View Full Version : Drogheda United ban 6 of it's supporters.

SMorgan
28/05/2009, 11:55 AM
Six Drogheda United supporters have been banned from United Park after the club was forced to pay six seperate fines relating fans bad behaviour.

Flags and banners will also be prohibited with immediate effect, after flares hiddin in them were smuggled into the ground for the recent home game against dundalk.

Chairman Jim McArdle said Drogheda were forced to act, not only on safety grounds, but because the club could not afford to kepp paying for the misguided actions of a few.

'We have had at least six fines totaling about 1,200euro this season from the FAI disciplinary committee, and we are facing more for the two incidents in the Dundalk match - The letting off of flares and the raising of an offensive banner.

'We had a meeting with our event control people and have identified six of those who let off flares, resisted stewards who tried to take them off people or would not follow directions of stewards after the game.

'One of our stewards was assaulted, and we have also had complaints from ordinary Drogheda fans about bad language and offensive chanting.
'We might ask them to pay the fine before they are allowed back in.

I always enjoyed the Drog lectures on fan behaviour!!

Olander
28/05/2009, 12:04 PM
Well at least they are doing something about their fans. What have Dundalk done about the scum element attached to your club? :confused:

Its quite obvious Dave Rogers' arse was a more pressing issue for your board.

Rovers Maniac
28/05/2009, 12:14 PM

Fair play to Drogs on taking this stance. 20 or so Dundalk fans kicked lumps out of a few Galway fans. Seemed that the minibus was identified and all yet what was done about it? Sweet FA

28/05/2009, 12:21 PM
Banning people for bringing in flares is excessive imo. A few years ago it was the norm. Granted clubs can't afford the fines, so it makes more sense imo to give the offenders the choice of paying the fine or taking a ban.

Banning flags and banners is ridiculous, how about just getting stewards to actually do their jobs and look through the flags coming in rather than an outright ban. Offensive banners? Come off the stage, God forbid you offend your fiercest rivals in a football game...

pól-dcfc
28/05/2009, 12:21 PM
Banning flags and banners sounds a bit extreme though.

celticV3
28/05/2009, 12:22 PM
In the financial situation their in there should have been no flares let off knowing that there was fines coming afterwards. Obviously the right decision from the board knowing they cant afford fines for stuff like pyro at games.

Banning flags and banners though? That does seem a bit much though.

28/05/2009, 12:24 PM
Banning flags and banners sounds a bit extreme though.

It is but they've no money and can't afford to take a chance. Feel sorry for any genuine Drogs fan barred

28/05/2009, 12:26 PM
It is but they've no money and can't afford to take a chance.

Then get their security to search properly. Flags are not the only way to get flares in either .If people want to get flares in they will, Banning flags won't change that.

What will change it is an 'pay the fine or be banned' appraoch and maybe even just coming straight out and appealing to the lads not to do it.

28/05/2009, 12:33 PM
BTW a couple of Pats fans had the best idea I've ever seen for smuggling flares in. They opened normal sized bags of popcorn, put the flares in and then re-sealed with one of those hand held things you can buy in supermarkets.

I wa disgusted we never thought of this and for years had been sticking them down our trouser legs

28/05/2009, 12:35 PM
And for using bad language!!!!:rolleyes:

soccerc
28/05/2009, 12:42 PM
BTW a couple of Pats fans had the best idea I've ever seen for smuggling flares in. They opened normal sized bags of popcorn, put the flares in and then re-sealed with one of those hand held things you can buy in supermarkets.

I wa disgusted we never thought of this and for years had been sticking them down our trouser legs

That's that method busted.:D

I can just see it: Stewards: hey you, is that a popcorn in your pocket or are you just pleased to see me!

seand
28/05/2009, 12:46 PM
I feel sorry for the Drogs here. The Drogs lads have been making a great effort at creating an atmosphere with banners etc. Their giant Dundalk related banner is peurile and tasteless but very well executed and gets a reaction.

Obviously assaulting stewards is not on, and using flares is so 2005, (everyone knows your going to get the club fined) but a bit of cop on from both sides would not go astray.

