View Full Version : Epl 2009/2010
26/02/2010, 12:42 PM
Here's a take (that I read elsewhere) on the Bridge 'honourable' decision to drop out of the England set up:
1) Bridge’s honourable course of action has made it virtually impossible for both players to go to the World Cup
2) With Ashley Cole injured Bridge was a ‘boot’ in to the England starting eleven.
3) Capello has more options at centre-half and Terry’s form lately has been poor.
Capello knows he can’t bring both and his needs at left back are greater than at centre back. Is it possible that Bridge is actually hoping that Capello might drop Terry so that he can bring Bridge?
That would be some revenge by Bridge on Terry.
Never going to happen.
Soccer Mom
26/02/2010, 12:55 PM
I agree and I don't think that Wayne Bridge is that clever but he has effectively put a gun to Capello's head without appearing to. If he feels that he needs Bridge (unlikely) then Terry has to be sacrificed. Mind you the way he is playing at the moment it wouldn't be that much of a loss to England.
It would be a sweet revenge though :)
liv4ever
26/02/2010, 1:24 PM
looking forward to Man City-Chelsea tomorrow. Hopefully Bridge chins him and sparks a mass brawl!!!!
I have to say I'm getting a bit bored of the media saying this whole fiasco is affecting Terry's form. He has ALWAYS made mistakes in games. Carvalho mops up after him every week.
it'll be interesting to see if they shake hands before the game when the two teams line up together . If bridge it thinking of slapping him then thats the perfect time ...
26/02/2010, 1:39 PM
I agree and I don't think that Wayne Bridge is that clever but he has effectively put a gun to Capello's head without appearing to. If he feels that he needs Bridge (unlikely) then Terry has to be sacrificed. Mind you the way he is playing at the moment it wouldn't be that much of a loss to England.
It would be a sweet revenge though :)
Wayne Bridge isn't even the 2nd best English left back anyway. Leighton Baines and Stephen Warnock are both better than him in my opinion, can't see Capello losing too much sleep over it tbh. CAshely will be back for the World Cup too me thinks.
26/02/2010, 2:12 PM
I don't think that Wayne Bridge is that clever but he has effectively put a gun to Capello's head without appearing to.
I think he's put a gun to his own chances of going to the world cup, and then pulled the trigger.
He may have thought that his stance would result in a groundswell of public support for him (the supposed victim) and would lead to evil Terry being dropped instead, but that is never going to happen.
DeLorean
26/02/2010, 2:33 PM
I'd imagine that Bridge's intentions were honourable. He knows that the media interest in the dispute would not help the team and he knows that Terry is going to be there regardless. As for England's need for a left back being greater than their need for a centre back I don't agree either. Like De Town pointed out, Cole may well be back in plenty time for the WC and Baines and Warnock are easily as good as Bridge in my opinion also. What are the centre back options- Woodgate, Ferdinand and Ledley King have serious fitness doubts. Who else? Brown and Lescott wouldn't inspire confidence on recent form. Dawson maybe...very decent season at Spurs. Am I missing anyone obvious?
Docboy
26/02/2010, 4:43 PM
I'd say that Bridge just can't stand to be in the same room as Terry, never mind playing on the same team as him, after what he did. In the greater scheme of things footy doesn't mean all that much, better to be feeling right in your own head. Good luck to him, seems decent enough in the way he's handled the whole sorry mess.
sheao
27/02/2010, 10:24 PM
Aaron Ramsey got a nasty leg break this evening against Stoke .
Closed Account 2
28/02/2010, 1:18 AM
Yeah a very nasty one:
http://cache4.asset-cache.net/xc/97138396.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=77BFBA49EF878921A343B2C87A49D8F583DA5F26DA6B962E D28195492892FFDC384FC1E22AE2E168
http://cache2.asset-cache.net/xc/97138831.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=77BFBA49EF878921A343B2C87A49D8F5A410825E73D9F78C D28195492892FFDCE15D0F04F9784868
Looks like Glenn Whelan was trying to make sure he kept still and didn't go into shock (blood loss).
MikeBassett
01/03/2010, 8:21 AM
Very disappointing for such a young, promising player. Shawcross' tackle was very poor in all fairness and it was a certain red card every day of the week
endabob1
01/03/2010, 9:05 AM
Very disappointing for such a young, promising player. Shawcross' tackle was very poor in all fairness and it was a certain red card every day of the week
I watched the highlights not knowing the result or what had happened, I thought it was the reaction that got him sent off, it looked like a 50:50 ball but that Shawcross got there a fraction of a second too late.
