View Full Version : Wesley Webb 2009
Lev Yashin
11/08/2009, 6:30 AM
were you at the same game as everyone else..they had 2 of last years cup winning team..the keeper had a nightmare in nets.park got 2 good goals. the 1st one scalesy fell and it hit him and rolled in.3 came from long balls..then the keeper made 4 bad mistakes..hibs very weak at the back.turned inside out 3 times in 1st half..davy wall will have to play himself there beside philly purcell...neville is a donkey...anyway nothing was won in pre-season..maybe park are peaking too early..shannon town will give them a beating on thursday..all the park lads were saying on the way out after the town v olympic b match was that they will hit them for 5 at least
You must have your big wooden spoon out....stirring away!! And it's only pre season!!!
lifegoeson
11/08/2009, 6:41 AM
You must have your big wooden spoon out....stirring away!! And it's only pre season!!!
anyone got a early prediction between shannon's oldest club and shannon's newest club next thurs evening. I'll go for both us keepers keeping a clean sheet's and hibs to take on penalty's
Truth Meister
11/08/2009, 9:25 AM
Bunratty beat Olympic on penos. C'mon the Rats:ball:Was surprised with Olympic, thought they were the better team and played more football than Bunratty who constantly hit aimless long balls hoping for a goal on the break. It was the best game so far in the webb. Bunratty should make the final now and give Hibs or Town a good game.
newtown4ever
11/08/2009, 9:36 AM
a bit harsh there with the holy show stuff..:confused: its pre season..
but good to see someone is coming to watch all our preseason matches????should start charging at the gate:p won 2 lost 2 and drawn 1..used at least 18 players every game bar hibs match..hardly terrible..lost 2 key players and signed 9 new lads who are settling in..still 3 weeks to league start..
Only been to one of yer pre season games hacker and that was sunday.it was a shadow of the team that won the cup last season to be fair..who have ye beaten in pre season?ive only heard about yer defeats..
squire
11/08/2009, 9:39 AM
Results from yesterday evenings WW
Shannon Town B 0 - 4 Shannon Hibs B (Park)
Olympic A 0 -1 Bunratty (need someone to confirm this one)
Truth Meister
11/08/2009, 10:56 AM
olympic equalised with 3 mins to go...bunratty won on peno's..very soft peno awarded to bunratty start of 2nd half..
Stonewall penalty:D Absolute joke but Bunratty wont complain. Nicely put away by Decky. That was the only goal threat Bunratty had though. Will need to improve. Equaliser well deserved by Olympic but couldn't stick away the penos.
Truth Meister
11/08/2009, 11:36 AM
i must comment on the standard last night the 2nd game was terrible last years league champs will have to improve greatly decy adams playing left back what a waste talented winger/striker..sparky playing right back.???.wasn't he top striker wit b team last season.??.were rats missing many to be playing these lads in these positions..
over all i think it will be park b in final and the other game too tight to call.but just for them 4 or 5 loud mouths i hope its town..
park b to win it..
pitch has a lot to do with it. Controlling the ball is a lottery. The standard was as good as any of the other games.
squire
11/08/2009, 11:43 AM
Has anyone anyone anything to say about the first game? I thought myself that Shannon town didnt derserve to get beaten 4 nil and were dominating the game for periods. They just didnt finish their chances
javi-n A laugh
11/08/2009, 12:10 PM
were you at the same game as everyone else..they had 2 of last years cup winning team..the keeper had a nightmare in nets.park got 2 good goals. the 1st one scalesy fell and it hit him and rolled in.3 came from long balls..then the keeper made 4 bad mistakes..hibs very weak at the back.turned inside out 3 times in 1st half..davy wall will have to play himself there beside philly purcell...neville is a donkey...anyway nothing was won in pre-season..maybe park are peaking too early..shannon town will give them a beating on thursday..all the park lads were saying on the way out after the town v olympic b match was that they will hit them for 5 at least
Finbarr Neville is a top lad and an average footballer as are a lot of players that play junior football . You are entitled to your opinion but that remark is very petty and ignorant. I'd doubt you would say it to his face. I can tell you for a fact we dont think we will hammer Shannon Town. They are a very good team who only missed out on premier football by a couple of points while we couldn't get out of 1b so there is no basis for thinking we would hit them for 5. We all know Rineanna were missing a few and your right,nothing is won in pre-season but you can only beat whats in front of you.
