View Full Version : Epl 2009/2010
Closed Account 2
11/01/2010, 5:04 PM
When you think of the money they would have got for winning the Premier League, The Club World Championship, and the Carling Cup, together with runners up in the Champions League, they would have been about £30-40m at loss without Ronaldo's sale.
They'll have to have a stellar season to stave off the drop, the only other option would be to sell a key player - the only ones I can think of are Vidic and Rooney (with the latter probably not going to leave).
12/01/2010, 8:58 AM
As a friend of mine said to me, with silly money being thrown in by Chelsea & now Man City (140k sterling per week for Viera who's about the same age as me !!), LFC reportly needing to flog either Torres or Gerrard for readies, United too hamstrung by debt burden to buy, Portsmouth in the same situation as Cork City etc, the Premiership is looking about as solid as the Irish construction sector a few years back !!
In short, could it too be a bubble ready to burst ?
The Bundesliga appears to be based on solid ground, however, with most clubs owned by the fans and getting higher attendances - see below
http://www.soccernews.com/bundesliga-can-show-premier-league-the-way/28500/ (plus read the 1 comment at the bottom too).
12/01/2010, 11:36 AM
John Utaka (Portsmouth) earns 20 grand more a week than Fabregas.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2010/jan/10/portsmouth-wages-waste-of-money
15/01/2010, 1:46 PM
Surprised at Sol Campbell going back to Arsenal. Is he really up to Premiership standard now?
Stoke have decided not to take James from Portsmouth - wages I wonder?
18/01/2010, 9:26 AM
Watched the Arsenal vs Bolton game. As a neutral, I have to admit Arsenal are a joy to watch. I was very impressed with Bolton's right winger Lee (when he got in the game). Creative, speedy and lovely first touch. First time I have seen him.
Enjoyable game. Looks as if Arsenal MAY put in a decent challenge this year for the title.
18/01/2010, 1:54 PM
Cost of watching football to drop - http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2010/jan/17/tv-sport-media-ofcom-sky
Probably only going to affect subscribers in England
18/01/2010, 4:16 PM
Cost of watching football to drop - http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2010/jan/17/tv-sport-media-ofcom-sky
Probably only going to affect subscribers in England
Interesting photo in that article:
http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Guardian/Pix/pictures/2010/1/17/1263755107702/Chelsea-v-Juventus---UEFA-001.jpg
Man behind the scenes tells Droghba to do thumbs up and he does. I wonder was he there also for the Champions League Final :D
Closed Account 2
28/01/2010, 11:38 AM
Pay up Pompey, Pompey pay up....
Looks like they haven't paid their web provider
http://www.portsmouthfc.co.uk/
Closed Account 2
29/01/2010, 3:05 PM
I see Mr Terry has gonea bridge too far (http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/standard/article-23800661-england-captain-john-terry-loses-fight-to-cover-up-affair-with-girlfriend-of-team-mate.do). Interesting to see the UK courts overturning the injunction...
DeLorean
29/01/2010, 3:22 PM
I see Mr Terry has played the away leg (http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/standard/article-23800661-england-captain-john-terry-loses-fight-to-cover-up-affair-with-girlfriend-of-team-mate.do). Interesting to see the UK courts overturning the injunction...
Any idea who the team-mate was supposed to be?
Closed Account 2
29/01/2010, 3:26 PM
A bridge too far...
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/7102733/Judge-lifts-super-injunction-over-John-Terry-affair-with-team-mates-girlfriend.html
DeLorean
29/01/2010, 3:29 PM
A bridge too far...
:DVery good...twas only an ex anyway!!
Closed Account 2
29/01/2010, 3:33 PM
I think she was only an ex since December this year...
http://www.google.com/search?rlz=1C1CHME_enGB352GB352&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8&q=wayne+bridges+wife
Closed Account 2
29/01/2010, 3:43 PM
I can just see the Pun-o-matic headlines in that the tabloids will come out with:
"England Capt. Burns his Bridges"
"Trouble for Terry at the 'Bridge"
"Bridge over troubled water"
...etc...
DeLorean
29/01/2010, 3:47 PM
"England Capt. Burns his Bridges"
"Bridge over troubled water"
They're all a huge improvement on what they usually come up with anyway.
29/01/2010, 4:48 PM
This one gets my vote!
29/01/2010, 4:53 PM
Knowing JT as I do and that's very well, these allegations are nothing short of malicious gossip mongering. He's a lionheart and the pride of all England. So what if he likes to urinate in public, pick up 17 year olds and shag them in his car and screw his team-mates' women, he's entitled to his privacy and the nation depends on men like him.
