View Full Version : Wesley Webb 2009

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

Lev Yashin
29/07/2009, 12:13 PM
This years Wesley Webb draw will take place in the Crossroads Tavern at 6 o'clock monday the 3rd of august.

The tournament will commence on the 9th of august trhough to the 16th.

Teams entering will be..
1.SHANNON TOWN UNITED A
2 SHANNON TOWN UNITED B
3 HIBS A
4 HIBS B
5 SHANNON OLYMPIC A
6 SHANNON OLYMPIC B
7 BUNRATTY ROVERS A
8 RINEANNA ROVERS A

Goals4fun
29/07/2009, 12:30 PM
town a have to be favorites....

what is the format, straight knock out or what...

Lev Yashin
29/07/2009, 12:31 PM
asked last night and was told straight knock out alright.

dunno bout us a favourites though.... ;)

Goals4fun
29/07/2009, 1:14 PM
asked last night and was told straight knock out alright.

dunno bout us a favourites though.... ;)

only right to have it knockout, once out you can get on with pre season....

2legged tackle
29/07/2009, 4:47 PM
Where will it be played or is it a home/away draw?

Lev Yashin
29/07/2009, 5:02 PM
think its gonna be played up in our "second" pitch" although that might not be certain...ill let ye know when i do

old git
29/07/2009, 9:27 PM
town a have to be favorites....

what is the format, straight knock out or what...

would fancy bunratty if they can still field most of last years panel .. :ball:

Spudd
30/07/2009, 6:06 AM
[QUOTE=the special 1;1201982]bunratty lost a good few player this season..i heard they had 12 training last week and 5 of them were b team wit 2 new guys..

was told this is who they have lost..derek byrne, steven carroll ,mike devitt,scalesy, darren whelan and ritchie lillis
QUOTE]

Who did derek,scalesy and lillis join??

devilfish
30/07/2009, 11:10 AM
[QUOTE=the special 1;1201982]bunratty lost a good few player this season..i heard they had 12 training last week and 5 of them were b team wit 2 new guys..

was told this is who they have lost..derek byrne, steven carroll ,mike devitt,scalesy, darren whelan and ritchie lillis
QUOTE]

Who did derek,scalesy and lillis join??

Derek and Stevie are travelling, Whelers out injured for 3 months, Horse and Richie have moved on but not signed with anyone yet. Scales is on holidays as we speak and hasn't signed any forms. We had 22 training this week so things picking up each week. Should be just able to field a team for the Wesley Webb:D

old git
30/07/2009, 12:07 PM
[QUOTE=Spudd;1202092]

Derek and Stevie are travelling, Whelers out injured for 3 months, Horse and Richie have moved on but not signed with anyone yet. Scales is on holidays as we speak and hasn't signed any forms. We had 22 training this week so things picking up each week. Should be just able to field a team for the Wesley Webb:D

see post from begrudger in limerick 1a thread ... clare league player signing but on holidays at the moment ... hacker did ask name but was told player on holidays and has not even told his current club ...:confused: would this be scales ... heard whelan signing for park/ hibs ... lillis played a couple of friendlys for olympic

old git
30/07/2009, 12:22 PM
bunratty lost a good few player this season..i heard they had 12 training last week and 5 of them were b team wit 2 new guys..

thats alot of bodies from their squad

hibs A team to win it..

whoops may have to re-think my prediction... hard to call with pre-season matches and depends on what players available ... seems to be a lot of talk about hibs A at the moment but it may only BE people talking them up.. hibs A or shannon town A to win it out but more of a guess as have not seen either play yet ...:confused:

Lev Yashin
30/07/2009, 12:45 PM
whoops may have to re-think my prediction... hard to call with pre-season matches and depends on what players available ... seems to be a lot of talk about hibs A at the moment but it may only BE people talking them up.. hibs A or shannon town A to win it out but more of a guess as have not seen either play yet ...:confused:

we played newmarket B last night and won 4-2 should have been four one except for a dodgy goalkeeping error!!:)

Goals4fun
30/07/2009, 1:16 PM
we played newmarket B last night and won 4-2 should have been four one except for a dodgy goalkeeping error!!:)

you should have a serious word with him....:D...well admitting it is the first step...

Lev Yashin
30/07/2009, 1:31 PM
you should have a serious word with him....:D...well admitting it is the first step...

