View Full Version : Drogheda United ban 6 of it's supporters.

Pages : 1 [2] 3

corkboy360
29/05/2009, 1:32 AM
in my opinion there is absolutely no place for bad language, banners or offensive chanting in football grounds. id much prefer to be able to sit and watch the football match in peace rather than have these bad pups creating such an antisocial atmosphere fair play to the drogheda board
God forbid someone created a ****ing atmosphere

mandrake
29/05/2009, 8:22 AM

exactly, what is the problem anyway, the fai are really BIG inot no flares, although i didnt see them wading into too many polish fans in november ...it was funny about 3 were seized and then loads went off in the middle and the 'fai gestapo'...oh i mean stewards gave up (will i be found out by the fai and banned from games for this comment)

29/05/2009, 8:30 AM
Always hilarious when a bloke (or micls) points out he (/she) was being sarcatic/taking the **** and people still reply to the original...

Black and White
29/05/2009, 8:45 AM
Good enough for the little toe-rags! At last something has been done about offensive banners as it took the pi55 earlier in the season with the FAI taken action against our Palestinian Flag which had been at the ground for more than 7 years!

redobit
29/05/2009, 8:59 AM
'6 supporters' @ '€15 per game' multply by '20 games per season'.

Fines of €1200.

Ezeikial
29/05/2009, 9:40 AM
'6 supporters' @ '€15 per game' multply by '20 games per season'.

equals €1800 potential in lost gates receipts over a full season

'We have had at least six fines totaling about 1,200euro this season from the FAI disciplinary committee, and we are facing more for the two incidents in the Dundalk match

equals say €1200 + €400 = €1600 x 2 (not yet at mid point in the season) = €3,200 potential in fines over a full season

No contest from an economic perspective

pól-dcfc
29/05/2009, 9:55 AM
it took the pi55 earlier in the season with the FAI taken action against our Palestinian Flag which had been at the ground for more than 7 years!

But they didn't did they? It was all just made up.

29/05/2009, 9:59 AM
Believe it or not, I actually agree with some of the stuff in here. If you're bringing young kids to a game you don't want there to be excessive swearing going on. I'm not offended by it myself, but I try and avoid effing and blinding if there are kids near me in the ground.

This is why every club should have a family section, so the kids don't have to listen to it but the rest don't have to watch everything they say.

The flags bing banned is to prevent more flares from being hidden within them on entry.

Come on. Do they honestly think that is the solution? No flags somehow means its not possible to get a flare in anymore? Silly decision.

29/05/2009, 10:02 AM
Always hilarious when a bloke (or micls) points out he (/she) was being sarcatic/taking the **** and people still reply to the original...

Indeed.

Some of us got the p!sstake in the first place anyway (you'll be proud of me Dodge.... :D)

29/05/2009, 10:12 AM
How many times have the FAI used flares themselves for Cup finals and that?! :rolleyes:

topia
29/05/2009, 10:17 AM
How many times have the FAI used flares themselves for Cup finals and that?! :rolleyes:

well i highly doubt they ran into the stand and let flares off there during the cup final which i can only assume is why the ban originated, a health and safety thing

pól-dcfc
29/05/2009, 10:17 AM
If you can't see the difference then you're just stupid. Having flares in a crowd of people is completely different than flares used in sand buckets at the side of the pitch with safety personnel on hand.

corkboy360
29/05/2009, 10:20 AM
exactly, what is the problem anyway, the fai are really BIG inot no flares, although i didnt see them wading into too many polish fans in november ...it was funny about 3 were seized and then loads went off in the middle and the 'fai gestapo'...oh i mean stewards gave up (will i be found out by the fai and banned from games for this comment)

That because there afraid and the Gardaí and stewards no they can't be heavy handed with away teams like Poland where they will all try help get the people back in. In Ireland we have the fans that nearly point you out for lighting a flare.

This is why every club should have a family section, so the kids don't have to listen to it but the rest don't have to watch everything they say.