A nice, and frankly hilarous at times, catalogue of his misdeeds
John Terry - a man's man - a true lionheart
Beleaguered England skipper John Terry could lose the armband over claims that he had an affair with the girlfriend of ex-team-mate Wayne Bridge.
It is far from the first time the Chelsea defender has been involved in press controversy. Here's a potted history...
1) If you see the car rocking, don't come knocking
In November 2005 Terry was accused of cheating on then-fiancee Toni Poole in a public car park.
Jenny Barker, 17, said the star sent her sexy texts after she asked for his autograph and later canoodled with her in his Bentley.
She said: "He smiled and put on sexy Luther Vandross music from a selection on a huge screen in the car. One thing led to another but we did not have sex. I didn't want to give in to him like I can imagine every other girl does."
Terry was claimed to have cheated on Poole with nine different women - including one fling with former porn star Karina Clarke.
He said before they married in 2007: "I really regret what I've done to Toni. I'm not going to cheat on her ever again."
2) The nagging doubts
In 2004 Terry and best friend Wayne Bridge, together with Scott Parker, were reported to be gambling £40,000 a week between them on horse races.
Close pals Terry and Bridge were alleged to gave blown £13,000 in just three hours in a Surrey bookies. They later travelled to Las Vegas for Terry's stag night - which was held after his wedding to Poole.
3) The disabled parking bay
In March 2008 there was more car trouble for Terry as England's captain spurned a 50p-an-hour public car park yards away in favour of dumping his black Bentley in a spot for disabled drivers outside Pizza Express in Esher, Surrey.
The subsequent £60 fine was peanuts to a player reckoned then to be on £135,000 a week and who had therefore earned £1,600 in the time it took him to polish off his dough balls and American Hot.
4) The supermarket sweep
In March 2008 Terry's mother and mother-in-law were officially cautioned by police after being accused of shoplifting £800 worth of goods from Tesco.
The supermarket giants then launched a civil action against the pair.
The affair was a huge embarrassment for Terry as Tesco are official England sponsors.
5) The £10,000 guided tour
Last December Terry was accused of taking £10,000 from undercover reporters in return for a private tour of Chelsea's training ground.
Terry told the pair he would give his share of the fee to charity but cautioned them: "If the club finds out, it's a little bit. . ."
6) The nightclub incident
In August 2002 Terry wept with relief after being cleared of attacking a nightclub doorman with a bottle.
He and then-team-mate Jody Morris walked free from court after a jury fought them not guilty of causing a fight at London celebrity haunt the Wellington Club.
The court heard rouble had flared when Morris was accused of spitting a drink on the floor and shouting obscenities at a member of staff.
The jury cleared Terry of affray, having an offensive weapon, wounding with intent and unlawful wounding.
7) The 9/11 party
With their flight to an away match at Levski Sofia grounded in the aftermath of the Terror attacks on New York and Washington in September 2001, Chelsea players found themselves at a loose end. Some went home to watch CNN, but Terry Eidur Gudjohnsen, Frank Lampard and Morris had other ideas.
After visiting a couple of pubs - where a "hammered" Gudjohnsen stripped off and threw peanuts at punters while Lampard and Morris urinated in a rubbish bin outside - the group went on to a local bowling alley where they hurled themselves down the lanes and saw former colleague Frank Sinclair, who by now had joined the party, almost decapitated by the pin-changing mechanism.
Finally they ended up in the bar of the Posthouse Hotel at Heathrow, where stranded travellers, many of them Americans, had gathered to watch events unfold on TV. Instead they were treated to the players throwing food around while pictures were shown of sobbing firemen searching through the rubble for the dead, before one player exposed himself to the appalled throng.
Chelsea FC subsequently fined the trio for their behaviour.
8) The 'dealing' dad
Last November Terry's dad Ted was caught on camera appearing to sell cocaine in an Essex bar.
Terry Snr was seen arranging to pass three grams of drug to an undercover reporter in return for £120 and telling him: "This is just between me and you. Don't tell him that I'm John Terry's dad."
9) The wee bit of bother
In February 2002 Terry was fit to burst after visiting the Time and Envy nightclubs in Romford, Essex.
He told friends he needed the toilet but that an injured toe was bothering him - so whipped out his manhood, urinated into a beer glass and dropped it on the floor.
Security staff saw the incident on CCTV and escorted the player off the premises.
10) Ashley's big night out
Trouble occasionally follows Terry's associates around too. Terry was on a night out with Chelsea team-mate Ashley Cole at West London's Collection nightclub when the left-back had an altercation with a press photographer.