Ya...that's it for the season no more bobbly backpasses and it'll be ok...need to get playing on those premier pitches! :D

Goals4fun
30/07/2009, 1:42 PM
Ya...that's it for the season no more bobbly backpasses and it'll be ok...need to get playing on those premier pitches! :D

why did you get a premier team in the fai....:D

Lev Yashin
30/07/2009, 3:35 PM
why did you get a premier team in the fai....:D

We thought we had one last year...but it turns out the team that showed up wasn't premier quality...:D

Goals4fun
31/07/2009, 8:02 AM
We thought we had one last year...but it turns out the team that showed up wasn't premier quality...:D

ha ha good one.....but what would you know about Premier Quality.....

Lev Yashin
31/07/2009, 8:43 AM
ha ha good one.....but what would you know about Premier Quality.....

Kick in the stones!!!!

But i had a year in the premier..was too young to do my self justice and as a club we didn't do oursleves justice...but times have changed....hopefully next year we can be there.

Goals4fun
31/07/2009, 9:44 AM
Kick in the stones!!!!

But i had a year in the premier..was too young to do my self justice and as a club we didn't do oursleves justice...but times have changed....hopefully next year we can be there.

yes remember it well...the bright lights of premier grounds made your players look like cats caught in headlights....:D

hopefully ye will go up this year...! best of luck for the season...

devilfish
04/08/2009, 8:20 AM
This years Wesley Webb draw will take place in the Crossroads Tavern at 6 o'clock monday the 3rd of august.

The tournament will commence on the 9th of august trhough to the 16th.

Teams entering will be..
1.SHANNON TOWN UNITED A
2 SHANNON TOWN UNITED B
3 HIBS A
4 HIBS B
5 SHANNON OLYMPIC A
6 SHANNON OLYMPIC B
7 BUNRATTY ROVERS A
8 RINEANNA ROVERS A

Can you give us the outcome of the draw last night and times of games.

old git
04/08/2009, 10:36 AM
Can you give us the outcome of the draw last night and times of games.

WESLEY WEBB CUP DRAW
Tue, Jul 28th, 2009

1ST ROUND

A. RINEANNA ROVERS V PARK AFC A 10.30 SUNDAY THE 9TH OF AUGUST

B. SHANNON TOWN A V SHANNON OLYMPIC B 12.00 SUNDAY THE 9TH OF AUGUST

C. SHANNON TOWN B V PARK AFC B 6.30 MONDAY THE 10TH OF AUGUST

D. BUNRATTY ROVERS V SHANNON OLYMPIC A 7.45 MONDAY THE 10TH OF AUGUST

SEMI FINALS

WINNERS OF A V WINNERS OF B 6.30 WENESDAY THE 12TH OF AUGUST

WINNERS OF C V WINNERS OF D 7.45 WENESDAY THE 12TH OF AUGUST

FINAL

6.30 FRIDAY THE 14TH OF AUGUST

ALL GAMES 30 MINS EACH HALF PLUS PENS IF REQUIRED

ALL MATCHES TO BE PLAYED AT SENATOR LYNCH PARK

devilfish
04/08/2009, 11:02 AM
WESLEY WEBB CUP DRAW
Tue, Jul 28th, 2009

1ST ROUND

A. RINEANNA ROVERS V PARK AFC A 10.30 SUNDAY THE 9TH OF AUGUST

B. SHANNON TOWN A V SHANNON OLYMPIC B 12.00 SUNDAY THE 9TH OF AUGUST

C. SHANNON TOWN B V PARK AFC B 6.30 MONDAY THE 10TH OF AUGUST

D. BUNRATTY ROVERS V SHANNON OLYMPIC A 7.45 MONDAY THE 10TH OF AUGUST

SEMI FINALS

WINNERS OF A V WINNERS OF B 6.30 WENESDAY THE 12TH OF AUGUST

WINNERS OF C V WINNERS OF D 7.45 WENESDAY THE 12TH OF AUGUST

FINAL

6.30 FRIDAY THE 14TH OF AUGUST

ALL GAMES 30 MINS EACH HALF PLUS PENS IF REQUIRED

ALL MATCHES TO BE PLAYED AT SENATOR LYNCH PARK

Thanks for that but who are Bunratty "Rovers"......did Rineanna and The Rats do a Park/Newtwon and get together!! First I've heard of it!