Lev Yashin
11/08/2009, 12:17 PM
it depends on who town have available on thursday if they have a full squad i would go for them
Well we will have Packie D'arcy back and he has been keeping himself fit...Shane Macarthy is back but i doubt he will be fit and with his history of injuries he probably wont be risked, Julio Perez should be back although he might be working...and depending on the football result last weekend(i dont know the score) we should have Steven Monaghan and Chippie Dunning back.
On the back of our preformance(or lack of it) on sunday im not surprised some of the Park/Hibs boys thought they would hammer us but we have played well in every other pre season game so i think and hope that we can get that form back and we should be a different proposition on thursday.
Stanley
11/08/2009, 12:17 PM
Bunratty beat Olympic on penos. C'mon the Rats:ball:Was surprised with Olympic, thought they were the better team and played more football than Bunratty who constantly hit aimless long balls hoping for a goal on the break. It was the best game so far in the webb. Bunratty should make the final now and give Hibs or Town a good game.
I've watched all of Olympic's preseason games and to be honest, they can, at times, play some lovely football. In their first preseason game against Shannon Town, in the second half there was a passage of play that was as good as anything you'll see anywhere, tv included. They absorbed an attack and played the ball at pace from the back line, through midfield and into attack, creating a chance that should've been converted. There are some excellent players at the club, they perhaps need a bit more belief in themselves?...
I think another problem is they haven't had their full squad available yet.
As for the league champs? I thought they made no attempt to play football last night, they just booted the ball forward at every chance, hoping for the blonde "superstar" to get lucky! They committed niggly fouls contantly and a stronger ref would've penalised them more. Big Daddy should be embarrassed at how they played!
Their penalty was handball, but they didn't deserve the lead. Olympic should be proud of themselves for getting back into the game.
I really hope Bunratty don't win the tournament (or anything) playing such cynical football...
rainman
11/08/2009, 12:36 PM
From what I could see last night for Bunratty,only two players that started their play off win for the league title, started last night. Iv been told they had some players still on holidays or working last night.As im sure most people who read this will know,they lost 4 of their back 5 from last year for this coming season due to various reasons. I wouldnt be so tough just yet on what was obiviously a pre season game,packed of new players.Lads even amateur players need time to adjust!! Hard luck to Olympic they played very well and were unlucky.
old git
11/08/2009, 12:50 PM
Has anyone anyone anything to say about the first game? I thought myself that Shannon town didnt derserve to get beaten 4 nil and were dominating the game for periods. They just didnt finish their chances
only saw last 15 mins of game and at that stage park b were in control but heard shannon town had 2-3 early chances to take lead but then again park won 4-0 so they must have dominated for periods also :ball:
old git
11/08/2009, 12:55 PM
hey its my opinion which i'm intitled to..park shouldn't get too confident after beating a poor under strenght rineanna team..as for players saying they will beat town easy..thats a fact i heard it myself and a town supporter asked me was he hearing right.i said ya and he said what an arrogant clown to say that..maybe all park players dont think same but these 3 or 4 did..ok
i must comment on the standard last night the 2nd game was terrible last years league champs will have to improve greatly decy adams playing left back what a waste talented winger/striker..sparky playing right back.???.wasn't he top striker wit b team last season.??.were rats missing many to be playing these lads in these positions..
over all i think it will be park b in final and the other game too tight to call.but just for them 4 or 5 loud mouths i hope its town..
park b to win it..
can't stop players talking some probally thinking shannon town will be easy after watchin them struggle to beat olympic b.. up to shannon town now to show them on the pitch ( town would have a few loud mouths as well i'm sure )... will agree bunratty v olympic was a terrible match to watch ball spent to much time up in the sky... but would still fancy bunratty to make it to final now :ball:
Lev Yashin
11/08/2009, 1:13 PM
Finbarr Neville is a top lad and an average footballer as are a lot of players that play junior football . You are entitled to your opinion but that remark is very petty and ignorant. I'd doubt you would say it to his face. I can tell you for a fact we dont think we will hammer Shannon Town. They are a very good team who only missed out on premier football by a couple of points while we couldn't get out of 1b so there is no basis for thinking we would hit them for 5. We all know Rineanna were missing a few and your right,nothing is won in pre-season but you can only beat whats in front of you.
