View Full Version : Series 3 2009

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5]

21/03/2009, 1:26 AM
Em.

Hold on a sec.

It was Waterford away in '07. Third Degree Byrnes was the headline - Paul with two and Conan with one.

I am shocked we're on full points. Honestly. Thank you Rovers for giving us Kilduff. Lad's going to smash our goalscoring record. Seriously good player (at this level)

Black and White
21/03/2009, 9:11 AM
No they weren't.:rolleyes:

Pick that up on the scanner??

Once we went down to ten, that was it. We were woeful. Mansarams goal was handball but what can you say. Buttimer's fantastic.

Yes they where, 2 clows where taken away by gardai because the clowns threw bottles onto the pitch and 1 sculled Gerogie on the abck, right in front of the gaurds, IDIOTS!

Ye will be fined quite a bit as the referee picked up several items off the pitch in that corner and gave them over to the 4th official!Jaysus are the once "mighty" Drogs(Dogs) that bad now they have to resort to throwing crap onto the pitch each week, first its a pigs head now its bottles, what next, your children!!:D

Aaron
21/03/2009, 11:53 AM
Limerick 0 Athlone 0.

Poor game on a bumpy pitch. Not much in it until the Athlone keeper was somewhat harshly sent off for a "last-man-back" foul with about 20 mins to go. Athlone defended well enough, but Limerick's Dave Ryan missed an absolute sitter - free header from about 6 yards out - with about 5 minutes to go.

Dont be telling me that, ******* let my bet down:mad:

21/03/2009, 12:21 PM
No they weren't.:rolleyes:

Pick that up on the scanner??

Once we went down to ten, that was it. We were woeful. Mansarams goal was handball but what can you say. Buttimer's fantastic.

Eh yeah they were, I seen it sure. Think I saw two stewards carrying him out.

Celdrog
21/03/2009, 12:38 PM
Eh yeah they were, I seen it sure. Think I saw two stewards carrying him out.That was the Dundalk fan who ran from the shed, behind the goals and almost got into the Drogs crowd before the stewards got him and threw him out.

I'll tell you all about it on Wednesday night ;)

21/03/2009, 12:44 PM
That was the Dundalk fan who ran from the shed, behind the goals and almost got into the Drogs crowd before the stewards got him and threw him out.

What was the story with stuff being thrown? Was there anything thrown? Didnt see that.

JC_GUFC
21/03/2009, 1:06 PM
Crazy last five mins at the Carlisle.

Fair play to Ryan though. McCabe's first peno was in bottom right and the second one went that way but Ryan guessed right and saved it.

Yeah it was a decent game - draw was a fair result both teams will feel they should've won it though!

To be fair you were a bit better than I expected. Derek Foran won pretty much everything in the air - who was your #10? Was that Jake Kelly? Looked a good player.

21/03/2009, 1:12 PM
10 was Jake Kelly. First appearance of the season for him, afaik.

21/03/2009, 1:49 PM
Wouldn't it be great if MNS put together a 10 minute of highlights of last nights televised game? All MNS show is the chances on goal and the 10 seconds leading up to those goals. It would be a great advertisement for the league if they showed the passing moves involving Crowe's intelligent back heals, Ndo's skill, etc. Goalscoring chances aren't everything and to be perfectly honest MNS's video highlights are terribly boring. They also fail to show any replays and even though the games are televised with live commentary they'll probably cut that out again and present it as a news report.

If I had a blank DVD spare I'd be putting together the highlights myself now to show those that don't watch the game in this country. That 90 minutes flew in because of the football on show.

Celdrog
21/03/2009, 2:50 PM
What was the story with stuff being thrown? Was there anything thrown? Didnt see that.One bottle at the **** who came from the shed and two at Georgie after he gave us the fingers. He picked them up saw they were orange and threw them down.

ndrog
21/03/2009, 2:53 PM
That was the Dundalk fan who ran from the shed, behind the goals and almost got into the Drogs crowd before the stewards got him and threw him out.

Think you mean this guy who managed to get onto the pitch and got to the corner flag http://www.sportsfile.com/id/343133/5000/ .He nearly caused a riot FFS .2 teenage drogs fans were ejected from the ground and then let back in for there own safety by stewards and the gardai . George o callaghan is a diving scumbag who was more interested in rolling around the ground like a victim in a japanese war movie while trying to hold up 6 fingers :rolleyes:
He is going to end up getting a slap from someone if he keeps this crap up .

JC_GUFC
21/03/2009, 5:15 PM
The standard of officiadium was shocking tonight, there was at least two 50-50 balls tonight that were marginal decisions as to which way the free kick would go, yet resulted in yellow cards for Bray Wanderers players.

I think the first peno tonight was a desicion based on the referee trying to even things up (the second was a penalty, no question).

Gary McCabe was shocking in the first half but was the stand out player of the 2nd half, he tore Galway apart in the last 20 mins. He seem to have other things on his mind in the first half, which was dissapointing.

Unfortunatley it looks like Paddy Kavanagh has done ligaments tonight.

Funny isn't it - the lads on our board are complaining that Bray got all the 50-50 calls!

