View Full Version : Epl 2009/2010

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

DeLorean
17/06/2009, 10:02 AM
Fixtures announced:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/eng_prem/fixtures/default.stm

01/07/2009, 10:12 AM
Wonder why Man U have bought Valencia from Wigan (replacement for Giggs/Ronaldo)? Not exactly a prolific goal scorer? Other than Berbatov (on which the jury is out), do they have a genuine centre forward?

DeLorean
01/07/2009, 10:30 AM
Wonder why Man U have bought Valencia from Wigan (replacement for Giggs/Ronaldo)? Not exactly a prolific goal scorer? Other than Berbatov (on which the jury is out), do they have a genuine centre forward?

It's hard to know what Fergie has in his head. Maybe he thinks that Macheda or Welbeck will come to the fore or that Berbatov will be more effective without Ronaldo, who knows. With Ronaldo sold, Nani looking poor, Giggs past it and Park fairly limited I think Valencia is a good addition but don't think he was bought for goals really.

03/07/2009, 2:33 PM
Michael Owen perhaps?

28/07/2009, 4:51 PM
Forecasts for the new season:

Champions: Chelsea

CL: Usual other 3.

Next 2: Man City and Spurs

Relegated: Hull, Burnley and Stoke.

Closed Account 2
29/07/2009, 12:23 AM
I think Man City are worth a small bet, if they sign a decent center half they could do well. They've a strong spine with the likes of Kompany, De Jong, Ireland, Tevez. Robinho and Wright Phillips could do well on the wings too. This is probably a season or two too early for them as a team, but if they get off to a decent start and with no European distractions they should be able to break the big 4 at least.

I think Liverpool have a great shout if they can keep Alonso and Mascherano they will have the best 11. Chelsea have a good chance too but I think the Ancelotti factor might mean a slow start for them, Yhirkov will be a great player for them. I think Man Utd still need to sign 1/2 more players if Hargreaves was to come back that could be a major boost for them but he seems out long term. I fear for Arsenal, they really need to sign another top class striker, otherwise they will fall apart if they have any injuries in attack.

Spurs still look suspect at the back, Gomes looked shakey last weekend and they might start the season with Dervitte and Chimbonda as center backs, Celtic's reserves destroyed them on Sunday.

ped_ped
29/07/2009, 11:35 AM
A Liverpool squad including Torres, Gerrard, Benayoun, Riera, Alonso, Mascherano, Kuyt, Fabio Aurelio, Carragher, Skrtel, Agger, Johnson, Reina... is capable of destroying any other team - albeit David Silva or Villa would be a welcome addition.

Assuming Alonso stays, I'm going for Liverpool to win the title, and Man City for a top four finish at Arsenal's expense.

DeLorean
29/07/2009, 12:03 PM
A Liverpool squad including Torres, Gerrard, Benayoun, Riera, Alonso, Mascherano, Kuyt, Fabio Aurelio, Carragher, Skrtel, Agger, Johnson, Reina... is capable of destroying any other team - albeit David Silva or Villa would be a welcome addition.

Assuming Alonso stays, I'm going for Liverpool to win the title, and Man City for a top four finish at Arsenal's expense.

The usual Liverpool pre-season optimism, granted a bit more justified than most years but still a bit deluded. Since when are Riera, Kuyt, Aurelio all that great? Agger generally doesn't get on the team. Benayoun had a good season last year but can be pretty ordinary. The biggest thing Liverpool have going for them is the players that have left OT imo. I don't think there's any reason that Liverpool will accumulate any more points than last season so they'll be dependent on United dropping a level and Chelsea standing still. I agree completely about needing to keep Alonso as he's pure class and won't be replaced easily. Mascherano epitomises everything about Liverpool... hard working, dogged, effective without any flair or ability to use the ball whatsoever, so they'll need to keep him too. A fully fit Torres for the majority of the season will obviously be huge as well, more so than Gerrard I'd suggest.

KK77
29/07/2009, 2:51 PM
The usual Liverpool pre-season optimism, granted a bit more justified than most years but still a bit deluded. Since when are Riera, Kuyt, Aurelio all that great? Agger generally doesn't get on the team. Benayoun had a good season last year but can be pretty ordinary. The biggest thing Liverpool have going for them is the players that have left OT imo. I don't think there's any reason that Liverpool will accumulate any more points than last season so they'll be dependent on United dropping a level and Chelsea standing still. I agree completely about needing to keep Alonso as he's pure class and won't be replaced easily. Mascherano epitomises everything about Liverpool... hard working, dogged, effective without any flair or ability to use the ball whatsoever, so they'll need to keep him too. A fully fit Torres for the majority of the season will obviously be huge as well, more so than Gerrard I'd suggest.

