View Full Version : Gaa 2009
DeLorean
17/08/2009, 3:06 PM
Tipp haven't lost an All-Ireland Hurling Final to Kilkenny since 1967. I have a feeling they might do it. For the good of Hurling, I hope they do but would prefer to see any other county in Ireland beat them.
Can't wait for Tyrone v Cork this Sunday. Anthony Lynch played in an A v B game at the wkd and came through ok by all accounts. A lot will depend on Cork's 2 half forwards I think, Kerrigan and Kelly. I could see them flopping and it will be very difficult for Cork in that case. At least they have options that they didn't really have before if that does happen.
DeLorean
19/08/2009, 12:53 PM
It might be more in the Dubs line to put their efforts into develping a decent team that making suggestions that imply excuses. Cork and Tyrone are playing on Sunday, yes 2 provincial Champions that have made the semies. Sometimes it's healthier to just accept you're not good enough and try to improve.
Dublin seek qualifier alteration (http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/0819/dublin.html)
Aboslutely delighted to see Tyrone gone - like Meath in the 1990's they are a disgrace.
Their strategy is to foul everybody all of the time and they know that the ref will only blow for the really bad stuff - a disgrace of a team who have added nothing to the game except for the third man drag, the knee into the back, the kick in the ribs when the oppo is down
Yes you have 3 or 4 all irelands but in 20 years time nobody will remember this team with fondness - a dirty team
24/08/2009, 12:10 AM
Aboslutely delighted to see Tyrone gone - like Meath in the 1990's they are a disgrace.
Their strategy is to foul everybody all of the time and they know that the ref will only blow for the really bad stuff - a disgrace of a team who have added nothing to the game except for the third man drag, the knee into the back, the kick in the ribs when the oppo is down
Yes you have 3 or 4 all irelands but in 20 years time nobody will remember this team with fondness - a dirty team
Very much the game Cork played today. While you could argue O'Connor was unlucky, both Miskella and Canty should have been sent off. Cork certainly made the best of very weak refereeing by Bannon.
It would be interesting to know on what basis Miskella only got a yellow card. It should have been red or nothing.
That said, when they actually played football, Cork were the better team.
24/08/2009, 6:27 AM
Very much the game Cork played today. While you could argue O'Connor was unlucky, both Miskella and Canty should have been sent off. Cork certainly made the best of very weak refereeing by Bannon.
It would be interesting to know on what basis Miskella only got a yellow card. It should have been red or nothing.
That said, when they actually played football, Cork were the better team.
Nah def dont think so, Northern teams tend to sulk when they don't get their own way. delighted Cork won playing good hard honest gah.
Away over the border............back to the Uk ye Tyrone boyo's:)
apo11o
24/08/2009, 7:59 AM
Nah def dont think so, Northern teams tend to sulk when they don't get their own way
And Cork dont?
24/08/2009, 9:58 AM
Nah def dont think so, Northern teams tend to sulk when they don't get their own way. delighted Cork won playing good hard honest gah.
Away over the border............back to the Uk ye Tyrone boyo's:)
Nothing to do with sulking.
Good hard honest gah does not include the type of fouls committed by Miskella and Canty.
Rule 5.1 clearly defines the foul and the punishment 'To strike or to attempt to strike an opponent with head, arm, elbow, hand or knee' the penalty is to order the offender off.
Whatever different interpretation there may have been about Canty, there can be none about Miskella. It was clear for all to see. It should have been a straight red card.
24/08/2009, 11:08 AM
Nothing to do with sulking.
Good hard honest gah does not include the type of fouls committed by Miskella and Canty.
Rule 5.1 clearly defines the foul and the punishment 'To strike or to attempt to strike an opponent with head, arm, elbow, hand or knee' the penalty is to order the offender off.
Whatever different interpretation there may have been about Canty, there can be none about Miskella. It was clear for all to see. It should have been a straight red card.
ah come off it will you, its gah..........do they even have a rule book..............as a person who grew up watching the mighty meath and dublin games of the past..............i know a bad foul when i see it......but then those Tyrone guys sure like to fall down a lot too
24/08/2009, 5:24 PM
Tyrone were flat. No intensity and Cork bossed them. It looked like they had the man advantage in the second half.
Spillane is an absolute **** though. He is still upset that Tyrone battered his beloved Kerry team. Let it go man.
Meath-Kerry should be a good one. I know Kerry are big favourites but I think Meath could make it interesting.
