View Full Version : David Forde
Mad Moose
14/05/2009, 11:24 PM
Looking very likely Forde might make a return to playing Championship level football after a season in League One with Millwall. I'd seen him in action once for Cardiff City without him ever looking like the talent that took him from Derry City to South Wales. He seems very much to have found himself again and has been instrumental in taking Millwall into the play offs and the reason Millwall have made it to the League One Play Off Final where he will face either MK Dons or Scunthorpe who of course have Joe Murphy in goal.
Having seen him tonight against Leeds Utd at Elland Road he looked very assured and on top of his game with at least two fantastic saves and a penalty save from Jermaine Beckford.
With one more game to go and a big day out at Wembley Forde could see himself back playing in the Championship as first choice and a chance for international recognition. Its good to seeing him showing good form again.
As Nick Colgan has proved its never to late to get an international chance.
irishfan86
15/05/2009, 12:31 AM
I made a post in the Irish abroad about this- I reckon he could sneak in as a third goalkeeper if we have an injury crisis in the next couple of years, or if Dean Kiely decides to call it a day.
His time with Millwall is the first real time he's been a starter, and even though he's 28, since he has hardly played regularly that might extend his career well into his late 30s.
I always though Forde had the perfect size for a keeper. Similar to Schmeical's.
Good luck to him anyway
Drumcondra 69er
15/05/2009, 10:27 AM
It was an awful peanlty but he did his job. Fair play to him, very good save in the first half from Beckford.
noisecontrol
15/05/2009, 10:44 AM
Lets not lose the run of ourselves lads...not sure he'll even be able to carry on beyond this season...I mean his ankle took an awful whack from that coin...also he nearly gifted Leeds a goal when he dropped a cross at Beckfords feet despite being unchallenged!!!:)
Ceirtlis
15/05/2009, 12:33 PM
Have to say i never rated him when seeing him in the league of ireland first with us and then with Derry. There has always been clubs interested in taking him on though so maybe it was just a case that he had the skills but needed the coaching to make it at a higher level. Best of luck to him, he is the only player from Galway playing regularly in the English leagues(I'm not including Alan Lee because he wasnt brought up in Galway).
alltogethernow
15/05/2009, 2:10 PM
Haven't posted on here in a long time but had to when i saw this.
Ive been to a good few Millwall games this season and Forde is not a good keeper. Against Leeds on Saturday he kicked it straight out of play from either back passes or kick outs. His distribution is terrible.
He makes some good saves but he makes a lot of fumbles. Saw them play earlier in the season against Oldham where he made 2 absolute clangers and were beaten 3-2.
there is far better keepers playing at home and in other divisions in England to be looking at for International.
SwanVsDalton
15/05/2009, 4:46 PM
Haven't posted on here in a long time but had to when i saw this.
Ive been to a good few Millwall games this season and Forde is not a good keeper. Against Leeds on Saturday he kicked it straight out of play from either back passes or kick outs. His distribution is terrible.
He makes some good saves but he makes a lot of fumbles. Saw them play earlier in the season against Oldham where he made 2 absolute clangers and were beaten 3-2.
there is far better keepers playing at home and in other divisions in England to be looking at for International.
Call it the Derry bias (blah) but I disagree completely.
I've gone to The Den a few times this year he's been extremely assured, and occasionally instrumental, in Millwall claiming good results. Not only that I've chatted to many Millwall fans over the last year and all of them heaped praise on his ability - some admitted he made a few mistakes but, from what I've heard, they are very fond of him.
Finally Jackett like him and the players like him. Andy Frampton (Fans Player of the Year) named Forde his player of the season.
Personally I'm delighted for him. I have my doubts about him making it at a higher level but he seems to have improved and Championship football will bring him on again.
alltogethernow
18/05/2009, 8:38 AM
Call it the Derry bias (blah) but I disagree completely.
I've gone to The Den a few times this year he's been extremely assured, and occasionally instrumental, in Millwall claiming good results. Not only that I've chatted to many Millwall fans over the last year and all of them heaped praise on his ability - some admitted he made a few mistakes but, from what I've heard, they are very fond of him.
Finally Jackett like him and the players like him. Andy Frampton (Fans Player of the Year) named Forde his player of the season.
Personally I'm delighted for him. I have my doubts about him making it at a higher level but he seems to have improved and Championship football will bring him on again.
We must have been at different games:D
Fans do like him but they will admit(Well the ones i know) that he can be a liability.
At the Leeds game last week they cheered everytime he kept the ball in play from a kickout!!
I hope he does well but as you said i don't think he is good enough to make it at a higher level ie International.
alltogethernow
26/05/2009, 4:03 PM
Still think the same after another howler on Sunday?
