View Full Version : Wesley Webb 2009
devilfish
13/08/2009, 9:13 AM
Syl is back lads,
Whats been going on?
What are the times for tonights semi's and are they on in Corrib drive?????
Welcome back Syl!! :D
devilfish
13/08/2009, 9:16 AM
i think he's got a long standing injury...or maybe he's just waiing to be begged..:D or maybe he's enjoying himself too much training the newtown/park/hibs ladies...couldn't blame him really..
Oh I was waiting for that Hacker!! You've been biting your lip for a long time!! Just to clear everything up, it's a knee injury and won't kick a ball this side of Xmas I'd say. Going to coach the B team with Cousin Syl!!
CousinSylDolan
13/08/2009, 9:29 AM
Oh I was waiting for that Hacker!! You've been biting your lip for a long time!! Just to clear everything up, it's a knee injury and won't kick a ball this side of Xmas I'd say. Going to coach the B team with Cousin Syl!!
and by God do they need coaching!!!!:D
papa-j
13/08/2009, 9:44 AM
My apologies if I offended you, was not my intention but was I incorrect with my fact that the last time olympic were in the premier, they were punching above their weight. I think it would be great if the club could stay up in the division but just can't see it I'm afraid. Save this message for next May and come back to me if I'm wrong.
D
Let it go. You have had your say, its been noted, move on. Lets talk again next May when the season is ending and both teams will have played each other for 6 points.
Planners
13/08/2009, 11:20 AM
. Going to coach the B team with Cousin Syl!![/QUOTE]
:D:D:D - - you coaching - hope the motto is "don't do as I do - do as I say "!!!
devilfish
13/08/2009, 11:39 AM
. Going to coach the B team with Cousin Syl!![/QUOTE]
- - you coaching - hope the motto is "don't do as I do - do as I say "!!!
If we "do as I do" we will be very successful, no? You're more than welcome to come down for a look if you like. Considering your recent return to the A team was a very unhappy one.:D:D:D
Planners
13/08/2009, 12:09 PM
]If we "do as I do" we will be very successful, no? You're more than welcome to come down for a look if you like. Considering your recent return to the A team was a very unhappy one
As stated before I don;t do "b" but thanks for the offer - just a note I have played 4 and scored 3 in pre season ;)
Oh yeah and to answer your first question - do as you do and your f*****:D
devilfish
13/08/2009, 12:14 PM
]If we "do as I do" we will be very successful, no? You're more than welcome to come down for a look if you like. Considering your recent return to the A team was a very unhappy one
As stated before I don;t do "b" but thanks for the offer - just a note I have played 4 and scored 3 in pre season ;)
Ha ha, I'm sure all premier defences are quaking in their boots at the prospect of your return....
Goals4fun
13/08/2009, 12:21 PM
what is your defensive record as you have played some games there (center half) ?:D
devilfish
13/08/2009, 1:23 PM
what is your defensive record as you have played some games there (center half) ?:D
Planners defensive record is:
Played: 1 : Never playing again;)
Offside
13/08/2009, 1:38 PM
Any predictions on tonights games? I'll go out on a limb and say 3-1 to the rats against Hibs B' and 2-1 to Hibs' A against Town. I wouldn't be surprised if the Hibs A' and Town A' game went to pens though.
Planners
13/08/2009, 4:00 PM
]Planners defensive record is:
Played: 1 : Never playing again;)[/QUOTE]
I was going to leave this but - - - - in my defense any player is only as good as the other 10 players around him - there is no "i" in team and so on - its players who play as individuals who tend to be merceneries and feel no obligation to the clubs they orignally are affiliated to - isn't that right goals4fun ;)
Goals4fun
13/08/2009, 4:34 PM
]Planners defensive record is:
Played: 1 : Never playing again[/QUOTE]
I was going to leave this but - - - - in my defense any player is only as good as the other 10 players around him - there is no "i" in team and so on - its players who play as individuals who tend to be merceneries and feel no obligation to the clubs they orignally are affiliated to - isn't that right goals4fun
technically that is untrue.
If john terry played with ye would ye bring him to your level...:eek:...
if you look closely enough at 'team' there may not be an 'i' but there is a 'me'......:D
i forgot that all the boys from rinnenna played all the way up and never left them...
some people have ambition, some don't.....
saggy-ball's
13/08/2009, 5:38 PM
some people have ambition, some don't.....
i thnk that was a foolish comment considering rovers just won the cup in the year gone by and well.... there is only one trophy more important that that and thats the league one...no???
and not many people can say they one that last year ?
