Stephen Ward
Josh at LB
League of Ireland
Robbie Keane transfer rumours
slow walkers
low talkers
women drivers
people from Roscommon

The edit button on that one is in for some pounding. ;)

theworm2345
04/01/2011, 3:57 PM
Women drivers is not a petty dislike, they are a menace to society and a serious safety hazard for anyone who is out and about. I know Andrei Arshavin agrees on this one as well.

04/01/2011, 4:29 PM
Anyone who has read a Paul O'Shea post, or even met him, will understand the Roscommon vendetta. I'm with Colbert on that one.

04/01/2011, 4:31 PM
Anyone who has read a Paul O'Shea post, or even met him, will understand the Roscommon vendetta. I'm with Colbert on that one.
I had to share a room with him in Paris. No jury would convict me....

04/01/2011, 4:37 PM
I have to share a room with a woman driver...

Eminence Grise
04/01/2011, 5:33 PM
Is that violins I hear playing? Pity about ye, lads.

The woman driver in my life shares her room with a man from Roscommon. We're a deadly combination...

Junior
05/01/2011, 12:32 PM
I had to share a room with him in Paris. No jury would convict me....

Who played the roll of sheep?

Jaysus, I see Duff had a blinder last night for Fulham on the Right Wing. Obviously he could never play there for Ireland because he's a Left Winger, a completely different position and it would be ludicrous to suggest otherwise.

PS: Up the Rossies!!!!!

Colbert Report
06/01/2011, 12:28 AM
Who played the roll of sheep?

Jaysus, I see Duff had a blinder last night for Fulham on the Right Wing. Obviously he could never play there for Ireland because he's a Left Winger, a completely different position and it would be ludicrous to suggest otherwise.

PS: Up the Rossies!!!!!

Big big difference playing on your weak side between defense and midfield, especially under Trapattoni.

You don't see Ashley Cole playing right-back, do you now?

irishfan86
06/01/2011, 12:43 AM
Big big difference playing on your weak side between defense and midfield, especially under Trapattoni.

You don't see Ashley Cole playing right-back, do you now?

Colbert, there is a dire shortage of left fullbacks in the Irish/English game. Almost all left fulls are right footed defenders playing out of position or converted left footed attacking players.

Even Ashley Cole, who you imply is the definitive left full, started his career as a forward before being converted into a left full. Of course, had you been his coach, perhaps we would never have discovered his ability in that position...

06/01/2011, 12:50 AM
Ashley Cole is the best left-back in the world. Twould be madness to play him on the right but I'm sure he could do a shift.

Actually from what I hear he is very good at shifting in general.

15/01/2011, 2:43 PM
was going to post this before the goal, but wards positional sense is terrible, he is like ian harte. he has pace though, but for the goal where was he?

Park_Lane
31/03/2011, 3:27 PM
Ward moaning in todays herald. Not the way to get in traps good books!

http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/ward-i-cant-understand-why-i-dont-get-a-look-in-2602389.html

SwanVsDalton
31/03/2011, 3:33 PM
I've got a lot of sympathy for the guy, seems he's a victim of being a jack-of-most-trades, but his form hasn't been awe-inspiring at LB from what I've heard even if it has been the Premier League. Isn't it mostly said he's looked better in more advanced areas (midfield, left wing) than defence?

Junior
31/03/2011, 4:02 PM
I've got a lot of sympathy for the guy, seems he's a victim of being a jack-of-most-trades, but his form hasn't been awe-inspiring at LB from what I've heard even if it has been the Premier League. Isn't it mostly said he's looked better in more advanced areas (midfield, left wing) than defence?

even attack......

SwanVsDalton
31/03/2011, 4:39 PM
even attack......

Quiet you! Could be said Wolves have played plenty of games with out attacking so 'advanced' is more appropriate...;)

31/03/2011, 4:45 PM
He hasn't played left back since before Christmas. Was shifted forward during the club's striker crisis and Elokobi made the position his own.

31/03/2011, 5:10 PM
Think he has been treated very poorly. He certainly deserves a chance.

SwanVsDalton
31/03/2011, 7:43 PM
He hasn't played left back since before Christmas. Was shifted forward during the club's striker crisis and Elokobi made the position his own.

Well isn't that indictment in itself? LB the obvious place to give him a run because we're short, but it's hard to see him getting a wing place with the options we have. At best he'd be competing with Treacy, Keogh and Walters for a squad place. His versatility is counting against him at this point. Though I do think he's been very unlucky not to have got a look in somewhere.

TrapAPony
31/03/2011, 10:11 PM
Think he has been treated very poorly. He certainly deserves a chance.

Deserved a chance on the left ahead of Andy Keogh anyway.

