View Full Version : Munster Junior Cup 2009/10
Pages :
[
6]
mulla
10/02/2010, 10:36 AM
Star are at home but Clonmel Town should win by 5 or 6 at least.
keep putting up crap like that and everyone will hope ye do get beaten by that or more
abbeyvale
10/02/2010, 10:59 AM
keep putting up crap like that and everyone will hope ye do get beaten by that or more
Jeez lads, its only my opinion, Clonmel Town are one of the favourites for the comp, Star are just happy to get to the out of town stages, and are missing a few players for Sunday, so its just an honest opinion, not trying to take the p"ss just being honest...........................would ye prefer if I came on here and said Star were gonna hammer Clonmel (at which ye'd all have a good laugh), so be honest, there isn't a Junior football member from Limerick on this site that would Star a chance in hell on Sunday.
mulla
10/02/2010, 11:57 AM
Jeez lads, its only my opinion, Clonmel Town are one of the favourites for the comp, Star are just happy to get to the out of town stages, and are missing a few players for Sunday, so its just an honest opinion, not trying to take the p"ss just being honest...........................would ye prefer if I came on here and said Star were gonna hammer Clonmel (at which ye'd all have a good laugh), so be honest, there isn't a Junior football member from Limerick on this site that would Star a chance in hell on Sunday.
no, but saying ye are going to get beat by 5 or 6 or get hammered is showing no respect for the lads you play with,have ye played any prem teams this year?nobody is saying ye are going to beat clonmel town and ya most would back them but for me,being a cup competition and ye being at home ye will be well up for it so i think and hope ye will do yerselves justice and it will be a tight game
Blackpanther
10/02/2010, 12:27 PM
Wilton United are playing Postal Celtic this weekend the winners to face Pike in Limerick:
Draw:
Waterloo or Janesboro v Clonmel Celtic or Avenue United
Pike Rovers v Wilton United or Postal Cel
College Corinthians or Carrick Utd or Ferrybank v Regional United
Askeaton v Star Rovers or Clonmel Town
Tramore AFC or Dungarvan Utd or Rockmount v Ringmahon Rangers or Killarney Celtic or Lisselton Rvs I expect surely some of these teams are out by now??? Games must be played but I don't have results
Nenagh “A” v Newcastle West
Villa FC v Blackcastle Utd or St Michael’s
Leeside v Kildimo United or Tulla United
Anyone got odds or know where to get them for outright winners,Pike would be favourites I would imagine
FiveB
10/02/2010, 12:32 PM
Did Star not beat Summerville and are now top of Div 1 A? I Thought ye would be mad to take on Clonmel, We know they are good but jesus ye would imagine ye would give it a go anyway especially at home, anything can happen, i hear Clonmel's Discipline is Cat! Is there much of a Difference between 1A and the Premier? Im not well up on Junior soccer in the city im a county boy.
yea big difference kid
ya big difference alright, cup competitions always bring up a few surprises
abbeyvale
10/02/2010, 1:15 PM
no, but saying ye are going to get beat by 5 or 6 or get hammered is showing no respect for the lads you play with,have ye played any prem teams this year?nobody is saying ye are going to beat clonmel town and ya most would back them but for me,being a cup competition and ye being at home ye will be well up for it so i think and hope ye will do yerselves justice and it will be a tight game
Only Prem team we played this season was Aisling Annacotty in the FAI, and they beat us 6-1 at home.
redcardrory
10/02/2010, 1:19 PM
you must be mad anyone in div 1a would be alot better than the bottom four in premier even lower league teams have proven that already this year look at moyross,knocklong and cahercolish they have caught premier and div 1a teams this year in cups already,star can catch clonmel in the cup no matter what abbeyvale says clonmel have bad discipline and limerick refs have proven they won't take it of any team and look who the ref and linesmen are!