Without trumpets and mindless drum banging

topia
29/05/2009, 10:22 AM

nobody needs that kind of atmosphere it means you cant concentrate 100% on the match what with all that noise and worrying about a flag or flare hitting you in the head and making you completely blind.

corkboy360
29/05/2009, 10:25 AM
nobody needs that kind of atmosphere it means you cant concentrate 100% on the match what with all that noise and worrying about a flag or flare hitting you in the head and making you completely blind.
Why how many people in Ireland have got a flare or flag to the head which resulted in the losing of an eye and if your worrying about you could just move.

topia
29/05/2009, 10:30 AM
Why how many people in Ireland have got a flare or flag to the head which resulted in the losing of an eye and if your worrying about you could just move.

i think you should look that up, the statistics speak for themselves,
my uncle in fact was partially blinded and lost the tip of his little finger in the early 80s in a nasty flare related incident. they were rife at that time before the ban came in.

29/05/2009, 10:31 AM
well i highly doubt they ran into the stand and let flares off there during the cup final which i can only assume is why the ban originated, a health and safety thing

If you can't see the difference then you're just stupid. Having flares in a crowd of people is completely different than flares used in sand buckets at the side of the pitch with safety personnel on hand.

Both of you miss the point. Flares are banned (I don't think they should) yet the FAI were guilty of using them for cup finals. Regardless of them being lit on or off the pitch, they are prohibited anywhere in the gound.

29/05/2009, 10:32 AM

You would put something idiotic past the FAI? More fool you....

topia
29/05/2009, 10:36 AM
Both of you miss the point. Flares are banned (I don't think they should) yet the FAI were guilty of using them for cup finals. Regardless of them being lit on or off the pitch, they are prohibited anywhere in the gound.

its not relly missing the point though, i mean i understand what you are saying but its like everything else they are allowed in a controlled environment just not in a stand full of people. its a bit like fireworks being illegal but you can still get a licence for fireworks displays

corkboy360
29/05/2009, 10:43 AM
its not relly missing the point though, i mean i understand what you are saying but its like everything else they are allowed in a controlled environment just not in a stand full of people. its a bit like fireworks being illegal but you can still get a licence for fireworks displays
Flares ? :o
Confetti is banned in Turners Cross;)
But that just our circus of stewards running around like headless chickens.
Although this year the FORAS lads who are volunteering have brought a small bit of a common sense factor in.

Ezeikial
29/05/2009, 11:32 AM
.... with the FAI taken action against our Palestinian Flag which had been at the ground for more than 7 years!

But they didn't did they? It was all just made up.

You're right Pol in that the FAI did not take any action, and some internet media got the specifcs wrong.

But it was real alright; during the Sligo V Dundalk game the FAI match delegate told the Dundalk chairman, Padraig McGowan, that he regarded the said banner as racist and that he would be reporting it as such.

29/05/2009, 12:33 PM
Maybe I'm not reading this right, but I'm still none the wiser as to what the offensive banner said. Anyone care to enlighten us (by PM if necessary)?

Incidentally, I brought my daughter into the 'posh' Drogs stand for our first game against them this season. We were in with all the old gents, the suits and the grandees, including, one presumes, the Drogs directors. Collectively, they were more potty-mouthed than Section G in the Jodi. We were both appalled. ;)

dfclilywhite
29/05/2009, 1:52 PM
Maybe I'm not reading this right, but I'm still none the wiser as to what the offensive banner said. Anyone care to enlighten us (by PM if necessary)?

Incidentally, I brought my daughter into the 'posh' Drogs stand for our first game against them this season. We were in with all the old gents, the suits and the grandees, including, one presumes, the Drogs directors. Collectively, they were more potty-mouthed than Section G in the Jodi. We were both appalled. ;)

http://i194.photobucket.com/albums/z24/drogs213/10680825a10395758406l1.jpg

celticV3
29/05/2009, 3:08 PM
Are you serious? f*ck me the standard of offensive is getting dragged down there.

30/05/2009, 10:03 AM
Spelt diarrhoea wrong

That's worth a banning in itself - going for the Yankee version of the word

Umberside
30/05/2009, 7:58 PM

Now that is quite offensive.

MMVIII
30/05/2009, 8:14 PM
How is it?

Nothing wrong with it, used to **** off the enemy and it seemed to have done a very good job of it. FAI are clowns for even contemplating the idea of fining them for this.

Ezeikial
30/05/2009, 9:14 PM
Now that is quite offensive.

How is it?

Nothing wrong with it, used to **** off the enemy and it seemed to have done a very good job of it. FAI are clowns for even contemplating the idea of fining them for this.