It's just Bunratty F.C. for future reference

squire
04/08/2009, 11:25 AM
How are Shannon town B looking this year? have the signed many players or lost many? Will they have the same starting 11 as last year?

Lev Yashin
04/08/2009, 12:27 PM
Saw the b team training last Thursday and they had a good crowd...will be slightly different team to last year I'd say. Should be strong enough.

Goals4fun
04/08/2009, 12:41 PM
who are Park AFC....????:D

squire
04/08/2009, 1:41 PM
Saw the b team training last Thursday and they had a good crowd...will be slightly different team to last year I'd say. Should be strong enough.

Is Fla still the manager? The shannon town b v shannon hibs b should be a good game so.

old git
04/08/2009, 1:53 PM

used to be a team in shannon years ago...:D:D:

Lev Yashin
04/08/2009, 2:13 PM

Well if the Wesley Webb is a close season tournament then its still Park but if its deemed a Pre-season tournament then its Hibs...still makes no difference we all know what team is being referred too.

Lev Yashin
05/08/2009, 2:44 PM
Slight change in plan....semi finals will now be on thursday due to international match on Wednesday and final will be on saturday...

saggy-ball's
05/08/2009, 2:59 PM
was at rovers v Shannon town last nite town looked very light for a team considering themselves as promotion candidates in 1a ....looked to me that rovers game them a good run for their money should make the Wesley Webb very interesting

Lev Yashin
05/08/2009, 3:14 PM
Ya they saw my performance last night....:D

Lev Yashin
05/08/2009, 4:00 PM
was at rovers v Shannon town last nite town looked very light for a team considering themselves as promotion candidates in 1a ....looked to me that rovers game them a good run for their money should make the Wesley Webb very interesting

Where were we light exactly??

saggy-ball's
05/08/2009, 4:26 PM
And why wouldn't we give them a run for there money. We would have expected to win just like Shannon town would have

Hacker i would have fully expected your side to give them a good run for there money i would think you would expect your side to build on there great finish to last season and give teams a rattle this year with some good new face out there last nite but from all the talk ive been hearing about shannon town looking to push for promotion this year i tout they would have been a better footballing side then they were.
by the way that free kick from paul butler one the best ive seen in awhile that wasnt on tv

saggy-ball's
05/08/2009, 4:28 PM
Where were we light exactly??

i would say improvement is needed in mid-field and up front but its only my opinion were ye missing players last nite or would that be most of your first 11 for the season?

Lev Yashin
05/08/2009, 5:27 PM
i would say improvement is needed in mid-field and up front but its only my opinion were ye missing players last nite or would that be most of your first 11 for the season?

Missing brian power shane macCarthy Dave fla only played second half gerry kelly only played first, missing stephen monaghan...who do you play for yourself?

saggy-ball's
05/08/2009, 8:36 PM
Missing brian power shane macCarthy Dave fla only played second half gerry kelly only played first, missing stephen monaghan...who do you play for yourself?

unfortunately I haven’t been playen due to injury hoping to make a return next year ....but the players yer missing will give yer squad a good boost and I suppose its preseason so still plenty a games and weeks before the big kick off...good luck with your season I hope for Shannon football that ye get promoted it would be a good boost to have a team competing in the prem lge

saggy-ball's
09/08/2009, 4:22 PM
anyone got a result on town v olimpic game?

Shortstop
09/08/2009, 4:56 PM
Any results??

Goals4fun
09/08/2009, 8:25 PM
results:
RINEANNA ROVERS A 2 V 7 Shannon Hibs A (not sure if the score was 7 or 8?)

SHANNON TOWN A 3 V 2 SHANNON OLYMPIC B

1st semi final = shannon town A v shannon hibs A - thursday @ 6.30 at Senator Lynch park.....

javi-n A laugh
09/08/2009, 9:32 PM
results:

1st semi final = shannon town A v shannon hibs A - thursday @ 6.30 at Senator Lynch park.....
Ya Shannon Hibs won 7-2 today. A good game of football considering the state of the pitch. I have respect for Shannon town but if they really have ambitions of being in the premier league they have to try sort out there pitches as i feel it is hindering the way they would like to play ball as well.Anyway back to the game Rineanna were obviously missing 2 or 3 and there keeper had a nightmare. A good result for Hibs in what has been a very good pre- season . Best of luck to rineanna in the coming season.

saggy-ball's
09/08/2009, 9:57 PM
i think 7-2 was a bit harsh on rineanna to be fare they played some good ball at times and most of hibs goals came from driect balls from the defence or mistakes from rovers young keeper but all in all it was a good game good luck to both sides in there leagues

squire
10/08/2009, 5:42 AM
results:

Shannon Town made hard work of Shannon Olympic. Was 2-2 until about 5 to go mins when some awful marking from a corner left a free man to head in the winner.

