View Full Version : Cork in the cup

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

D Brannigan
16/06/2009, 12:40 AM
The story about Cork not paying Sligo their share of the gate last Friday is complete Bull...Sligo left the ground with a nice wad of cash for the return trip back up the road...

You should check your FACTS before coming on here!!!!!!!!:mad:

political_rebel
16/06/2009, 12:57 AM

Maybe you should...is it not true that Sligo left the ground with several thousand euros in cash?...

I saw the money being signed for and taken away by officials from Sligo...

optimus
16/06/2009, 2:27 AM

ha ha facts

Knappagh Red
16/06/2009, 5:39 AM
Butler supposed to be gone, paid off

16/06/2009, 7:49 AM
Heard that Cork most definetely were adamant on not giving the money to Rovers.Sure Tommy No Bobs was never in the FAI cup before, how was he to know you were to give money over to the opposition?

16/06/2009, 8:14 AM
On the Rovers side?? Wouldn't be Schlingermann would it??:confused:

Is Tracksuit still on yer books?

Jeebus
16/06/2009, 8:36 AM
Our share of their gate receipts will be bigger than their share of ours.
We would lose out.

How do you work that one out? There was 1800-odd at teh game on Friday night. I cant see our gate been much lower (if even lower) than that tonight.

Boo_Boy
16/06/2009, 10:09 AM
Is Tracksuit still on yer books?

Haven't heard that nickname in a while!, that's Ciaran Kelly, yes?

He's still here.

16/06/2009, 10:11 AM
Haven't heard that nickname in a while!, that's Ciaran Kelly, yes?

He's still here.

Yep thats him. Is he 3rd choice over there? Is he getting a game in the
A Championship or anything?

16/06/2009, 12:58 PM
Yep thats him. Is he 3rd choice over there? Is he getting a game in the
A Championship or anything?He's 2nd choice. He get his game in the half time entertainment (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L0-QMl9Lsqg);).

dublinred
16/06/2009, 3:47 PM
Reckon it will be tough to get a result tonight given the size of the squad and now that Peers is missing .We seem to struggle with more than one game in a week hopefully the commitment of the players can pull us through just hope its not penalities.

16/06/2009, 4:07 PM
ROVERS BEST PRICE 11/4 WITH CORAL
CORK BEST PRICE 11/10 WITH BOYLE SPORTS.

Question 1. When did we win a cup match with Cookie?

Question 2 When did we win a game without Gavin?

Conclusion..

Cork could be a decent bet. However, I won't plunge this time. Something telling me.................

dublinred
16/06/2009, 4:17 PM

Conclusion..

Cork could be a decent bet. However, I won't plunge this time. Something telling me.................

The bookies don't have much faith in us , rovers out to over 3/1 on betfair now.

Rovers Maniac
16/06/2009, 4:23 PM

Conclusion..

Sporting Fingal and Shams at home when we won last year 2-1 and Cretaro scored the winner. Saying that Cork should win but for some strange reason i actually think we may sneak it tonight, this just feels like we may get a result.

red arrow
16/06/2009, 4:54 PM
spoke to paul cook today. he said if the crowd get behind the team it will
give them a big lift . with peers out& holmes and the young lads playing we need to be the twelfth man. i feel we can score against them but defending will be the key. our midfield have to show as well tonight. i go for a battling performance by us & with a a large dose of luck we can do it.

red bellied
16/06/2009, 6:00 PM
Cookie was interviewed on the news there, goals will be on the late Network 2 edition later.

16/06/2009, 6:13 PM
Seen that alright...

"The pitch is in immaculate condition...for us"

Had to laugh.

dublinred
16/06/2009, 9:02 PM
Get in , 2 1 raf............................................... .....................

dublinred
16/06/2009, 9:17 PM
Get in , 2 1 raf............................................... .....................

2 1 Ft legends...........

MMVIII
16/06/2009, 9:40 PM
Legends, every single one of them. :D:D:D

16/06/2009, 9:46 PM
Ah, when Avvenalaf gets a feeling.....................:cool:

16/06/2009, 9:48 PM
Had a feeling we'd sneak it tonight, and we deserved it.

