View Full Version : Republic of Ireland V Bulgaria - Saturday, 28th March 2009 - World Cup 2010 Q
Pages :
[
7]
Jicked
28/03/2009, 11:44 PM
A lot of people who actually work with Robbie seem to think he is a good leader, perhaps they have a better insight, what with actually being in the dressing room and all. Keane played well today, we're desperately lacking Steven Reid in the middle. Andy Reid wouldn't have made a jot of difference, just as he never did against the likes of Cyprus, Switzerland and Russia.
Boh_So_Good
29/03/2009, 2:22 AM
Ireland has no midfield. Simple as that. If that could be sorted we would have a very good side.
Scooby Doo
29/03/2009, 3:30 AM
Have been reading some 'outside' reports on the game and it seems that the general consenus is that we were lucky to have gotten away with a draw. Firstly, I was at the game and all I feel is bitter disappointment that we did not kill bulgaria off. saying that i do not feel that we were inferior (apart fom midfield where petrov gave us a lesson) and we should be up there level with italy. As has been trotted out a thousand times, our midfield is crap and even if we do get to the WC does Trap, Brady etc seriously think that we wont get steamrolled with Gibson/Whelan in the middle! Full backs were sh!te too. Paul mc shane has no right to be in that squad ahead of foley, o dea, kelly etc. Kilbane i'm not too sure about.
Was reading some bulgarian media reports on the game and the vibe is all about 'unlucky' bulgaria and how they beat us with a depleted squad especially without 'MANCHESTER UNITED STAR BERBATOV!' :rolleyes: I disagree that the depleted bulgaria team should be praised for achieving this result as we were missing 3 three crucial players - s reid, duff, finnan (4 if you count baldy head from man city). Had these been available i believe we'd have stuffed bulgaria. The Times (english) leads with the headline 'KILBANE MISTAKE BRINGS REPUBLIC BACK DOWN TO EARTH' and pretty much suggests that our lofty position in the table has been as result of luck or over achievement. If anything we've underachieved for the calibar of team that is available, which leads me to question traps selection policy. not happy with it at all. Finally, the result tonite and the performance of our midfield has only heightened my dislike for that baldy little****** who through his own sense of self importance or lack of patriotism plays out of his skin for his club but refuses to play a handful of matches for his country especially when it is in such dire need of a quality midfielder. Like seriously, how much of an a$$h0le and how selfish must you be to turn your back on playing for your national team. I wouldn't be the biggest fan of roy keane but i find it hard to believe that even he would leave us in the lurch as much. I mean s ireland must have watched the match tonite and thought 'god, i could really help out here and do a far better job in midfield'. if he is any sort of a decent, proud irishman he would be on the fone to FAI to make himself available. but we know this wont happen. I don't know the chap but i'd go as far to sat that i reckon he probably takes an egotistical delight in seeing us struggle and know that he could solve alot of problems -a bit like the hot girl in a club who dangles herself in front of you and then buggers off, delighting in the fact that you want her and can't have her. it must be an irish thing that we produce such ar$eh0le soccer players, then again maybe just a Cork thing....
Noelys Guitar
29/03/2009, 4:47 AM
Delaney has never looked international class. Come on...!! He is a left back at QPR. Trapp looked at him. He looked slow and as a result will never really make it I feel. On the subject of Kilbane. He has nearly 100 caps and has NEVER let his country down - Fact. You'd have Delaney over Kilbane - Ha!
Where is this guy today?
irishfan86
29/03/2009, 5:02 AM
BigmanCas was just sticking up for Kilbane, and I don't disagree with him.
Kilbane and the left-back slot is a worry for me whenever I watch Ireland play, but I'm not entirely convinced that Delaney would be leaps and bounds ahead of him. Take a look at some of the QPR supporters' forums...if he can't be steady at that level how will he do with us?
If a quality centre-half emerges (St. Ledger?), then we can push O'Shea to left back, but for now it is a trouble position with no obvious solution.
