View Full Version : Series 3 2009
GuisaSaigon
20/03/2009, 8:46 PM
By the way, who is top now, Bohemians or Galway?
Galway on goal difference.
We are top of the league! :)
Umberside
20/03/2009, 8:46 PM
Galway on goal difference.
We are top of the league!
Yeah, but only just.
20/03/2009, 8:47 PM
I Love Football.
christo
20/03/2009, 8:48 PM
PREMIER DIVISION:
Bohemians -v- Shamrock Rovers 2-0 FULL TIME
Bray Wanderers -v- Galway United 2-2 FULL TIME
Derry City -v- Cork City 2-1 FULL TIME
Dundalk -v- Drogheda United 3-0 FULL TIME
FIRST DIVISION:
Limerick FC -v- Athlone Town 0-0 FULL TIME
Mervue United -v- Finn Harps 1-0 FULL TIME
Sporting Fingal -v- Wexford Youth 2-0 FULL TIME
UCD -v- Monaghan United 3-0 FULL TIME
Waterford United -v- Shelbourne 0-1 FULL TIME
All the results are in
Umberside
20/03/2009, 8:49 PM
I would've been happy with a scoreless draw. Anyone remember last June, when Derry were cruising to 2-0 win, but Behan scored in the 90th minute and won the game for Cork City? A reversal of roles tonight.
sonofstan
20/03/2009, 8:49 PM
I Love Football.
Was just thinking that - why the f**k do people bother with other sports? and why do they only watch it on telly, when they could go see a game like ours tonight?
Football's great.
20/03/2009, 8:53 PM
I would've been happy with a scoreless draw. Anyone remember last June, when Derry were cruising to 2-0 win, but Behan scored in the 90th minute and won the game for Cork City? A reversal of roles tonight.
My thoughts went straight to that game as well. Utterly over the moon. I had written a post on the Derry forum about how this was a very bad result for us, not so much for the points involved but for what it says about our team and the fact we still struggle to break defensive teams down, we're not ruthless enough, and we're inconsistant.
I was just about to post it when we scored and before I had deleted it we had scored again. :D
Football eh? Bloody hell!
20/03/2009, 8:54 PM
Long trip home for Cork fans after that, fecking hell, what an ending.
My bets still on, 2 games down, 5 to go:D.
robertob
20/03/2009, 8:54 PM
Just my thoughts to the Bohemians game: Great result, great game and great performance by the Bohemians indeed. Impressive how they celebrated football the most time of the game. Ndo, Keegan, Byrne, Deegan and Crowe passed the ball well and despite a not bad performance by the Rovers, the Bohemians were just at least one level better...
gufc2000
20/03/2009, 8:55 PM
Yeah, but only just.
Ahead of you anyways. Ye're joint bottom!:p
Umberside
20/03/2009, 8:55 PM
I think at this stage we are all searching to see who got their predictions correct... certainly not me anyway.:(
20/03/2009, 8:57 PM
What a kick in the teeth :mad:
Blame your manager hes the most negative manager in the history of league of ireland football, I like Cork but hes going to make a mess of Cork City FC
Umberside
20/03/2009, 9:01 PM
Anyone think we should have kept Matthews? It would have cost less and we'd be on three points now (1-1 draws in all of them, conceding in the final minute):D
sullanefc
20/03/2009, 9:02 PM
Blame your manager hes the most negative manager in the history of league of ireland football, I like Cork but hes going to make a mess of Cork City FC
We know only too well. Depressing stuff. Probably can't afford to sack him though. :(
gufc2000
20/03/2009, 9:02 PM
Anyone think we should have kept Matthews? It would have cost less and we'd be on three points now (1-1 draws in all of them, conceding in the final minute):D
Yes you should have kept him :D
Umberside
20/03/2009, 9:04 PM
I think Mathews is more defensive tbh, but what about Bray, three draws in first three matches. At least they had a go tonight.:(
Umberside
20/03/2009, 9:08 PM
It's funny now that I think of it, going to the match last week the front cover of City Edition showed Doolin saying "Results earn Respect". We have got anything but results so far, so don't be too angry if people are disrespectful to us:D
gufc2000
20/03/2009, 9:08 PM
At least we are still top. Looks like Fozzie bottled it a bit with subs, but 'In Fozzy we trust'. He's young and still learinng and here's hoping we can hit double figures against Sligo next week
Umberside
20/03/2009, 9:11 PM
At least we are still top. Looks like Fozzie bottled it a bit with subs, but 'In Fozzy we trust'. He's young and still learinng and here's hoping we can hit double figures against Sligo next week
I fancy ye to beat Sligo next week. I don't expect that Sligo will be as good this year.
gufc2000
20/03/2009, 9:12 PM
I fancy ye to beat Sligo next week. I don't expect that Sligo will be as good this year.