Lev Yashin
10/08/2009, 7:43 AM
we were shocking yesterday...awful...any problems we had we brought on ourselves...but then everyone has an off day...roll on thursday

newtown4ever
10/08/2009, 11:14 AM
Ya Shannon Hibs won 7-2 today. A good game of football considering the state of the pitch. I have respect for Shannon town but if they really have ambitions of being in the premier league they have to try sort out there pitches as i feel it is hindering the way they would like to play ball as well.Anyway back to the game Rineanna were obviously missing 2 or 3 and there keeper had a nightmare. A good result for Hibs in what has been a very good pre- season . Best of luck to rineanna in the coming season.
Good result for hibs but rineanna were a holy show.they are having a poor pre season and have lost a few key players.tough season ahead for them by the looks of it.

Lev Yashin
10/08/2009, 12:13 PM
. I have respect for Shannon town but if they really have ambitions of being in the premier league they have to try sort out there pitches as i feel it is hindering the way they would like to play ball as well..

Just to say that we dont use that pitch during a season unless it is completely necessery also there is a plan in place to put money into the pitch and make it playable all year round but things take time.

Goals4fun
10/08/2009, 12:41 PM
Just to say that we dont use that pitch during a season unless it is completely necessery also there is a plan in place to put money into the pitch and make it playable all year round but things take time.

how long have you that pitch now ?
shannonman, what is the story with the WW this year (maybe it has been the same for the last few) , being 30 mins a side and you can only use 16 players. they are poor rules considering it is a pre-season tournament.....

Lev Yashin
10/08/2009, 1:17 PM
how long have you that pitch now ?
shannonman, what is the story with the WW this year (maybe it has been the same for the last few) , being 30 mins a side and you can only use 16 players. they are poor rules considering it is a pre-season tournament.....

Bout three years I suppose maybe longer...but a new commitee only took over last season so it will be a while... look we all know the way our pitches are and it's not ideal but for the first time in years the club is looking to progress there is planning permisson for dressing rooms got but there is a problem with a sewerage drain so other avenues are being looked at... Ideally money will be spent on the newer pitch and that will then become the main pitch but I think we've spoken enough about our pitches on here it's getting like a broken record.

As for the rules...think it was the same last year...

squire
10/08/2009, 9:12 PM
In fairness, Rineanna were poor. Feel sorry for the keeper defence got caught with the long balls. Rineanna were creating nothing. As for Shannon Town against Park A I expect Shannon town to improve from their preformance on sunday

2legged tackle
10/08/2009, 9:27 PM
were you at the same game as everyone else..they had 2 of last years cup winning team..the keeper had a nightmare in nets.park got 2 good goals. the 1st one scalesy fell and it hit him and rolled in.3 came from long balls..then the keeper made 4 bad mistakes..hibs very weak at the back.turned inside out 3 times in 1st half..davy wall will have to play himself there beside philly purcell...neville is a donkey...anyway nothing was won in pre-season..maybe park are peaking too early..shannon town will give them a beating on thursday..all the park lads were saying on the way out after the town v olympic b match was that they will hit them for 5 at least

Very dumb and ignorant post there special 1. None of the hibs lads think theyl beat town by 5 and Neville isnt a donkey at all. If you read last years 1b thread alot of people mentioned him for the team of the season. Davy is away for the tournament so i dont think he'll be playin himself centre half.

squire
10/08/2009, 9:38 PM
Very dumb and ignorant post there special 1. None of the hibs lads think theyl beat town by 5 and Neville isnt a donkey at all. If you read last years 1b thread alot of people mentioned him for the team of the season. Davy is away for the tournament so i dont think he'll be playin himself centre half.

I was at the game and I thought neville played well. Pretty unfair comments by special 1 obviously stirring it a bit