View Full Version : Cork in the cup
sligofan4ever
13/06/2009, 10:32 AM
Peers and Holmes both injured is the last thing we need :( the amount of times we say our defense would be lost without him, now we have to see how Ventre,Feeney and Keohane all play in the replay depending on how serious the injuries are, they will have to be on top of their game if were to go through. What was Feeneys goal like last night ?
forza rovers
13/06/2009, 10:40 AM
Peers and Holmes both injured is the last thing we need :( the amount of times we say our defense would be lost without him, now we have to see how Ventre,Feeney and Keohane all play in the replay depending on how serious the injuries are, they will have to be on top of their game if were to go through. What was Feeneys goal like last night ?
His goAl was a tap in
13/06/2009, 12:33 PM
http://extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/2004/
Report up.
13/06/2009, 1:48 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gLmCWWzhIsE
13/06/2009, 2:04 PM
Great trip. Even if the Dooley Express did smell a bit on the way back :D
We could have won it at the end too, with Raf's volley. Thought Feeney did well when he had to go back to CB, no dissapointing performances from anyone. Telextext says 1800+ at the game. Looked no more than 1200, terrible crowd for a cup game in Cark.
Knappagh Red
13/06/2009, 2:11 PM
Anyone get the name of the reserve goalkeeper last night?, a young Donegal lad, he was mixing with the supporters at the end of the game.
13/06/2009, 2:23 PM
Anyone get the name of the reserve goalkeeper last night?, a young Donegal lad, he was mixing with the supporters at the end of the game.
On the Rovers side?? Wouldn't be Schlingermann would it??:confused:
Rovers fan
13/06/2009, 2:27 PM
Telextext says 1800+ at the game. Looked no more than 1200, terrible crowd for a cup game in Cark.
Nah there was more than 1200, the ground is big so it only seemed like it was empty. Still a poor home crowd though.
Great to bring them back to the showgies, but tis a pity we picked up two injuries in the process. The defending for the first goal was awful. Like in the 2nd half of the derry game we dominated possession but lacked the killer instinct, but raf was on hand! What a goal. Hopefully we can pack the showgies on tuesday and get a win.
13/06/2009, 3:21 PM
On the Rovers side?? Wouldn't be Schlingermann would it??:confused:
Is he one of the Glenties or Gweedore Schlingermann's ?
Rovers fan
13/06/2009, 3:36 PM
Is he one of the Glenties or Gweedore Schlingermann's ?
Gweedore. Sure he's fluent in Irish.
Rovers Maniac
13/06/2009, 3:38 PM
lol a very strong Donegal accent alright :D
redobit
13/06/2009, 5:20 PM
Result is a good positive. An even better positive is that we came back twice in one game to earn the result.
Inside Man
13/06/2009, 5:21 PM
Great result. Was disappointed i didn't travel down when i seen the result. I was certain we'd get mauled over. Sunshiner:o
Should be a good match tuesday night. I'll defo travel up for it. I think we could take them.
Heard Peers' injury is bad, could he be out for Europe? That would be a massive loss.
D Brannigan
13/06/2009, 6:01 PM
Great result. Was disappointed i didn't travel down when i seen the result. I was certain we'd get mauled over. Sunshiner:o
Should be a good match tuesday night. I'll defo travel up for it. I think we could take them.
Heard Peers' injury is bad, could he be out for Europe? That would be a massive loss.
One of the Cork players fell on top of Gavin.He was was finding it hard to breathe and the Cork doctor was on the pitch within seconds.Gavin wanted to play on but Paul Cook insisted that he would come of.When the doctor examined Gavin in the dressing room he suspected a badly bruised or fractured sternum(breast bone) and he was sent to hospital by ambulance.He was later released and told to rest up for the next few days and he will most likely play on Tuesday traveled.Shaun Holmes is a different story.His ankle was like a turnip he will be a serious doubt for Tuesday.
13/06/2009, 7:47 PM
Hope Peersy makes it for Tuesday , been absolutely sensational for us this season IMO.
forza rovers
13/06/2009, 9:07 PM
Nah there was more than 1200, the ground is big so it only seemed like it was empty. Still a poor home crowd though.
Great to bring them back to the showgies, but tis a pity we picked up two injuries in the process. The defending for the first goal was awful. Like in the 2nd half of the derry game we dominated possession but lacked the killer instinct, but raf was on hand! What a goal. Hopefully we can pack the showgies on tuesday and get a win.peers one from looking the video above got a bang to the head so he should be back hopefully
14/06/2009, 11:29 AM
Gamble and Dennehy will be out for Cork in the replay.
srfc1928
14/06/2009, 12:09 PM
Great to get a home game in before the Europa Cup kicks off (jeez that sounds good:))
match tickets (Europa) should sell well on Tuesday night
Gamble
Why will Gamble be out?
Do Cork really deserve a team with the the miserable crowd that turned up last night to see the only two premiership teams in Cup action.