Whats offensive to one person may not be offensive to the next.

It really doesn't take a whole lot of objectivity to understand how some may regard this as being offensive and possibly an incitment to confrontation.

While I personally don't find it in any way offensive (and really well made), it is in poor taste. When other sports fans query why segregation is necessary is Irish soccer (but not in rugby or GAA) they only need look to banners like this to understand the negative tribalist ethos that exists.

Good humour and banter between fans adds to the experience; insults and provocation does not.

corkboy360
30/05/2009, 10:22 PM
Good humour and banter between fans adds to the experience; insults and provocation does not.
They are yer fiercest rivals and they outdone ye
Get over it.

I for one think the F45U have done the best displays in the last season and a bit and its a shame they will have no more.

30/05/2009, 10:25 PM
Get over it.

They outdone us with banners...Oh No....Wait..Who cares?:rolleyes:

Ezeikial
30/05/2009, 11:19 PM
Get over it.

I for one think the F45U have done the best displays in the last season and a bit and its a shame they will have no more.

It's a shame that you choose to miss the point of my post!

It has nothing to do with the "fierce" rivalry you trumpet, but more a commentary on the mindset of insult and provocation that pervades throughout many "fans" in LOI, and is almost unique in Irish sport.

Colourful displays add to the atmosphere, provocative or insulting banners pollute!

MeathDrog
31/05/2009, 12:13 AM
Oh get over it. It was just supposed to be a bit of humour. Simular to them car stickers with one fan pi**ing on a rival team's jersey. They're intended for humour. Last year the F45 had a banner when we were playing Bohs of Dennis the menace shoving his knob up his dog's arse and little was said, and that's worse then the Dundalk one if you ask me!

31/05/2009, 12:15 AM
Oh get over it. It was just supposed to be a bit of humour. Simular to them car stickers with one fan pi**ing on a rival team's jersey. They're intended for humour. Last year the F45 had a banner when we were playing Bohs of Dennis the menace shoving his knob up his dog's arse and little was said, and that's worse then the Dundalk one if you ask me!

Go tell your board that...;)

MeathDrog
31/05/2009, 12:17 AM
Go tell your board that...;)
True. Lessons have to be learnt. Can't see how banners can cause that much offense. I'm all for banning flares though. Them 6 fans can f*ckoff.

Ezeikial
31/05/2009, 12:37 AM

I have nothing to "get over" - 'cause the banner in question caused me no offense!

IMO, the car stickers are also in poor taste, and while I didn't see the Dennis the Menace one it sounds dire.

Apart from the damage to the clubs finances, have you ever paused to consider the negative impact caused to the image of the league in general or more specifically to your club?

MeathDrog
31/05/2009, 12:47 AM
I have nothing to "get over" - 'cause the banner in question caused me no offense!

IMO, the car stickers are also in poor taste, and while I didn't see the Dennis the Menace one it sounds dire.

Apart from the damage to the clubs finances, have you ever paused to consider the negative impact caused to the image of the league in general or more specifically to your club?
Why? It was a banner FFS. I don't see why the club or the fans should be condemned for that display. How would this have a 'negative impact' on the image of the League. There aren't people across the country having an outside look on the LOI and saying "banner with bad taste, You'll never see me at a match"

Ezeikial
31/05/2009, 1:07 AM
Why? It was a banner FFS. I don't see why the club or the fans should be condemned for that display. How would this have a 'negative impact' on the image of the League. There aren't people across the country having an outside look on the LOI and saying "banner with bad taste, You'll never see me at a match"

I think you have your head in the sand if you believe that the wider public dont read newspapers http://www.drogheda-independent.ie/sport/soccer/six-fans-banned-1755170.html , or watch TV coverage, or use the internet, or hear word-of-mouth reports.

I am not condemning anyone (especially not the club who have taken positive action), but I have no doubt that the cultural ethos that I refered to previously (of which the banners mentioned are only a part) have a negative impact on the publics perception of LOI

MeathDrog
31/05/2009, 12:39 PM
I think you have your head in the sand if you believe that the wider public dont read newspapers http://www.drogheda-independent.ie/sport/soccer/six-fans-banned-1755170.html , or watch TV coverage, or use the internet, or hear word-of-mouth reports.