Only Prem team we played this season was Aisling Annacotty in the FAI, and they beat us 6-1 at home.
ok maybe your right then:),annacotty aren't great
you must be mad anyone in div 1a would be alot better than the bottom four in premier even lower league teams have proven that already this year look at moyross,knocklong and cahercolish they have caught premier and div 1a teams this year in cups already,star can catch clonmel in the cup no matter what abbeyvale says clonmel have bad discipline and limerick refs have proven they won't take it of any team and look who the ref and linesmen are!
don't know about that,its a different story in the cup than it is playing week in week out in the premier,any team that have got promoted in the last few years from 1a and there were some very good teams(aisling,corbally,wemblley,kilmallock) all strolled through 1a the seasons they went up,look at star and granville also,years they got promoted they did so with relative ease yet all the teams mentioned have not st the premier league alight, some have held there own but only just.I'm not knocking those teams i' just saying its a lot easier getting there than staying there but don't fool yourself into thinking that there isn't a bit of a gulf in class
redcardrory
10/02/2010, 1:54 PM
if star get back into prem they'll do a lot better than gearldines who only have one point to their names and those teams mentioned above give it three years and the big four clubs in the prem will have to watch their backs amd killmallock will start winning cups next year on wards still a young team and still in fai
very easy to say what will happen,they have been the big 4 clubs for a lot of years now and i don't think it will change anytime soon,if star go up they may do better than geraldines but thats an if.
and of the clubs i mentioned i would say bar kilmallock they have all benn in the premier league for at least the last 4 years and none of them have made even a half chance of challenging,why should another 3 years make a difference
the real deal
13/02/2010, 3:47 PM
boro won 4 1 aet ive been told
ya confirmed,1-1 at FT,Waterloo opened the scoring in the first half,Boro levelled before HT courtesy of an OG,Boro scored 3 in ET through Bobby Tier,Thomas Clarke and the baby faced assassin Mange
abbeyvale
13/02/2010, 10:11 PM
Updated Draw
LUCOZADE SPORT MUNSTER JUNIOR CUP
5 th ROUND DRAW
Leeds or Janesboro
v
Clonmel Celtic or Avenue United
Pike Rovers
v
Wilton United or Postal Cel or Bohemians
College Corinthians or Carrick Utd or Ferrybank
v
Regional United
Askeaton
v
Star Rovers or Clonmel Town
Tramore AFC or Dungarvan Utd or Rockmount or Everton
v
Ringmahon Rangers or Killarney Celtic or Lisselton Rvs
Nenagh “A”
v
Newcastle West
Villa FC
v
Blackcastle Utd or St Michael’s
Leeside
v
Kildimo United
Games to take place on or before 27th/28th February 2010
smasher
14/02/2010, 10:16 AM
Updated Draw
LUCOZADE SPORT MUNSTER JUNIOR CUP
5 th ROUND DRAW
Leeds or Janesboro
v
Clonmel Celtic or Avenue United
Pike Rovers
v
Wilton United or Postal Cel or Bohemians
College Corinthians or Carrick Utd or Ferrybank
v
Regional United
Askeaton
v
Star Rovers or Clonmel Town
Tramore AFC or Dungarvan Utd or Rockmount or Everton
v
Ringmahon Rangers or Killarney Celtic or Lisselton Rvs
Nenagh “A”
v
Newcastle West
Villa FC
v
Blackcastle Utd or St Michael’s
Leeside
v
Kildimo United
Games to take place on or before 27th/28th February 2010
College Corinthians or Carrick v Regional as Carrick beat Ferrybank
oscar
14/02/2010, 10:17 AM
thats wrong abbeyvale Leeds were knocked out 2 weeks ago by Waterloo
leather
14/02/2010, 2:00 PM
was at the boro match.may i say that the local officials were OUTSTANDING...ref had a top game.Credit too the waterloo as a club a great bunch and very good craic. Fine facilities but the pitch was a little on the short side (85-90 yrds)and compressed the game a lot...
The game was heart attack stuff...boro went one down too the first shot by waterloo.boro were trying to play to much football on a very small pitch.Waterloo had a great chance too go 2 up but missed a sitter...boro got back into the game with an og thanks too a super cross by Ado fitz(the boro's best player by a mile).The second half was like 3 goals in..the waterloo defence held on for dear life, boro missed a peno, hit the crossbar and missed couple of good chances.Lookes like it was going to be one of days...2 mins into extra time T.Clarke scored a goal that any striker would have been proud off. after this waterloo had to come out and were caught twice when the space opened...Boro delighted to get past a very competitive waterloo team and into the next round...
on behalf of Janesboro FC i would once again like to thank the oficials and expesically the Waterloo club for fine match and thier hospitality...