One of the best nights in the Showgies in a while:)

The Midget Gem
16/06/2009, 9:58 PM
One word: UNREAL!:D

----------------
Were gonna win the cup!:o:D

sligored
16/06/2009, 10:02 PM
great performance by the 11 players that finished. fair play to cookie for making the double sub just after half time replacing the nervous steve feeney and the ineffective brian cash. raf was sensational again closely followed by alan keane and boco. two great finishes and one just wide for raf. we rode our luck at times but deserved the victory. cork played great football for the first half hour but we eventually got a foothold in midfield.

poor enough crowd because that was pure entertainment and there are a lot of people who will be sorry to have missed it.

As forrest gump once said "life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you will get next" and this is true of rovers season so far.

Roll on friday night and hopefully the lads can get over the exhaustion after running themselves into the ground tonight.

The two new lads from merseyside and the 3 lads from celtic should bring much needed cover as the likes of cretaro boco keane and conor cant keep going with no rest.

Thanks to the players for a truly great effort tonight.

oldrover
16/06/2009, 10:07 PM
Wasnt able to travel but seems to have been brilliant night. Against the odds Rovers do it again.Onwards and upwards

dublinred
16/06/2009, 10:10 PM
Ah, when Avvenalaf gets a feeling.....................:cool:

Hope you keep getting them , always expect the un-expected with rovers.

showgies
16/06/2009, 10:10 PM
When the Main Stand start singing "NaNaNaNa HeyHey Sligo Rovers", you know it was a good night.

Ventre for me was outstanding along with Keane & of course you know who!!!!

rovers100%
16/06/2009, 10:15 PM
well i seen it all, that rivalled killester for game of the decade for the rovers. the bit o red def got the bit o luck but have we not deserved some lately. between rafs 2 great finishes, ventres amazing clearance of the line or brushes wonder saves. thats first peno i seen him save and it was a cracker !!! best atmosphere from the main stand in a very long time and its only a pity its not like that week in week out. the showgrounds would be a fortress if so.......... thats what the cup is all about and if that does not give the lads the confidence to believe we can beat bohs and win both cups nothing will. let us fear no one if we perform like that. i have come away too many times this season from the showgies disheartened but tonight i came away on cloud 9, maybe even cloud 10 at times, no drug i the world could give a person that high we had coming away tonight. i hope cookie and his players fell great pride in themselves for what they gave the fans back tonight. we may not want fantasy football every week just 100% commitment like tonight. well done rovers ye have renewed our faith in the world !!!! bring on the gypsies...........

Rovers fan
16/06/2009, 10:18 PM
Brush was as good as anyone imo. Made 4 top notch saves. If we had any other keeper in the league tonight we probably would have lost.

Best home game and atmosphere since the 2-1 win against bohs when seanie was managing them. Twas fantastic stuff and we deserved the bit of luck too. For a depleted squad they were brilliant, wonderful commitment. Alan keane was superb and danny ventre is a much improved player. He made one crucial goal-line clearance at 1-0 down, had he not it was game over. Raf must be absolutely exhausted after that, he never stopped running. The young full backs did very well too, fair play. I must say cork were quite dirty. Fair play to the Cork fans who made the trip down, it will be a long journey home!

Over the two legs it was a great cup tie and hopefully we can get a good draw in the next round and go on a wee cup run:)

The ref was terrible btw. We should have had a peno and they shouldn't have had one. He got loads of other calls wrong aswell.

16/06/2009, 10:23 PM
Ye said it all for me , Great game and Great night , was praying it wouldn't go to penalties just before Raf got the 2nd

Games like that will do the confidence of Noctor and Keohane the world of good , Onwards and upwards now , Special word of praise for Danny Ventre with that goal-line clearance !

red bellied
16/06/2009, 10:24 PM
Goals should be on the news in the next few minutes.

sligofan4ever
16/06/2009, 10:43 PM
Brilliant game! Brush,Ventre,Raff,Boco and Keane were all outsanding, Keohane did very well and Sean Doherty made the right wing more lively for us. It was a soft goal to concede but Brush made up for it with alot of game-saving saves. Their defense were a bit shaky in the second half because they knew if one of thier defenders made one more bad tackles they would be off. It was great to see the ground so lively! the whole place erupted for the second goal, but I think the biggest cheer came for the penalty save, the second time this season Brushie made a save that was crucial in a cup game! absolutly delighted, is that us in the quarter finals now ? if that dosent give the lads confidence for friday I dont know what will, and lets hope for a home draw in the next round.