Terrible injury but to suggest it was malicious like Wenger has been is astonishing & while I have no issue really with the red given the severity of the injury, I think it would have been a yellow but for the whole Eduardo history.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RTmFstZ8bas&feature=related
not for the faint hearted, but I think it shows it wasn't intentional in anyway
01/03/2010, 9:12 AM
Arsene Whinger claims there is a "conspiracy" against his club by other teams as they have had 3 broken legs in 5 years or was it the other way round? There is no doubt that the likes of Stoke will try and stop Arsenal playing and will try and be physical but that is very hard to do in the modern game. If your team has 50% less skill than your opponent then you have to try and be physical. There is of course a line not to be crossed. I didn't see the incident (sound like Wenger) but I saw a photo of the Stoke player who looked very upset. I assume he didn't mean to break the young lads leg but I suspect he was reckless with the challenge.
01/03/2010, 9:21 AM
Wenger is starting to really **** me off now. He'll want to ban tackling next. Shawcross went for the ball and was late. Clumsy but no intent to do the player.
Den Perry
01/03/2010, 9:33 AM
I watched the highlights not knowing the result or what had happened, I thought it was the reaction that got him sent off, it looked like a 50:50 ball but that Shawcross got there a fraction of a second too late.
Terrible injury but to suggest it was malicious like Wenger has been is astonishing & while I have no issue really with the red given the severity of the injury, I think it would have been a yellow but for the whole Eduardo history.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RTmFstZ8bas&feature=related
not for the faint hearted, but I think it shows it wasn't intentional in anyway
I agree, Shawcross was late, Ramsay was too quick for him,but there is no way looking at the tackle that he went out to do him. Anybody that calls it a shocking tackle etc is really talking nonsense. The tackles flying in between Liverpool and Everton a few weeks ago were far worse. The reaction of the Aresenal players roaring and screaming was also scandalous...real touch me nots. I hope they don't win anything
01/03/2010, 9:52 AM
The reaction of the Aresenal players roaring and screaming was also scandalous...real touch me nots. I hope they don't win anything
In fairness, a player makes a late swipe for the ball and your teammate is left on the ground with a broken leg - I can't blame the Arsenal players for reacting like that.
That said, it was badly-timed rather than malicious, and Shawcross appeared genuinely distraught.
Terrible, terrible injury for Ramsay, and I hope he can come back 100% from it.
Den Perry
01/03/2010, 10:10 AM
In fairness, a player makes a late swipe for the ball and your teammate is left on the ground with a broken leg - I can't blame the Arsenal players for reacting like that.
That said, it was badly-timed rather than malicious, and Shawcross appeared genuinely distraught.
I suppose you're right, they didn't have the benefit of the replay that I did. Notwithstanding they could have come out later abd said something favourable about Shwacross instead of moaning all the time. Their own mate Gallas was guilty of a shocking tackle a few weeks ago and they weren't so vocal then.
Lokking at Ramsay, it looked pretty similar to the break David Busst had some yeras back. Don't think he ever played again?
01/03/2010, 10:53 AM
No it wasn't. If Ramsey hadn't had broken his leg it wouldn't even had been a yellow card!
No malice what so ever in the challenge, Shawcross was just too slow.
Closed Account 2
01/03/2010, 3:51 PM
Lokking at Ramsay, it looked pretty similar to the break David Busst had some yeras back. Don't think he ever played again?
Luc Nilis too (the Belgian guy at Villa) around 2001 against Ipswich. But to be fair I think medical advances have improved since then, also he's pretty young (under 21) so hopefully there won't be issues with fusing the bones back. Shawcross did something similar to Adebayor last season and Jeffers vs Sheff Wed a few years ago, I think he's the sort of player who gets frustrated when faced with a more skillfull opposition player.
endabob1
02/03/2010, 5:50 AM
It was barely even badly timed and certainly not a late swipe and the Arsenal players reaction is what you come to expect from a myopic club that likes to portray itself as been victims of some giant conspiracy.
The irony of course is that teams like Bolton, Stoke and Blackburn are modelled on the old George Graham Arsenal teams. That club has as much of a history as any other of late, high, dangerous tackles, but choose to ignore it.