Cole subsequently spent three hours in a custody suite was issued with an £80 fixed penalty notice for being drunk and disorderly and allowed to go home.
29/01/2010, 5:32 PM
Knowing JT as I do and that's very well, these allegations are nothing short of malicious gossip mongering. He's a lionheart and the pride of all England. So what if he likes to urinate in public, pick up 17 year olds and shag them in his car and screw his team-mates' women, he's entitled to his privacy and the nation depends on men like him.
A nice, and frankly hilarous at times, catalogue of his misdeeds
john terry the pride of london and england
an out and out tool with more money than sense :D
30/01/2010, 7:40 PM
Chelsea won't be affected at all I'd say
:cool::cool:
30/01/2010, 8:32 PM
:cool::cool:
It's the effect it has on their African players once they return IMO. From my recollection Drogba was not the same player the last time he went on African Nation duty. Chelsea were fortunate they had an easy run of games but they've got 3 tough games coming up. Gooners at home, Everton away and Man City at home (plus Inter game in the CL coming up). I thought they were poor again today.
Losing Essien again for a spell will hopefully take its toll!!
31/01/2010, 11:19 AM
The commentator said yesterday that Terry earns more in a week than the Burnley players combined. Amazing stat really. At least he scored in the correct box this time ;)
DeLorean
31/01/2010, 7:51 PM
they've got 3 tough games coming up. Gooners at home, Everton away and Man City at home (plus Inter game in the CL coming up)
Yeah United's games aren't getting much easier either though. Villa and Everton away in next 3 matches, plus AC Milan of course. Could really do with Vidic back.
DeLorean
03/02/2010, 9:44 AM
I watched the Chelsea game last night on some foreign channel in the pub. Hull were excellent at times, played lovely football in the 2nd half, retaining the ball very well. Hunt was excellent but the best player on the pitch for me was a fella I had never heard of before, Tom Cairney. He's only after turning 19 and was playing centre midfield, lovely and composed on the ball, accurately passing with a nice left foot. I was hoping that the surname was actually Kearney and that he might have been one of our own but unfortunately he is English.
endabob1
03/02/2010, 9:59 AM
I watched the Chelsea game last night on some foreign channel in the pub. Hull were excellent at times, played lovely football in the 2nd half, retaining the ball very well. Hunt was excellent but the best player on the pitch for me was a fella I had never heard of before, Tom Cairney. He's only after turning 19 and was playing centre midfield, lovely and composed on the ball, accurately passing with a nice left foot. I was hoping that the surname was actually Kearney and that he might have been one of our own but unfortunately he is English.
Looked good alright so I too did some googling!
http://www.hullcityafc.net/page/ProfilesDetail/0,,10338~47766,00.html
Scottish U19
DeLorean
03/02/2010, 10:55 AM
Didn't mention that on Wikipedia, it does now. He could form a nice midfield partnership with Fletcher for the Scots. Seriously impressive last night in a very difficult match.
04/02/2010, 9:06 AM
I see Avram Grant was seen leaving a brothel aka a "massage parlour". Things seem to be going ars*ways at Portsmouth.
05/02/2010, 7:00 PM
Mrs Grant sounds like a cool wife....didn't even bat an eyelid.
08/02/2010, 4:06 PM
Watched most of the Birmingham vs WOlves games. Doyle was outstanding and Foley did ok. Fahey came on and assisted in Birmingham's equaliser.
Wolves will do well to avoid relegation. Defence doesn't look good. Only Portsmouth look doomed but the rest of the places are anyone's.
Man U and Chelsea pull away.
11/02/2010, 9:06 AM
On Newstalk last night they read out a text from a listener which went something like "Ignore Dunphy's bets. Bet on an Everton win (4-1) and an Arsenal win (evens)". I wish I had followed his advice. Still a two horse race despite the Arsenal win imho and the musical chairs at the bottom continue.
Ricky Sbragia's record as Sunderland manager: Played 25, Won 6, Drawn 12, Lost 7.
Steve Bruce's record as Sunderland manager: Played 30, Won 9, Drawn 12, Lost 9.
old git
11/02/2010, 1:33 PM
Ricky Sbragia's record as Sunderland manager: Played 25, Won 6, Drawn 12, Lost 7.
rafa benetiz record this season.. played 26 won 13 , drawn 5 , lost 8 see we can all throw out facts ....