I'd like Ward to be given a run there in a friendly sometime.
29/03/2009, 5:25 AM
Trap way to negative, looks poor in post match interview
Too bad teams playing there tonight. Bulgaria were so bad. Ireland marginally better and if any belief or leadership there would have had a second goal to kill of the game.
Il Trap is no world class coach. He is past it.
Ireland have now three wins and 2 draws from five games which is way better than under Stan and we hopefully will score in Bari but Italy should win.
They are playing with better confidence and at least trying to play football
Trap is not open to change and will not change.
Hopefully the next manager will make them better for the next campaign.
They need someone who makes them play with out fear and is not afraid to change personnel.
When you haven't qualified for anything in 8 years, then you learn that you have to play a different way in order to turn it around. While I am disappointed that we don't look to kill teams off, the table shows that we haven't done too badly. We are capable of getting a point on Wednesday, Italy attacking wise, aren't Brazil.
The alternative was this campaign under the previous coach, and we were out of it halfway through last time. That was with Andy Reid and Stephen Traitor playing.
We have 3 away games coming up, Bulgaria have 3 at home. Whoever fares best, will progress.
29/03/2009, 9:03 AM
A very disgraceful performance.There was no sign of pride or passion for any of the players to play for their country.We badly need Stephan Ireland and Andy Reid at this moment in time.Bulgaria deserved a point,if not all 3.
Pride!! How do you bring pride to a team by getting a player who doesn't want to play for it :rolleyes:
I have to laugh at many of the comments on this Forum. Trapp is rubbish (numerous league titles and European trophies)! Answer: Bring in players who are not getting their games for Premership and Championship sides like Reid (75th minute substitute last game, Garvan no long getting game at Ipswich, Scannel not getting his game either etc etc).
A few facts: We have 2 reasonable forwards and 1 good centre half another reasonable one and an excellent keeper. The rest of the team are journeymen, although Duff and McGeady on their days can be good. We have two poor full backs and two poor midfielders. There might be a tweak or two to slightly improve the scenario but nothing major so we have to live with what we've got. We must therefore play to a system which is what Trapp is doing.
We lost the 3 points by a flukey OG and perhaps should have won with Doyle's chance near the end. Such are the margins between success and failure. The Irish rugby team won because Wales missed a peno in the last minute and are celebrated as "heroes" - they would have been called chokers if the peno had gone over.
Frankly, I am not interested in "performances" or "entertainment" If you want the latter go to the cinema or theatre. I want results and if we get to the play offs and qualify after terrible games, Trapp will be my "hero". People are now brought up on Sky TV and hype and instant gratification.
We didn't get a win but we're still in the driving seat for a play off position. We have to match that result in Sofia.
I have seen it all before as a Wednesday fan. Cr+p sides so you sack the manager and then get cr+ppier and then sack the manager and then find yourself in the 3rd division. We have a manager (who is not perfect) with tons of experience who is getting the team playing to a system. He sorted out the mess that was the first half and we played much better in the second and we should have won. The difficult tests are to come but it is way TOO EARLY for the knee jerk reaction of some fans here.
29/03/2009, 10:13 AM
People need a reality check. I was happy with the point. Our players are simply not good enough. Most of them can hardly hold down a place with bottom of the table premership teams. Bulgaria are a decent side. We had as many chances as they had if not more. Its certainly not easy on the eye, but it would not surprise me in the least if we managed a draw on Wednesday. We really miss Stephen Reid.
as_i_say
29/03/2009, 11:04 AM
People need a reality check. I was happy with the point. Our players are simply not good enough. Most of them can hardly hold down a place with bottom of the table premership teams. Bulgaria are a decent side. We had as many chances as they had if not more. Its certainly not easy on the eye, but it would not surprise me in the least if we managed a draw on Wednesday. We really miss Stephen Reid.