DeLorean
02/03/2010, 3:49 PM
Seeing a fair amount of Stoke over the past 2 seasons I'd consider Shawcross a very sporting player. Even when his perfectly good goal was disallowed against City a couple of weeks back he took it a lot better than most would. He's a 6ft5 central defender so he's going to get it wrong from time to time. I didn't see the incident involving Jeffers that you mentioned Edmundo but if memory serves the clash with Adebayor was a result of an earlier incident when Adebayor kicked him, or hit him, or something...the memory is a bit cloudy on that one. Adebayor obviously continued on the war last week when he got sent off although, again, I didn't see the incident and heard it was harsh. I wouldn't consider the incident the last day anything other than unfortunate. Ramsey came at some speed and Shawcross only had eyes for the ball. Wenger is a sick man really to go on the way he did after when it was clear to everybody that Shawcross, himself, was clearly distraught about it. I think I heard that it was his first ever red card. Wenger said that Gallas tackle against Bolton was merely mistimed and Diaby vicious tackle on Steinsson last season was just a tad over the top. That Diaby one was possibly the worst I've seen since Keane on Haaland. It isn't all that long since Arsenal had the worst disciplinary record in the league also.
03/03/2010, 2:54 PM
I agree, Shawcross was late, Ramsay was too quick for him,but there is no way looking at the tackle that he went out to do him. Anybody that calls it a shocking tackle etc is really talking nonsense. The tackles flying in between Liverpool and Everton a few weeks ago were far worse. The reaction of the Aresenal players roaring and screaming was also scandalous...real touch me nots. I hope they don't win anything
I see this quote was already discussed further.. *removes angry couple of lines* ;)
I agree that Wenger's reaction was wrong, and I expected it from him. You have to judge each tackle individually, and it wasn't anythinng more than fractionally late and a bit sloppy. A yellow card.
05/03/2010, 1:31 PM
I saw David Busst being interviewed on Sky after the above incident. It was the infections he got after the break which did him in, not the actual break itself. I think our own Denis Irwin was involved in that but I can't actually remember the incident itself.
DeLorean
05/03/2010, 1:48 PM
I saw David Busst being interviewed on Sky after the above incident. It was the infections he got after the break which did him in, not the actual break itself. I think our own Denis Irwin was involved in that but I can't actually remember the incident itself.
I remember it happening clearly but never actually saw TV footage, only pictures. Yeah he got sandwiched in between Irwin and McClair. Think Schmeichel vomited behind the goals as well. Don't think Ramsey's is as bad anyway and obviously the technology and so on is much improved. Also Busst was around 30 I'd say so he hadn't much hope.
16/03/2010, 4:11 PM
Phil Browne sacked by Hull, despite the club way over achieving under him. Never particularly liked him because of his ego but apparently the club needs to stay in the Premiership, otherwise it might have to be wound up. That's why I always have a wry smile when I hear the Sky commentators talking about what promotion is worth in millions to clubs when they usually have to spend far more than that to try and stay there. Promotion is a double edged sword to the club and manager alike.
I am sure he won't have too much difficulty finding a job.
Infadel
17/03/2010, 12:04 PM
Phil Browne sacked by Hull, despite the club way over achieving under him. Never particularly liked him because of his ego but apparently the club needs to stay in the Premiership, otherwise it might have to be wound up. That's why I always have a wry smile when I hear the Sky commentators talking about what promotion is worth in millions to clubs when they usually have to spend far more than that to try and stay there. Promotion is a double edged sword to the club and manager alike.
I am sure he won't have too much difficulty finding a job.
They appointed Iain Dowie as his successor so much for giving themselves the best possible chance of staying up the guy was a failure everywhere he went.
Closed Account 2
17/03/2010, 2:39 PM
A bit harsh to call him a failure everywhere...
he did manage to create the Daleks, even if he never defeated the doctor.
17/03/2010, 5:37 PM
They appointed Iain Dowie as his successor so much for giving themselves the best possible chance of staying up the guy was a failure everywhere he went.
Bizarre. Success with Palace in his first season but thereafter nothing to shout about. I wonder will Hull now have bouncebackability?
22/03/2010, 4:46 PM
Heard Allardyce being interviewed after the Blackburn vs Chelsea game and he twice called Diouf "Dioufey". Somehow or other I find it strange hearing Diouf being called Dioufey. He's just not an "ey" suffix type player to me. It would be like calling Roy Keane "Keaney" or Bowyer "Bowyersey". Narky "hardmen" just aren't suited to that suffix add on.
03/04/2010, 6:01 PM
I don't know. Is Sky and their commentators an "arm" of Man U? Sure, the Chelsea 2nd (not the first) goal was offside but the Man U goal was a blatant handball as well. His arms are actually even in place to control the ball. Yet, there was barely a mention of that by Sky and all the concentration during the game and after was on the offside. Such bias.