Who are ye playing?
Umberside
20/03/2009, 9:13 PM
Who are ye playing?
Eh... unfortunately it's Bray.
Derry match was **** poor up until the 90th min. Aaron Nash, a local came on and scored the winner for us. Unreal!! Poor game but atm results all that matter
Umberside
20/03/2009, 9:18 PM
I enjoyed 20 mins of it, if you know what part then fair play.
20/03/2009, 9:23 PM
Crazy last five mins at the Carlisle.
Fair play to Ryan though. McCabe's first peno was in bottom right and the second one went that way but Ryan guessed right and saved it.
20/03/2009, 9:30 PM
I think Mathews is more defensive tbh, but what about Bray, three draws in first three matches. At least they had a go tonight.:(
Mathews may be defensive in a football sense though I thought he wasn't bad with Cork last year personally from what I saw of ye, but he's not as outwardly miserable and put upon as Doolin always seems to be which can translate to your players. Doolin wouldn't strike me as a man to rally the troops when things aren't going your way.
20/03/2009, 9:33 PM
Looking forward to Doolin's excuse on MNS this week. Trying to blame it on last season was funny:D
brianw82
20/03/2009, 9:38 PM
Looking forward to Doolin's excuse on MNS this week. Trying to blame it on last season was funny:D
Exactly. "It's a habit from last season which we need to sort out"
Poor stuff, trying to absolve himself of any blame.
I had a few quid on this so I'm happy Derry won. Must've been a great moment when the winner went in. :)
Umberside
20/03/2009, 9:43 PM
Mathews may be defensive in a football sense though I thought he wasn't bad with Cork last year personally from what I saw of ye, but he's not as outwardly miserable and put upon as Doolin always seems to be which can translate to your players. Doolin wouldn't strike me as a man to rally the troops when things aren't going your way.
I couldn't stand listening to Mathews doing an interview.
Exactly. "It's a habit from last season which we need to sort out"
Poor stuff, trying to absolve himself of any blame.
I had a few quid on this so I'm happy Derry won. Must've been a great moment when the winner went in. :)
Unbelievable!! Brandywell erupted
pól-dcfc
20/03/2009, 9:45 PM
Just back from the match.
That was the finest 2 minutes of my life. The Brandywell erupted. Insane. I actually have a headache from roaring my balls off. Jesus. I can't get over it. There really is nothing like live football, with local people watching a local boy score a 90th minute winner. I had a season ticket for 2 years in the Stretford End when I was at Uni in Manchester. Not a patch on the Brandywell tonight. Not a patch.
Derry were ****, as were Cork. I think the Cork goal was offside (was standing perfectly in line) but they probably deserved a point. Those last 2 minutes could be huge at the end of the season for Derry. I am unbelievably happy. Nothing describes the sheer ectasy of tonight.
GET IN!
pól-dcfc
20/03/2009, 9:46 PM
Unbelievable!! Brandywell erupted
It was pure class! Haven't had a good bout of "lets go ****ing mental" in ages!
sonofstan
20/03/2009, 9:47 PM
I actually have a headache from roaring my balls off.
And what would hurt if you had roared your head off?
pól-dcfc
20/03/2009, 9:51 PM
And what would hurt if you had roared your head off?
My balls :( . It's like that reflexology craic.
sonofstan
20/03/2009, 9:55 PM
My balls :( . It's like that reflexology craic.
You have all that new age-y stuff up there now? truly, its an Alternative Ulster....
20/03/2009, 9:57 PM
I couldn't stand listening to Mathews doing an interview.
Really?. Doolin's interviews have always been worse in my opinion. More excuses. He's always saying how hard it is, even when Drogs were winning the league he was complaining that they weren't getting any credit instead of enjoying being in that position.
Umberside
20/03/2009, 10:12 PM
Really?. Doolin's interviews have always been worse in my opinion. More excuses. He's always saying how hard it is, even when Drogs were winning the league he was complaining that they weren't getting any credit instead of enjoying being in that position.
I never really listened to Doolin when he was doing an interview, mainly because what he said meant nothing to me. He's very bad at talking to the media, but I thought Mathews was also very negative.
oriel
20/03/2009, 10:13 PM
According to LMFM Mansaram put his goal in with his hand - sholud have walked for it.