Missed out by one point!! ;)
headtheball4
11/08/2009, 1:24 PM
Think the special 1 is wrong young Neville is a fine center half. Any team in the Weseley Webb would start him in the morning. By any chance special 1 are u a shannon town man or at the least anti park???? Only seen the second half of the game but thought he played very well. Looking forward to watching both semi-finals and may the best teams win...........
aliG2daE
11/08/2009, 2:52 PM
What was the bunratty team last night?
aliG2daE
11/08/2009, 2:54 PM
From what I could see last night for Bunratty,only two players that started their play off win for the league title, started last night. Iv been told they had some players still on holidays or working last night.As im sure most people who read this will know,they lost 4 of their back 5 from last year for this coming season due to various reasons. I wouldnt be so tough just yet on what was obiviously a pre season game,packed of new players.Lads even amateur players need time to adjust!! Hard luck to Olympic they played very well and were unlucky.
what players are there to come back? players still on hols....scales:D:D
squire
11/08/2009, 3:27 PM
hey its my opinion which i'm intitled to..park shouldn't get too confident after beating a poor under strenght rineanna team..as for players saying they will beat town easy..thats a fact i heard it myself and a town supporter asked me was he hearing right.i said ya and he said what an arrogant clown to say that..maybe all park players dont think same but these 3 or 4 did..ok
park b to win it..
How can you call park b to win it? if they do make the final they will be playing either park a or shannon town a. Both of which are considerably better than park b
gossipboy
11/08/2009, 3:32 PM
can't stop players talking some probally thinking shannon town will be easy after watchin them struggle to beat olympic b.. up to shannon town now to show them on the pitch ( town would have a few loud mouths as well i'm sure )... will agree bunratty v olympic was a terrible match to watch ball spent to much time up in the sky... but would still fancy bunratty to make it to final now :ball:
Seems a lot of lads on here disagreeing about the standard they saw last night! Shame, I thought we were all experts. From what I saw, Olympic will struggle big time in the Premier. Have not added one decent player since being promoted and teams looks the exact same if not weaker than the last time they were in the premier and we all know what a joke they made of themselves back then. Didn't see much football from them as they seemed to just lump it up to the big fella up front most of the time and were very poor on the flanks. Haven't learnt or improved much from their poor performance in the cup against Rineanna last season. I thought Bunratty looked very comfortable at the back and if the game is judged on chances, then Bunratty were the clear winners. Should have had 2 penalties, centre forward, think it was Trevor Twomey was hacked in the box but stayed on his feet and the other was a definite hand ball. Declan Adams was the best player on the pitch and playing at left back!! Shows his versatility and will be some addition to the rats this year once fit and strong again. good tactics from Donal Magee to put him in where he will get a lot of running, tackling, passing etc. Was a constant threat. Con Collins and Darren Ryan were outstanding and bullied olympic out of it. Expect Bunratty to over-come a gallant Hibs B team and then meet the Shannon Town A team in the final like last year. Not trying to jibe anyone unlike other clown on here but feedback welcome.
newtown4ever
11/08/2009, 3:39 PM
Seems a lot of lads on here disagreeing about the standard they saw last night! Shame, I thought we were all experts. From what I saw, Olympic will struggle big time in the Premier. Have not added one decent player since being promoted and teams looks the exact same if not weaker than the last time they were in the premier and we all know what a joke they made of themselves back then. Didn't see much football from them as they seemed to just lump it up to the big fella up front most of the time and were very poor on the flanks. Haven't learnt or improved much from their poor performance in the cup against Rineanna last season. I thought Bunratty looked very comfortable at the back and if the game is judged on chances, then Bunratty were the clear winners. Should have had 2 penalties, centre forward, think it was Trevor Twomey was hacked in the box but stayed on his feet and the other was a definite hand ball. Declan Adams was the best player on the pitch and playing at left back!! Shows his versatility and will be some addition to the rats this year once fit and strong again. good tactics from Donal Magee to put him in where he will get a lot of running, tackling, passing etc. Was a constant threat. Con Collins and Darren Ryan were outstanding and bullied olympic out of it. Expect Bunratty to over-come a gallant Hibs B team and then meet the Shannon Town A team in the final like last year.
No doubt about it but Decy Adams is back to his best...he trained hard on his own all summer and he's now reaping the rewards.
devilfish
11/08/2009, 3:50 PM
Well said gossip boy and agree on most points. Bit harsh on the olympic lads but seems like they have not added anything since last year and with McCarthy retired, they might struggle. O'Connor at the back was outstanding. Thought Bunratty played ball when they could but pitch is a disgrace but enough said about that. Hibs might let finalists use Riverside or Ballycasey for it;) Dec Adams is enjoying his stint at left back and great that he volunteered his services for the role last night and boy did it pay off, best player on the night. Agree that ithe position will give him the test he needs when playing at full-back, good management, and great to see him back at the level he belongs.