Whilst i agree our players are simply not god enough, it would absolutely shock me if we got a draw on wednesday. Im expecting the Italians to be all Italian and dispatch us coldly with a 2-0 win
mjpcc
29/03/2009, 11:53 AM
Pride!! How do you bring pride to a team by getting a player who doesn't want to play for it :rolleyes:
I have to laugh at many of the comments on this Forum. Trapp is rubbish (numerous league titles and European trophies)! Answer: Bring in players who are not getting their games for Premership and Championship sides like Reid (75th minute substitute last game, Garvan no long getting game at Ipswich, Scannel not getting his game either etc etc).
A few facts: We have 2 reasonable forwards and 1 good centre half another reasonable one and an excellent keeper. The rest of the team are journeymen, although Duff and McGeady on their days can be good. We have two poor full backs and two poor midfielders. There might be a tweak or two to slightly improve the scenario but nothing major so we have to live with what we've got. We must therefore play to a system which is what Trapp is doing.
We lost the 3 points by a flukey OG and perhaps should have won with Doyle's chance near the end. Such are the margins between success and failure. The Irish rugby team won because Wales missed a peno in the last minute and are celebrated as "heroes" - they would have been called chokers if the peno had gone over.
Frankly, I am not interested in "performances" or "entertainment" If you want the latter go to the cinema or theatre. I want results and if we get to the play offs and qualify after terrible games, Trapp will be my "hero". People are now brought up on Sky TV and hype and instant gratification.
We didn't get a win but we're still in the driving seat for a play off position. We have to match that result in Sofia.
I have seen it all before as a Wednesday fan. Cr+p sides so you sack the manager and then get cr+ppier and then sack the manager and then find yourself in the 3rd division. We have a manager (who is not perfect) with tons of experience who is getting the team playing to a system. He sorted out the mess that was the first half and we played much better in the second and we should have won. The difficult tests are to come but it is way TOO EARLY for the knee jerk reaction of some fans here.
Well Said ... agree completely.
corkboy360
29/03/2009, 12:04 PM
Was at the game last night.It was the biggest load of crap I watched in a long time. McGeady worked his socks off but he was ****.The only 2 positives were Doyle and McGeady and as I said McGeady is a tryer but5 he is ****.
Jicked
29/03/2009, 12:19 PM
Spot on, we've a good chance of getting a draw in Sofia, and then it's just down to us beating Cyprus and Montengro. If we do, Bulgaria need to at least draw one of their games against Italy and hope we don't do similar. Not a bad position to be in at all.
And you're right about Garvan et al, we tried throwing in youngsters who have never played in Europe, or even the Premiership in some cases, in the middle of a campaign under Staunton, and I don't particularly want to go back to the times of Jonathan Douglas, Alan O'Brien or Joey O'Brien in midfield any time soon.
weldoninhio
29/03/2009, 12:31 PM
Spot on, we've a good chance of getting a draw in Sofia, and then it's just down to us beating Cyprus and Montengro. If we do, Bulgaria need to at least draw one of their games against Italy and hope we don't do similar. Not a bad position to be in at all.
And you're right about Garvan et al, we tried throwing in youngsters who have never played in Europe, or even the Premiership in some cases, in the middle of a campaign under Staunton, and I don't particularly want to go back to the times of Jonathan Douglas, Alan O'Brien or Joey O'Brien in midfield any time soon.
We've a good chance of getting a draw in Sofia???? What planet are you on?? We were lucky to get a draw in Dublin, and we were only missing one player. Bulgaria were mising their first choice centre half, their first choice striker and their best winger.
Jicked
29/03/2009, 12:36 PM
We were missing Finnan, Steven Reid, Damien Duff (and Steven Ireland?). We do have a very good chance in Sofia, they will not break us down easily at all, and Duff and McGeady will have more room to do damage on the break with more space afforded to them, which will help us both offensively, but also help to ease the pressure on our poor central midfield. If we got beaten by more than one goal in Sofia I'd be very, very surprised.