SwanVsDalton
27/05/2009, 2:08 AM
One poor performance doesn't make a season. Just ask Joe Murphy, League One keeper of the season and probably Ireland's number four. If Scunthorpe had of lost that match all they would've remembered was him flapping at an easy save - a much worse mistake than Forde's 'howler'.
08/01/2011, 10:10 AM
Linked with a move to Sunderland and Wigan. Also Alan Kelly has been scouting him for the national team according to this;
Forde focused on road ahead
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/forde-focused-on-road-ahead-2488814.html
08/01/2011, 11:39 AM
I'd rank him ahead of Joe and Brian Murphy this season
SwanVsDalton
08/01/2011, 1:57 PM
Has conceded three so far to Birmingham today however, though no indication if he could do much about any of them. Nevertheless having a good season in a very solid outfit right enough and I'd have thought he's done enough to be contending with the two Murphy's for Ireland's third choice. Has conceded 23 league goals compared to 32 (Brian Murphy) and 40 (J.Murphy).
Predator
08/01/2011, 2:25 PM
To be fair to the two Murphys, they've had terrible defences in front of them. Saying that, I'd have no problem with Forde getting an opportunity.
TrapAPony
08/01/2011, 2:48 PM
Paddy Kenny is better than the Murphy's and Forde.
SwanVsDalton
08/01/2011, 2:56 PM
Paddy Kenny is better than the Murphy's and Forde.
He's also more of a total moonboot than them. Though I wouldn't have a problem with him being called up (if he wanted a call that is) I don't see him being a good third choice, which is realistically where he's at. Don't think he's got the temperament or commitment to be a good squad addition, unlike the Murphy's or Forde. If Shay/Westwood got injured though, it could be another story.
irishfan86
09/01/2011, 5:55 AM
Bang on swan, Paddy Kenny is only worth having around as no. 1 or 2. The third guy needs to know his role and be a team player. I like Westwood as the long-term replacement for Shay, but it's hard to argue with Kenny's performances this campaign.
Alf Honn
10/01/2011, 3:43 AM
Has conceded three so far to Birmingham today however, though no indication if he could do much about any of them. Nevertheless having a good season in a very solid outfit right enough and I'd have thought he's done enough to be contending with the two Murphy's for Ireland's third choice. Has conceded 23 league goals compared to 32 (Brian Murphy) and 40 (J.Murphy).
He was woeful for the first goal. Stretching it a bit to talk in terms of international calibre.
SwanVsDalton
10/01/2011, 2:06 PM
He was woeful for the first goal. Stretching it a bit to talk in terms of international calibre.
Don't see why not if he's competing with the Murphy's and Kenny in the same league for a squad place. I'm not convinced he's international calibre either but we don't appear (as yet) to have three international calibre goalies. No Irish keeper had a particularly good weekend, apart from Westwood and maybe Kenny.
Alf Honn
10/01/2011, 5:08 PM
Don't see why not if he's competing with the Murphy's and Kenny in the same league for a squad place. I'm not convinced he's international calibre either but we don't appear (as yet) to have three international calibre goalies. No Irish keeper had a particularly good weekend, apart from Westwood and maybe Kenny.
Those pair consistently do have good weekends and that's why they should be back-up to Shay ahead of the two Murphys and then Forde. Motherwell's Randolph, at 23, could develop too as a contender.
SwanVsDalton
10/01/2011, 5:51 PM
Those pair consistently do have good weekends and that's why they should be back-up to Shay ahead of the two Murphys and then Forde. Motherwell's Randolph, at 23, could develop too as a contender.
Not really questioning it in terms of ability, but as I said before I don't think Kenny has the temperament or desire to be 3rd choice and a solid squad member. That would leave Murphy's, Forde and Randolph too and it's pretty much a toss-up at that point. The Murphy's are in pole position but I'm merely pointing out Forde is performing well in a solid Championship outfit.
10/01/2011, 7:09 PM
Not really questioning it in terms of ability, but as I said before I don't think Kenny has the temperament or desire to be 3rd choice and a solid squad member.
Whats that based on Swan just out of interest?
irishfan86
10/01/2011, 9:22 PM
Whats that based on Swan just out of interest?
If you listen to his "interviews" he comes across as a character to say the least.
He has been involved in off-field incidents (got in a fight with his best friend and had his eyebrow bitten off!).... no question he is a talented keeper but he seems like the sort that would be more trouble than he's worth as a No. 3 guy.
If a player is good enough to help your starting XI, you can accomodate someone a little bit off, but if he's there as a backup, it could be more trouble than it's worth. The less distractions on the fringes of your squad, the better.