Quigmire
11/08/2009, 4:11 PM
Lads Finbarr is an average centre half that would not get into that postion for either oly or the rats have to say all 4 centre halfs looked good in that match last night def number 5 for oly good player but the rats are a **** poor team to the team that won the league very bad last night and cant see oly doing much either have seen hibs A a few times and played against them they are in my eyes the best team in the wesley webb lets all be serious shannon town are no great shapes they wont last long in the prem in limerick if they get up i am not involved with any club playing the wesley webb but i think hibs A are the team in shannon for the future but def need to sort out that one centre half postion.
ParkLife
11/08/2009, 4:11 PM
Obviously some new wind up merchants on here, tryin to stir it up. But, as said before nothing is won in Pre-season. Don't think any of the players or managers of any of the teams playing in the WW care about how they do. It's a chance to see new players, gain fitness, check out some opposition,and it's a handy few friendlies without having to travel far for them. This childish crack of slagging off teams after seeing them play for 60 minutes on a poor pitch is just embarassing. I'm pretty sure none of them are going to lose sleep over what ye have to say.
papa-j
11/08/2009, 4:24 PM
Obviously some new wind up merchants on here, tryin to stir it up. But, as said before nothing is won in Pre-season. Don't think any of the players or managers of any of the teams playing in the WW care about how they do. It's a chance to see new players, gain fitness, check out some opposition,and it's a handy few friendlies without having to travel far for them. This childish crack of slagging off teams after seeing them play for 60 minutes on a poor pitch is just embarassing. I'm pretty sure none of them are going to lose sleep over what ye have to say.
Well said. Some people here go on like they have intimate inside knowledge of each team. The Wesley Webb was much more fun before the interweb. Now back to the drawing board to change the whole seasons plans because of some nasty comments in some throw away post:rolleyes:
Lev Yashin
11/08/2009, 4:36 PM
Here here!
MikeBassett
11/08/2009, 5:57 PM
park b to win it..
I'm being told by young Shane Meehan that he scored double the amount Sparky did for Rats B last season to claim the top scorer title. Then again I don't think Sparky had the privelage of tapping in all the penalties for them!
Goals4fun
11/08/2009, 9:12 PM
it is too easy to hide behind pcs/laptops and slag of this player or that player....it is pre-season and the wesly webb is only a tournament to assist preseason (and small bragging rights). Many times park have set the comp alight but to do noting in the real season. it is just another training tool...
next time somebody comes on here to have a go at another player, think first about what would be said about them if they came out (gave their real name) and were a manager, another player, supporter or club man....i am sure you could get 100 people to say something bad, that is the easy thing.....do something different for a change....
ps: anybody who is out to stir crap, leave the spoon at home....
saggy-ball's
11/08/2009, 9:17 PM
I'm being told by young Shane Meehan that he scored double the amount Sparky did for Rats B last season to claim the top scorer title. Then again I don't think Sparky had the privelage of tapping in all the penalties for them!
either way are either of these players good enough for premier football ?? i would seriously dout it its ok banging in the goals in devision 3 but its a different story when it comes to playing against the top teams and player's in the county .....
rainman
11/08/2009, 9:37 PM
what players are there to come back? players still on hols....scales:D:D
Terry Duggan, Cheeky, Ryan Kelly, Davy Hogan, Gary McGetrick, Gearoid O'Connell, John Ryan and Pa Twoomey.None of these started Mondays game and im sure all will have big parts to play for the rats this season. As far as I know Scales has signed for Hibs.
old git
12/08/2009, 12:22 AM
hey my opinion
entitled to your opinion alright.... but they have to beat bunratty and then either shannon town A or park A in final can't see them
doing it as any of these 3 teams should be to strong for park b and it would be a major surprise if park b managed to win it out :ball:
Lev Yashin
12/08/2009, 7:09 AM
while i agree with you on all the above..anyone that takes anything said on this site serious should go have a look at themselves..everyone here is a windup merchant..all you can do is slag people back or pretent your p****d off and laugh away at it..
I don't think it's fair to say that everyone is a wind up merchant most people who use this site have a vested interest in soccer wether it be junior ir senior...it just seems this thread develops into farce every year suppose it's down to the size of the Shannon area and the vast number of teams....I do agree with you on not taking anything that is said on here serious as some of the personal attacks are ridiculous. :ball:
Goals4fun
12/08/2009, 7:26 AM
I don't think it's fair to say that everyone is a wind up merchant most people who use this site have a vested interest in soccer wether it be junior ir senior...it just seems this thread develops into farce every year suppose it's down to the size of the Shannon area and the vast number of teams....I do agree with you on not taking anything that is said on here serious as some of the personal attacks are ridiculous. :ball:
i think there is a difference in winding somebody up when both people are on here and know each other.
and slagging off the ability of players when it comes from an unknown....that is a bit crazy and a cheapshot.........but i suppose it will never change so people will just have to be more thick skinned.....and live/put up with these posters...
anyway back to football,
from the sounds of things with Shannon town getting so many players back they have to be favorites for the Wesley webb.......