FarBeag
29/03/2009, 12:40 PM
We've a good chance of getting a draw in Sofia???? What planet are you on?? We were lucky to get a draw in Dublin, and we were only missing one player. Bulgaria were mising their first choice centre half, their first choice striker and their best winger.
Spot on.
Jicked
29/03/2009, 12:44 PM
Spot on.
So we were lucky to get a point yesterday? Despite restricting Bulgaria to one good chance and one own goal? And creating chances for Keane, McGeady and Doyle ourselves?
And we were only missing one player? despite having Duff, Finnan, S Reid and Ireland unavailable?
weldoninhio
29/03/2009, 12:48 PM
We were missing Finnan, Steven Reid, Damien Duff (and Steven Ireland?). We do have a very good chance in Sofia, they will not break us down easily at all, and Duff and McGeady will have more room to do damage on the break with more space afforded to them, which will help us both offensively, but also help to ease the pressure on our poor central midfield. If we got beaten by more than one goal in Sofia I'd be very, very surprised.
Finnan has not played much at all this season and is not going to make a lot of difference, Steven Reid is out long term so prob won't be back even for the return match in June. I presume you popped in Steven Ireland as a joke, since he doesn't play for Ireland.
Jicked
29/03/2009, 12:55 PM
Finnan has not played much at all this season and is not going to make a lot of difference, Steven Reid is out long term so prob won't be back even for the return match in June. I presume you popped in Steven Ireland as a joke, since he doesn't play for Ireland.
Oh my f ucking god.
So it doesn't count as being missing a player if its a long term injury?? But it does count as missing a player when a Bulgarian is out due to long term injury (Petrov) Riddle me that one.
Also, on one hand we have people saying McShane is one of our worst full backs ever, you are in another thread championing Stephen Carr's recall on the back of 3 games in the Championship since he retired after becoming incredibly awful, and yet the return of one of our most consistent and experienced players both at international level and with years of European football behind him (including a Champions League medal) "is not going to make a lot of difference"
What planet are you from?
FarBeag
29/03/2009, 1:03 PM
So we were lucky to get a point yesterday? Despite restricting Bulgaria to one good chance and one own goal? And creating chances for Keane, McGeady and Doyle ourselves?
And we were only missing one player? despite having Duff, Finnan, S Reid and Ireland unavailable?
We were lucky to get away with a point yesterday yes. We were outclassed again, this time by a second string Bulgarian team. Who was playing at home again? What was the possession percentage? Wake up and smell the coffee man. Bulgaria will hammer us in Sophia. The players they have waiting to come in are far superior to ours. Italy will have a field day on Wednesday.Cyprus will beat us on their grass and we may grab a couple of points from our remaining home games.This is the real world not some fantasy one.
weldoninhio
29/03/2009, 1:05 PM
Oh my f ucking god.
So it doesn't count as being missing a player if its a long term injury?? But it does count as missing a player when a Bulgarian is out due to long term injury (Petrov) Riddle me that one.
Also, on one hand we have people saying McShane is one of our worst full backs ever, you are in another thread championing Stephen Carr's recall on the back of 3 games in the Championship since he retired after becoming incredibly awful, and yet the return of one of our most consistent and experienced players both at international level and with years of European football behind him (including a Champions League medal) "is not going to make a lot of difference"
What planet are you from?
I'm from planet Earth, and i have a longer memory than a goldfish!! I was responding to your comment "We've a good chance of getting a draw in Sofia" (remember that) and since Stephen Reid won't be available for this i omitted him. Martin Petrov should be back for this game!!!!!
I never championed Stephen Carr to start from Ireland, i merely said that he has done well in his past 3 games and i believe players should be picked on form. Also a left back is not gonna make much of a difference, unless its Cafu or such like. Steve Finnan is an excellent player, but Cafu he is not.