I thought the ref had an OK game. There were lots of tough challenges from both sides and it was susprising that there wasn't a red.

I thought the first penalty was fair enough - it definitely struck an arm, the second one looked pretty soft - McCabe definitely played for it. It was the linesman who signalled for it.

Town Legend
21/03/2009, 6:52 PM
Longford 2-0 up against Kildare. According to Extratime.ie Glynn got both but aertel has Sheridan down for scoring the first one.

Town Legend
21/03/2009, 7:13 PM
3-0 now. Curran after 21 mins

the-blue-harp
21/03/2009, 7:24 PM
Mervue 1 Finn Harps 0

going by the past few weeks results its looking like us, Longford, Harps and possibly/probably Mervue will be at the bottom (and Monaghan if they don't get a result soon)

going by results we are still unbeaten, with 2 draws and a win. I dont think we'll be finishing in the bottom, we will be in the middle somewhere.:confused:

KUFCMan
21/03/2009, 7:33 PM
Pats 1 up i hear!

Town Legend
21/03/2009, 7:37 PM
Mervue 1 Finn Harps 0

going by the past few weeks results its looking like us, Longford, Harps and possibly/probably Mervue will be at the bottom (and Monaghan if they don't get a result soon)

I'd be hopeful that we'll be more mid-table as well just like Harps and Monaghan. If anything it's looking like Kildare, Wexford and Mervue could be well adrift at the bottom come the end of the season. But its still far too early to be talking about this. Let the first round of league games be played and then we'll all have a better picture on where we stand.

the-blue-harp
21/03/2009, 7:37 PM
can kildare do a monaghan and pull it back to 3-3, the scene is set!!:D

Town Legend
21/03/2009, 7:46 PM
can kildare do a monaghan and pull it back to 3-3, the scene is set!!:D

Shhhhhh.... Blue Harp. You can think it but don't be saying it. :D At least now I can blame someone if they do end up throwing it away again.

Town Legend
21/03/2009, 7:51 PM
Hearing reports its 4-0 now. Sheridan

the-blue-harp
21/03/2009, 7:52 PM
you couldnt possibly be that unlucky again!!:D

longford 4-0 kildare, this could be 5 or 6 now id say.

Town Legend
21/03/2009, 7:56 PM
I think www.extratime.ie (http://www.extratime.ie) are away with the fairies today. They have Glynn down as scoring a hat-trick today but a reliable source has told me Sheridan has 2 of Glynn's goals!!!! :rolleyes:

Town Legend
21/03/2009, 8:29 PM
Result: Longford Town 4-0 Kildare County

Fribbler
21/03/2009, 9:50 PM
Does anyone have a picture of Drogheda's "defaecation"" banner? It was really a masterpiece and I'd love to see it again.

Dazzy
21/03/2009, 9:57 PM
http://i194.photobucket.com/albums/z24/drogs213/10680825a10395758406l1.jpg

Fribbler
21/03/2009, 10:07 PM
http://i194.photobucket.com/albums/z24/drogs213/10680825a10395758406l1.jpg
Muchos gracias! That must have taken some effort! It's huge....and hilarious. All praise to the Drogs bannersmiths, at the end of the day.

SMorgan
21/03/2009, 11:55 PM
I honestly think the banner was an embarrassment. I am not just saying that because my club was the subject of the banner. If Dundalk fans made a banner like that about another club, I'd be annoyed.

As a fan beside me said 'Drogheda Class'

bholg
22/03/2009, 12:16 AM
I would have checked a dictionary:o

22/03/2009, 12:33 AM
I am not just saying that because my club was the subject of the banner.
Nope, you're saying it because Drogheda made it AND Dundalk were the subject

Without checking I'd say at least 80% of your posts here are Anti Drogheda

Fribbler
22/03/2009, 12:56 AM
I honestly think the banner was an embarrassment. I am not just saying that because my club was the subject of the banner. If Dundalk fans made a banner like that about another club, I'd be annoyed.

Oh come on SMorgan; It was funny. The worst thing they could have done was something really nasty; but no, it was slapstick funny. The rivalry is really a farce, (to quote Maxi), albeit partially true. It was silly, but silly is worse than violent.

22/03/2009, 12:33 PM
I would have checked a dictionary:o

It actually is one of the ways to spell it!

oriel
22/03/2009, 7:42 PM

SM, you`ll have to admit the banner was funny, just a bit of craic for god sake.

Louth4sam
22/03/2009, 8:18 PM
I also thought it was funny. Yes it was a joke at our expense but its stuff like this that brings a bit of humour and colour to the league.

mcgonigle
22/03/2009, 8:29 PM
Have to agree, I laughed when I seen it, and even harder the second time it went up at 3-0.

Although if I was standing behind the fans with the flags I would have been p*ssed off, they put it up during the game and started waving the tifo flags blocking peoples views of the game.

Actually thinking about it they were probably happy not seeing how bad the Dundalk 2008 team were playing for a minute :)

22/03/2009, 10:23 PM
Definitely more amusing than insulting and got a laugh from almost all in the Shed. Cost a few bob id say, 10/10 for effort;)