View Full Version : Cork in the cup
Rovers fan
09/06/2009, 2:43 PM
Surprised there's no thread for this yet. I feel we can get a draw in this one. Cork probably haven't been playing as well as their points tally suggests. We outplayed them in the first game of the season and by all accounts we played very well down there in the 1-0 defeat, with a depleted squad.
We played well against derry imo, but looking at it on MNS, we really didn't create many chances. Boco was sorely missed.
It will be good to have Keane and O'Grady back, and we shouldn't have to be calling on our young players to start the game (I think?).
I'll be happy if the lads put in the same commitment as they did against derry, and if we do concede let's hope the heads don't drop.
It would be great if Morrison could step up to the plate, he has it in him.
Should be a good trip, with hopefully a big Rovers following and a good atmosphere.
red arrow
09/06/2009, 8:14 PM
o grady is suspended
Boco is available for Friday night, according to the Champion he will '.....interrupt his international schedule to fly back to Ireland......'
Rovers Maniac
10/06/2009, 10:12 AM
Jesus fair play to Boco, absolute star, hopefully this will give the lads a boost ahead of the game.
Edit: By the wat whats the story with the bus for this?
redobit
10/06/2009, 10:16 AM
Boco is available for Friday night, according to the Champion he will '.....interrupt his international schedule to fly back to Ireland......'
Such commitment: a true professional that lad.
10/06/2009, 12:18 PM
Edit: By the wat whats the story with the bus for this?
Have about 11 a few thinking about it. You comin with us RM?
red arrow
10/06/2009, 9:13 PM
great news to hear that romy is going to be in the team. if you remember last year he got out of his sick bed in hospital to travel to cork for the 2nd last game of the season. nobody should ever doubt his committment. a great player with a first class attitude. thanks romy
brianw82
10/06/2009, 9:28 PM
That's really first class. Who pays for his flights, though? Surely not Benin's FA?
We'll have to play very well to get anything from the game. Hopefully Keane coming back in will be a boost. I predict a narrow loss. :(
CarrickFan
10/06/2009, 9:41 PM
For Cork i take it?:)
redtildead
11/06/2009, 2:39 PM
not much choice wit the startin team, hopefully keane will be fit to play
brush
keane peers feeney holmes
cash boco ventre ryan morrison
raf
what i would go for anyway, hit them on the break
hoop4life
11/06/2009, 2:43 PM
what happens if cork beat ye and then on the 15th they go out of business?? will ye get back into the cup or will they go with an odd number with someone having a bye??
11/06/2009, 6:13 PM
what happens if cork beat ye and then on the 15th they go out of business?? will ye get back into the cup or will they go with an odd number with someone having a bye??
In keeping with the policy of Sligo Rovers FC of always making life easy for the administrative section of the FAI, we will beat the s hite out of Cork, thereby making the other parts of your question irrelevant.
Glad to be of help.
Keeping the fingers crossed for this one. Looks unlikely but I'll go for a two-one win for us.
Cloggs
12/06/2009, 2:47 PM
would have thought that this game wou have been the tie of the round and on telly?or is there any of the cup games on live over the weekend?
sligofan4ever
12/06/2009, 4:52 PM
Will there be live coverage again this year of this one on Ocean FM ?
dublinred
12/06/2009, 6:12 PM
Cork City site is good for info and updates
http://corkcityfc.ie/views/matchday.php
12/06/2009, 6:41 PM
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/2002/
ExtraT doing their thang.
dublinred
12/06/2009, 8:25 PM
viva Cretaro Get in there 2 2
12/06/2009, 8:34 PM
2 or 3 left
12/06/2009, 8:35 PM
Cretaro is just after shooting over
12/06/2009, 8:35 PM
3 mins added on
12/06/2009, 8:38 PM
FT in TC
sligofan4ever
12/06/2009, 8:41 PM
Good to see we have a replay :). That is if Cork City are still around.
The Midget Gem
12/06/2009, 8:41 PM
:D*Very Happy*:D
Edit: When is the replay? (You read my mind Brewer Cheers!)
roversman
12/06/2009, 8:42 PM
great result well done lads
lets get our season going now
dublinred
Nice one , lets bring the langers back to the showgies show them what a crowd is and get their manager sacked in a chipper on the way home.
red arrow
very very happy. well done to all the players&management. i wonder will romy be around for replay.
sligofan4ever
12/06/2009, 8:43 PM
very very happy. well done to all the players&management. i wonder will romy be around for replay.
