View Full Version : Cyprus (Away) Sat 8th Oct 05

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9

zinedineontour
27/09/2005, 3:39 PM
id say around 8000 or so .. dont think it be quite like paris ... Just a lot harder getting over and far more costly .. but since there were only 3000 at the cypriots game against the french it will be like a home game for us !

Sligo Hornet
27/09/2005, 3:45 PM
id say around 8000 or so .. dont think it be quite like paris ... Just a lot harder getting over and far more costly .. but since there were only 3000 at the cypriots game against the french it will be like a home game for us !

:D I reckon on 8,004 !!......now that I have secured 4 tickets from some nice chap !! :D

zinedineontour
27/09/2005, 3:53 PM
yeah good that i got my hands on those cypriot end tickets !!

ccfcgirl
27/09/2005, 4:21 PM
Id say there will be well over 10,000 Irish supporters in Cyprus .

Only2keanos
27/09/2005, 4:34 PM
I agree. It seems like there are a lot going who didnt even apply for tickets with the FAI. I heard there were 7,500 applications with the FAI. And there are all the people going on packages that include match tickets. So I would think there will be over 10,000.

AidoM
27/09/2005, 6:32 PM
Still don't know who is orgsnising trip but just got word that I'm getting flight tickets on Thursday (flying out on Monday I think about 8 a.m). I'll get match ticket at the airport on Monday morning (it's part of the package).

Already been hit for €29 euro fuel surcharge (thanks George W !!). Package excludes taxes and been told that there is a €40 airport tax in Cyprus.

Can anybody confirm this as I suppose we'll have to pay it??

The airport tax was an Irish idea first so Rip Off Ireland has been exported !!!

Cowboy
27/09/2005, 7:09 PM
Are Global not based in Birmingham?

My apologies, I've obviously confused them with another company

Sligo Hornet
28/09/2005, 11:00 AM
:) Next wednesday can't come quick enough!!...........Anyone else flying out from Gatwick early wednesday morning ( 07.00 Thomas Cook TCX45k ) to Larnaca?? :) :) :) :)

Paulie
28/09/2005, 11:54 AM
I'm out the following day at 9:45am from Heathrow.

onenilgameover
28/09/2005, 1:09 PM
Still nothing from Globaltravel by way of tickets. Anyone else having postal difficulties?

jaykay
28/09/2005, 1:16 PM
Got my Global Travel tickets on Monday. I'm heading out on the Sunday trip. The tickets from Ireland to London are just Ryanair reference numbers, and the other tickets are just printouts from a pdf file. Maybey they could email these to you if you are getting worried about the postal system.

onenilgameover
28/09/2005, 1:35 PM
Got my Global Travel tickets on Monday. I'm heading out on the Sunday trip. The tickets from Ireland to London are just Ryanair reference numbers, and the other tickets are just printouts from a pdf file. Maybey they could email these to you if you are getting worried about the postal system.

Thanks Jay Kay...I thought that might be the case. Thats grand...Tried ringing them but no anwser. Are the hotel tickets with that lot aswell?

I'm off on Sunday too....P!ssing rain here in Dublin...Bring on the Sunshine!

Duffer
28/09/2005, 2:39 PM
Still no tickets here either - hope they get here on time.

uibhfhailigirl
28/09/2005, 2:54 PM
hiya everyone just found this site ragin i didnt find it earlier!!! Got d tickets today!! got match tickets too. we're in section 232..... any1 else here?

We booked in Premier Promotions in tullamore. Staying in Limassol. Any1 else ere??

BillyG
28/09/2005, 3:16 PM
Travelling to limassol for match, head out next tues via prague. should be good craic :)

28/09/2005, 3:18 PM
we're in section 232..... any1 else here?

Don't worry about what section you're in, we sat where we liked the last time and we'll take over the place completely this time.

Safe flight but leave the GAA jerseys at home. ;)

Eire06
28/09/2005, 3:21 PM
hiya everyone just found this site ragin i didnt find it earlier!!! Got d tickets today!! got match tickets too. we're in section 232..... any1 else here?

We booked in Premier Promotions in tullamore. Staying in Limassol. Any1 else ere??
I'm staying there too..