And as someone else said, offensive banner my arse! (or Dave Rogers' arse for that matter)

NO AL CALCIO MODERNO

Duggie
28/05/2009, 12:50 PM
club goes banrupt over 1200 euro fines...:D

28/05/2009, 1:15 PM

That'll be popcorn and trousers banned from Drogheda now. :eek:

28/05/2009, 1:28 PM
It is but they've no money and can't afford to take a chance. Feel sorry for any genuine Drogs fan barred

They don't sound too genuine raising offensive banners and/or resisting stewards advice, they certainly cant be "genuine" knowing the situatino the club are in financially and what repercussions (monetary) their actions have. :rolleyes:

corkharps
28/05/2009, 1:28 PM
That'll be popcorn and trousers banned from Drogheda now. :eek:

So maybe Rodgers was ahead of his time!

28/05/2009, 1:34 PM
They don't sound too genuine raising offensive banners

Whatever about the rest of your post but is this part serious?

Genuine football fans now don't try to offend their rivals?

Theskinloyal
28/05/2009, 1:49 PM
If something like this happened in Italy the fans would retract their banners and not hold them up, looks like the club are doing that for them. Fans shouldn't take this lying down.

That a club like Drogheda that was so dependant on its fans before this season started with regards fundraising et all could alienate their fans like this speaks volumes about the league. Was any attempt made to consult with fans over this? Is it any wonder people get so disillusioned with this league? FFS.

topia
28/05/2009, 2:21 PM
in my opinion there is absolutely no place for bad language, banners or offensive chanting in football grounds. id much prefer to be able to sit and watch the football match in peace rather than have these bad pups creating such an antisocial atmosphere fair play to the drogheda board

MeathDrog
28/05/2009, 2:29 PM
Why are banners now so offensive? They add colour and banter to a game and create an atmosphere.

28/05/2009, 2:31 PM
If you break the ground rules causing the club to be fined and resist the actions of the stewards you can have no complaint whatsoever about being banned.

passerrby
28/05/2009, 2:46 PM
sorry joey but the club are the ones who will suffer and if you do these things againist the wishes of the club known that they will be punished then you are no a true fan of that club .
no sympathy for any one banned from a ground clubs do not take these decisions lightly

28/05/2009, 2:52 PM
in my opinion there is absolutely no place for bad language, banners or offensive chanting in football grounds. id much prefer to be able to sit and watch the football match in peace rather than have these bad pups creating such an antisocial atmosphere fair play to the drogheda boardAre you Grampa Simpson by any chance?

When I wer a lad....

marinobohs
28/05/2009, 2:53 PM
in my opinion there is absolutely no place for bad language, banners or offensive chanting in football grounds. id much prefer to be able to sit and watch the football match in peace rather than have these bad pups creating such an antisocial atmosphere fair play to the drogheda board

Without doubt the most stupid post ever on this or any other football forum. Now away with you and finish your knitting.

marinobohs
28/05/2009, 2:56 PM
Jesus wept. Sometimes I get the impression people want to be offended. Someone made a good point about drogs alienating their fans. This is a joke and it's fustrating to see clubs as well as the fai are now treating flares like satin spawn. I feel sorry for those who were banned - must be fustrating

6 banned ? what sort of whimps are the Drogs board ? bohs have banned over 100 (nobody quite sure as new names are added almost daily ). cant quite figure out why our gates are crap and there is no atmosphere at games anymore....

topia
28/05/2009, 2:58 PM
Jesus wept. Sometimes I get the impression people want to be offended. Someone made a good point about drogs alienating their fans. This is a joke and it's fustrating to see clubs as well as the fai are now treating flares like satin spawn. I feel sorry for those who were banned - must be fustrating

people dont want to be offended but when these young lads run around in all their colours with banners obstructing your view of the match, chanting at the top of their voices often using foul language...you wouldnt see that with the GAA... and flares everywhere...sure its a wonder nobody has been killed yet

28/05/2009, 3:00 PM
people dont want to be offended but when these young lads run around in all their colours with banners obstructing your view of the match, chanting at the top of their voices often using foul language...you wouldnt see that with the GAA... and flares everywhere...sure its a wonder nobody has been killed yet

Wont somebody please think of the children.