01/04/2011, 10:29 AM
We've got McGeady , Duff , Hunt and Fahey that can play on the left so it might be a while before he gets a chance there

rebelmusic
03/04/2011, 11:20 PM
Dying to play according to this - surely he'll be in the squad for the US

http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/ward-i-cant-understand-why-i-dont-get-a-look-in-2602389.html

theworm2345
13/08/2011, 2:58 PM
Scores for Wolves, my stream was dead though so I missed it :( Apparently converted a missed Doyle penalty.

13/08/2011, 3:00 PM
yeah, it was Doyle who missed it. Dropped him from my fantasy football team during the week and replaced him with Long

13/08/2011, 3:06 PM
Wolves goal: Where to start? Michel Salgado hacks Matt Jarvis down in the box for a definite penalty - but Paul Robinson pulls off a fine stop to push Kevin Doyle's penalty away from goal. From that save, however, the ball is returned into the area with interest and Stephen Ward latches on to a half clearance with a slap volley into the corner. Advantage Wolves.

Good on ya Wardy.

13/08/2011, 3:20 PM
Slap volley? I like it. NHL not far away.

Noelys Guitar
13/08/2011, 5:33 PM
Playing himself into the Slovakia game. Deserves to start at left back.

Fixer82
13/08/2011, 9:43 PM
Cracker of a goal. Just watched on Premiership. Terrible peno from Doyle in lead up to it though. Never thought he was a great peno taker. Would have Fahey, Long, Hunt and Keane ahead of him for penalty duty for Ireland

EastTerracer
13/08/2011, 10:31 PM
Great picture of the celebrations after Ward's goal - Hunty looks his usual mad self

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-NhhlrMPO_aM/TkcELuE7BaI/AAAAAAAAAcY/xP-Wq8RHwQo/s512/372201760.jpg

13/08/2011, 10:49 PM
Great picture of the celebrations after Ward's goal - Hunty looks his usual mad self

http://s3.amazonaws.com/twitpic/photos/large/372201760.jpg?AWSAccessKeyId=AKIAJF3XCCKACR3QDMOA&Expires=1313276038&Signature=vT1rsYnRw95yYjneL31tkplJXwE%3D

Seems to be some sort of permissions problem when trying to view the picture.

EastTerracer
13/08/2011, 11:04 PM
Seems to be some sort of permissions problem when trying to view the picture.

I could see the photo but there may have been an access issue. I've changed the link so hopefully you can see it now.

13/08/2011, 11:35 PM
So that's what a slap volley looks like.

Noelys Guitar
14/08/2011, 12:05 AM
Taken from the Wolves forum
Ward – Superb today, I expected Elokobi to get the nod, but Mick clearly got it totally right here. Defended very well, distribution was far better than it can be, including one superb ball to Jarvis in the second half, was good in the air up against Emerton, and linked well with both Jarvis and Hunt. Ward is a far better footballer than he is given credit for. His goal was superbly taken, fantastic technique. Out of the players that we were linked with, or we could have bought this summer for left back, I’m certain not one of them would have played as well as Ward did today. The best player on the pitch. 9/10 MOTM

14/08/2011, 12:10 AM
Jaysus thats quite the glowing report. Here's hoping he gets more of them.

Colbert Report
14/08/2011, 12:16 AM
I love Kilbane but surely Ward's time has come.

14/08/2011, 2:11 AM
I think Trapattoni might trust him now. An important thing about Kilbane is that he is tall, so can defend in the air and is a threat from set-pieces, because we aren't the tallest side in the world. Ward was clearly used as an aerial threat in the Croatia match and we were solid defending set-pieces.

freewheel30
14/08/2011, 7:24 AM
Great goal in fairness. I think Ward deserves a good bit of credit in general - was frozen out by Trap for a long while but seems (that Herald article notwithstanding) to have channeled any frustration he might have had in the right way. Seems a far more solid player now and should have a lot to offer the national team in the next few years.

14/08/2011, 12:28 PM
He is still a serious liability.

Hunt looks like someone just pushed him off the edge of a cliff or into freezing water

Manc Irish Wolf
15/08/2011, 11:59 AM
Great to see Wardy get the goal and credit he deserves. His resurgence in terms of fight and desire in the last three games of the season (along with Hunty) were the catalyst for us staying up.

He's an intelligent, commited lad who is learning his trade and is improving on an annual basis. He will get better and if he continues to get his head-down and doesn't get too affected by people too quick to get on his back should nail down the left back spot in the long term. As the attitude of other squad players have highlighted, it's refreshing to get a lad who is concentrated on fighting hard and giving his all for Club and Country, as opposed to the Gibson's of this world, who get in due to club association and offer nothing.

The fans view below....

http://www.molineuxmix.co.uk/vb/showthread.php?t=62477

As well as McCarthy's...

http://www.expressandstar.com/sport/wolverhampton-wanderers-fc/2011/08/15/wolves-boss-hails-stephen-ward/

15/08/2011, 12:16 PM
Those wolves supporters seem some of the most fickle bunch ive ever seen.

