View Full Version : Tonight's Latest
Dalymountrower
04/07/2009, 10:08 AM
What a win! Bring on the Bohs!
Yeah, we`re really rattled:D
Hope you enjoyed the love -in with the Foyle Drum Bangers last night, only 2,000 at it, half the crowd that came to your last home game against Bohs!
Dundalk on a good run, Steve Bruces postcards clearly working their magic.
Seriously though, thanks for denting Derry`s title hopes.
Ezeikial
04/07/2009, 10:49 AM
Yeah, we`re really rattled:D
Hope you enjoyed the love -in with the Foyle Drum Bangers last night, only 2,000 at it, half the crowd that came to your last home game against Bohs!
Dundalk on a good run, Steve Bruces postcards clearly working their magic.
A Bohs fan making snide comments about crowd sizes!
No Gardai in riot gear, no sign of Garda dogs or horseback; no sign of hassle or hostility - no doubt a stark contrast with next weeks visit of the gentle and affable Bohs.
Flexy
04/07/2009, 10:57 AM
Very gracious of you Flexy.
It was marvellous to have the Derry fans back in Oriel last night - the colour, craic, banter and great fun of the Derry faithful really reminded me of what we have been missing in the graveyard division these last 7 years!
Of the teams that actually take a decent travelling support to Oriel Park, the Derry fans stand head and shoulders above all others. Result aside, I hope you folks enjoyed your visit. Dundalk - Derry at Oriel in the cup would be a great draw.
No probs im sure if the title goes to the last match of the season and we are at oriel then the 4k attendance will look pretty small compared to the 1st Bohs match, and im pretty sure Dundalk would rather see Derry win the league than Bohs
04/07/2009, 11:08 AM
No probs im sure if the title goes to the last match of the season and we are at oriel then the 4k attendance will look pretty small compared to the 1st Bohs match, and im pretty sure Dundalk would rather see Derry win the league than Bohs
Absolutley no doubt about that.
Ezeikial
04/07/2009, 11:08 AM
I don't think a poll would be required among Dundalk fans to get the answer to that!!!!!
If Derry were in contention for the league title come the last match of the season, it sure would be a great fantastic atmosphere at Oriel Park. But if Dundalk maintain the progress and momentum illustrated over the last 4 matches they will be a soft touch for no one.
Hairy Bowsie
04/07/2009, 11:51 AM
Is this love in making anyone else sick?
Ezeikial
04/07/2009, 12:10 PM
Is this love in making anyone else sick?
I can understand that a self confessed "bitter and nasty" LOI fan, might be uncomfortable (even ill) with the thought of complimenting rival fans sporting behaviour. Why give due credit when you can spend your time whinging and sniping?
Previously posted by Hairy Bowsie
Yes thats the reason why the league is as it is :rolleyes: Get a grip!! Being bitter and nasty is the god given right of every LoI fan, it's all we have now and it's one of the reasons why i come back every week.
04/07/2009, 12:11 PM
A Bohs fan making snide comments about crowd sizes!
No Gardai in riot gear, no sign of Garda dogs or horseback; no sign of hassle or hostility - no doubt a stark contrast with next weeks visit of the gentle and affable Bohs.
Hopefully the Police will be back next week to help protect innocent Bohs fans travelling up on buses from being attacked by the usual Dundalk element - a lá events up in Galway
Ezeikial
04/07/2009, 12:19 PM
Hopefully the Police will be back next week to help protect innocent Bohs fans travelling up on buses from being attacked by the usual Dundalk element - a lá events up in Galway
Agreed - all innocent or naive Bohs fans should have the highest level of protection available, but both of them will probably be travelling with the team!
Jicked
04/07/2009, 12:22 PM
I'd imagine there will indeed be a heavy police presence with the Bohs fans next week, though more to do with the reports elsewhere of the Bohs fans behaviour on the DART to bray
Derry
04/07/2009, 12:27 PM
Do any of you know how many penalties have been awarded to Bohs this season?
04/07/2009, 12:27 PM
Saying this thread has gone off a tangent anyway.....
Me entering the ground last night with an absolutely massive bag(packed with scarves for Derry fans, but usually a candidate for a bag search for flares etc).
Stewart: "There is no way I'm f*cking checking that, away ye go"
-Joe McGlue, FAI head of Security about ten feet behind yer man, less than happy
Me: "Yes Joe, how's the form" and wandering on in.....
The "tribute" by the Dundalk cheerleaders to Michael Jackson at half time:eek:. I thought last week was weird with a Glens fans taking off his artifical leg and waving it round his head during their chants, but I think last night topped.
Hairy Bowsie
04/07/2009, 12:55 PM
I can understand that a self confessed "bitter and nasty" LOI fan, might be unfortable (even ill) with the thought of complimenting rival fans sporting behaviour. Why give due credit when you can spend your time whinging and sniping?