DeLorean
25/08/2009, 3:48 PM
Tyrone have been a revelation the past decade if you ask me. Forwards that defend and backs that attack. Absolute quality football which has brought them from no All Irelands to 3 in just 6 years. They may not be as pretty as Kerry in full flow but every team has different styles. It's like saying Italy are a disgrace to soccer for not trying to play the kind of game Brazil do. They will be remembered positively by anybody who respects how committed and skillful they have been (although obviously not by Kerry begrudgers who can't take their beating x3). Anybody that says they're all effort and no skill hasn't a clue. Cavanagh, Canavan, Dooher, Mulligan, Harte, Jordon, Hughes, etc. have all been magnificant players. The media is very quick to turn, before Sunday Tyrone couldn't be beaten yet now they are over the hill. There's too much emphasis on this team of the decade sh!te anyway, Kerry are the most successful team of the decade but I think Tyrone are the story of the decade.
As a Cork man I was delighted with how things went on Sunday obviously. The ref probably knew at half time that O'Connor shouldn't have been sent off so Cork got a free ride for the first 10mins of the 2nd half to stop Tyrone getting back into it. No tackles seemed to be off limits as he was never gonna send off another Cork player. This had a huge impact on the game. Miskella should have been sent off without question but I think Canty's was harmless enough. I've no real problem with the ref's not sticking ridgidly to that rule quoted above once a bit of common sense is applied. You could be sending fellas off all day if you enforced that rule fully. I think Miskella will be getting away with murder should he be available for the final but I hope he does.
25/08/2009, 4:23 PM
Yeah i understand all that.....but Italy are a disgrace to football - did you not see the last world cup???:eek: (terrible comparison)
Tyrone have played some great football, but they dont always have to play the sly game when they have so much ability either (a bit like Kerry last two years actually!!)
Could be worse though...........jezz Armagh...now there is a team I hate.........:p
25/08/2009, 4:50 PM
Tyrone have been a revelation the past decade if you ask me. Forwards that defend and backs that attack. Absolute quality football which has brought them from no All Irelands to 3 in just 6 years. They may not be as pretty as Kerry in full flow but every team has different styles. It's like saying Italy are a disgrace to soccer for not trying to play the kind of game Brazil do. They will be remembered positively by anybody who respects how committed and skillful they have been (although obviously not by Kerry begrudgers who can't take their beating x3). Anybody that says they're all effort and no skill hasn't a clue. Cavanagh, Canavan, Dooher, Mulligan, Harte, Jordon, Hughes, etc. have all been magnificant players. The media is very quick to turn, before Sunday Tyrone couldn't be beaten yet now they are over the hill. There's too much emphasis on this team of the decade sh!te anyway, Kerry are the most successful team of the decade but I think Tyrone are the story of the decade.
As a Cork man I was delighted with how things went on Sunday obviously. The ref probably knew at half time that O'Connor shouldn't have been sent off so Cork got a free ride for the first 10mins of the 2nd half to stop Tyrone getting back into it. No tackles seemed to be off limits as he was never gonna send off another Cork player. This had a huge impact on the game. Miskella should have been sent off without question but I think Canty's was harmless enough. I've no real problem with the ref's not sticking ridgidly to that rule quoted above once a bit of common sense is applied. You could be sending fellas off all day if you enforced that rule fully. I think Miskella will be getting away with murder should he be available for the final but I hope he does.
Great post. Well balanced and sensible point of view. Refreshing after reading some of the drivel posted on this thread.
25/08/2009, 8:02 PM
Great post. Well balanced and sensible point of view. Refreshing after reading some of the drivel posted on this thread.
I think there is a website calls Hoganstand for ye guys out there:rolleyes:
and its football not soccer:p
DeLorean
25/08/2009, 8:25 PM
I think there is a website calls Hoganstand for ye guys out there:rolleyes:
and its football not soccer:p
What did you expect to find on a thread called GAA 2009?:rolleyes:
25/08/2009, 8:53 PM
What did you expect to find on a thread called GAA 2009?:rolleyes:
relax..............jeez your not going to get the hump over a game of bogball now.....are you:p
just observing and passing through:)
25/08/2009, 8:57 PM
I think there is a website calls Hoganstand for ye guys out there
and its football not soccer:
Says the guy who has posted 9 times on this thread :confused: :confused:
25/08/2009, 9:36 PM
ya i think poor benno is a little confused!!
26/08/2009, 7:36 AM
Ah Paul you must know my habits by now!!!! :p
As I said before, I watch and enjoy most sports, plus the added incentive of gambling, etc.But be under no illusion Football is number one!
Actually the gah has been quite good this year, better than last year IMHO, and I'm looking forward to seeing how Meath get on this Sunday against Kerry. I guess part of the reason is I have seen very few Ulster and Connaught games:p
Anyway maybe Im wrong.....so let me redress my wrongs..........
1)Tyrone and Armagh and ulster football is widely loved, and they play the game in such a lovely style that is easy on the eye. We all love the Ulster teams, and of course Spillane and O Rourke don't know what they are talking about, bloody spoofers.
