View Full Version : Stephen Ward
Pages :
[
8]
Olé Olé
30/01/2017, 9:37 PM
You don't need to be so negative all the time. I see your Markovic in and raise you Snodgrass out. And Evandro is completely different to Meyler too. Livermore and Mason are far more similar to him.
TheOneWhoKnocks
31/01/2017, 12:10 PM
Robertson staying put according to SSN.
02/04/2017, 2:50 AM
he had a good game v Tottenham even though they lost 2-0, he looks a lot slimer than he used to look but I think that has been mentioned before.
I think he has new haricut too so he looks a completely different player.
His good play featured on motd in the highlights.
Also I think he is the best Irish player in the stats as the moment with two intact legs.
29/04/2017, 5:23 PM
Off with a knock just before half time against Palace. Earlier assisted burnley's opener.
He played very well in the first half. Apart from the assist he put two very good crosses in from Coleman like positions (on the left obviously) which almost led to goals. The knock looked innocuous enough but he was in pain, played on and then got hit again towards the end of the first half.
TheOneWhoKnocks
29/04/2017, 6:15 PM
Stutts should ask his physio how long Ward will be out for.
:p
SORRY! Couldn't resist.
DeLorean
29/04/2017, 6:22 PM
Brady seems to have been dropped. He hasn't really taken off at Burnley yet it seems. He was poor against Man Utd last week even though they were outplayed generally, Hendrick definitely fared the better out of the two though.
01/05/2017, 10:55 AM
he had a good game v Tottenham even though they lost 2-0, he looks a lot slimer than he used to look but I think that has been mentioned before.
I think he has new haricut too so he looks a completely different player.
His good play featured on motd in the highlights.
Also I think he is the best Irish player in the stats as the moment with two intact legs.
That was a good spot Tricky, his 45 minutes in Saturday's game v CP attracted many plaudits and he was rewarded by being included in the BBC's EPL totw.
(http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/39765824)" in football there was no better ball than the first-time cross. At the time, I didn't really appreciate the significance of the statement but, as I began to understand how difficult it was to score goals, I became indebted to those full-backs who had the vision and ability to execute the skill.
Stephen Ward clearly understands the importance of that statement, and so does Ashley Barnes for that matter. It was Barnes who took complete advantage of Ward's first-time cross, which gave the Burnley striker the time to have two bites at putting the ball in the back of the net."
DeLorean
12/08/2017, 2:40 PM
Class goal just now to put Burnley 2-0 up against ten man Chelsea at Stamford Bridge.
12/08/2017, 2:48 PM
Call him up Trap
12/08/2017, 4:04 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a50gIZxkPKM
They said he was rubbish and laughed... they're not laughing now! :chuncky:
12/08/2017, 4:16 PM
some better quality video here.
https://twitter.com/search?q=Stephen%20Ward&src=typd&lang=en&lang=en
Brady miss a late penalty, hit post I think.
Diggs246
12/08/2017, 4:58 PM
No Brady's was a free kick. Hit the post.
Olé Olé
12/08/2017, 5:42 PM
The commentators on Sky were loving Brady. If the co-commentator (not sure who it was) called his left leg a "wand" once more...
DeLorean
14/08/2017, 2:33 PM
Signs a new deal at Burnley - https://www.burnleyfootballclub.com/news/2017/august/ward-signs-new-deal/
Diggs246
14/08/2017, 9:13 PM
Fair play to him. He been great for the last couple of year. Remember the expression "our problem position"(LB) we havent heard that in awhile and its thanks to Wards improvement as a player
14/08/2017, 9:43 PM
Wardy is walking with the football Gods now.
He has made yet another BBC team of the week (http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/40918410), selected by ace pundit and football legend Garth Crooks.
"It was an excellent performance by Stephen Ward at Chelsea.
The full-back played with a confidence and composure reminiscent of another former Burnley left-back and England international, Keith Newton.
Ward took his goal brilliantly on Saturday"
Philly
15/08/2017, 8:37 AM
Fair play to him. He been great for the last couple of year. Remember the expression "our problem position"(LB) we havent heard that in awhile and its thanks to Wards improvement as a player
I put my hands up as having said that a few times, and scoured the Championship for up and coming Irish left backs. Ward has proven many ofus wrong, and has put a lot of work into his game these past few years. I recall when he joined Burnley he was not first choice for quite a while, and he now owns his position there. Fair play to him.
DeLorean
15/08/2017, 8:56 AM
He had a bit of a nightmare away to B&H but has been fairly steady for us otherwise under O'Neill. Would that be a fair enough assessment or am I missing some dodgy performances? Obviously Brady had that spot on occasions as well.
The way he's turned things around for himself at club level really is remarkable, delighted for him.
17/08/2017, 11:59 AM
Considering where he was in 2012 v Croatia it is remarkable. Fair dues.
Diggs246
17/08/2017, 1:41 PM
Yep agreed i think Micheal D. Higgins should call wardie and thank him. As i was saying before when is the last time we have heard the expression "our problem postion left back"
17/08/2017, 1:54 PM
Around 241pm today I'd reckon.
liamoo11
17/08/2017, 6:31 PM
I put my hands up as having said that a few times, and scoured the Championship for up and coming Irish left backs. Ward has proven many ofus wrong, and has put a lot of work into his game these past few years. I recall when he joined Burnley he was not first choice for quite a while, and he now owns his position there. Fair play to him.