10/01/2011, 9:38 PM
If you listen to his "interviews" he comes across as a character to say the least.
He has been involved in off-field incidents (got in a fight with his best friend and had his eyebrow bitten off!).... no question he is a talented keeper but he seems like the sort that would be more trouble than he's worth as a No. 3 guy.
If a player is good enough to help your starting XI, you can accomodate someone a little bit off, but if he's there as a backup, it could be more trouble than it's worth. The less distractions on the fringes of your squad, the better.
Ok fair enough.
He had a spell around the Cyprus game where his world was turned upside down. The marriage break down, the affair with the best mate, the fight which you refer to above, and the result in Cyprus. He's always been a good keeper. He'd be a more than capable #3 and despite the result in Cyprus, he made some superb saves in that game (shudder).
That said, I always think the #3 jersey should be for an up and comer, especially when we have Shay and Kieron in the #1&2 slots respectively.
irishfan86
10/01/2011, 11:29 PM
I'm all for forgive and forget, and some might say he could be the best current Irish keeper.
No harm in inviting him to a friendly I suppose....I made my post thinking more along the lines of competitive matches.
Alf Honn
10/01/2011, 11:48 PM
It's ridiculous to hold that against him. Was Roy Keane not a 'character'? Think Stephen Ireland is certainly a looper and most people (not getting into a debate on baldy) would welcome him back tomorrow.
Most modern day footballers have some sort of attitude. Leon Best has been questioned elsewhere on foot in that regard yet he'd give his right arm for a starting place in the Ireland team.
Kenny is playing in a team leading the Championship by five points. What's been their trademark? Probably having the best defensive record in the division.
irishfan86
11/01/2011, 1:57 AM
Read my first sentence in the third paragraph. If a player will make your starting IX better, you can make exceptions. If it's your third keeper, or a fringe player in general, you want to avoid distractions...but as I said in my last post, in a friendly game there's no harm in bringing him back to see how he fits into the squad dynamic.
A lot of people attack Stephen Ireland for retiring, but remember Kenny retired as well. Recently he has said he's willing to come back, and if he is serious about that then fair enough.
Read my first sentence in the third paragraph. If a player will make your starting IX better, you can make exceptions. If it's your third keeper, or a fringe player in general, you want to avoid distractions...but as I said in my last post, in a friendly game there's no harm in bringing him back to see how he fits into the squad dynamic..
if you have a starting IX you should be fired. ;) :)
irishfan86
11/01/2011, 2:19 AM
Heh heh
SwanVsDalton
11/01/2011, 1:40 PM
Read my first sentence in the third paragraph. If a player will make your starting IX better, you can make exceptions. If it's your third keeper, or a fringe player in general, you want to avoid distractions...but as I said in my last post, in a friendly game there's no harm in bringing him back to see how he fits into the squad dynamic.
A lot of people attack Stephen Ireland for retiring, but remember Kenny retired as well. Recently he has said he's willing to come back, and if he is serious about that then fair enough.
Agree with that (except for the IX bit). Kenny's had a fairly stormy history with the Irish squad so far and wouldn't strike me as someone who'd be happy to play number three. But, as I said before, if Westwood or Given are struck down by injury he has to be an option.
11/01/2011, 4:20 PM
A lot of people attack Stephen Ireland for retiring, but remember Kenny retired as well. I'm not sure Stephen Ireland has ever been made a scapegoat for a bad defeat though. IMO Stephen Ireland was way more culpable than Kenny for the Cyprus defeat. Finnan had a very rare shocker.
SwanVsDalton
07/06/2011, 1:55 PM
Forde talks first Ireland start. (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0607/forded.html)
Oldest player to make a full debut since WWII apparently. Absolutely chuffed for him. He's clearly chuffed too - some of the stay-away's should take note of his pride.
Quite like his pragmatic attitude on facing the Italians: 'It's a fantastic game to play in as a keeper. You are probably better off playing in these games where you are going to get more work and more stuff to do than playing against a lesser opponent.'
07/06/2011, 1:56 PM
Never ever thought I'd see this day! But fair dues to him; always good to see another former LoI player in the team.
DannyInvincible
07/06/2011, 1:57 PM
And people used to dismiss him as Welsh, of all things...
07/06/2011, 1:58 PM
Didn't even think he was that old. Crikey.
SwanVsDalton
07/06/2011, 2:04 PM
Never ever thought I'd see this day! But fair dues to him; always good to see another former LoI player in the team.
Yeah me neither to be honest. Wouldn't have fancied him to make it this far when he went back across channel. And I'd say no LOI follower would've predicted Brian Murphy making the Ireland match-day squad only to be kept out of the team by Forde.