Shortstop
13/08/2009, 6:50 PM
Shannon Town A 2 Shannon Hibs/Park 0
Half time..
2 well taken goals from Shannon town, Hibs defence caught napping from a corner for the first and a great strike from Evan Barry for the second Hibs keeper had no chance..Hibs had a few chances of their own but couldn't convert..
viewman76
13/08/2009, 8:05 PM
Half time..
2 well taken goals from Shannon town, Hibs defence caught napping from a corner for the first and a great strike from Evan Barry for the second Hibs keeper had no chance..Hibs had a few chances of their own but couldn't convert..
We came all the ways out to shannon to see what this shannon hibs bla bla bla winners of 1B talk was all about. I have to say honestly if thats it i mean really it they will be lucky to challenge this year. We (view) have seen a few teams in preseason and hibs are the worst to date. I dont mean to sound cocky but we are more worried about summervile, pallas, murroe, and cals. sorry boys new name new club same team same bottlers.
saggy-ball's
13/08/2009, 8:16 PM
We came all the ways out to shannon to see what this shannon hibs bla bla bla winners of 1B talk was all about. I have to say honestly if thats it i mean really it they will be lucky to challenge this year. We (view) have seen a few teams in preseason and hibs are the worst to date. I dont mean to sound cocky but we are more worried about summervile, pallas, murroe, and cals. sorry boys new name new club same team same bottlers.
i will point out to you hib's were missing a good few players but i'm still not sure even with those players if they will challenge for 1b
Lev Yashin
13/08/2009, 8:37 PM
Half time..
Finished up three nil...anyone have the result of the other semi???
javi-n A laugh
13/08/2009, 8:40 PM
Shannon Town 3 Shannon Hibs 0
No complaints better team won but we gave away 2 very bad goals either side of a great strike from Evan Barry. We never really tested Garreth in goals and town in general semmed more up for it. Best for Hibs were Quirkey and Janie Cullen ( before they came off) James Fitz. Peter Barron and young Magurian. Best of luck to Town in final
viewman76
13/08/2009, 8:53 PM
how sad are ye coming to shannon to watch a pre season tournament..:o
i dont know which is worse the fact that ye came out or the fact you admitteded it:o
i work out here so it was only a short drive for a look.
viewman76
13/08/2009, 8:58 PM
i will point out to you hib's were missing a good few players but i'm still not sure even with those players if they will challenge for 1b
will i sum it up for you. Hibs (PARK) missing a keeper two centre halfs a decent centre midfielder and two frowards. The onlt player that looked like he had something about him was the young lad on the left wing. and thats just to compete. shannon looked a bit tasty best of luck to ye this year
CousinSylDolan
13/08/2009, 9:38 PM
Bunratty A beat Park B 3-0 in the other semi final. Nothing much to report. Poor enough game. Goals from Ryan Kelly (2) and Trevor Twoomey. 2nd goal killed Park off half way thru 2nd half after they had some decent pressure.
Final
Shannon Town A vs Bunratty A (Sat @ 7)
Truth Meister
13/08/2009, 10:01 PM
will i sum it up for you. Hibs (PARK) missing a keeper two centre halfs a decent centre midfielder and two frowards. The onlt player that looked like he had something about him was the young lad on the left wing. and thats just to compete. shannon looked a bit tasty best of luck to ye this year
Park are a good young team but need to concentrate on working hard and doing the less glamorous parts of the game. Probably best that the bubble burst before the season starts and a few heads were deflated. They will challenge for their league. Town really deserved their win and are a much more solid and street wise outfit than park. They should also challenge but it will be much harder than last year for them.
old git
13/08/2009, 11:13 PM
viewman entitled to your say but don't always judge teams on 1 match long hard season ahead for ye both .. and don't forget it was only a pre-season game ::ball:
squire
14/08/2009, 6:28 AM
Kieran Hackett was playing on the left wing for park, great player.
squire
14/08/2009, 6:30 AM
Park are a good young team but need to concentrate on working hard and doing the less glamorous parts of the game. Probably best that the bubble burst before the season starts and a few heads were deflated. They will challenge for their league. Town really deserved their win and are a much more solid and street wise outfit than park. They should also challenge but it will be much harder than last year for them.
