View Full Version : Weekend 21-22
Drogs going mental at the ref. Hilarious stuff!
5 for Bohs now, Shelley
Brian Shelley dances through the now resigned Galway defence and flicks his shot through the legs of Barry Ryan. 5-0
the-blue-harp
21/08/2009, 8:44 PM
what a great advert for irish football, drogs v cork, was more hoofball than football, no wonder no one watches this ****, it looks woeful on telly at times.
Gareth
21/08/2009, 8:57 PM
All over now!! Great night';s action!!!
21/08/2009, 9:01 PM
How many reds have Bray now?
Probably about five.
Tbh, I'd be more interested in finding out how many penos we've been awarded at home this year. It's something like six, at least.
celticV3
21/08/2009, 9:12 PM
Tbh, I'd be more interested in finding out how many penos we've been awarded at home this year. It's something like six, at least.
You mind if we use that as a conspiracy theory for the draw tonight?
We were robbed, never a penalty the ref had it in for us.
Gaillimh Al
21/08/2009, 9:12 PM
Probably about five.
6....missed one v Galway. Five reds alright.
Bohs have least amount of dismissals in league - just the one(Gary Deegan).
sonofstan
21/08/2009, 9:39 PM
Bohs have least amount of dismissals in league - just the one(Gary Deegan).
Dublin refs :)
(thought i'd save youse the trouble)
21/08/2009, 9:53 PM
Limerick 1 - 4 Longford.
Limerick were the better team for the first 30 mins. Hit the crossbar inside a minute, Davy Ryan blasted over from close range, and I thought it would be a good night.
It's difficult to put into words though, how bad we were for the rest of the game. Longord's first was from a cross which wasn't cleared properly, and the ball dropped to a player about 12 yards out who just smashed it home. The second was just after half-time, a punt out from their goalkeeper was chased down by a striker who lobbed a hopelessly out-of-position Dave Ryan in goals. The third was a farcical goal - a shot was palmed up in the air by Ryan. He then tried to palm it over the bar for a corner, but just palmed it onto the bar. The ball rebounded off the bar over one Longford player who attempted to head it in from a foot out, but there was another behind him to tap in. The fourth, despite being credited to a Longford player, was clearly an own goal. A header across the box was glanced past our keeper by a Limerick defender.
Cronin was sent off about 5 minutes from time after the referee didn't give a free-kick to Longford after a hefty Limerick tackle. Ref allowed play on, then gave Limerick a free-kick. Cue some pushing and shoving on the pitch - Scully and Cronin squaring up to each other on the sideline - Cronin was sent off for something which happened before the confrontation with Scully. Limerick scored from the free-kick.
Attendance was a measly 322 (and looked substantially less than that to me).
Buttimer was 4th official - punishment for his decision-making last week?
The Lilywhites
21/08/2009, 9:54 PM
Buttimer was 4th official - punishment for his decision-maiking last week?
Well he's down to ref Rovers Dundalk tomorrow :mad:
GalwayRed
21/08/2009, 10:00 PM
David Cassidy subed off already...injury? He doesnt seem to be having the best of seasons for Shels? WHat do shels fans think?
He was injured. Ive been happy with Casso this season. Id prefer if he was played in the centre or on the right more often (hes being played on the left mostly) but i think hes played well this season.
CSFShels
21/08/2009, 10:13 PM
Casso has been our best player this year I reckon.
GalwayRed
21/08/2009, 10:18 PM
We were poor tonight. Very poor. We created few chances unlike in past weeks where failing to convert all our chances has been the problem. It was a pretty miserable game to be honest. It took 73 minutes to break Kildare down. Great cross from the corner and a super header from McAllister who has been great all season and has now picked up some goals. The second was a decent ball in from Crawley that was glanced in by Griffiths. Good to see him off the mark now so hopefully thatll help his confidence. We looked comfortable enough towards the end. Overall happy to get the 3 points but we cant expect to win games with performences like that.
Dillonman
21/08/2009, 10:59 PM
WHat has happened to the once prolific Anto Flood?!
GalwayRed
21/08/2009, 11:14 PM
WHat has happened to the once prolific Anto Flood?!
Hes lost his confidence in front of goal. He was poor tonight but for the most part hes played well in previous games. His work rate is usually very good but his finishing of late has been very poor. I reckon if he just gets 1 goal he will start knocking them in again.
22/08/2009, 12:13 AM
Why was he taken off? Injury?
GalwayRed
22/08/2009, 12:15 AM
Why was he taken off? Injury?
He picked up a knock and was taken off. Hopefully nothing too serious.
22/08/2009, 12:17 AM
He picked up a knock and was taken off. Hopefully nothing too serious.
Yes hopefully, sound lad and great player. How is Synnott doing for ye?
GalwayRed
22/08/2009, 12:26 AM
Yes hopefully, sound lad and great player. How is Synnott doing for ye?
Yeah he gives his all every time too. Thought he was someone Connor shouldnt have let go.
Hes done alright. Was solid against Harps at home and Athlone away. Keely seems to still prefer Crawley at left back when we have our centre backs fit whereas id prefer Synott to Crawley. Played tonight and did alright.
sfc red
22/08/2009, 2:00 AM
Dean Delaney has easily been our best player. Dave McAllister has been our best outfield player by a mile.
Cassidy has been decent in patches but nowhere near as good as he was for Dundalk or as good as someone meriting Player of the Year from last season.