16/06/2009, 10:43 PM
Shirts came off for the penalty save:D

Boo_Boy
16/06/2009, 10:46 PM
That was the best night for a while!

What effort from the whole team, Raf never stopped running the entire game and Ventre...I LOVE YA!!

dong
16/06/2009, 11:00 PM
All the players would have to get 9/10 for this, with full marks again to Brushie and Cretaro. Keane and Ventre were outstanding as well.
Best atmosphere in the ground for a good while even though the turnout was a little disappointing.
This game had it all though, and drama to the last minute. Great advertisement for the league.
Cork were dirty enough and could only resort to long hoof balls in the last 15 minutes. They were timewasting after they took the lead in the first half. Love to see a team getting stuffed who attempt that carry on!
Huge effort tonight and again, great atmosphere. I definitely think the home crowd got to their penalty taker. He totally sh*t himself.
Happy days.:D

Shedzer
16/06/2009, 11:02 PM
Fantastic stuff,poor first half but from then on,incredible game of football.. For me,Ventre was immense throughout and his last ditch clearance in the first half epitimised that.. Only for the challenge i think we were dead and buried! Hats off to keane who was outstanding alongside him.. I thought brush may have had his finest game in a rovers shirt and Raf was brilliant and tiggerish throught as always,Topping off his performance with two very good finishes! Not leaving out the other lads,they all contributed massively to a great team display and everyone showed great commitment and desire throughout! Fanstastic result,lets kick on from here :):)

Rovers Maniac
16/06/2009, 11:05 PM
What a game ! what a superb game, best game in years in the Showgrounds. To be honest it was one of those games when guts and heart won the day. I thought Boco, Ventre, Keane and of course Cretaro were superb. The two young full backs were good and i thought that Noctor will gain a lot of confidence from that and showed there is plenty of promise there for the lad. Once Feeney went off we did look better in the the defence, Boco was sort of engine has this man, the ladies must love him for it ! Brush great penalty save and had an excellent game. Great to hear the main stand in full voice, just a great night.

To be fair they all played well, one of those nights when they were just superb, fair play, proud of that performance. And i also thought Cook done well himself with the way the team were set up, cork are total anti football the way they play. Delighted roll on friday night.

Darco Ooragnak
16/06/2009, 11:46 PM
The goals... (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZREYnDXaIDU)

red arrow
17/06/2009, 12:03 AM
firstly i would like to thank the manager paul & gerry & players for a wonderful entertaining night at the showgrounds. what heart& fight we had and belief that we could win this game. you can have the best 11 players in the world individually but it takes a great manager to get players working collectively. i wont single out any player because to a man they fought right to the end. this game was so important to the club it has given us great hope & belief that we can move forward not alon e as a team but also as a club. considering that we were missing gavin &sean this was an immense performance. i fell so proud of the effort the boys put in tonight. i though the young lads were brilliant & as earlier mentioned it will help them greatly. i was a wee bit dissapointed with the turnout but i put that down to no national press advertising or teletext clearly stating that there was a cup replay on in sligo tonight. i spoke to a man who was not in the showgrounds for 15 years & he was thrilled with the whole package. we rode our luck at times but what the hell we deserved a break. there is a very small group of people
working very hard on behalf of the club and i am delighted for them. there is no more joy when ones passion is fulfilled& i think that happened for a lot of people tonight. now where is my bycycle pump & valve so that i can give mrs infatable a bit of air. good night up the bit ' o red

CarrickFan
17/06/2009, 12:41 AM
WOW..what a nite..had only just settled in and we were one down..could have been 2 or 3 in all honesty before Raf equalised with a goal that im sure the Cork keeper will be unhappy with..after that we were the better team..lovely move for the 2nd goal and well taken...super peno save and all round effort from Brush..Raf,Ventre and especially Keane were fantastic IMO..also a mention for Boco who's return from International duty for these games speaks volumes for the man..also thought the 2 young lads at full back did well especially Keohane as he played 120 minutes..nites like this are what supporting Sligo Rovers are all about..have to disagree with some earlier comments about the atmosphere..i was quite disappointed with the crowd and the noise made..people around abusing Boco,saying he was rubbish??..crazy..everyone put in a great shift so congrats to all..only bad point i'd make is i hope Steve Feeney is never played in central defence again!!..great lad but not his position.

