent save. When all this was happening you were looking at where David Joyce was standing???I think the linesman reacted to where he was when he scored rather than where he was when the free was taken.
serpico
29/03/2010, 9:57 AM
Pike and leeside wasn't a great game but pile probably were just about the better side.wasn't much between them though.leeside are a big physical side who were looking to score from set plays but the pike back four played very well today.one of leeside players told me they now have to play 4 games this week which is a joke,they are only junior players after all.just a little thanks to the leeside club and the junction bar for their hospitality it was very much appreciated.hope bluey and the booboys haven't hangovers this morning lol.hope ye go on and win the league best cork side cork have played in the last few years.by the way heard you were at the game yesterday littleman how you getting on.cmon the super leeside ha ha.
Redman028
29/03/2010, 10:22 AM
Agree with most of what you have to say. To be honest for a quarter final it was a poor game and in my opinion neither side deserved to win. It was obvious Joyce was offside when he scored but was he offisde when the free was taken? You seem sure he was eventhough all onlookers would have focussed on the free kick and subsequent save. When all this was happening you were looking at where David Joyce was standing???I think the linesman reacted to where he was when he scored rather than where he was when the free was taken.
Ya must agree with you on this one Roberto. I was fairly in line with the free kick and to be honest watching where David Joyce was standing was last thing on my mind. I cant imagine too many people could put their hand on their heart and say for certain whether he was onside or off. I assume everyone (like myself) were watching where the ball was going. Either way it was a close call and a very big decision was made in favour of town.
complexman
29/03/2010, 10:56 AM
Ya must agree with you on this one Roberto. I was fairly in line with the free kick and to be honest watching where David Joyce was standing was last thing on my mind. I cant imagine too many people could put their hand on their heart and say for certain whether he was onside or off. I assume everyone (like myself) were watching where the ball was going. Either way it was a close call and a very big decision was made in favour of town.
Very few people could honestly say whether he was on or offside when the kick was taken. that said Town were the better side in an ordinary game. This wasn't anywhere near the same Town side that played Ballymun and Willow. Celtic will be dissapointed that with the amount of ball they had, they did very little with it. Town created way more chances
littleman
29/03/2010, 4:36 PM
Hello Serpico,I was at the game but Im sorry I didnt get to be introduced to you an the other Limerick lads an ladies.Ye all seemed to be in good spirits(spirits playin a big part),,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
I thought Leeside may surprise ye cause I think they are a good side but it wasnt to be.Playing one man up front against such a good back line as ye have an not supporting him enough was just askin for trouble.I thought the Pike back 4 were excelllent in what they had to do defence wise and also goin forward..But I also thought the Leeside defence were excellent up to the goals goin in.Twas a pity though each midfield just seemed intent on kickin lumps out of each other.A lot of very good footballers on show but it never got goin for either side.Too much niggle in the game to allow it I suppose.The ref blew when he had to an didnt go mad despite both sides temptin him to send a few off.Good game from him I thought.Best of luck to Pike in the semis but well done to Leesdie for being well in it for 85 mins.Just a pity the way the last 5 went.
Redman028
29/03/2010, 10:45 PM
Ya Town definetly shaded the game and probably deserved to go through. It was a disappointing game especially after scoring so early people could of been forgiven for expecting the game to be a cracker. That been said Town did enough to win the game, Richie Ryan hadnt really much to do and as you said Town could of and really should of finished the game long before that major talking point in added time.
serpico
30/03/2010, 12:46 AM
How you doing littleman,if you had came over to us we would have been more than happy to greet you.totally agree with you both back fours were excellent but would you not agree that we were the only team that tried to win the game.their no 10 was a very good player and looked like he was the only one who was goin to cause us trouble,besides set pieces.taught they were a good side but I think pike were a bit too strong for them.Heard yere fixtures down there are mayhem.
littleman
30/03/2010, 9:49 AM
Well I suppose they are a bit much for the teams concerned.3 games a week for the next 4 weeks is the thanks Leeside get for having an excellent run in both the Fai an Mjc.Heavy going at a time of the season when legs are tired an squads are thin.
Derek Delea was the No 10,excellent player too.You may have read my post wrong about only one team tryin,I didnt actually say that.I though Leesdie did very well going forward but 1 striker against 4 defenders is not much of a contest.I just felt that if they had of gone 4/4/2 an had Barrett(the small quick lad on the wing) an Delae up front together then they could of really pressed ye a bit more.It was a tight game up till the 1st goal,the 2nd made a very hard win look a bit more comfortable.The sending off was a bad end to the game though.All said an done id say ye were pleased on the bus home because Leeside this season are very good.
the bandit
30/03/2010, 3:47 PM
great win for pike down there considerin the were missin 4 players
ho was the four players missing for pike
serpico
30/03/2010, 4:05 PM
ho was the four players missing for pike
moloney,sniffer,carroll,donovan.:victory::victory: :victory:
inspiron
30/03/2010, 9:48 PM
Any one at the Carrick game in Kerry, the Tramore boys told me Carrick would win comfortably scoreline suggests they did.
Fairkop
30/03/2010, 9:57 PM
moloney,sniffer,carroll,donovan.:victory::victory: :victory:
very good win for pike,of those four however maybe only one starting..moloney.interesting to see carroll not in the squad, injured?
awiseman
30/03/2010, 10:03 PM
heard leeside are appealing