Cop on to yourself.
Ye've never gone through a patch with poor crowds no?
You watch a team with some of the best players in the country play absolute hoofball rubbish 4 weeks in a row and then see if you get more than 1800 against an average premier side.
I rarely miss a game home or away but its a chore to go to the cross these days, not something to look forward to. Imagine what a non-hardcore thinks of it.
We have a basic hard core of around 1200-1500 no matter how rubbish the football is, others will come and go. Thats football.
Friday was awful, its a talent to make a 4 goal game boring.
Ye played some nice stuff, defending was awful from both sides.
Wouldnt be surprised if it went to penalties tomorrow. Look forward to seeing your 'massive' crowd.
Knappagh Red
15/06/2009, 9:57 AM
Look forward to seeing your 'massive' crowd.
Cork City has a population of 119,000, Sligo town 18,000. An attendance of 1800 for Cork is around 300 for Rovers. Proportionally we will have a massive crowd tomorrow night.
15/06/2009, 10:19 AM
Do Cork really deserve a team with the the miserable crowd that turned up last night to see the only two premiership teams in Cup action.Yes we do.
Don't forget there was another FAI Cup game in Cork last Friday night.
Why will Gamble be out?Wasn't he due to have that operation on his knee?
Rovers Maniac
15/06/2009, 10:54 AM
Yes we do.
Don't forget there was another FAI Cup game in Cork last Friday night.
Wasn't he due to have that operation on his knee?
lol Blarney? How many were at that game?
15/06/2009, 11:39 AM
Why will Gamble be out?According to your forum, he's injured.
lol Blarney? How many were at that game?A couple of hundred, would certainly have made up the gate receipts ye didn't get. :D
Cork City has a population of 119,000, Sligo town 18,000. An attendance of 1800 for Cork is around 300 for Rovers. Proportionally we will have a massive crowd tomorrow night.
Really? Were coming down to proportionally now?
Grand. Proportionally Cobh had massive crowds last year. Didnt help much though.....
I hope ye have a huge crowd. Ye play some decent football. The more LOI fans the better.
But getting on the high horse asking if we 'deserve a team' is simply acting the clown.
redobit
15/06/2009, 2:33 PM
Really? Were coming down to proportionally now?
But getting on the high horse asking if we 'deserve a team' is simply acting the clown.
Of course ye deserve a team - but the league dosent deserve a new cork team every 20 odd years.
Of course ye deserve a team
Some of your fellow supporters werent sure
- but the league dosent deserve a new cork team every 20 odd years.
And City fans do?
We are the longest lasting Cork Club in the league and if we can do anything about it we'l continue to be.
Unfortunately though things arent always in our control.
redobit
15/06/2009, 2:42 PM
Some of your fellow supporters werent sure
And City fans do?
We are the longest lasting Cork Club in the league and if we can do anything about it we'l continue to be.
Unfortunately though things arent always in our control.
And best of luck with it.
Tmoro nite I'd prefer to beat ye on the pitch rather than off it.
And best of luck with it.
Tmoro nite I'd prefer to beat ye on the pitch rather than off it.
Thanks. Were here til then anyway :)
15/06/2009, 3:31 PM
I'd like to point out that while in Supermacs in Charleville, the computer I was on was hijacked from me by 2 unidentified assailants hence the ridiculous posts...
Also I heard that Cork are f*cking about with regards payment of the gate receipts Rovers are entitled to. Not sure if it's been paid by this stage but by yesterday it hadn't...
15/06/2009, 3:39 PM
Also I heard that Cork are f*cking about with regards payment of the gate receipts Rovers are entitled to. Not sure if it's been paid by this stage but by yesterday it hadn't...It was mentioned on the Cork forum the morning after the game:
'Did did anybody hear anything about TNB not wanting to pay Sligo their share of the gate last nite and that he'd give it to them on Tuesday in Sligo - I think we could be in trouble on Monday!
I also heard the FAI official had to get involved in the end to sort it out.'
'Lot of hassle by the gate.....Sligo were counting and some tickets sold in the shop were not accounted for....TBH nothing surprises me anymore '
Absolute disgrace if that's what's going on. Also, see this:
http://corkcityfc.ie/main.php?action...headlineID=988 (http://corkcityfc.ie/main.php?action...headlineID=988)
Cork City Football Club wishes to confirm that in the High Court today, the case under the Companies Act was adjourned for four weeks.
Cork City FC has made payments to the Revenue totalling €102,000 and is continuing to work to clarify the exact amount outstanding. The club’s auditors are working to arrange a meeting with the Revenue in order to resolve the issue fully, and it is hoped that this meeting will take place before the end of the week.
The club is pleased that it has been able to make progress towards a resolution of this issue, which will allow the club to focus fully on its upcoming matches. With the club sitting just two points off the top of the League of Ireland Premier Division table, the Rebel Army face Sligo Rovers in an FAI Ford Cup replay tomorrow night and then Dundalk in the Premier Division at Turner’s Cross on Friday night.