Also, I would prefer if they could show the offside in real time rather than freezing the frame when the player is offside. Then we would have some idea of the job the linesman has to do rather than castigating him and showing close ups of him at the end of the game. I still can't figure out how a linesman is supposed to be looking in two places at the one time.
I felt sorry for Wolves at the end of their game and Mick Mc is so much more dignified than the likes of Alex F and others when dealing with decisions that go against him.
Closed Account 2
04/04/2010, 3:07 AM
From what I saw, not many of the Man Utd players appealed for the offside, now of course I'm not saying they should have to, it was offside and by a fair margin, but I guess this might show that at such a speed, and with it being a curved rather than direct run, it would have been very hard to judge for the ref. I agree that Macheda's finish had a touch of a handball, but again sometimes they are given sometimes they are not. The Tranmere Norwich game on Friday night also had a slight handball but again at speed they are hard to spot and that goal stood too. It can be very hard for the ref to spot these things at full speed.
04/04/2010, 12:53 PM
there's a conspiracy theory among that United come in for less criticism than other teams, because the journalists involved don't want to be blacklisted by Sir Alex and barred from United press conferences, and be refused interviews, like has happened to the BBC
04/04/2010, 9:20 PM
If your read Dion Fanning in the Sunday Indo today, it's all about the offside goal and Ferguson's comments and not a mention of the handball goal, yet on the second page there is a clear picture of the handball But not mentioned in the picture. Sigh. Objective reporting my backside.
gaiscíoch
05/04/2010, 12:52 PM
Whatever about the handball which it clearly was. The offside goal was a killer for United they were never going to come back with ten mins to play.
It's a fairly straight forward decision really. Man behind the last defender when the ball is played. There is no excuse for it. This was most likely the most important game in the world this weekend.
He was bad for both teams Anelka should have had a penalty Park should have had a penalty.
05/04/2010, 2:11 PM
there's a conspiracy theory among that United come in for less criticism than other teams, because the journalists involved don't want to be blacklisted by Sir Alex and barred from United press conferences, and be refused interviews, like has happened to the BBC
I don't know about a conspiracy theory, but one thing I admire about Benitez is his willingness to give an interview after every game. I think it's because of this, he gets more direct questions from interviewers than somebody like Ferguson, who would simply refuse to be interviewed by that reporter/media outlet again, and as a result doesn't get asked those questions.
There was a game a few months ago, when Liverpool lost, and the reporter (Gabriel something from ITV?) just kept asking Rafa "are you just not good enough?", despite Rafa answering, albeit without really answering. It was embarrassing to watch the reporter attempt to appear 'tough' but actually come across as an idiot.
Metrostars
05/04/2010, 2:46 PM
You see, if Park would have gotten the penalty in the first half, it would have been 1-1 at the half. Then there would be no need for Neville to bundle over Anelka. And if Drogba would not have scored the offside goal, then Macheda wouldn't have handled the ball but would have gotten it in anyway, plus Berbatov would have scored his easy chance near the end. So it would have been 3-1 to Man Utd.
Now takes off my red-tinted glasses :p
In truth though, refereeing decisions aside, Man Utd took an hour to finally get going while Chelsea were at the races from the start. They shaded it over the 90 minutes. But these incidents along with the Henry handball just goes to show how the officials on the field need help in getting some refereeing decisions right. Yes it might slow the game a little bit but what's more important? FFS, just have the 4th official or a 5th "video" official look at the same replays that we see for goals and penalty incidents and buzz the ref. It's not that hard. Getting the officiating right in huge games such as these or making sure the "flow" of the game isn't stopped?
old git
07/04/2010, 10:37 PM
I don't know. Is Sky and their commentators an "arm" of Man U? Sure, the Chelsea 2nd (not the first) goal was offside but the Man U goal was a blatant handball as well. His arms are actually even in place to control the ball. Yet, there was barely a mention of that by Sky and all the concentration during the game and after was on the offside. Such bias.
Also, I would prefer if they could show the offside in real time rather than freezing the frame when the player is offside. Then we would have some idea of the job the linesman has to do rather than castigating him and showing close ups of him at the end of the game. I still can't figure out how a linesman is supposed to be looking in two places at the one time.