I do sometime give credit when it's due and there's no harm in giving a compliment but your practically creaming over each other.
Ezeikial
04/07/2009, 2:06 PM
I do sometime give credit when it's due and there's no harm in giving a compliment but your practically creaming over each other.
This forum attracts pages and pages of posts pontificating on, and often exaggerating, negative incidents involving alleged fans. Yet when well deserved plaudits are given to "rival" fans you get stimulated to use sexual innuendo in a risible effort to ridicule it. Sad
04/07/2009, 2:51 PM
Do any of you know how many penalties have been awarded to Bohs this season?
An awful lot anyway but Bray have also got a few. We've got five at home so far.
I wouldn't bet on it.
Dundalk's Michael Collins played last night, despite the fact that he was to serve a one game suspension. I'd expect the points to go to Derry.
Somebody asked whats happening to Mervue with heavy defeats recently.Just to point out they are a completely ameteur team,nobody is getting paid.The players do a days work then go training and playing matches.How much are Shel's players on?
Obviously with Kildare in that division they wont finish last but i still think they will finish comfortably mid table.
Ezeikial
04/07/2009, 4:36 PM
I wouldn't bet on it.
Dundalk's Michael Collins played last night, despite the fact that he was to serve a one game suspension. I'd expect the points to go to Derry.
Michael Collins was not suspended and in fact only came within the FAI's jurisdiction this week.
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/2073/
Michael Collins was not suspended and in fact only came within the FAI's jurisdiction this week.
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/2073/
Both Collins and Drogheda united's Gavin Whelan were hit with an automatic one match ban after been sent off during the cup friendly between dundalk and drogheda prior to the start of the season. Both were to serve it in the next match that they were to play in. Whelan served his. Collins was due to serve his this week and didn't. Will be an interesting situation for the FAI to deal with.
dfclilywhite
04/07/2009, 5:06 PM
Both Collins and Drogheda united's Gavin Whelan were hit with an automatic one match ban after been sent off during the cup friendly between dundalk and drogheda prior to the start of the season. Both were to serve it in the next match that they were to play in. Whelan served his. Collins was due to serve his this week and didn't. Will be an interesting situation for the FAI to deal with.
Collins was not registered with the FAI when this happened so they can't take any action.
brianw82
04/07/2009, 5:12 PM
Is the Pats game being shown online anywhere?
sligofan4ever
04/07/2009, 5:14 PM
Its on Setanta Ireland tonight so theres bound to be a live streaming somewhere.
Dalymountrower
04/07/2009, 5:17 PM
Agreed - all innocent or naive Bohs fans should have the highest level of protection available, but both of them will probably be travelling with the team!
So the other 500 or so non naive(sic) travelling fans are legitimate targets?
Don't know if it's on these but heres a few links for you.
http://www.atdhe.net/
http://livefooty.doctor-serv.com/
http://www.myp2p.eu/
Also they have commentary:
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/SRFCTV
I know its not the point but even if Collins sholdnt have played last night, we were that bad that Dundalk could have had Roddy Collins in midfield and still won:(
04/07/2009, 6:18 PM
I'd imagine there will indeed be a heavy police presence with the Bohs fans next week, though more to do with the reports elsewhere of the Bohs fans behaviour on the DART to bray
why what happened jicked?
DeNiro
04/07/2009, 7:26 PM
Kildare-UCD 0-0 HT
brianw82
04/07/2009, 7:31 PM
Fingal scorer?
1 all! Go on the wee Harps!
1-1
Mailey with the equaliser.
Fintan Bonner with the goal.
FFS..Rovers 1 up against Pat's
brianw82
04/07/2009, 7:43 PM
Twigg scores for Rovers. 1-0
longfordjames
04/07/2009, 7:48 PM
Theres a big crowd at the pats game.loads of rovers
blue til i die
04/07/2009, 8:16 PM
UCD 1-0
Mulhall 84':mad:
04/07/2009, 8:24 PM
Twigg again. 2-0 Rovers.
DeNiro
04/07/2009, 8:24 PM
FT UCD-Kildare 1-0. Kildare down to 10 men in last minute
Ezeikial
04/07/2009, 8:40 PM
So the other 500 or so non naive(sic) travelling fans are legitimate targets?
Innocent, naive Bohs fans.....isn't that the two Gerrys and the Bohs Board he meant?
Hopefully the Police will be back next week to help protect innocent Bohs fans travelling .....
brianw82
04/07/2009, 8:41 PM
Pats 1-2 Rovers
Cawley pen
Flawless
04/07/2009, 8:45 PM
Come on Pats, get the finger out!
3-2 FT at Finn Park.
An incredible result for a team that's youthful at the best of times and is really struggling with injuries, suspensions and departures at the moment.
Hairy Bowsie
04/07/2009, 8:58 PM
And for Shels, Waterford and UCD