Jicked
29/03/2009, 1:06 PM
Bulgaria had all the possession, well most of it, yes. But how many times did they cut us open? The real world is that our system is better suited to playing away from home anyway. We won't be beaten by Cyprus in Nicosia, I fancy us to get a point in Sofia too.
weldoninhio
29/03/2009, 1:07 PM
Bulgaria had all the possession, well most of it, yes. But how many times did they cut us open? The real world is that our system is better suited to playing away from home anyway. We won't be beaten by Cyprus in Nicosia, I fancy us to get a point in Sofia too.
Again, we hardly beat an injury ravaged Cyprus in Dublin. I think you might be drunk.
Jicked
29/03/2009, 1:10 PM
Yeah, a left back can't make much difference, because that is where we put our mate who's a bit rubbish when we play 5-a-side. Sure what difference does it make if it's McShane or Finnan.
Have. You. Got. Someone. Looking. After. You ?
Edit: a 1-0 win and a few blocked shots in the last ten minutes of a game does not mean we hardly deserved to beat Cyprus for gods sake.
FarBeag
29/03/2009, 1:10 PM
Fine.You are entitled to your opinion and i hope you are right but i doubt it somehow.
29/03/2009, 1:17 PM
We will be doing well to get 2nd spot. It's okay to draw with a good enough team at home if you have already got an away result against them. Now it adds a bit of pressure but not a heap.
The game looked a bit similar to the Cyprus game but in the flesh we look far from an effective force. There should of been enough in our team to nail the game in the first half instead we looked more clumsy, uncoordinated and out of sorts.
Ironically we have performed better under Stan against the Czechs and Germans at home.
FarBeag
29/03/2009, 1:24 PM
Funny enough our best performance in the last few years was under Stan when we hammered Sweden in Dublin
as_i_say
29/03/2009, 2:08 PM
Funny enough our best performance in the last few years was under Stan when we hammered Sweden in Dublin
Do NOT go there :D
29/03/2009, 2:22 PM
in the flesh we look far from an effective force.
.Yeah, I watched Georgia on TV and thought it was better than most people thought. I was in Dublin yesterday though and my God I could barely believe my eyes. I'm one of the more positive people around here but that was garbage yesterday. Nobody wanted the ball and nobody could even do the basics - you know, stuff like passing the bloody ball.
McShane may be able to stop people playing football but he is not up to being a full back at that level. Did anyone notice that their full backs played a lot of the game deep in our half? Our full backs couldn't develop a photograph let alone develop play. O'Shea was culpable too, but did a midfielder ever show for him? Once even?
Whelan & Andrews did bits & pieces well at times - for about 10 effing minutes! The other 80 they were outplayed.
Hunt has no finesse whatsoever. No touch, no awareness.
McGeady didn't look fit. No blame to the front two - the service was appalling. It was like Italia 90 all over again - Bonner to Quinn / Given to Doyle.
Totally bankrupt performance. I'm not sure whether it's tactics or lack of ability but I think it's a bit of both. I'd say McShane is the most talentless full back playing anywhere in Europe last night. Full backs are an essential part of a team's attacking balance and both of ours were awful.
Coleman & Moloney did a far better job on Friday than our 2 last night and Eddie Nolan looked like he was happy on the ball, unlike O'Shea.
The group still looks manageable wrt 2nd place but we need a couple of good away results. With performances like last night it won't happen.
29/03/2009, 2:29 PM
We really need Mc Shane out of the team for the game against Italy on Wed. Other than that there does not seem to be anything in the squad that can improve the team at this point.
I think Stephen Reid Carsley, Andy Reid and Ireland and Finnan S. Kelly and Foley would all impmrove the team if they were brough in for Whelan, Hunt and Mc Shane and Kilbane long term.
stojkovic
29/03/2009, 2:49 PM
I said before yesterday that we would draw with Bulgaria and beat Italy and I stand by that. We are set up as an away team. Italy will not score on Wednesday and we will sneak one.