Considering they went from 21 points behind in 2007 to 11 in 2008 and now (i think) 4 in 2009 suggests they can go further.

DeLorean
29/07/2009, 3:03 PM
Considering they went from 21 points behind in 2007 to 11 in 2008 and now (i think) 4 in 2009 suggests they can go further.

It's hard to see how they will improve further without signing anybody of note. Torres has brought ye from that -21 points team to something far more competitive but I think ye need more than Glen Johnson (and possibly minus Alonso/Mascherano) to improve further. It will depend on how United respond to losing Ronaldo/Tevez I think, how good Valencia/Tosic are and the fitness of Hargreaves and Owen. Chelsea will have a lot to say as well.

06/08/2009, 9:01 AM

..and now? City's pre-season form has also been poor. If it continues for say 8 games in to the new season, farewell Mark Hughes.

10/08/2009, 7:54 PM
Read a rumour on another forum that Portsmouth are going into administration within the next few days. Relegation odds have been slashed aswell apparently.

10/08/2009, 8:46 PM
they'll get points docked if they do. I was tipping them to go down anyway so -10 or -15 seals it!

10/08/2009, 8:53 PM
Yep, I'm just raging I didnt put a nice wad of cash on them to go down a few weeks ago when they started selling their best players.:(

10/08/2009, 10:34 PM
I have money on them to go down from a few weeks ago. At 9/2 I think. Not much though.

12/08/2009, 2:15 PM
More so than ever the scramble at the bottom will cover many teams, including

Hull, Burnley, Wolves, Birmingam, Portsmouth, Blackburn, Stoke, Wigan with one other surprise one (Fulham?).

More poor sides than usual this season thanks to the likes of Stoke and Hull staying up last season.

14/08/2009, 9:22 PM
Just spotted this is the guardian so for a laugh here are my predictions for the season:

World Cup Winners - Brazil (but win ugly!)

Premier League Winners - Man Utd

Champions League Winners - Real Madrid

Player of the Year - Andrei Arshavin

Top Scorer - Torres if he stays fit. Darren Bent gets close to 20.

Best Buy of Summer - I'm hoping it's Kevin Doyle. Cana for Sunderland and Arsenal's new centre back from Ajax.

Young Player of Year - Wilshere will get it but I think Foley will impress.

Relegated - Portsmouth, Hull, Burnley

Surprise Package - West Ham/Sunderland

First Manager to be sacked - Alex McCleish. However I wouldn't be surprised if Hughes is gone by end of September!

Promoted - Sheff Utd, Ipswich, Forest.

DeLorean
15/08/2009, 2:10 PM
Promoted - Forest.

Do you know something I don't?:D

15/08/2009, 6:27 PM
Arsene admits to selective vision:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/a/arsenal/8201233.stm

Now, there's a shock ;).

old git
15/08/2009, 9:44 PM
Arsene admits to selective vision:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/a/arsenal/8201233.stm

Now, there's a shock ;).

more of a shock he admited it.... even better on match of the day tonight as stephen ireland scores second goal to clinch victory for city
commetator comments " the home bred player clinchs it for city" :confused::confused:

16/08/2009, 11:50 AM
He came through their academy, didn't he? He's been there long before he first played a game for them.

Under the new UEFA laws for UEFA competitions, a home-grown player is someone who has trained in the country (in this case, the UK) for three years before the age of 21.

I'm pretty sure Ireland's been there long enough to qualify as "home-grown", in UEFA talk.

16/08/2009, 12:29 PM
Ah balls - going to have to put up with a season of the Sky Sports commentators calling him "Keith Farr-hee"

Hope he does himself justice at Old Trafford this afternoon

old git
16/08/2009, 12:54 PM
He came through their academy, didn't he? He's been there long before he first played a game for them.

Under the new UEFA laws for UEFA competitions, a home-grown player is someone who has trained in the country (in this case, the UK) for three years before the age of 21.

I'm pretty sure Ireland's been there long enough to qualify as "home-grown", in UEFA talk.

so his place of birth or childhood have nothing to do with it .. :confused: more of a case of english media trying to claim another player as thier own when they are doing well :ball:

16/08/2009, 1:15 PM
so his place of birth or childhood have nothing to do with it .. :confused: more of a case of english media trying to claim another player as thier own when they are doing well :ball:
I think only people from former colonies would take it that way.

Any eejit from England with half a brain would know that Stephen Ireland is Irish. He's been capped and he's scored goals for Ireland and I'm sure there's been talk over there about his whole national team selection bull.