BigfeetBigsocks
15/02/2010, 9:02 AM
Any reports from the Star v Clonmel game? , was it a good game/good spirit/officials/ etc...sounds like star were unlucky
Get a life
15/02/2010, 9:46 AM
Alan hold your head up high, ye were brilliant yesterday. An example on how to battle against a supposesdly superior team. Ye rode yer luck a bit at times, but with a bit of luck ye couldve scored a second one. Red card was needless and ultimately cost ye the game. Keep it going for the rest of the season and ye will def go up. Clonmel are nothing like the team they are supposed to be
abbeyvale
15/02/2010, 12:31 PM
thats wrong abbeyvale Leeds were knocked out 2 weeks ago by Waterloo
Only copied it from the Limericksoccer website..............
abbeyvale
15/02/2010, 12:33 PM
Alan hold your head up high, ye were brilliant yesterday. An example on how to battle against a supposesdly superior team. Ye rode yer luck a bit at times, but with a bit of luck ye couldve scored a second one. Red card was needless and ultimately cost ye the game. Keep it going for the rest of the season and ye will def go up. Clonmel are nothing like the team they are supposed to be
cheers pal...but to concede their only goal through a deflection in the 91st minute was tough to take......... but if we play like that for the remainder of the season we'll be in with a shout anyway.
Get a life
15/02/2010, 12:42 PM
cheers pal...but to concede their only goal through a deflection in the 91st minute was tough to take......... but if we play like that for the remainder of the season we'll be in with a shout anyway.
Was great to see the locals out supporting ye yesterday aswell, fine crowd there, aswell some of the former greats of the club like Mr Boland Peters and Hehir
BigfeetBigsocks
15/02/2010, 2:00 PM
Any report Alan,scorers , sending off, officials etc what were clonmel like?
abbeyvale
15/02/2010, 3:56 PM
Any report Alan,scorers , sending off, officials etc what were clonmel like?
We could have been 3 up at HT, we had 2 cleared off the line and a few scuffed shots on goal, but were instead only 1 up through Shane Waters at the break.
We were under pressure in the second half as you can imagine as Clonmel came out attacking from all angles, and we were then reduced to 10 men with 20 minutes to go when Shane Waters was given a second yellow for a two legged tackle.
The last 20 minutes was all Clonmel, and they finally scored in the 91st minute through a delected shot whcih was harmless enough and would have been an easy save for our keeper only for the deflection to loop it over his dive.
Extra time was fairly even, and in the penalty shoot-out we missed 3 pens, all of which were very porly taken.
Clonmel were average enough and if they play like that next Sunday v Ballymun in the FAI they'll be beaten comfortably enough,
Ballymuns manager was also at the game, which had an attendance of near 100.
Our Line up was
1. John Ryan
2. Paul Lyons
3. Staurt Busoli
4. Kevin O'Doherty
5. Alan Morton
6. Mark McDonnell
7. Shane Waters
8. Dale McNamara
9. Brian O'Doherty
10. Thomas Butler
11. Derek Hannon
Reserves:
12. Brian Nash (for Hannon 75mins)
13. Alan Lyons
14. Richie Flynn (for McDonnell 50mins)
15. Glen Walters
16. Robbie Carey
Missing
Christy Reddan
Johnathan Griffin
Liam Flynn
lifegoeson
15/02/2010, 4:53 PM
well done alan and all the star team .... keep it up for the rest the year and ye will do fine
the dazzler
15/02/2010, 6:37 PM
We could have been 3 up at HT, we had 2 cleared off the line and a few scuffed shots on goal, but were instead only 1 up through Shane Waters at the break.
We were under pressure in the second half as you can imagine as Clonmel came out attacking from all angles, and we were then reduced to 10 men with 20 minutes to go when Shane Waters was given a second yellow for a two legged tackle.
The last 20 minutes was all Clonmel, and they finally scored in the 91st minute through a delected shot whcih was harmless enough and would have been an easy save for our keeper only for the deflection to loop it over his dive.
Extra time was fairly even, and in the penalty shoot-out we missed 3 pens, all of which were very porly taken.
Clonmel were average enough and if they play like that next Sunday v Ballymun in the FAI they'll be beaten comfortably enough,
Ballymuns manager was also at the game, which had an attendance of near 100.