Have to agree with what you said about Shannon Town. Very solid preformance from the back, Fla was a rock. Have players on the team that have been playing for years with shannon and have massive experience. Definetly gave them an advantage
viewman76
14/08/2009, 6:39 AM
viewman entitled to your say but don't always judge teams on 1 match long hard season ahead for ye both .. and don't forget it was only a pre-season game ::ball:
yes it is only an opinion and my first time watching ye since last season.
But come on now playing with an outfield player in goals who is brutal and one of the best centre halfs around in midfield where he was useless, just wont cut it to get out of 1B and having seen a few of the other teams i feel park wont make it pre-season or not
Shortstop
14/08/2009, 6:46 AM
Park are a decent team just didn't come together yesterday, Davy Wall was a massive loss to them in the centre on the park. They need to get off to a good start to the season though, the last couple of seasons they've been dragging their heels for the first few games by the end of it they have to many points to make up..
Lev Yashin
14/08/2009, 7:07 AM
Shannon Town 3 Shannon Hibs 0
No complaints better team won but we gave away 2 very bad goals either side of a great strike from Evan Barry. We never really tested Garreth in goals and town in general semmed more up for it. Best for Hibs were Quirkey and Janie Cullen ( before they came off) James Fitz. Peter Barron and young Magurian. Best of luck to Town in final
Cheers! Have to say the young fella ye have on the wing...hackett looks like he could be a good player. I think ye'll do well this season should be there or there abouts come the end. Best of luck
Goals4fun
14/08/2009, 7:21 AM
i thnk that was a foolish comment considering rovers just won the cup in the year gone by and well.... there is only one trophy more important that that and thats the league one...no???
and not many people can say they one that last year ?
was not talking about rinnenna as this was a talk about players....and moving clubs or did you not pick that up....:confused:
Goals4fun
14/08/2009, 7:24 AM
town were the better team on the night. Park got the kick up the arse they needed after a few handy wins. Good time to get it if you ask me.
Shannon town played well last night and were really up for it. Their defence were on top and they caused problems with their movement up front.......they deserved their win.
Lev Yashin
14/08/2009, 7:28 AM
town were the better team on the night. Park got the kick up the arse they needed after a few handy wins. Good time to get it if you ask me.
Shannon town played well last night and were really up for it. Their defence were on top and they caused problems with their movement up front.......they deserved their win.
should that not be we??
Goals4fun
14/08/2009, 8:14 AM
should that not be we??
yes it should be we.
I was part of the team that lost last night and got the kick up my arse that i needed
Lev Yashin
14/08/2009, 8:40 AM
yes it should be we.
I was part of the team that lost last night and got the kick up my arse that i needed
We got our awakening the game before...I do hope ye do well but I hope we're not playing in the same league as ye next season...
old git
14/08/2009, 9:25 AM
yes it is only an opinion and my first time watching ye since last season.
But come on now playing with an outfield player in goals who is brutal and one of the best centre halfs around in midfield where he was useless, just wont cut it to get out of 1B and having seen a few of the other teams i feel park wont make it pre-season or not
as far as i know park/hibs are struggling for a keeper.. as regular may be injured at the moment ?? as for centre half in midfield maybe management wanted to try out a few players.. i canot comment on any other teams as i have not seen them play and have only seen park/hibs play once this pre-season . but who knows what will happen over the season but i do think par/ hibs need to start season well to have any chance of fighting for promotion :ball:
Lev Yashin
14/08/2009, 12:17 PM
as far as i know park/hibs are struggling for a keeper.. as regular may be injured at the moment ?? as for centre half in midfield maybe management wanted to try out a few players.. i canot comment on any other teams as i have not seen them play and have only seen park/hibs play once this pre-season . but who knows what will happen over the season but i do think par/ hibs need to start season well to have any chance of fighting for promotion :ball:
Darren Whelan is it??? Heard he was having an operation and would be back in november or something...
devilfish
14/08/2009, 12:50 PM
Darren Whelan is it??? Heard he was having an operation and would be back in november or something...
Think ye might be mistaken as Darren was the regular keeper for Bunratty for the past few seasons! And our current keeper was the regular for Park last year.