The fact is there is nothing wrong with Sky, or whatever other English media outlet, calling him a "home-grown" player. If Man City were in Europe or he moved to another English side playing European football, he would qualify as a "home-grown" player for that team's UEFA competitions.

AFAIK, from the Ireland match on Wednesday, only Shane Long and Kevin Doyle were the only players who couldn't be classed as UK home-grown players under UEFA rules.

So you better get used to it as a term because it's going to be bandied about a lot more frequently and an awful lot of Irish players will be branded with it.

17/08/2009, 6:48 AM
Ah balls - going to have to put up with a season of the Sky Sports commentators calling him "Keith Farr-hee"

Hope he does himself justice at Old Trafford this afternoon

How did he play? Didn't see the game?

The Irish people are mostly literal with their phonetics but once the name travels abroad, it gets changed. How Cahill (KA-HILL) become KAY-HILL, I have no idea.

DeLorean
17/08/2009, 9:06 AM
How did he play? Didn't see the game?

He was ok but United had most of the ball really. He had a good effort for distance and was unlucky not to score. Jay O'Shea came on and was out muscled and put flying by Evra for the first ball, sent in a cross too close to Foster after that.

briancool21
17/08/2009, 9:19 PM
World Cup Winners - Holland
Premier League Winners - Chelsea

Champions League Winners - Arsenal

Player of the Year - Cesc Fabregas or Drogba

Top Scorer - Rooney.

Best Buy of Summer - Vermaelen

Young Player of Year - Ashley Young.

Relegated - Portsmouth,Wolves,Birmingham

Surprise Package - Wigan/Fulham
First Manager to be sacked - Pompey boss

Promoted - Newcastle,Boro and Cardiff

DeLorean
18/08/2009, 9:24 AM
Surprise Package - Wigan/Fulham

After last season I think the only way Fulham could be a surprise package is if they challenge for a Champions League spot, which I can't see happening.

Also I reckon if Rooney finishes top scorer I think he'd almost certainly get player of the year, not necessarily obviously. I agree about Vermaelen, early days but I've a feeling he'll be really good.

World Cup Winners - Brazil

Premier League Winners - Manchester United

Champions League Winners - Real Madrid

Player of the Year - Wayne Rooney

Top Scorer - Fernando Torres

Best Buy of Summer - Thomas Vermaelen

Young Player of Year - Fabio da Silva

Relegated - Portsmouth, Wolves, Burnley

Surprise Package - Wigan

First Manager to be sacked - Mark Hughes

Promoted - West Brom, Middlesbrough, Sheffield United

18/08/2009, 12:00 PM
World Cup Winners - Brazil

Premier League Winners - Chelsea

Champions League Winners - Barcelona

Player of the Year -Frank Lampard

Best Buy of Summer - Stephen Fletcher

Young Player of Year - Fabien Delph

Relegated - Portsmouth, Wolves, Birmingham

Surprise Package - Burnley

First Manager to be sacked - Paul Hart

Promoted - Newcastle , Reading , Middlesborough

lionelhutz
18/08/2009, 12:24 PM
World Cup Winners - Spain

Premier League Winners - Liverpool

Champions League Winners - Arsenal

Player of the Year -Arshavin

Best Buy of Summer - Kevin Doyle

Young Player of Year - Stephen Ireland

Relegated - Portsmouth, Hull, Wigan

Surprise Package - West Ham

First Manager to be sacked - Mark Hughes

Promoted - West Brom, Preston, Ipswich

20/08/2009, 7:33 AM
Delighted for Burney and Owen Coyle last night (Le Tissier predicted the win) but the rest of the panel were reacting as if they had been struck by lightening. I am always so surprised that they never expect a surprise. Football would be very boring if every match went to script and every match Man U lose this season will be down to "the Ronaldo factor". Get ready for it. Were they really a one man team? Merson blamed the absence of Ronaldo but if Man U can't beat the likes of Burnley because they don't have Ronaldo, it will be a relegation dogfight for them ;)

DeLorean
20/08/2009, 12:30 PM
Well I suppose they did lose 1-0 and there weren't too many games over the last couple of years where Ronaldo didn't score so it's only natural. Same with Tevez, how many times did he recue United from a losing poition, well a lot!! Fact is they're gone though so get over it. Still think they're weaker in midfield than anywhere else.

22/08/2009, 6:31 PM
Well I suppose they did lose 1-0 and there weren't too many games over the last couple of years where Ronaldo didn't score so it's only natural. Same with Tevez, how many times did he recue United from a losing poition, well a lot!! Fact is they're gone though so get over it. Still think they're weaker in midfield than anywhere else.