My post has nothing to do with Rafa Benitez or are you just blind? Anyway talking about his bad season has been done to death? Has Sunderland and Steve Bruces been? I know when they went on a good run earlier in the season it was all the talk how he'd turn them around. This is the EPL thread so i am perfectly entitled to discuss other managers and clubs other than Benitez. Always one smart arse though!
old git
11/02/2010, 2:33 PM
My post has nothing to do with Rafa Benitez or are you just blind? Anyway talking about his bad season has been done to death? Has Sunderland and Steve Bruces been? I know when they went on a good run earlier in the season it was all the talk how he'd turn them around. This is the EPL thread so i am perfectly entitled to discuss other managers and clubs other than Benitez. Always one smart arse though!
being called rafa b ... so obvisously a liverpool fan ?? so having a go at other managers / clubs record while chosing to
ignore liverpool/ benetiz record in comparison some may say this is the actions of a smart arse ;)
but yes at the moment sunderland do seem to be in freefall and could do with getting a few wins quickly
being called rafa b ... so obvisously a liverpool fan ?? so having a go at other managers / clubs record while chosing to
ignore liverpool/ benetiz record in comparison some may say this is the actions of a smart arse ;)
but yes at the moment sunderland do seem to be in freefall and could do with getting a few wins quickly
Good guess i am a Liverpool supporter!!! Choose to ignore my own teams/managers failings are you for real get a grip please for fcuks sake. I am entitled to talk about other foortball clubs/managers that i see fit to. This is the EPL thread afterall and just because the team i support isn't doing well does not mean i can't discuss other footballing matters! Now leave me alone please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !
PS Show me were i had a go at the Sunderland manager?
old git
11/02/2010, 3:03 PM
Good guess i am a Liverpool supporter!!! Choose to ignore my own teams/managers failings are you for real get a grip please for fcuks sake. I am entitled to talk about other foortball clubs/managers that i see fit to. This is the EPL thread afterall and just because the team i support isn't doing well does not mean i can't discuss other footballing matters! Now leave me alone please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !
PS Show me were i had a go at the Sunderland manager?
posting previous sunderland managers league record against current manager ... apologies if i assumed you were trying suggest new managers record not much better than manager they sacked !!!!
and last 2 lines of my post i did discuss sunderlands current form ??? so is that not football matters which we are allowed to discuss and i am also allowed to talk about other football/clubs managers that i see fit to.as for leaving you alone !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! sorry as a public forum i will continue to stalk you :D:D:D
gaiscíoch
11/02/2010, 3:38 PM
If I remember correctly he went on a very similar run with Wigan last year. But once he stopped the rot they were mid-table IMO very reasonable for a team like Wigan who are a selling club.
This year Bruce has had his team decimated by injuries to his back four and first choice midfield while Sbragia could call on his main players.
Comparing the 26 game Sbragia had with Bruce is seriously unfair because the fixtures have fallen differently.
But I suppose you didn't bother looking at these facts before posting yet another un-educated reply.
Closed Account 2
11/02/2010, 4:44 PM
But to be fair to the poster 26 is a pretty big number of league games, you would generally expect to have played all of the teams in the league once (although there could be some issue with postponed games etc) and it should be fairly even in terms of the breakdown of home and away games.
I think the point he's trying to make is in effect "Is there a huge amount of difference between the results Bruce has got and the ones Sbragia got ?" Bruce started well but they are slipping a little now, they do need to watch out or they could be sucked into the relegation battle.
gaiscíoch
11/02/2010, 8:38 PM
Your generally a good poster on this site. But seriously how can you defend his post.
Sbragia games in charge of sunderland Sat 6/12/08 to Sun 21/05/09
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/team/results?id=366&season=2008&_league=eng.1&cc=5739
Bruce games in charge Sat 15/07/09 to .....
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/team/results?id=366&season=2009&_league=eng.1&cc=5739
Closed Account 2
12/02/2010, 11:33 AM
Sbragia's games
Dec:
Away L at Man Utd (single goal)
Home W vs WBA
Away W at Hull
Home D vs Blackburm
Away L at Everton
Jan:
Away D at Boro
Home L vs Villa
Home W vs Fulham
Feb:
AWay D at Newcstle
Home W vs Stoke
Away D vs Arsenal
March:
Away L at Liverpool
Home D vs Spurs
Home L vs Wigan
Away L at Man City
April:
Away L at West Hm
Home L vs Man Utd
Home W vs Hull
Away L at West Brom
May:
Home L vs Everton
Home D vs Bolton
Away L at Portsmth
Home L vs Chelsea
Brucie's record:
Aug:
Away W at Bolton
Home L vs Chelsea
Home W vs Blackburn
Away L at Stoke
Sept:
Home W vs Hull
Away L at Burnley
Home W vs Wolves
Oct:
Away D at Man Utd
Home W vs Liverpool
Away L at B'Ham
Home D vs West Ham
Nov:
Away L at Spurs
Home W vs Arsenal
Away L at Wigan
Dec:
Away L at Fulham
Home D to Pompey
Home L at Villa
Away L at Man City
Home D vs Everton
Away D at Blackburn
Jan:
Away L at Chelsea
Away L at Everton
Feb:
Home D vs Stoke
Home D vs Wigan
Away D vs Stoke
I accept that Bruce has done slightly better against the big 4 teams, but most of the other matches the results are not that different from Sbragia's. Both seem to start off reasonably well but then drifted into winless runs. Bruce is currently on a 12 game run without a win (which seems to include two games vs Portsmouth and two vs Wigan, which every team in the league should expect to get 6 points from the possible 12). Sbragia didn't win his last five, and if you take the Hull home win out (18th April) he had a 12 game winless run. Both suffered pretty heavy defeats - 5 goal margins at Chelsea for instance... I really dont see a huge amount of difference when you tally up all the results.