I felt sorry for Wolves at the end of their game and Mick Mc is so much more dignified than the likes of Alex F and others when dealing with decisions that go against him.
thought sky were fairly neuteral for both decisions and they did say ref / linesmen got both decisions wrong .. the offside was so blatent it was unreal and reason it generated more headlines was because it was the so called winning goal.. as for mick mc being more dignified was extremly dignified to utd not so long ago resting 10 regulars for their game :p
04/05/2010, 4:30 PM
Wigan to score the first goal. Sky commentators wet themselves in excitement. Chelsea win 4-1 ?
05/05/2010, 11:07 AM
COME ON WIGAN!!! Stranger things have happened....
old git
07/05/2010, 7:42 PM
COME ON WIGAN!!! Stranger things have happened....
would have to be extremly strange . get your rosary beads / vodoo dolls out :D
cant see chelsea not winning on sunday
DeLorean
08/05/2010, 5:08 PM
I like this voodoo dolls idea, Ashley Cole & John Terry would be in serious trouble.
So that's it for another season! Congrats to Chelsea on winning it this season.
DeLorean
10/05/2010, 9:11 AM
It would be hard to argue that they didn't deserve it having scored 103 goals!! United will look to the earlier part of the season with the defender crisis and the fitness of Rooney at the crucial part of the run-in. Obviously there loads of little things that can be blamed when the league is only lost by a point but Valancia's miss in the 0-0 draw at Ewood Park stands out for me. Like I say though can't argue with Chelsea winning it, and they did it without the best midfielder in the league for most of the season in Essien.
gaiscíoch
10/05/2010, 10:40 AM
Broke my heart to see John Terry and Drogba and Ballack winning the league.
I never liked Drogba with all the diving and the Jens Lehman incident and Johnny Evans and after the Barcelona game last year and this year again v Inter.
As for Terry in my opinion the most detestable character in English Football up along side Gary Neville.
I hope to god Wigan get relegated next year-granted they did win a couple against the big teams- but they are for the most part imo crap.
Fail to see what they add to the league. Half empty stadium and a langer of a chairman.
Sky sports creaming themselves about next year already Glen Hoddle pointing out that the league could be won by any one of six teams.
That's rubbish.
It's been a freak year in the premiership this year.
None of the top four last year signed anyone decent or spent decent money(not even close to Tottenham-City-Villa)
10/05/2010, 12:20 PM
Broke my heart to see John Terry and Drogba and Ballack winning the league.
I never liked Drogba with all the diving and the Jens Lehman incident and Johnny Evans and after the Barcelona game last year and this year again v Inter.
As for Terry in my opinion the most detestable character in English Football up along side Gary Neville
Well it was obviously going to be a lose/lose situation for you yesterday so coz one of them was bound to lift it.
gaiscíoch
10/05/2010, 12:37 PM
No I'd prefer if one C**t won it instead of 7-8 C**ts winning it....
old git
10/05/2010, 6:45 PM
No I'd prefer if one C**t won it instead of 7-8 C**ts winning it....
would have to agree with you on that ... did u see drogba having a hissy fit when lampard would not let him take penalty at 1-0 he showed his true form only worried about being golden boat winner over his teamates winning the league .. what a tosser was hard to watch them receive the trohpy alrite .. even though they just about deserved to win it over the season..
11/05/2010, 8:57 AM
This from footy365 !!
A Drog's Life
Didier Drogba, March 26: "You know what, if I don't finish top scorer I won't mind...as long as we win the league. I won the Golden Boot in 2007 and it would give me great pleasure to do it again but what is really important for me is the Premier League title. Football is a team sport. It is nice to have individual honours but much better when you share the medals with your friends and teammates. This season has been a long and difficult one. It would be a poor season if I finished top scorer but Chelsea didn't win a trophy."
Didier Drogba, May 8: "I really don't mind if I don't win that (the Golden Boot) and I win the Double. That is really what matters. It has been the best season in my career so far. When you have a season like this, individual trophies like player of the year are good, but I want more and I want to share with my friends,."
Didier Drogba, May 9: Acts like a prat and sulks for 15 minutes because Frank Lampard doesn't let him take a penalty. Boo f***ing hoo.
DeLorean
11/05/2010, 9:29 AM
Johnny Giles on Premier League Sunday..."it was another type of boot he should have got at that particular stage" :D
DeLorean
11/05/2010, 9:58 AM
Zola sacked by West Ham. No surprise there really.
11/05/2010, 12:14 PM
I'm disappointed with that. Things are not good at Upton Park financially and he hasn't had a great squad to work with. He kept them up after all and I was hoping they'de give him some money to spend in the summer and see how it goes.