2) Kerry are a decent honest team the last two years. is it not correct that O Mahoney and O Connell have the right to lie on the ground for a breather. The game is 70 mins long after all.
3) the tackle in Gaelic is a unique skill. My foreign friend says "look at those gaa players they are so gay, always pulling each other, and dragging each other and rolling around the ground together!"..but "No" I say, "its the tackle, the great hidden skill of the best game in the world! of course"
This skill is so good that why bother writing it down in a rule book?
Ok I repent:)
I am wrong
Anyway, cheering for Meath this weekend, should be a cracker
DeLorean
26/08/2009, 9:22 AM
I guess part of the reason is I have seen very few Ulster and Connaught games:p
The early rounds of the Championship, like the Champions League, in my opinion are rubbish. It is just the process for eliminating the weaker teams. No need to pick on Ulster or Connaght specifically with Dublin's 5 in a row in Leinster and Cork/Kerry's monopoly in Munster.
1)Tyrone and Armagh and ulster football is widely loved, and they play the game in such a lovely style that is easy on the eye. We all love the Ulster teams, and of course Spillane and O Rourke don't know what they are talking about, bloody spoofers.
You're the spoofer. O'Rourke had nothing but good things to say about Tyrone on Sunday, saying they are great Champions. As for easy on the eye there's plenty teams in every sport that aren't very attractive to watch so what's your point? Armagh and Tyrone and other Ulster teams have been involved in great matches over the past decade, although I accept it's not generally against each other. As for Spillane, he's just like every other Kerry man with a chip on their shoulder cos after 3 attempts they still couldn't beat Tyrone.
2) Kerry are a decent honest team the last two years. is it not correct that O Mahoney and O Connell have the right to lie on the ground for a breather.
Something which is completely alien in the soccer world of course, and yes it's soccer to me as it defuses confusion. Who's O'Connell?
3) the tackle in Gaelic is a unique skill. My foreign friend says "look at those gaa players they are so gay, always pulling each other, and dragging each other and rolling around the ground together!"..but "No" I say, "its the tackle, the great hidden skill of the best game in the world! of course"
I've never read a GAA rule book but it's generally pretty obvious what should be a free or not. The refereeing standard is p!ss poor though which doesn't help matters.
DeLorean
26/08/2009, 9:26 AM
Yeah i understand all that.....but Italy are a disgrace to football - did you not see the last world cup???:eek: (terrible comparison)
Only seen this post now. I enjoyed watching Italy and they've had great teams over the years. I like watching different styles clash, makes it more interesting and Cannavaro and co were a joy to watch in 06. The Germany Semi was one of the best matches I've seen.
Umberside
26/08/2009, 10:08 AM
Cork are going to thrash whoever we play in the final. We've already beaten Kerry by eight points this year and I sadly can't see Meath getting past Kerry.
DeLorean
26/08/2009, 10:46 AM
Cork are going to thrash whoever we play in the final. We've already beaten Kerry by eight points this year and I sadly can't see Meath getting past Kerry.
I love your optimism but assuming it's Kerry, I wouldn't take anything for granted. We did beat them by 8 pts but to be fair it was after a replay. We were also level with them 5-10mins into the second half of the replay when they got 5 pts in a row and were looking good until we got the penalty. I think we'd be far too strong for Meath alright.
26/08/2009, 11:56 AM
Ah Paul you must know my habits by now!!!!
As I said before, I watch and enjoy most sports, plus the added incentive of gambling, etc.But be under no illusion Football is number one!
Actually the gah has been quite good this year, better than last year IMHO, and I'm looking forward to seeing how Meath get on this Sunday against Kerry. I guess part of the reason is I have seen very few Ulster and Connaught games
Anyway maybe Im wrong.....so let me redress my wrongs..........
2) Kerry are a decent honest team the last two years. is it not correct that O Mahoney and O Connell have the right to lie on the ground for a breather. The game is 70 mins long after all.
This skill is so good that why bother writing it down in a rule book?
Ok I repent
I am wrong
Anyway, cheering for Meath this weekend, should be a cracker
After reading this I thought I was on that hoganstand website for a minute there :D :D
26/08/2009, 12:14 PM
In July 2006 Cork beat Kerry in the Munster final replay by 1-12 to 0-9. Five weeks later in August in the All Ireland SF with all the hype about how good Cork were, Kerry turned the tables and beat you by 0-16 to 0-10.
In 2007, after Kerry narrowly beat Cork by 1-15 to 1-13, there was more great hype about how much progress Cork had made in the qualifers after beating Meath, but when they turned up to play Kerry in the final in September they were hockeyed by 3-13 to 1-9.
Kerry only ever start playing in August. Why any different this year?
DeLorean
26/08/2009, 1:20 PM
Why any different this year?