From what I can gather the package you are looking for is the "TV At Home Experience"

seand
28/05/2009, 3:02 PM
http://anacarlo.files.wordpress.com/2008/04/father-ted-careful-now.jpg

topia
28/05/2009, 3:02 PM
6 banned ? what sort of whimps are the Drogs board ? bohs have banned over 100 (nobody quite sure as new names are added almost daily ). cant quite figure out why our gates are crap and there is no atmosphere at games anymore....

it adds a bit of excitement though not like these drogs fans, it you are a bohs fan and you are friends with a lad whos cousin was overheard talking about a flare once then there could be a banning letter on its way to you...if a certain someone within the club feels like it that is

Celdrog
28/05/2009, 3:14 PM
I always enjoyed the Drog lectures on fan behaviour!!You see its called taking action to sort out the problem. You might have a word with Gerry Matthews about implementing a similar strategy off the field as his new found on the field actions

I've no sympathy for the lads. They were warned not to light flares, they continued. They are banned. If they pay the fine they might be allowed back in.

Unfortunately its the few who have spoliled it for the majority, because their displays were superb

Drogman.
28/05/2009, 3:15 PM
I'm delighted that this came out. I'm not a big fan of the current board but for once they have a point regarding the flares. The banner issue is nothing, just pure FAI bullsh*t which will be ignored anyway.

At the start of the season, at a supporters club meeting, the Ultra's said that they would pay for any fines that the club incurred because of flares, this hasn't happened.

I love the displays that they do and the one against Dundalk was fantastic but they have to leave the flares out of it for a while anyway as I'm not prepared to raise money for the club only to pay for stupid fines!!

topia
28/05/2009, 3:26 PM
'One of our stewards was assaulted, and we have also had complaints from ordinary Drogheda fans about bad language and offensive chanting.'

This is the bit i cant get my head around... i mean 1st of all who would make an actual complaint to the club about bad language? and why have the Drogs board pretended to take this complaint seriously in order to pad out their statement?
it nearly devalues the whole thing really because the warning about flares is understandable because the fines are adding up but then mentioning bad language at the same time is just a bit stupid.

forza rovers
28/05/2009, 4:04 PM
That's sad don't like it don't go

NO AL CALCIO MODERNO

peadar1987
28/05/2009, 4:13 PM

Believe it or not, I actually agree with some of the stuff in here. If you're bringing young kids to a game you don't want there to be excessive swearing going on. I'm not offended by it myself, but I try and avoid effing and blinding if there are kids near me in the ground.

As for banners, as long as people aren't muppets about it and put up a 20 foot by 50 foot one all the way along the front row of the main stand, I don't mind, and obviously so long as they're not racist, or homophobic, or otherwise going too far.

A N Mouse
28/05/2009, 4:23 PM

Yeah, but percentage wise drogs have banned 50% of their support, while bohs only managed 20%

Massop 10
28/05/2009, 4:52 PM
I have one thing to say Mr. Topia - GAA my ass !!!!! Soccer matches are all about FUN, COLOUR, NOISE and ATHMOSPHERE in all the countries were the best teams come from. It is an atitude like yours the is holding back soccer in this country !!!!!! Golf is a nice quiet sport and maybe to your liking, no banners in blocking your view and no shouting or bad language either ! :)

28/05/2009, 5:17 PM

Then go watch GAA!...Some people..:rolleyes:

CarrickFan
28/05/2009, 5:28 PM
You wouldnt see that at a GAA match???.....are u serious??...granted its been a few years since i was at one and doubt i ever will be again but the behaviour of the Ladies presant that day scared me(never heard language like it!!) never mind the lads!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

passerrby
28/05/2009, 5:29 PM

dont kid yourself last week at the monaghan v derry game a player tried to retrieve a ball over the pitchside wall and was met by quite a few punches the real differance between these two types of football is in GAA most of the violence is contained on the pitch, players selectors managers etc. while in soccer most supporters knuckles do not reach the ground

topia
28/05/2009, 6:00 PM
Wont somebody please think of the children.