CF1989
22/08/2009, 2:22 AM
sligo rovers fans bus met the galway united team bus in a shop on the outskirts of dublin tonight. a 15 year old rovers fans said something like 'what was the score tonight?' to a well known galway player in the shop. the player walked left the line for the counter and walked to the other end of the shop to grab the child and square upto him face to face and push himself into him, then was pulled away by ian foster. as the player was walking out of the shop, obviously getting some stick off rovers fans after doing what he did, he then said 'he's lucky i didnt break his jaw'.
great professionalism shown by a LOI player playing for years in the premier division. doing that to someone a good 20 years younger than him
Dillonman
22/08/2009, 9:10 AM
sligo rovers fans bus met the galway united team bus in a shop on the outskirts of dublin tonight. a 15 year old rovers fans said something like 'what was the score tonight?' to a well known galway player in the shop. the player walked left the line for the counter and walked to the other end of the shop to grab the child and square upto him face to face and push himself into him, then was pulled away by ian foster. as the player was walking out of the shop, obviously getting some stick off rovers fans after doing what he did, he then said 'he's lucky i didnt break his jaw'.
great professionalism shown by a LOI player playing for years in the premier division. doing that to someone a good 20 years younger than him
Derek O'Brien perhaps if true!
brianw82
22/08/2009, 9:17 AM
Derek O'Brien perhaps if true!
The player's name was mentioned on our forum, don't know if I should mention it here as I wasn't there to view this myself. Suffice to say that this player would be particularly sore about conceding 5 goals.
Dillonman
22/08/2009, 9:38 AM
The player's name was mentioned on our forum, don't know if I should mention it here as I wasn't there to view this myself. Suffice to say that this player would be particularly sore about conceding 5 goals.
Ah get you, no more names shall be mentioned!:D
CF1989
22/08/2009, 10:18 AM
some other galway players had a go at us aswell after he done it. ian foster was the only one with some sense
sonofstan
22/08/2009, 11:04 AM
Sorry to hear about the shenanigans in Lucan, because I wanted to say that Galway deserve credit for how they played last night. Too many teams have been coming to Dalymount this year playing for a draw, or trying to break us up physically, so after Tuesday's gladiatorial adventures, it was nice to see a team at least try to be creative and playing honest football. There was one yellow card all evening (and Kelly was reffing).
The fact that we scored 5 with five different goalscorers, and without our top scorer getting on the sheet says a lot: that we did it without either of our first choice midfielders says more.
Oh, and Bertie came along and spent the evening, in the words of someone on our board, staring at Trap 'like a sex pest'.
brianw82
22/08/2009, 11:25 AM
Speaking of Trap, did Murphy even have a save to make?
sonofstan
22/08/2009, 11:46 AM
Speaking of Trap, did Murphy even have a save to make?
Not a whole lot, no. Think there might have been one in the first half?
Drogman.
22/08/2009, 11:47 AM
Sorry to hear about the shenanigans in Lucan, because I wanted to say that Galway deserve credit for how they played last night. Too many teams have been coming to Dalymount this year playing for a draw, or trying to break us up physically, so after Tuesday's gladiatorial adventures, it was nice to see a team at least try to be creative and playing honest football. There was one yellow card all evening (and Kelly was reffing).
The fact that we scored 5 with five different goalscorers, and without our top scorer getting on the sheet says a lot: that we did it without either of our first choice midfielders says more.
Oh, and Bertie came along and spent the evening, in the words of someone on our board, staring at Trap 'like a sex pest'.
I never understand this. Why do you commend a team who come to try and "play" football but most of the time get hammered, but if a team comes and are tacticly sound and play for a result and get one then you give out that it's anti football??
It's easy to commend a team you've beaten 5-0 and say they've played football but I bet if it was a draw you'd be saying, "Galway just parked the bus in front of their goal" etc.
WindmillWarrior
22/08/2009, 12:25 PM
what a great advert for irish football, drogs v cork, was more hoofball than football, no wonder no one watches this ****, it looks woeful on telly at times.
Have to agree with that. Really poor game, really poor atmosphere. The whole occassion was worthy of a 0-0 scoreline, and thats what it should have been.
sonofstan
22/08/2009, 12:36 PM
In think Windmill Warrior's post kind of answers Drogman's question to me quite well.
gilberto_eire
22/08/2009, 3:51 PM
Right no-one else from our side has responded to this so i'll put forward what i'm hearing on our side.....
Apparently the young lad called the player in question a particular ''name'' and made a reference to his past(any of the Dublin's clubs fans know the particular taunts as they hassle him during matches about it).
So when you consider that there were a number of Galway players in the shop and this particular player lost the plot, it would lead me to assume that the young fella didn't day ''what was the score tonight'' and said something particularly offensive to the player in question..... i doubt very much anyone would get their knickers in a twist over such a playful comment, especially considering what was meant to be said.
The reaction he gave sounds more like it was to a personal comment he recieved so i'll believe what i heard and not this ''what was the score'' bull*** that's been spouted here
longfordjames
22/08/2009, 4:00 PM
All the Sligo fans know what he said.Look in rubbish and you will see a Sligo fan admit the truth
irishultra
22/08/2009, 6:03 PM
is the dundalk vs shamrock rovers match on tv????
SRFCTV
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/v-ucd---fai-cup
Rovers 1 up.
Stephen Rice
GalwayRed
22/08/2009, 7:14 PM
Fingal are 1-0 up on Athlone. Bayley after 14 mins but theyve also had Maher sent off after 16 mins.
22/08/2009, 7:18 PM
Bolger sent off for UCD. Still 0-0.
Dundalk pull 1 back.
Alex Williams
sonofstan
22/08/2009, 7:23 PM
Dundalk pull 1 back.
Alex Williams
Good man.....
22/08/2009, 7:24 PM