PS Im not saying that we are a good side but Bulgaria are very very average. A Keano-Holland midfield would have secured a 3-0 win yesterday despite the managers cautious approach.
RoversHead
29/03/2009, 3:35 PM
We will certainly do all not to get beat as thats Trapps MO weather home or away weather azzuri or a pub team,but if anyone thinks that Mcshane Killbane Whelan S.Hunt Andrews or half the sub bench are up to international football you are as deluded as the muppets who appointed Trapp,he compares whelan to cattuso says it all for me,kilbanes ball watching is schoolboy stuff,Mc shane is very lucky to be making money playing football worst Irish player ever and thats saying something and S.Hunts energy is no excuse for his lack of abilty.This side are due to be embarrased badly at some stage and the sooner the better for me so that we can get rid of Trap, Brady and the rest of the imposters who are picking a sub standard Irish squad.next ill be told we dont have the players well your wrong we dont have the management and as for our no sub till its too late ****** i give up.we have been garbage under Trap.Que the deranged muldooner response.........................
29/03/2009, 3:39 PM
We really need Mc Shane out of the team for the game against Italy on Wed. Other than that there does not seem to be anything in the squad that can improve the team at this point.
I think Stephen Reid Carsley, Andy Reid and Ireland and Finnan S. Kelly and Foley would all impmrove the team if they were brough in for Whelan, Hunt and Mc Shane and Kilbane long term.Steven Reid is a huge loss. Then Finnan.
That was a totally dysfunctional "team" last night.
29/03/2009, 3:41 PM
Ireland were muck and I think that along with me and everyone else in the stadium that that was the general consensus.
Paul McShane was an absolute joke. I have never seen a more poor excuse for a footballer. Thankfully my Mam has been called up for Wednesday night to replace him!:D
Glenn Whelan............was he playing??? Too quiet for a centre-mid!
and as for McGeady.......absolutely terrible, his worst game in an Ireland shirt!
Again I must go bac to Trappatoni's substitute policy or lack of it. The three mentioned above should have been hauled off with at least 20 mins to go.
There has to be changes in Italy otherwise were gonna get stuffed!:(
How Kevin Foley isn't getting a chance is beyond me?
29/03/2009, 3:42 PM
score draw (set-piece) and a 1-0 loss to the italians. sorry! :oWell, spot on so far.
29/03/2009, 3:58 PM
Given that there'll probably be no changes to the squad, I'd select Gibson over Whelan to partner Andrews and hope to jaysus he plays as well as he can. Just drill in to him to look for it, find men, keep it moving...
A far more balanced XI for Wednesday would be:
Shay
Foley-Dunne-O'Shea-Delaney
McGeady-Gibson-Andrews-Kilbane
Keane--Doyle
You can point to the full backs' lack of experience all you like but nothing could be worse than the two that played on Saturday. Thse two are at least naturals in the position, bringing essential balance, & each can get forward when appropriate.
I'd play KK LHM because Hunt was basically a poor man's Kilbane last night, and Kilbane is only a poor man's Tony Galvin.
Manblue
29/03/2009, 4:16 PM
Honestly How would people feel If S.Ireland did come back now. firstly if he came back now ppl will prob say its so late, if by a freak of nature we qualify people will say hes a glory hunter. Ireland wouldnt of got the ball last night cause all we did was hoof it long and if he plays and we do this ppl will say hes crap anyway.
29/03/2009, 4:21 PM
Ireland wouldnt of got the ball last night cause all we did was hoof it long and if he plays and we do this ppl will say hes crap anyway.
This is a good point.
I think it is interesting how Trapattoni seems interested in Steven Ireland returning to the team, even though he seems to want only defensive midfielders in the team. If he returned, would we suddenly start to pass the ball out of defence, or continue to hoof it long?
irishultra
29/03/2009, 4:23 PM
that match last night needed a reid, a fahey, a garvan to get on the ball and dictate. how can you pick two defensive midfielders who shirk away from the ball in a two man midfield? I'd understand if he was playing 3 in the middle but with two of the exact same players in the middle it doesn't look good for us. We'd be knocked out in the playoff by an anyway decent team. Sweden, Scotland, Poland, Belgium any of them.