From what I can gather the package you are looking for is the "TV At Home Experience"

That's sad don't like it don't go

NO AL CALCIO MODERNO

I have one thing to say Mr. Topia - GAA my ass !!!!! Soccer matches are all about FUN, COLOUR, NOISE and ATHMOSPHERE in all the countries were the best teams come from. It is an atitude like yours the is holding back soccer in this country !!!!!! Golf is a nice quiet sport and maybe to your liking, no banners in blocking your view and no shouting or bad language either ! :)

Then go watch GAA!...Some people..:rolleyes:

You wouldnt see that at a GAA match???.....are u serious??...granted its been a few years since i was at one and doubt i ever will be again but the behaviour of the Ladies presant that day scared me(never heard language like it!!) never mind the lads!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

dont kid yourself last week at the monaghan v derry game a player tried to retrieve a ball over the pitchside wall and was met by quite a few punches the real differance between these two types of football is in GAA most of the violence is contained on the pitch, players selectors managers etc. while in soccer most supporters knuckles do not reach the ground

Youre a great bunch of lads... i wasnt going to bother but i think i might now at this stage...i was clearly taking the pi*s!

28/05/2009, 6:02 PM

please tell me u taking the pish
Have you seen the gah heads on tv last week making man love to each other on the pitch - all rolling around hanging out of each other - yeah yur right the gah is a sport for you

Flexy
28/05/2009, 7:53 PM
Feel sorry for drogs with these fines will Barca be fined for their flares last nite at the cup final, dont think so

Rovers fan
28/05/2009, 7:57 PM
Feel sorry for drogs with these fines will Barca be fined for their flares last nite at the cup final, dont think so

Yeah. There's huge fines for flares in European games.

Hairy Bowsie
28/05/2009, 8:51 PM
The difference is Barca can afford them.

Flexy
28/05/2009, 9:04 PM
The difference is Barca can afford them.
The issue is that it wont stop barca fans taking them to games a fine isnt sufficent to a team like barca, whereas it affects drogs more

SeanDrog
28/05/2009, 9:14 PM
fact is that these guys got plenty of warnings, it was explained to them about the fines the club was being hit with and they still continued, the club engaged with them and treated them like adults by holding discussions but they still continued hence the results.

The flags bing banned is to prevent more flares from being hidden within them on entry.

Unfortunate situation but hopefully the people involved will pay the fines and then work with the club rather than against it.

Flares look good but end result is fines which the club cant afford to pay, what can the club do? it asked several times for them not to do it. As for security checking at the gates, well this is done but some still get through - why should the club tolerate this? Personel resp. by the lads involved is required.

28/05/2009, 11:11 PM
Youre a great bunch of lads... i wasnt going to bother but i think i might now at this stage...i was clearly taking the pi*s!
It's obvious enough when you read your other posts for comparison, but it can be tough to pick up tone on the internet.

topia
28/05/2009, 11:33 PM
It's obvious enough when you read your other posts for comparison, but it can be tough to pick up tone on the internet.

ah yeah but thats what made it interesting really!

although i thought a mention of the gaa, a dislike for banners and chanting might have triggered 1 or 2 sarcasm detectors!

anyhow slightly more on topic i understand that drogheda cant afford to pay fines for flares every week but i just think they went about it in the wrong way in that statement... preaching about the use of bad language and discouraging their fans that try to create some kind of atmosphere by chanting and making banners at a time when they need it most. i understand every single chant or banner may not be exactly to everyones taste, but lets face it they arent usually overly offensive either. i just think they could have made their point regarding the flares without bringing the other things into it really.

28/05/2009, 11:52 PM
Bit harsh, they should have given the guys involved one last chance & told them they will be banned if repeat it again.

29/05/2009, 12:30 AM
fact is that these guys got plenty of warnings, it was explained to them about the fines the club was being hit with and they still continued, the club engaged with them and treated them like adults by holding discussions but they still continued hence the results.

I just don't get the atitude of these 'supporters' in all honesty.

If you know that your club will get fined if you continue to do something, then why would you do it ? :confused: Are they 12yrs old and a bit soft in the head or something ?

Some people always need to learn the hard way in life.

The banner ban is way over the top though. Surely the club could have made the repercussions of flares very widely known *(in programme, tannoy announcements during games etc) and then worked with real supporters to identify and ban those who bring them in. That'd sort the problem in a couple of weeks.