Feels like he's been around almost forever at this point.
theworm2345
07/06/2011, 2:14 PM
I've no problem with him being called up or playing and think its great for him but how can Trap call him up at his age for the first time while seemingly ignoring other players solely based on their age?
07/06/2011, 2:16 PM
I suppose keepers are different. Ian Harte may be not considered because of a lack of pace, though it may just look like age. Keepers can go on for longer than outfield players (look at Brad Friedel signing a two-year contract aged 40)
07/06/2011, 2:39 PM
I've no problem with him being called up or playing and think its great for him but how can Trap call him up at his age for the first time while seemingly ignoring other players solely based on their age?
Forde is probably fourth choice keeper behind Given, Westwood, Randolph, and only just ahead of Murphy. Harte is behind Dunne, St Ledger, O'Shea, Kelly, Delaney, O'Dea and possibly McShane and Duffy for centre half.
07/06/2011, 2:47 PM
As Stu said keepers are completely different to outfielders. So aren't governed by normal rules.
SwanVsDalton
07/06/2011, 2:48 PM
Forde is probably fourth choice keeper behind Given, Westwood, Randolph, and only just ahead of Murphy. Harte is behind Dunne, St Ledger, O'Shea, Kelly, Delaney, O'Dea and possibly McShane and Duffy for centre half.
Why would Forde be behind Randolph? He made the squad and match-day squad ahead of him for both Macedonia games and came off the bench ahead of him against NI. Long-term maybe but right now seems he's being preferred in every selection.
I'd have thought Joe Murphy would figure in there, though I'd say it's pretty much a coin flip between those four for third choice. If Forde does half-way decent tonight, I think he could be our third choice keeper for the rest of the campaign.
TrapAPony
07/06/2011, 2:55 PM
Why would Forde be behind Randolph?
I agree. There's no way Randolph is ahead of Forde.
07/06/2011, 3:23 PM
Forde's been ahead of Randolph in all the recent squads. Experience trumping youth, I think.
07/06/2011, 4:17 PM
on reflection, Forde probably is ahead, that's just my opinion
Randolph has played more games this season, at and arguable higher level, and appeared in Europe
In either case, when Given and Westwood are available, they're playing for third choice.
SwanVsDalton
07/06/2011, 4:31 PM
on reflection, Forde probably is ahead, that's just my opinion
Randolph has played more games this season, at and arguable higher level, and appeared in Europe
Fair enough though I find it fairly curious. Certainly don't agree with you on level. I'd take midtable play-off challengers in Championship over mid-table SPL any day. Not sure what playing more games means, since they were both ever present afaik (Forde certainly was). Randolph might have Europe, and under age experience, but Forde's been around long enough and involved in enough do-or-die games to even that score up imo.
Crucially, for me, Forde was the ever present goalkeeper who kept the third highest number of clean sheets and manned the third meanest defensive record in the Championship behind QPR and Swansea - no mean feat in a team that finished ninth. It's pretty great going all told, and something I think is overlooked.
I'd certainly have him (or likely any established Championship goalkeeper) ahead of Randolph to be honest. Though I'm not doubting Darren's ability or potential.
In either case, when Given and Westwood are available, they're playing for third choice.
Totally agree.
I fear I've bigged the big man up too much now and I may have jinxed him for a fall...
07/06/2011, 10:51 PM
31 isn't old for a keeper. It's probably his peak age.
I was very impressed with his kicking tonight. Jack and Quinn / Cascarino would have loved him. Both he & Westwood have better kicks than Shay.
So how many ex-LOI players have featured in the last few months?
Doyle
Long (did he actually play LOI, or was he just in Cork's squad? Only a detail...)
Forde
Fahey
Coleman
Ward
Did Damien Delaney play in the LOI for Cork?
Hoolahan and Noel Hunt aren't far off.
07/06/2011, 11:34 PM
Long (did he actually play LOI, or was he just in Cork's squad? Only a detail...)
One league game. A couple of cup games.
Of the squad players called up in the last while, you've missed Brian Murphy and David Meyler
eitoof
07/02/2013, 5:42 PM
What did we think of him last night? I thought he was OK but Westwood has more about him for me.
07/02/2013, 7:42 PM
It seems to me that Trap is pinning some of the blame for the hiding against Germany on Westwood. Very unfair if that is the case. With Given out of the picture. I reckon our keepers rank like this: 1 Westwood, 2 Henderson, 3 Forde 4 Murphy, Coventry 5 Elliott 6 Randolf. I'm probably leaving someone decent out.