Manblue
29/03/2009, 4:23 PM
This is a good point.
I think it is interesting how Trapattoni seems interested in Steven Ireland returning to the team, even though he seems to want only defensive midfielders in the team. If he returned, would we suddenly start to pass the ball out of defence, or continue to hoof it long?
Trap isnt interested in him, hence why he only made on attempt to get him back,
I dont think we would pass it out because we dont have the other players capable of doing it.
29/03/2009, 4:27 PM
I honestly think that S. Reid is the player we most missed.
To use a rugby analogy, there's no point in having a great no. 10 if your pack turn the ball over every time they go into contact. In both codes, securing good possession is a prerequisite to your most creative players playing well.
irishultra
29/03/2009, 4:28 PM
the perfect midfield is steven reid, keith fahey and stephen ireland. imagine faheys passing ability, steven reids smart crisp short passing and steven ireland well he has everything. we'd be such a slick team and hard to beat as well.
A far more balanced XI for Wednesday would be:
Shay
Foley-Dunne-O'Shea-Delaney
McGeady-Gibson-Andrews-Kilbane
Keane--Doyle
this team would immediately make more sense to me. I remain unconvinced over Gibson but i think he would improve upon Whelan immensely.
stojkovic
29/03/2009, 4:51 PM
We'd be knocked out in the playoff by an anyway decent team. Sweden, Scotland, Poland, Belgium any of them.
Belgium ?
Lost 4-2 at home to Bosnia last night.
I dont think so, but I take your point.
Noelys Guitar
29/03/2009, 4:58 PM
this team would immediately make more sense to me. I remain unconvinced over Gibson but i think he would improve upon Whelan immensely.
Picked the same team out last night. Kilbane is a liability at full back. But he offers more than Hunt going forward. McShane treats the ball like a hot potato. Terrible distibution. But Trap will not make the changes he needs to make. I have a horrible feeling Miller is going to play a part at some stage on Wednesday.
irishultra
29/03/2009, 5:00 PM
I'd say Bosnia would beat us tbh. Besides the point anyway, but look this is what Belgium can call from for midfield, Defour, Witsel, Felliani, Kompany etc.
Scotlands midfield has at least something about it, Brown, Fletcher and Ferguson, Swedends midfield looks a bit unispiring but you'd bet they wouldn't just blatantly allow a team to pass by them for 90 minutes.
Ours Andrews and Whelan, both players playing for poor teams and neither certain of a place. Same applies for Andy Reid, Steven Reid(derided by Blackburn fans) I know its for another day, but where are our players coming throug? Garvan, O'Toole, Gleeson, all alright but nothing that impressive. The only hope I can see is James McCarthy and he's not even born here(by that i mean not even 'produced' here) and hopefully be the 2012 campaign a Steven Ireland return.
29/03/2009, 5:13 PM
I have a horrible feeling Miller is going to play a part at some stage on Wednesday.I dislike him as much as you but even Miller would have tried to move it along late last night.
If McGeady is out for Bari as is suggested then I can only think there are 2 candidates to play RHM - Miller & Keogh, and even Keogh only on the basis that Trap has picked him before.
alidiei
29/03/2009, 5:27 PM
Ireland are usless that mcshane is probely the worst player i have ever seen..O'dea with celtic should be starting
29/03/2009, 6:15 PM
I'd say Bosnia would beat us tbh.
We have lost one friendly in 8 games. Yeah Bosnia would beat us all right. :rolleyes:
We knew when getting Trap, that that's the way he plays. It has got us the results. It has got him results and trophies all his life. It's not pretty, but it's damn effective.