Yeah we also thought he handled it, maybe was more ball to hand, but def looked like contact, anyway makes up for one of the penos we should have got v bohs, these things even themselves out over the season. Dlk played some good stuff, but based on tonights effort, its going to be a long season for drogs. 2nd half was a walk in the park for us.
drogs had a decent support up though, it has to be said.
monzo
20/03/2009, 10:53 PM
It was pure class! Haven't had a good bout of "lets go ****ing mental" in ages!
This ain't a dig at Derry City fans but supporters everywhere but that has to be one of the worst, most pathetic chants ever in football. Same goes for the likes of "what the f****** hell was that".
Had to laugh / cringe at Richardson and the commentator talking about the former's excursion to a Snow Patrol concert. "You're a man of good taste." :D
pól-dcfc
20/03/2009, 10:56 PM
This ain't a dig at Derry City fans but supporters everywhere but that has to be one of the worst, most pathetic chants ever in football. Same goes for the likes of "what the f****** hell was that".
This ain't a dig at Finn Harps, but you haven't really had anything to go mental about in a bit :(. Sometimes it's just appropriate.
christo
20/03/2009, 10:57 PM
Had to laugh / cringe at Richardson and the commentator talking about the former's excursion to a Snow Patrol concert. "You're a man of good taste." :D
That was quailty
20/03/2009, 11:07 PM
A few Drogs supporters removed from the ground tonight.
20/03/2009, 11:31 PM
Limerick 0 Athlone 0.
Poor game on a bumpy pitch. Not much in it until the Athlone keeper was somewhat harshly sent off for a "last-man-back" foul with about 20 mins to go. Athlone defended well enough, but Limerick's Dave Ryan missed an absolute sitter - free header from about 6 yards out - with about 5 minutes to go.
21/03/2009, 12:01 AM
A few Drogs supporters removed from the ground tonight.By a Dundalk lynch mob or the Gardai?
CameramanConka
21/03/2009, 12:04 AM
Lack of concentration seems to be the jist of it.
Smurf1
21/03/2009, 12:16 AM
A few Drogs supporters removed from the ground tonight.
No they weren't.:rolleyes:
Pick that up on the scanner??
Once we went down to ten, that was it. We were woeful. Mansarams goal was handball but what can you say. Buttimer's fantastic.
GalwayRed
21/03/2009, 12:35 AM
Just back from the Waterford game. Cant believe we managed to sneak a win out of there. Had 0-0 written all over it. Was a poor match but when we brought Doyle on and moved Cassidy to centre mid for the last 10 mins we looked stronger. Was the same when we played Monaghan last week. Hopefully well do this from the start next week. Delighted with the result though.
21/03/2009, 12:40 AM
Just back from the match.
That was the finest 2 minutes of my life.
What a long time in football 2 mins is, I always thought that was such a cliché but tonight within 2 mins we went from losing a game, to drawing, to having a chance to win it, to draw. What a let down ultimaltely.
We were very poor in the first half, so poor. Great performance in the second half, great spirit.
The standard of officiadium was shocking tonight, there was at least two 50-50 balls tonight that were marginal decisions as to which way the free kick would go, yet resulted in yellow cards for Bray Wanderers players.
I think the first peno tonight was a desicion based on the referee trying to even things up (the second was a penalty, no question).
Gary McCabe was shocking in the first half but was the stand out player of the 2nd half, he tore Galway apart in the last 20 mins. He seem to have other things on his mind in the first half, which was dissapointing.
Unfortunatley it looks like Paddy Kavanagh has done ligaments tonight.
Westernblue
21/03/2009, 12:56 AM
Trying to get my head around this!
We were solid at the back for about 80 mins. We were the home team but we looked like we were happpy not to lose this game.
We played the same formation as we did away to Wexford: 4-1-4-1.
We never looked like scoring as Willie John looked like he could not cope up front on his own. We pushed Cummins up front with about 15 mins to go to try an win the game but this forked up our very strong centre of defence partnership and we got caught with 5 mins to go. This was Shels only shot on target in the whole game(correct me if I am wrong). No come back then. Best for Waterford Murray,Carey, Cummins, Browne. Still say we need to sign a big centre forward and we need to be playing 4-4-2 if we do this.
So far I do not see Shels or Sporting Fingal as runaway leaders of this division.
Will be interested to see how we fare out in Athlone on Sunday week.
when was the last time UCD scored 3 goals in a league match :confused:
kdjac