How could they not know how much is outstanding? What a joke.
I would never have wanted to see them out of business but they are taking the p*ss now with the gate receipts as well.
Knappagh Red
15/06/2009, 4:23 PM
We can just keep their share of the gate tomorrow night, heard today that Boco will be playing
15/06/2009, 4:26 PM
heard today that Boco will be playingGreat news. Peers is out so I assume Boco and Raf up front and Feeney in defence with Ventre.
Knappagh Red
15/06/2009, 4:48 PM
There is a chance that Peers will play, Holmes is doubtful
Shedzer
15/06/2009, 5:14 PM
There is a good chance peersy will play... And boco is around ya which is very good!
sligofan4ever
15/06/2009, 5:19 PM
Gavin Peers, Romauld Boco(hopefully both) and Conor O Grady could all be back, if holmes plays aswell we'll finally have a fully fit starting 11 for once!
15/06/2009, 5:34 PM
are people saying peers could recover from the injury he got on friday or the one he got in training today?
Inside Man
15/06/2009, 6:09 PM
'Did did anybody hear anything about TNB not wanting to pay Sligo their share of the gate last nite and that he'd give it to them on Tuesday in Sligo - I think we could be in trouble on Monday!
I also heard the FAI official had to get involved in the end to sort it out.'
'Lot of hassle by the gate.....Sligo were counting and some tickets sold in the shop were not accounted for....TBH nothing surprises me anymore '
It was obvious Cork would try this. They had to come up with 102,000 by tuesday to save themselves. In fairness we would have done the same thing if we were trying to save our club. I don't think its a huge scandal.
But if i had my way i wouldn't hand them the gate reciepts from tomorrow night. Let them keep the ones from Friday and us keep the ones from Tuesday is what i say.
Shedzer
15/06/2009, 6:22 PM
are people saying peers could recover from the injury he got on friday or the one he got in training today?
What injury did he pick up today?
D Brannigan
15/06/2009, 8:00 PM
What injury did he pick up today?
Gavin was training this morning and injured his quad and may be out for up to three weeks.
Shedzer
15/06/2009, 8:17 PM
Sh!t.. Thats very unlucky on the lad and very bad news for us... :(
sligofan4ever
15/06/2009, 8:36 PM
Thats a huge blow, and with Holmes a big doubt for tomorow too :( With Bohs game coming up were going to miss him big time. Hes probably been our most important player this season bar Raf and we'll have to hope Feeney can do a job for us. Lets look on the brighter side of things aswell, we have Conor O' Grady back and possibly Boco aswell, we could easily beat them and hope we go as far as possible. Unfortunatly Cookie hasnt had luck in Cup Competitions since joining us, but season it seems thats finally turned around for him :).
15/06/2009, 9:25 PM
It was obvious Cork would try this. They had to come up with 102,000 by tuesday to save themselves. In fairness we would have done the same thing if we were trying to save our club. I don't think its a huge scandal.
But if i had my way i wouldn't hand them the gate reciepts from tomorrow night. Let them keep the ones from Friday and us keep the ones from Tuesday is what i say.
Our share of their gate receipts will be bigger than their share of ours.
We would lose out.
Thats a huge blow, and with Holmes a big doubt for tomorow too :( With Bohs game coming up were going to miss him big time. Hes probably been our most important player this season bar Raf and we'll have to hope Feeney can do a job for us. Lets look on the brighter side of things aswell, we have Conor O' Grady back and possibly Boco aswell, we could easily beat them and hope we go as far as possible. Unfortunatly Cookie hasnt had luck in Cup Competitions since joining us, but season it seems thats finally turned around for him :).
It will probably be seen as heresy to say this but I think we've been better in games this season without O'Grady in the team.
CarrickFan
15/06/2009, 11:36 PM
It will probably be seen as heresy to say this but I think we've been better in games this season without O'Grady in the team......
Really?...always like to see Conor in the team..i cant say ive noticed that!..think he is our best central midfielder.
I think he's been underperforming all season, although he's not on his own in that respect. It's just that when he struggles with the best part of his game ie getting tackles in and covering ground in midfield, he doesn't offer much as his passing has always been suspect.
He was non existent against Bray in the Carlisle grounds when we needed somebody of his experience to get a hold of the game.
Having said that, if he gets back to how he was performing last season he's as good as any at what he does. And it's always good to have local lads in the team.
political_rebel
16/06/2009, 12:36 AM
The story about Cork not paying Sligo their share of the gate last Friday is complete Bull...Sligo left the ground with a nice wad of cash for the return trip back up the road...
16/06/2009, 12:39 AM
The story about Cork not paying Sligo their share of the gate last Friday is complete Bull...Sligo left the ground with a nice wad of cash for the return trip back up the road...
Heard that Cork most definetely were adamant on not giving the money to Rovers.