I am not condemning anyone (especially not the club who have taken positive action), but I have no doubt that the cultural ethos that I refered to previously (of which the banners mentioned are only a part) have a negative impact on the publics perception of LOI
But let's face it, if anyone who doesn't go to LOI games feels offended by seeing a banner, then most likely they're going to be seen nowhere near a game anyway.

brianw82
31/05/2009, 2:38 PM

Reason no. 254 why people don't go to LOI games: offensive banners.

MeathDrog
31/05/2009, 4:46 PM
reason no. 254 why people don't go to loi games: Offensive banners.
:d :d :d :d :d

WindmillWarrior
31/05/2009, 5:18 PM
http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c170/StarandCrescent/KC2K7380.jpg

The Notorious Boo Boys!!

31/05/2009, 5:36 PM
seen it before but thats still quality.

ezeikial just needs a humour transplant and a dose of reality. You claim not to be offended but are arguing the case of a man who is.

These displays, and the "tribal" attitude, are not unique to Ireland. You will find similar displays and banners all around Europe, especially in France and Italy.

from Europe somewhere
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3014/3020495125_e205797841.jpg?v=0

from Cyprus
http://www.nancarrow-webdesk.com/warehouse/storage2/2008-w34/img.324400_t.jpg

Bohs display
http://www.la-redo.net/wp-content/uploads/ultras1811.jpg

forza rovers
31/05/2009, 5:50 PM
Whats offensive to one person may not be offensive to the next.

It really doesn't take a whole lot of objectivity to understand how some may regard this as being offensive and possibly an incitment to confrontation.

While I personally don't find it in any way offensive (and really well made), it is in poor taste. When other sports fans query why segregation is necessary is Irish soccer (but not in rugby or GAA) they only need look to banners like this to understand the negative tribalist ethos that exists.

Good humour and banter between fans adds to the experience; insults and provocation does not.some would then class your banner as offensive.personally i have no problem with either banner

Dundalkjames
31/05/2009, 7:12 PM
Its only a banner ffs i taught it was a very good banner and well done!

MeathDrog
31/05/2009, 7:31 PM

The Notorious Boo Boys!!
That's the one. :D

peadar1987
31/05/2009, 8:18 PM

The Notorious Boo Boys!!

I'm ever so slightly worried that someone has clearly put so much time and effort into making a large banner of a primary school child raping a dog.

31/05/2009, 9:12 PM
Some of the best from France down the years - my Favourite one first though:

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2339/2430197767_09fa8f406e.jpg

Banner reads: "To find the Peasants - Follow the Arrow" - the arrow points to the away fans section :D

http://observers.france24.com/files/images/chtis_teaser.jpg

The banner, displayed at a match between Paris Saint-Germain and Lens reads: "Paedophiles, unemployed and inbred: Welcome up north"

31/05/2009, 9:12 PM
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2158/2431012846_568e91322f.jpg

"Recruiting whores. Send in your mothers' CVs."

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3118/2431011872_3e810753b0.jpg

"Le Havre - Crap City"

And finally - quite a witty one:

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2041/2430197049_d82f681935.jpg

"While we were inventing cinema your fathers were dying in the coalmines." From Lyon supporters to Saint Etienne fans.

RoversHead
31/05/2009, 10:04 PM
Firstly No surrender to the GAA ever,secondly banners flags flares and ultras god bless you all but ultras need to collect money through fundraisers and merchandise to cover the ridiculous fines .Finaly I wish stewards were as eager to identify and get banned the stone island schooligans at each club instead of real fans.I support the six lads and any others banned for making the game in this country more colourful and atmospheric ,heroes every one of you.

MeathDrog
31/05/2009, 10:20 PM
Firstly No surrender to the GAA ever,secondly banners flags flares and ultras god bless you all but ultras need to collect money through fundraisers and merchandise to cover the ridiculous fines .Finaly I wish stewards were as eager to identify and get banned the stone island schooligans at each club instead of real fans.I support the six lads and any others banned for making the game in this country more colourful and atmospheric ,heroes every one of you.
Complete rubbish. The idiots who brought in them flares knew right well that they were banned and were a health hazard. Nothing heroic about being a 14 year old being thrown out by a fat steward out the gate.