"Without meaning to be too negative as most who went to the game said he was very good. It was obvious from a couple of MOTD clips, he still backs off too much. Against wingers with a shot (A Johnson, Downing, Walcott etc.) I think he'd be punished.
"

Interesting though that is exactly what i said when watching him last year. He has conceded goals for Wolves because of this time and again.

"If I was twenty or thirty years younger [ok and maybe a different gender] I'd be wanting Wardy and/or Hunty to father all my offspring.

The pair of them epitomise this wonderful evolving Wolves team we have.
"

Manc can you tell them thats cos they are Irish....

21/08/2011, 2:36 PM
Wow he made a great clearance against Fulham, looked like a certain goal, top class stuff.

the bear
07/09/2011, 9:34 PM
anyone think ward has made the left back spot his own?? i wasn't very impressed

caught out of position so badly a few times that his wasn't even in the picture frame, so i really dunno if he was doing something useful (tracking a runner etc) or not, i'll give him the benefit of the doubt there.

absoloutley terrible for the header chance for russia with a few mins to go. its exactly the type of defending people (including myself) have been crucifing kilbane at LB for, didn't even seem aware that there might be a guy in red trying to score anywhere in the area

he did get into a few good attacking positions but each time his crossing was poor.

i would keep him in for the remaining games anyway. he has "made his bones" against the 2 toughest teams in the group, whats the point in blooding a new one , who would we choose anyway . wilson maybe? or bring back killer

tommy_c12000
07/09/2011, 10:21 PM
Agree that Ward really wasn't good yesterday. It stood out a mile away that he wasn't a natural left back. Even his crosses were woeful when he got forward on the rare occasion. Have watched Wilson in 2 of Stoke's games this season and he is rock solid. Certainly the best option for left back we have. Trap will stick with Ward now for the final two games. Away to Andorra Ward should do ok. However, the Irish left back position is certainly one area Armenia will be hoping to exploit in Dublin. O'Shea should be back at right back so that will shore that side up.

Colbert Report
08/09/2011, 1:45 AM
Ward is terrible as a defender, get him outta there. Kilbane will play if fit. Wilson should be blooded. Ward might be worth a look as a winger or striker but not as a left back.

CraftyToePoke
08/09/2011, 3:02 AM
I thought he was poor as well, positionally especially, dragged inside too easily and its something Wolves fans have said on the message boards too as being an ongoing flaw in him, pass selection and execution left a lot to be desired and the crossing was desperate. We are now seeing why Trap stuck so doggedly with Kilbane for so long and wanted to blood young Cunningham before he lost last season to injury. Wilson is doing a job there for his club, but is not a LB.

Diarmo
08/09/2011, 4:21 AM
True, true. I think Ward is a bit of a liability at the moment, which is a pity, as I would always champion his inclusion in the squad (and indeed, first team ahead of Kilbane). He's been terrible so far, crossing is shocking and keeps getting dragged inside. But, to be fair, so did Killer.

The other debutants that have become part of Trap's first X1 (St. Ledger, Lawrence) took to international football easily and didn't look out of place when they were playing competitively. Ward is still on his what, 6th cap? He may (hopefully) surprise us all. If not, Wilson or Cunningham for the Euros please!

08/09/2011, 7:48 AM
Surely Trap will sit the lad down and show him where he is going wrong. I think he has the potential to make the position his own, but needs to start learning fast.

tommy_c12000
08/09/2011, 10:29 AM
Wilson is doing a job there for his club, but is not a LB.

The trend appears to have right footed players at left back now a la Wilson at Stoke and Bardsley at Sunderland to match the increasing trend of having left footed players at right wing and vice versa a la Ashley Young (United), Downing (Liverpool), Duff (Fulham/Ireland), etc. The reason being is that these winger's natural tendency is to cut in instead of going wide. Right footed players are better equipped to deal with this. Wilson has fitted in very well at LB for Stoke. I think the days of saying that a player is right footed therefore he is not a left back are in the past with the way the game has evolved. Look at Philip Lahm! However, I do agree that he has always been a central player (midfield/CB) but he really has taken to full back like a duck to water and is Ireland's best current option at LB

dr_peepee
08/09/2011, 10:40 AM
I dunno, Tommy. I see what your saying re the Wide players playing in off they're good foot but I think the Right footed left backs cited are down to the lack of decent left footed defenders more than anything else. If anything, the better teams require more input from their full backs rather than merely snuffing out the threat of the opposing Winger. Kelly has played LB in his time also.

I'm with Drummerboy on this though. I see potential in Ward. Not saying he wasn't poor at times, but I think there's something there provided he can prove he's on a learning curve. He was sucked in so bad at times though, it made me wonder if he was tasked with something by Trapp, with McGeady told to be prepared to cover when required. I dunno. I'll be watching him at Wolves more closely were possible. Maybe I'm looking for something that's not there.

Jayzus, when you think there was a time when we had Terry Phelan, Steve Staunton and Dennis Irwin in the same squad!!