Fair play to him fmbe is having an excellent career. He offers us very little going forward when Brady plays full back he puts good balls into the box and uses the ball well from the back and helps us play which ward just can't do
Diggs246
17/08/2017, 7:40 PM
Wards positioning and defensive awareness is much better then Brady's. Brady should play on the wing or mid field or not at all
Philly
17/08/2017, 10:33 PM
Good interview with him on Off The Ball this week: http://pca.st/G2CD
18/08/2017, 5:01 PM
Wards positioning and defensive awareness is much better then Brady's. Brady should play on the wing or mid field or not at all
I always quite like Ward even when he was not flavour of the month not 100% why but awareness and positioning come into it, a proper footballer not a one trick pony.
He has lost a lot of weight since then too, I think when you are a bit over weight you have you use your brain a bit more.
No doubt his next game will be a real stinker!!
18/08/2017, 5:17 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gEBpMNQHNwk
Makes this international list of top goals!
31/10/2017, 11:24 AM
150th appearance in the Premier League last night for Ward
DeLorean
13/12/2017, 9:50 AM
Ward limped off before half time last night as a late winner propelled Burnley into the Champions League positions. It was Hendrick's replacement, Ashley Barnes, who scored the vital goal. Kevin Long played the full ninety.
This was probably all mentioned in the Burnley Irish thread but it's doesn't seem to be opening for some reason?
Brighton away next for Burnley before a very difficult run of fixtures which feature Tottenham, Manchester Utd, Manchester City and Liverpool in five of their next seven matches. If they're still around the top four after that they can really start to dream!
06/02/2018, 3:02 PM
returned for Burnley's U23 side last night, hopes to be in the first team this weekend: https://www.burnleyfootballclub.com/news/2018/february/fit-again-ward-feeling-good-and-strong/
“It felt really good. It’s just important to get back on the pitch and get used to playing,” said Ward after a flawless run-out at the Terriers’ training ground.
“It’s nice to be feeling good and strong and to get a few minutes out there.
“It’s not really in my hands but I’m feeling good and ready to go. I’m feeling a lot sharper, so we’ll see what happens.
“We’ve had a great season and the more bodies we can have back now, hopefully that will help us have a strong finish.”
24/02/2018, 2:53 PM
Ward back in the Burnley starting XI today.
29/01/2019, 7:01 PM
On the bench tonight.
backstothewall
14/03/2019, 9:55 PM
Has announced his retirement from international duty tonight
https://www.fai.ie/ireland/news/fai-pays-tribute-to-stephen-ward-upon-retirement?fbclid=IwAR2JVQkLf39lgNc0amjAeS0wcuEKCR h6Kc3SZrPOH9u2GVufJqMOOReGaGA
14/03/2019, 11:24 PM
Strange time to announce it.
Good luck to him in his retirement.
Sullivinho
14/03/2019, 11:29 PM
Timing as good as ever.
Diggs246
15/03/2019, 5:48 AM
He deserves great credit for resurrecting his career, when in 2013 it seemed moribund
RiffRaff
15/03/2019, 12:21 PM
Strange time to announce it.
Good luck to him in his retirement.
It is strange that he announced it having not made the squad rather than before the campaign. Makes me wonder if theres more to it, but I'm sure we'll hear about it on whats app
15/03/2019, 12:40 PM
Finally some good news to come out of the Irish team in a while.
15/03/2019, 12:50 PM
When you read the announcement, it makes more sense. It seems he was going to be included, but not be a starter.
15/03/2019, 8:54 PM
When you read the announcement, it makes more sense. It seems he was going to be included, but not be a starter.
There was a conversation between him and Mick and that does appear to be the implication. And it fits the Wardy persona that he would genuinely step back from the squad in order to allow an upstart in, rather than the "if i'm not in the team then I'm not interested".
I've always been impressed with Ward and glad he's had such a successful football career.
Fixer82
16/03/2019, 8:04 AM
Fair play to Ward. Always seemed like a very genuine guy. And always work his socks off in the green jersey
Fizzer
16/03/2019, 12:34 PM
A much improved international player after the 2012 debacle,a pity cos at 33 you’d think he’d have a bit to offer yet.Maybe he’d accept a call-up if we get stretched with injuries.We’re a bit short over that side,hope McCarthy isn’t thinking of playing Doherty at left full.
will not be offered a new contract by Burnley.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/48280363
DeLorean
27/06/2019, 8:49 AM
Signs for Stoke - https://www.stokecityfc.com/news/ward-is-the-latest-new-arrival
Tipp Townie
16/10/2019, 11:06 AM
Was in the Sky studio last night. Feck me if he didn't start EVERY SINGLE SENTENCE with "Listen,..."
No joke he must've done it 20 odd times.
Fixer82
16/10/2019, 11:14 AM
Was in the Sky studio last night. Feck me if he didn't start EVERY SINGLE SENTENCE with "Listen,..."
No joke he must've done it 20 odd times.
Watching his idol Keano too much
seanfhear
16/10/2019, 11:48 AM
John O’Shea is a very good co-commentator on Sky . Hopefully he will make a good manager some day if that is the way he chooses to go .
irishfan86
16/10/2019, 8:59 PM
O’Shea says some interesting things but sounds so low energy whenever I’ve heard him. I don’t like hyper/screaming weird stuff but has seemed very subdued when I’ve heard him.
NeverFeltBetter
22/04/2022, 11:59 AM
Has announced his retirement: https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2022/0422/1293708-stephen-ward-hangs-up-his-boots-aged-36/
seanfhear
22/04/2022, 1:30 PM
Has announced his retirement: https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2022/0422/1293708-stephen-ward-hangs-up-his-boots-aged-36/
Made a very good career out of it. Fair dues to him.