Won't be too much talk about him after today's 5-0 win - that is until the next time they have a bad result.

Man City not exactly setting the world alight (as yet).

22/08/2009, 10:40 PM
Steady start from them anyway. The first year Chelsea won the league they started slowly too.

23/08/2009, 1:04 PM
Chelsea will drop stupid points as Ancelotti's team always do.

briancool21
23/08/2009, 4:54 PM
was actually impressed by city against wolves missed a lot of easy chances though. Those heavy wallets must be affecting there sharpness..an especially awful miss for young stephen ireland

23/08/2009, 6:19 PM
World Cup Winners - England

Premier League Winners - Man U

Champions League Winners - Barcelona

Player of the Year -Wayne Rooney

Top Scorer - Wayne Rooney

Best Buy of Summer - Darren Bent

Young Player of Year - Ireland

Relegated - Portsmouth, Wolves, Birmingham

Surprise Package - West Ham

First Manager to be sacked - Paul Hart

Promoted - Newcastle , Cardiff , Middlesborough

24/08/2009, 9:11 AM
World Cup Winners - England
I have recurring nightmares where this happens. But I fear they will come true.

24/08/2009, 9:58 AM
was actually impressed by city against wolves missed a lot of easy chances though. Those heavy wallets must be affecting there sharpness..an especially awful miss for young stephen ireland

Didn't see the game but I believe Keogh could have rescued a point with a shot off the post and Given was in the team of the day in some paper I saw (Indo?). How did Dunne play in what was probably his last game for City if the rumours of his transfer to Everton are true?

24/08/2009, 5:10 PM
Didn't see the game but I believe Keogh could have rescued a point with a shot off the post and Given was in the team of the day in some paper I saw (Indo?). How did Dunne play in what was probably his last game for City if the rumours of his transfer to Everton are true?

Given made a top class save. I watched MOTD so hard to say how well Dunne played but I didn't see any bad marks in the paper for him (unlike week before).

24/08/2009, 8:52 PM
Liverpool 3-1 down at home. I thought Villa might sneak a point tonight but didn't see this one coming. My cousin will be buzzing after this victory. He's a Villa fan and didn't enjoy the stick he got after the Wigan result!

24/08/2009, 9:47 PM
You could get Villa at 8/1 and upwards before the game. Great stuff.

13/09/2009, 8:30 AM
Man City vs Arsenal game was interesting. Adebayor's celebration could have lost him an eye with the coins being thrown at him. I think the stamping of van Persie was deliberate as well. I'd like to tune in to the return game at Arsenal :)

13/09/2009, 10:42 AM
While I think Adebayor celebrating in front of the Arsenal fans was funny, and acceptable, the stamp on Van Persie was a disgrace. Will surely get some sort of ban for it.

13/09/2009, 3:21 PM
Nasty little kick out and deserves a 3 game ban.

14/09/2009, 10:05 AM
Nasty little kick out and deserves a 3 game ban.

..and anything for the celebration in front of the Arsenal fans?

Funny to hear an Arsenal fan commenting on the stamping: "It was disrespectful to Van Persie". Just disrespectful!!

14/09/2009, 12:11 PM
Gary Neville got banned for running the length of Old Trafford to celebrate in front of Liverpool fans before. I don't see how Adebayor's behaviour is any different, but someone mentioned that the ref already booked him for that instance so nothing more can be done about it.

KK77
14/09/2009, 2:46 PM
Gary Neville got banned for running the length of Old Trafford to celebrate in front of Liverpool fans before. I don't see how Adebayor's behaviour is any different, but someone mentioned that the ref already booked him for that instance so nothing more can be done about it.

He did not get banned.

14/09/2009, 2:55 PM
Charged then and fined £5,000. There is a precedent for this thing anyway.

http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Gary-Neville-10-Things-you-need-to-know-about-his-Manchester-United-career-article32604.html

The most famous example of Neville's 'Red mist', though, came On January 22, 2006, following Rio Ferdinand's last minute winner against Liverpool. Gary ran half the length of the Old Trafford pitch to perform this provocative celebration in front of the travelling Liverpool fans.

Neville was later charged with improper conduct by FA, fined £5,000 and warned about his future conduct.

reder
15/09/2009, 7:43 AM
He did not get banned.

I.I.R.C. he only got a fine because he did not leave the field of play. I suspect Adebayor will get the same punishment. If he reacted in that manner to some songs/chants from 3,000 Arsenal fans when playing at home for Citeh, god knows what he will do when he plays at the Emirates against them.