Lev Yashin
12/08/2009, 7:58 AM
i think there is a difference in winding somebody up when both people are on here and know each other.
and slagging off the ability of players when it comes from an unknown....that is a bit crazy and a cheapshot.........but i suppose it will never change so people will just have to be more thick skinned.....and live/put up with these posters...
anyway back to football,
from the sounds of things with Shannon town getting so many players back they have to be favorites for the Wesley webb.......
Nah!!! Never!!!
still missing Gerry Kelly and Julio Perez dislocated his shoulder so he is out....yer favourites!!
Planners
12/08/2009, 10:06 AM
Lads - anyone here have a ticket for the North terrace - I have one for the east terrace and would greatfully swap
rainman
12/08/2009, 11:11 AM
davy hogan has retired and gary is having problems wit his back doubt he will play much this year.ryan and pa came on cheeky was an unused sub so not really many missing..but as i said earlier rats will still be up there near end of season
Sorry to hear davy has retired, any reason for this? I only mentioned Ryan and Pa because they only came on for 10 mins and some people here were critical of the way Bunratty played the whole game. I just wanted to point out that it was a very different Bunratty team to what played the majority of last season, and alot of last season regulars will be back come the start of this season. I dont think Bunratty played well the other night, but I do think they had a very strong 11 and with the players I already mentioned, look to have a very strong squad and agree with you that they will be challenging again this year.
papa-j
12/08/2009, 11:47 AM
Lads - anyone here have a ticket for the North terrace - I have one for the east terrace and would greatfully swap
There are still tickets on sale at the box office in Thomand if that helps?
old git
12/08/2009, 12:20 PM
they may only have east terrace & stand tickets for sale seems south terrace and north sold out even though north terrace never went on sale :mad:
Planners
12/08/2009, 1:38 PM
Hear the same - i'll see inside - thanks anyway
old git
12/08/2009, 1:43 PM
Hear the same - i'll see inside - thanks anyway
ring them first as think ticket office closes at 4pm-4.30pm :confused:
Goals4fun
12/08/2009, 2:21 PM
is there a wesley webb game on in Thomond Park tonight.........?:D
Lev Yashin
12/08/2009, 2:50 PM
You'd probably still complain about that pitch!! ;) :D
Goals4fun
12/08/2009, 2:52 PM
You'd probably still complain about that pitch!! ;) :D
probably......:D
but it would suit you to play there as they usually throw the ball backwards.........(like sunday ha ha)......
papa-j
12/08/2009, 3:27 PM
there is a penalty shoot out competition before the game. We are hot favourites:eek: Will also be running a fundraiser for a rule book and a pair of spectacles for that referee:o
squire
12/08/2009, 3:36 PM
but it would suit you to play there as they usually throw the ball backwards.........(like sunday ha ha)......
Harsh! Everyone has an off day! He can put it all to rest on Tomorrow eve! :ball:
Goals4fun
12/08/2009, 3:46 PM
there is a penalty shoot out competition before the game. We are hot favourites:eek: Will also be running a fundraiser for a rule book and a pair of spectacles for that referee:o
might need to get more that one rule book and specs, there are plenty on the pitches and sidelines that struggle week in week out with the rules and what they see also.......:D
Lev Yashin
12/08/2009, 4:34 PM
:eek:Now thats harsh...and it wasn't a throw it was a "punch" although not much or a punch!!! :D
CousinSylDolan
13/08/2009, 8:54 AM
Syl is back lads,
Whats been going on?
What are the times for tonights semi's and are they on in Corrib drive?????
Goals4fun
13/08/2009, 9:01 AM
Syl is back lads,
Whats been going on?
What are the times for tonights semi's and are they on in Corrib drive?????
first game at 6.30 at senatpor lynch park, town versus hibs.....
second game on at 7.45
gossipboy
13/08/2009, 9:08 AM
just wondering gossipboy what division were bunratty in that year..you can hardly slag olympic about that season when the so called dream team were in the 1st division :p
My apologies if I offended you, was not my intention but was I incorrect with my fact that the last time olympic were in the premier, they were punching above their weight. I think it would be great if the club could stay up in the division but just can't see it I'm afraid. Save this message for next May and come back to me if I'm wrong.
Not sure why you jibed me about Bunratty, from what I remember they bounced straight back up from being relegated. And look what they have done since...:D