I think the WCQ is on the 21st or something like that so i would very highly doubt it.
12/06/2009, 8:44 PM
Replay Tuesday.
sligo23
12/06/2009, 8:46 PM
Replay Tuesday.
not this tuesday?:eek:
sligofan4ever
12/06/2009, 8:47 PM
The replays dates are set for the Monday 15th, Tuesday 16th and Wednesday 17th June
Tis next tuesday :).
12/06/2009, 8:49 PM
Yes. The day I finish my leaving cert. Major dilemma ensues for Brewer.
brianw82
12/06/2009, 8:55 PM
Finish leaving cert.
Attend game.
Celebrate Rovers win + end of LC
Simple. :)
sligo23
12/06/2009, 8:58 PM
Yeah same as!! Was planning a serious session for that night, but Rovers must come first!!
dublinred
12/06/2009, 9:10 PM
Great result , holmes went off first half , peers had to go off 53 mins and was replaced by doherty ,.
neutrino
12/06/2009, 9:35 PM
Well done lads. savage result. being behind twice and all the stuff that's gone on with a small squad and this team don't give up. Brilliant stuff. Hopefully replay will draw a good crowd and we'll get the right result.:)
dublinred
12/06/2009, 9:58 PM
Tis next tuesday :).
date please?
sligofan4ever
12/06/2009, 10:02 PM
date please?
16th. Its in a quote I replied to about 7 posts back.
12/06/2009, 10:04 PM
date please?
Tuesday ;)
Great performance, there was some wild celebrations in TC. I'm using Sligoman's 24/7 emergency internet access.
12/06/2009, 10:11 PM
Tuesday ;)
Great performance, there was some wild celebrations in TC. I'm using Sligoman's 24/7 emergency internet access.
Sligoman always comes up trumps.
12/06/2009, 10:18 PM
2-2 great poor performance even if tom says says we're ****e, bring on tuesday!
12/06/2009, 10:19 PM
Mousey is a racist, puke all over himself, baaaaaaaaaaalllllllllllllllllaaaaaaaaaxxxxxxxxxxx
12/06/2009, 10:20 PM
from brendan
12/06/2009, 10:31 PM
great poor performance!
baaaaaaaaaaalllllllllllllllllaaaaaaaaaxxxxxxxxxxx
from brendan
Underage drinking. Tsk Tsk Tsk.
Was there much of a Rovers contingent there? That's a serious effort, all things considered. To think that we could pull that off with half a team against possibly the best side in the country. Delighted for the players and management and all who travelled down.
Any word on how serious Peers' injury is?
Hopefully we can make home advantage count for the replay.
The Midget Gem
12/06/2009, 11:08 PM
Mousey is a racist, puke all over himself, baaaaaaaaaaalllllllllllllllllaaaaaaaaaxxxxxxxxxxx
Ahahahahahaha:D:D
What a class act:p
Good craic then ya?
Can't wait for the replay now! Day after i finish the leaving so im sure I'll be nursing one hell of a hangover then!
srfc1928
12/06/2009, 11:51 PM
Fantastic result.
Hopefully Peers & Holmes are ok.
forza rovers
13/06/2009, 2:52 AM
Was there much of a Rovers contingent there? That's a serious effort, all things considered. To think that we could pull that off with half a team against possibly the best side in the country. Delighted for the players and management and all who travelled down.
Any word on how serious Peers' injury is?
Hopefully we can make home advantage count for the replay.:D
no more than50.delighted and what a trip
Rovers Maniac
13/06/2009, 8:41 AM
Derserved it, great result, came out and came at them from the start of the second half and our second was always on the cards. Peers injury looked nasty, i hope its nothing serious but he was very groggy looking leaving the field. Holmes came off afte a bad tackle by faz who left the boot in. So real brave effort from our lads to come back twice down there.
Well Red
13/06/2009, 9:25 AM
This is typical Rovers down the years, they lose a few games and you say all is lost and then they do the something like this. We start the season with high hopes and then we slip down the table and confidence starts to go and then they produce a tonic to get our hopes up again. How could we survive without them, life would be very dull. Have a great chance on Tuesday if we have enough players. Do Cork really deserve a team with the the miserable crowd that turned up last night to see the only two premiership teams in Cup action. Great result and well done the bit of red. Look forword to reading some reports from some of the lads that were at the match, imagine they are still in bed.