Think the section on the tickets is the A1-A4 part, were in the small stand according to the map at the back of the tickets

uibhfhailigirl
28/09/2005, 3:49 PM
i so forgot to look at d back of d ticket!! where in limassol u staying billy? we in d sylva apartments!
Don't worry i'll be in d tricolour of d Offaly jersey!!

Flyin mon morn via manchester.

uibhfhailigirl
28/09/2005, 4:00 PM
our match tickets are N1- N4. were behind d goals

BillyG
28/09/2005, 4:02 PM
Staying in Best Western Sunsmile Apartments. Fly out tues for 7 days but dont arrive till early wed morn, 4 hr stop over in prague....oh the joy of not wanting to pay over inflated prices to travel agents :)

AidoM
28/09/2005, 4:50 PM
;) I am a block booker but for a number of reasons didn't get in on time to make application for Cyprus tickets. However, match tickets are part of our packgage (I hope).
The FAI put me on a waiting list if they got extra tickets but hadn't heard anything until today.

But here's the good news!!!!!!!!!!!

I was on to the FAI this evening to see if any extra tickets had become available and if I could get them (to be sure to be sure!) They said that they had not received any additional tickets from Cypriot FA but

wait for it !!!!!!!!

The Cypriot FA had told them that they would be putting about 5000 tickets on sale from the stadium from tomorrow.

As most people are probably heading out next week, hopefully they will still be available

Paulie
28/09/2005, 4:51 PM
I'm staying there too..

Think the section on the tickets is the A1-A4 part, were in the small stand according to the map at the back of the tickets

Yeah we're in A1-A4 as well although as Peadar said, last time we could move around as we wanted. You could even change stands if you wanted although this time there will probably be no need as we're along the side of the pitch. Last time we were behind the goal.

uibhfhailigirl
28/09/2005, 5:01 PM
will we need a jacket at night does anyone kno?? weather looks good during d day but wil it get chilly at night?

28/09/2005, 5:05 PM
Ahh sure just go out with a nice top you will be fine.

AidoM
28/09/2005, 5:06 PM
You'll probably have plenty of offers to keep you warm at night !!!

ccfcgirl
28/09/2005, 7:28 PM
Wednesday cant come quick enough .I dont think it will be cold over there at night .We can always wrap our tri-colours around us.

AidoM
28/09/2005, 7:41 PM
Wednesday cant come quick enough .I dont think it will be cold over there at night .We can always wrap our tri-colours around us.

We're flying out Monday. Just checked weather in Cyprus up to Friday 7th on another site. Monday will have thunder showers but temp @ 86 degrees. Rest of week no showers and temp @ 86 degrees.

Always have the tricolour to wrap around you

onenilgameover
29/09/2005, 3:00 PM
Tickets from global travel arrived today..I hear from Duffer its the same situation there. Return on the mon morn after a 11pm flight is not cool as if thats the case work will be missed on the Monday which is not a happy situation.

Only2keanos
29/09/2005, 3:12 PM
The Cypriot FA had told them that they would be putting about 5000 tickets on sale from the stadium from tomorrow.

Just to add to the message above, the following email was sent today by the Cypriot FA to those who had been enquiring about match tickets from them:

Dear Sirs/Madames,

Please note that 4500 tickets, for Irish fans, will go out on sale as from tomorrow morning from the 1st floor of G.S.P stadium offices (telephone number: +357 22 87 40 50) in Nicosia.

The available tickets are located on the North Stand of the stadium and their price is CYP 12,00.

Sale times are 10:00-12:00 and 14:00-16:00 every day except coming weekend since local championship matches are being played there.

Best regards

Cyprus F.A

One of the lads rang them to see if they would be able to sell us some over the phone but they wouldnt. They wouldnt hold any for people either so we are going to head up to Nicosia on as soon as we arrive next week.

onenilgameover
29/09/2005, 4:02 PM
Just contacted Ryanair with booking ref and the flight is returning from Stansted at 6.30 am and arriving at 7.45 am in dublin. so everything should be fine with reagrds to getting to work (for those on that flight)...I presume they will have bus tranfers from gatwick to stansted when the flight from paphos gets in at 2am. if people have any queries...steve should be back on here to sort em out tommorow.