srfc1928
17/06/2009, 1:21 AM
Absolute quality tonight. Thats what following your local side is all about, pure pride.
One of the best nights following Rovers ever.
when you look at the team sheets, man for man we had no right to win that match tonight, i know football isnt won on paper but when you look at their squad compared to ours, what a difference.
Just goes to show what a job PC & GC are doing, the best management act in the country.

Thank You

roversforever
17/06/2009, 6:43 AM
One of my best nights in the showgrounds. It had everything,we rode our luck at times but there was no way they were going to beat us last night!Brushie would have been my man of the match,thought he was different class last night and he has improved so much in his time at the club. A mention too for the two young fullbacks...to come in and cope the way they did,against a top team,was excellent. What an experience for them and hopefully it will stand them in good stead. And also a word on sean doherty... i know from reading another thread that some of you have issues with him but i think he has loads of ability and there is nobody in our club who can cross a ball as well as he can. For the winning goal it was a pinpoint delivery on his weaker foot.

Nights like last night are what supporting your local team is all about. These clowns that "support" english clubs without ever seeing their team play will never experience what we experienced last night.

Well Red
17/06/2009, 7:21 AM
So where was the biggest crowd, Sligo or Cork. Great night for the BOT have not had a team with such spirit for many a year or to put it another way we have not had a manager like Cooke for a long time either.

akearins
17/06/2009, 8:08 AM
Lads just to reiterate all that has been said, a classic night in the showgrounds up there with teh best of them.have to mention Morrison he really came into it in the 2nd half and was a class ball for teh 1st and played a vital aprt in teh second.He has bags of talent but concentration seems to wain but hats off to him .Said it before and proved again he is best playing through the middle.So well done again to all the lads has everyone on a high

Well Red
17/06/2009, 8:56 AM
Love to get Shams in the Showgrounds, we owe them big time and what a gate we would have. The Ref an our second choice keeper got the hoops through last time.

Mayo Red
17/06/2009, 9:36 AM
Cracking stuff lastnight, one of the best matches in The Showgrounds in a long time. Great determination and spirit from the players, and they just weren't going to be beaten. The game highlighted what League of Ireland football is all about. Ventres last ditch block to stop a certain goal was amazing, he had no right to win it and credit where credit is due, it really summed up all the players attitude and desire.

Cookie had part of the Main Stand in stitches when he turned to McGrath, the Linesman in the second half and asked him "is there a 50/50 chance you'll give us one tonight?", in fairness even McGrath had to laugh!!

Passed the Cork City bus the far side of Charlestown at about 11.15 on my way home, almost felt sorry for them, long journey still ahead but at least they had a tv on the bus to pass the time!!!;):D

Thought Faz would definately get a run out against us too, very surprised???

17/06/2009, 9:55 AM
Thought Faz would definately get a run out against us too, very surprised???Apart from the fact he's useless;)...he's being linked with Shams so maybe Doolin's giving up on him.

Only1Rovers
17/06/2009, 10:48 AM
i know from reading another thread that some of you have issues with him but i think he has loads of ability and there is nobody in our club who can cross a ball as well as he can.

Yea, he deserves a break here...... what a wonderful ball he put in to the back post.....

nechayev
17/06/2009, 11:09 AM
THIS is what being a football fan is all about....

an immense team effort & without singling anyone out let me just single out brush - a match winning performance - my own personal MOTM - as a former 'keeper: BRUSHY I WANT TO HAVE YOUR BABIES!

i thoroughly enjoyed a cheeky little bottle of rioja when i got back to the bog, even if i was all alone and fekkin' SOAKED from the ride home!

roll on friday - see y'all on DOOLEY'S XPRESS

DIMITRI

RED ARMY - FIRST WE TAKE BERLIN THEN WE TAKE SHAMS!

red_away
17/06/2009, 11:35 AM
Absolutely fantastic - well done the BOR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1