Our Line up was
1. John Ryan
2. Paul Lyons
3. Staurt Busoli
4. Kevin O'Doherty
5. Alan Morton
6. Mark McDonnell
7. Shane Waters
8. Dale McNamara
9. Brian O'Doherty
10. Thomas Butler
11. Derek Hannon
Reserves:
12. Brian Nash (for Hannon 75mins)
13. Alan Lyons
14. Richie Flynn (for McDonnell 50mins)
15. Glen Walters
16. Robbie Carey
Missing
Christy Reddan
Johnathan Griffin
Liam Flynn
hard luck dont thinkk the players who were missing would have made a differance mate christy+johnny are passed it
abbeyvale
15/02/2010, 9:20 PM
hard luck dont thinkk the players who were missing would have made a differance mate christy+johnny are passed it
Christy is 21????
haha id say he taught it was old christy redden j,griffin that woody come on he has no interest no more:cool:
abbeyvale
16/02/2010, 9:08 PM
haha id say he taught it was old christy redden j,griffin that woody come on he has no interest no more:cool:
He's assistant manager to Windy and hardly plays
the dazzler
17/02/2010, 9:51 AM
He's assistant manager to Windy and hardly plays
why say he was missing so:rolleyes:
abbeyvale
17/02/2010, 5:10 PM
why say he was missing so:rolleyes:
Because he is part of the squad.
twohalves
18/02/2010, 1:03 PM
You're well past it yourself Dazzler and shouldn't comment on something you don'n know enough about.Why didn't you go and watch the game if you were so interested?Although,besides the MJ and FAI games the only other games on in the afternoon are the lower divisions,who did you tog with?Fairview C or Summerville B???
Rafa 08
18/02/2010, 3:30 PM
who's favourite for the mjc??pike must fancy there chances or is the FAI there main focus!!
twohalves
19/02/2010, 8:01 AM
I think Pike will win the MJ. Clonmel town I think are favourites but from what I saw last week I wasn't impressed but I suppose if they get home draws up to the semi-final stages they will be hard to beat....
abbeyvale
19/02/2010, 11:51 AM
I think Pike will win the MJ. Clonmel town I think are favourites but from what I saw last week I wasn't impressed but I suppose if they get home draws up to the semi-final stages they will be hard to beat....
What about giving Star credit for last week for not allowing Clonmel to play???
hooper74
19/02/2010, 11:59 AM
coming from the guy who wouldnt give his own club credit last week?? oh if we can keep the score down and its not double figures we will be happy,was disgraceful so dont criticise others when you showed a complete lack of respect for your own team and players who done themselves proud
oscar
19/02/2010, 12:00 PM
ha ha he has you there abbeyvale
abbeyvale
19/02/2010, 12:04 PM
coming from the guy who wouldnt give his own club credit last week?? oh if we can keep the score down and its not double figures we will be happy,was disgraceful so dont criticise others when you showed a complete lack of respect for your own team and players who done themselves proud
It was done purely to give Clonmel a false sense entering the game, and it nearly worked................
oscar
19/02/2010, 12:07 PM
sir abbey ferguson...:)
hooper74
19/02/2010, 12:12 PM
do you really think that clonmel town were judging star based on foot.ie....thats an embarrassing comment....so now your giving yourself credit for the performance??
twohalves
19/02/2010, 12:22 PM
Star deserve a lot of credit and could easily have been 3 up at half time with two cleared off the line in the first half.The turning point was obviously the sending off as Star had to sacrifice their centre forward in order to re-arrange therefore being on the backfoot all the time.Star nearly held out and it was a deflected goal which brough the game to extra time - Well done to them but as we all know,moral victories are no good.
twohalves
19/02/2010, 1:27 PM
Star should push on now and use the same level of committment for the remainder of the league.If they do we will see them returning to Prem.
serpico
19/02/2010, 6:38 PM
Boro away to clonmel town if they beat clonmel Celtic. Yel come away from there with tipp accents oscar
blackjack
19/02/2010, 6:43 PM
Boro away to clonmel town if they beat clonmel Celtic. Yel come away from there with tipp accents oscar
are you traveling sunday.(do you do any work up there besides being on foot.ie):rolleyes:
serpico
19/02/2010, 8:48 PM
Ya.I'm not at work I'm a bit unwell.
:):)
Ya.I'm not at work I'm a bit unwell.
you were never well;)
serpico
20/02/2010, 7:23 AM
I'm off the stew and you know well it's not real stew how can you have stew with no meat in it.ha ha:
i think thats called soup;)
Get a life
20/02/2010, 10:45 AM
I believe Celtic are stronger than Town this season