Too many people want entertainment over results. :rolleyes: When it's the latter, not the former we need.
carloz
29/03/2009, 6:17 PM
Don't know where the Daily Mail gets their point system from. Seems they watched 5 minutes of the game and gave the rankings on that.
Hunt-8(Man of the match). They said that the Bulgarian defenders will be having nightmares about him. Excluding the first 30 seconds Hunt was poor and his touch was woeful.
Whealan 7, Andrews 5 - I thought Andrews was easily our better midfielder on the night. Think he wuld work very well beside S. Reid
Think last night should prove how vital Doyle is to our campaign. Much more important to us than Keane
Sorry for the long post, but having watched the full game again in the cold light of day, i have the following comments to make:
Post match reaction/Traps system:
Yes a missed opportunity, yes a disappointing performance but we are still in a very good position and its all in our own hands. The reaction of some of the press and some "fans" is unreal. Trap has a system in place that is not entertaining to watch but generally its effective. We knew when we hired Trap that this is the style of football that we would end up playing. As long as it gets the results that is the main thing.
The team is very organised from a defensive point of view. Bulgaria had the lions share of possession last night but if you look at the game again the vast majority of it was in front of and across Irelands midfield/defence. When they approached the last quarter, they were closed down by the midfielders. Generally this worked quite well and most of Bulgarias effort were from distance. The problem was when Ireland won the ball back they were unable to retain it for very long. Its not a positive system and not very pretty but Traps viewpoint is not to concede first and foremost.
A positive of this system is the strength of a centre back pairing. The way the system operates should suit the type of game that Wed is likely to be. Unfortunately I feel Italy will have enough quality to break it down. But the way this system works, Ireland will never concede many goals.
S Reid/Possession:
The biggest flaw in the performance last night was the inability of our team to maintain possession. Our central midfielders lack the talent to take the ball down and play it around. Hopefully S Reid will return for the game in June. He is exactly the type of player we need. Someone who is comfortable in possession of the ball and can dictate the play.
Full backs performance:
Poor performance by both KK and McShane last night. Really offered little going forward and the midfield suffered as a result. McShane had a number of opportunities to put in a cross last night but declined each time. He also was fortunate with a number of back passes left short. KK has one of his worst games for Ireland last night but I expect the guy to atone for this on wed night. He is still in general a solid left back.
Hunt V Duff:
Hunt started the game on fire but unfortunately lacked the skill to take on his man and put in a cross. Duff brings a level of creativity to our game that unfortunately Hunt cant. He also faded quite badly as the game went on and a frustrating trait of Traps is his resistant to bring on a sub. I really feel fresh legs shouldve been utilised with about 15 mins to go, with Hunt the obvious replacement. I agree that the bench is quite limited and didnt offer many alternatives.
Disgraceful booing:
That t*at who has just posted a new thread about getting rid of Trap is obviously the type of individual who booed the team like night. Nothing short of fcuking disgraceful. What has become of this country. This team is getting the results, yes its not playing pretty football but this is a results business and at the end of the campaign if we're off to the WC, no one will complain. The level of booing at the end was disgraceful last night and is indicative of a section of the crowd that has appeared since we moved to croker that will hopefully disappear once we return to LR. We as supporters are there to support the team, alot of people doesnt seem to grasp this!! If you go to a game to be entertained then please stay away, go the cinema or a concert, please dont attend unless you are going to support your country. At this stage, i look forward to the support at away games more than home games.
S I/A Reid
People can make arguments for the inclusion of A Reid in the squad, i respect that. But please stop this talk of calling for S Ireland return. HE DOES NOT WANT TO PLAY FOR US ACCEPT IT -END OF!!!
Finally, when you see clowns calling for Traps head, it just makes my blood boil. If at the end of the campaign, we have failed to qualify then certain criticism will be justified. However with the results achieved already we are likely to finish this group with more points than the last campaign at least, so even in a worse case scenario that will be an improvement.