DeLorean
12/02/2010, 1:27 PM
Didn't Sbragia resign though? I don't really see the point in comparing their results if Sunderland were willing to keep Sbragia on anyway. I do think Bruce is capable of taking them places, it's a really bad run their on but I'd imagine that's all it is, he's had tough spells over the years and has always come good.
How do they compare to Keanes record with sunderland.
Closed Account 2
12/02/2010, 4:18 PM
Well depending on what you read Sbragia either didn't want the job in the first place, let alone a permanent job or wanted it until funds weren't made available to him that Jan (2009)...
Regarding Keane's tenure, it's difficult to form a valid comparison as some of his games were in the Championship rather than the Premier League:
Sunderland
28 August 2006 to 4 December 2008
100 games
42 wins
41 defeats
17 draws
42.00 % wins
15/02/2010, 8:56 AM
Regarding Keane's tenure, it's difficult to form a valid comparison as some of his games were in the Championship rather than the Premier League:
Not to mention the nearly £70m spent on 33 players.
13 games without a win now for Bruce and Sunderland. They will obviously stay up but next season will be huge for him and themselves. Spent a few bob himself and the natives are getting restless now. Amazing how there was no real issue with him being a Geordie initially but now there is but maybe it was just bubbling underneath the surface. I tell you Bruce is lucky the press like him!
old git
23/02/2010, 11:10 PM
13 games without a win now for Bruce and Sunderland. They will obviously stay up but next season will be huge for him and themselves. Spent a few bob himself and the natives are getting restless now. Amazing how there was no real issue with him being a Geordie initially but now there is but maybe it was just bubbling underneath the surface. I tell you Bruce is lucky the press like him!
yeah so far so good with press,,,, but how long will fans stay on his side badly needs a few wins quickly
DeLorean
24/02/2010, 9:39 AM
yeah so far so good with press,,,, but how long will fans stay on his side badly needs a few wins quickly
Fulham at home is an ideal fixture to have at the wkd. They are usually pretty shocking on their travels.
25/02/2010, 10:28 PM
drew 1-1 with shacktar which was a brilliant result for them so not so bad on the travels but will probably mean they will be very tired at the weekend
DeLorean
26/02/2010, 9:37 AM
drew 1-1 with shacktar which was a brilliant result for them so not so bad on the travels but will probably mean they will be very tired at the weekend
Great result, they also had a super away result in Basle when they needed it. They have not won away from home in the PL since the opening day of the season though and it was a similar story the previous few years.
26/02/2010, 10:27 AM
looking forward to Man City-Chelsea tomorrow. Hopefully Bridge chins him and sparks a mass brawl!!!!
I have to say I'm getting a bit bored of the media saying this whole fiasco is affecting Terry's form. He has ALWAYS made mistakes in games. Carvalho mops up after him every week.
Soccer Mom
26/02/2010, 12:29 PM
looking forward to Man City-Chelsea tomorrow. Hopefully Bridge chins him and sparks a mass brawl!!!!
I have to say I'm getting a bit bored of the media saying this whole fiasco is affecting Terry's form. He has ALWAYS made mistakes in games. Carvalho mops up after him every week.
Here's a take (that I read elsewhere) on the Bridge 'honourable' decision to drop out of the England set up:
1) Bridge’s honourable course of action has made it virtually impossible for both players to go to the World Cup
2) With Ashley Cole injured Bridge was a ‘boot’ in to the England starting eleven.
3) Capello has more options at centre-half and Terry’s form lately has been poor.
Capello knows he can’t bring both and his needs at left back are greater than at centre back. Is it possible that Bridge is actually hoping that Capello might drop Terry so that he can bring Bridge?
That would be some revenge by Bridge on Terry.