Duffer
30/09/2005, 10:54 AM
Is anyone else on sunday morning flight to stanstead then on the bus trip to heathrow for flight to larnaca??? with no tickets for cyprus flight?? anybody else worried or do you reckon it'll be ok??
SCARED!

30/09/2005, 11:00 AM
with no tickets for cyprus flight??

Very few flights require tickets now.
I expect you'll be met by a rep. and you'll all check in at one desk where your names are on a list. They'll issue you with a boarding card and off you go. Just you make sure you have your passport and stop worrying about everything else.

Have a safe flight.

onenilgameover
01/10/2005, 4:58 PM
Whats the story with getting money out of the hole in the wall in paphos? Are people changing dosh before they head over? Can ye use your Irish cards over there? or is it best to bring Euro?

AidoM
01/10/2005, 6:51 PM
Whats the story with getting money out of the hole in the wall in paphos? Are people changing dosh before they head over? Can ye use your Irish cards over there? or is it best to bring Euro?

:) I know you can use the holes in the wall with Irish cards in Ayia and the rate you get may be slightly better per ccfcgirl elsewhere and I believe it's true. There are dangers in bringing a lot of cash and carrying it around but that's a matter for everyone. I was going to bring cash but put money on the credit card so that I could get it from the hole in the wall. Bad news was that the balance had to be cleared before I could draw down cash!

What cards have you??

onenilgameover
01/10/2005, 7:11 PM
Got normal AIB card and a visa card from said bank but i dont know me pin for the visa....I reckon we'ill be able to use just the normal aib/boi of whoever's card but not 100%. The AIB and the same with BOI have the link and the plus logo's on the back of the card.

ccfcgirl
01/10/2005, 7:43 PM
Im bringing cash .Cyprus is expensive ......

AidoM
01/10/2005, 7:49 PM
Im bringing cash .Cyprus is expensive ......
:confused: All cash? If it's expensive it expensive for cash and cards. I was thinking about carrying around a lot of cash or safety of stashing it in the aparts.

ccfcgirl
01/10/2005, 8:37 PM
Safty deposit boxs..............

Thunderblaster
01/10/2005, 10:31 PM
Anyone interested in the ten day weather forecast for Larnaca, Limassol and Nicosia can log onto www.weatheronline.co.uk or www.weather.com. I'm flying out myself on Wednesday and I'm based in Limassol. Surely will be good craic. Was in Paris last year and it was amazing.

onenilgameover
02/10/2005, 1:08 AM
Looks like we're sorted...no need to take large sums

Here's an atm locator with results for paphos..if ye got a visa or plus logo on the back of yisser card your grand....

http://visa.via.infonow.net/locator/global/ResultsDisplayAction.do?uid=X5619953-1128215263-ac120764

horney
02/10/2005, 1:34 AM
£1.60 a pint sunday to thursday. :D
rosport 5 finaly freed yesterday

horney
02/10/2005, 1:35 AM
£1.60 a pint sunday to thursday. :D
only one week to go deadly

Colie
02/10/2005, 1:29 PM
One day you mean.

AidoM
02/10/2005, 5:37 PM
One day you mean.

Same for me Collie. I am away at 8.15 in the morning

ccfcgirl
03/10/2005, 4:42 PM
Ive 2 more days to wait.Neighbours must think Im bammy actually they know I am .I ve 2 Irish Flags drying on the Line ..............

03/10/2005, 4:54 PM
I think anyone that carries cash in their bags is mad to be honest. I am bringing my cards as you can use the hole in the wall and credit cards too. If you lose case u are ****ed. I am off at 9 in the morning, and just leaving work now

Bring it on

ccfcgirl
03/10/2005, 4:58 PM
I think anyone that carries cash in their bags is mad to be honest. I am bringing my cards as you can use the hole in the wall and credit cards too. If you lose case u are ****ed. I am off at 9 in the morning, and just leaving work now

Bring it onHave a safe flight ...........

03/10/2005, 5:01 PM
Thanks and I will see you in the Anthea Apts I will have our room ready for you when you arrive.

ccfcgirl
03/10/2005, 5:02 PM
Thanks and I will see you in the Anthea Apts I will have our room ready for you when you arrive.Have the fat frogs ready:D :D

holteender
04/10/2005, 8:44 AM
Anyone on the 11.10 from Manchester tomorrow? :)