Truth Meister
14/08/2009, 1:13 PM
Think ye might be mistaken as Darren was the regular keeper for Bunratty for the past few seasons! And our current keeper was the regular for Park last year.
which keeper would you rather have? Did Ryano sign a form yet or was he filling in for the wesley webb?
Lev Yashin
14/08/2009, 1:18 PM
No mistake...just heard that darren was signing for hibs...
CousinSylDolan
14/08/2009, 1:22 PM
No mistake...just heard that darren was signing for hibs...
I think the mistake Devilfish meant was calling Darren Park's "regular" keeper when he has not played for them in about 3 years...
He is out until Nov I hear also and has signed for Park. Hope he recovers sooner. Eye injury I believe.
Goals4fun
14/08/2009, 1:24 PM
Padantic pat or what......
devilfish
14/08/2009, 1:40 PM
Padantic pat or what......
No just facts;) maybe he was lured by the money to the riverside:D
viewman76
14/08/2009, 7:27 PM
No just facts;) maybe he was lured by the money to the riverside:D
grahame carey was in gaols last year and the other night against shannon.
I taught he was an out field player he certain is not a keeper. And park could be well out of the race for the league by the time november comes along. bit of a risk ....no?
lifegoeson
15/08/2009, 7:43 AM
grahame carey was in gaols last year and the other night against shannon.
I taught he was an out field player he certain is not a keeper. And park could be well out of the race for the league by the time november comes along. bit of a risk ....no?
I think it's clown time of the year is it.
old git
15/08/2009, 9:27 PM
shannon town win wesly webb on penalties
match finished 1-1 shannon town were better team on the night and probally should have won match in normal time as ref denied them a blatent penalty when jamie egan was taken out with shoulder charge in last 10 -15 mins.. bunratty struggled to create many chances and seemed to rely on long ball over the top to forwards. town opened scoring when direct free kick came back of post and rebound scrambled in.. bunratty equalised from penalty spot after o'connell hacked down by town centre half fla.. 1-1 half time but town looked the more dangerous in second half with introduction of jamie egan causing bunratty plenty of problems with his pace ...
bunratty penalties terrible 3 missed ... :ball:
Quigmire
15/08/2009, 9:56 PM
match finished 1-1 shannon town were better team on the night and probally should have won match in normal time as ref denied them a blatent penalty when jamie egan was taken out with shoulder charge in last 10 -15 mins.. bunratty struggled to create many chances and seemed to rely on long ball over the top to forwards. town opened scoring when direct free kick came back of post and rebound scrambled in.. bunratty equalised from penalty spot after o'connell hacked down by town centre half fla.. 1-1 half time but town looked the more dangerous in second half with introduction of jamie egan causing bunratty plenty of problems with his pace ...
Not a chance was that a peno what was he meant to do let him pass him great tackle
MikeBassett
15/08/2009, 10:54 PM
Have to agree with Quigmire regarding this 'blatent penalty' Shannon Town should've had. That was no way a penalty, it was an excellent and fair challenge.
rainman
16/08/2009, 11:43 AM
Thought the final was the best game of the tournament, between the 2 strongest teams. It was a good fair battle,and both tried to play football but the surface was terrible. Both teams look to have very strong panels and should do very well this season. Jamie Egan, looked very dangerous when he came on but in my opinion it was no penalty,clear shoulder to shoulder. Bunratty's penalties were terrible. well done to Shannon town on running a very good tournament and winning it.
Lev Yashin
16/08/2009, 12:13 PM
I think it was a pen...but i was a long way away from it ;)
that said i cant imagine it was a great game to watch pitch didn't help but we are happy to have won its great to win any trophy even more so when its your own and you retain it...
Ill say one thing the standard of football had improved in the town in a year Bunratty look strong as do Hibs i think between the three of us we'll be there or there abouts in our repsective legues. :ball:
old git
16/08/2009, 12:49 PM
I think it was a pen...but i was a long way away from it ;)
that said i cant imagine it was a great game to watch pitch didn't help but we are happy to have won its great to win any trophy even more so when its your own and you retain it...
Ill say one thing the standard of football had improved in the town in a year Bunratty look strong as do Hibs i think between the three of us we'll be there or there abouts in our repsective legues. :ball:
penalty from were i was standing .. taken out with a shoulder charge when straight through on goal... .. as for retaining trophy .. did bunratty not win wesly webb last year :confused:. ye looked the most impressive team in tournament bar your opening game.. best of luck in new season.