Cork are a far superior team this year. Back in 2007 and years previous we had very few forwards capable of troubling Kerry. We went up in hope more than expectation but it's not like that now. We have 6 forwards that can score and also half backs. We don't have the weak links in the full back line that we had either, namely Derek Kavanagh at full back and Kieran O'Connor at corner back. Donncha O'Connor was pretty much flying the flag on his own in 07 in the scoring stakes with Masters never really a man for the big day, plus he had a broken jaw. O'Neill and Goulding are huge scoring threats in the full forward line and Kerrigan and Kelly are playing well in the half forwards, none of those players started the 07 final. You could be right in that it might be the same old story, but there's no question but that there's more to be optimistic about.
DeLorean
26/08/2009, 2:38 PM
Huge let off and bonus. No excuses now.
Miskella cleared to play for Cork (http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/0826/miskellaj.html)
26/08/2009, 3:35 PM
Miskella cleared to play for Cork (http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/0826/miskellaj.html)
What a complete cop-out! :mad:
I don't want to see anyone missing an All-Ireland final, let alone Miskella, who prior to that incident was my choice for player of the year, but this does nothing for the reputation of GAA fotball refereeing which is probably at an all time low. It also sends a terribly wrong message to lower levels of football.
Umberside
26/08/2009, 3:39 PM
It's great to hear he's available, though he maybe doesn't deserve it :(
DeLorean
26/08/2009, 3:40 PM
Got away with that one big time alright but we'll take what we can get.
26/08/2009, 3:44 PM
O'Rourke had nothing but good things to say about Tyrone on Sunday, saying they are great Champions.
As for easy on the eye there's plenty teams in every sport that aren't very attractive to watch so what's your point?
Something which is completely alien in the soccer world of course, and yes it's soccer to me as it defuses confusion. Who's O'Connell?
I've never read a GAA rule book but it's generally pretty obvious what should be a free or not. The refereeing standard is p!ss poor though which doesn't help matters.
O Rourke might be different this year but he has in the past always goaded Brolly in years gone by............
My point is..............its better to win with style, and especially when you can. playing the ugly game is just an easy option
O Connell, yeah sorry cant remember his name, the teacher from kerry......:p
Pretty obvious? Well why are we arguing about it then? How would the old team of Meath fare in today's softer game?
Football players play with their feet so do tend to fall easier, and are more prone to injuries. Nothing more disheartning that seeing a big lump of a gah player falling to the ground diving!
26/08/2009, 3:46 PM
Only seen this post now. I enjoyed watching Italy and they've had great teams over the years. I like watching different styles clash, makes it more interesting and Cannavaro and co were a joy to watch in 06. The Germany Semi was one of the best matches I've seen.
Well then thats a matter of opinion. Italy cheated all the time, jesus Gattusso had an average rate of 3 "injuries" a game!
I also like watching different styles, thats not the point. I prefer games to be played in an honest spirit. Cheating in sport makes me sick
Umberside
26/08/2009, 3:47 PM
Kerry only ever start playing in August. Why any different this year?
All the references you make are to the Billy Morgan era. Under Counihan our record is:
Cork 1-16 Kerry 1-11 - Munster Final, July 2008
Cork 3-7 Kerry 1-13 - All-Ireland Semi Final, August 2008
Kerry 3-14 Cork 2-13 - All-Ireland Semi Final Replay, August 2008
Cork 1-10 Kerry 0-13 - Munster Semi Final, June 2009
Cork 1-17 Kerry 0-12 - Munster Semi Final Replay, June 2009
Our record : W2 D2 L1
From what I can make out, we could have the first Final replay in nine years.
DeLorean
26/08/2009, 4:10 PM
O Rourke might be different this year but he has in the past always goaded Brolly in years gone by............
My point is..............its better to win with style, and especially when you can. playing the ugly game is just an easy option
Ulster clashes can be tough watching alright, I grant you that. This was the main critism of O'Rourke over the years also but not necessarily about Tyrone/Armagh once they come out of Ulster. Tyrone were far superior to Kerry in 2003 but did resort to diving, etc. which was unnecessary and only served to hinder themselves when they had Kerry on the ropes. In 2005 and 2008 they beat Kerry with good honest football.
O Connell, yeah sorry cant remember his name, the teacher from kerry......:p
Not sure what the smiley is about but Galvin is who you're thinking of.
Pretty obvious? Well why are we arguing about it then? How would the old team of Meath fare in today's softer game?
I'm not arguing about it at all, just think it's generally fairly obvious if a free should be given or not. Meath might fare similarly to Tyrone, hard hitting but fair for the most part, but probably with more sendings off cos as you say, and similarly to soccer, the game is softer these days.
Well then thats a matter of opinion. Italy cheated all the time, jesus Gattusso had an average rate of 3 "injuries" a game!
I also like watching different styles, thats not the point. I prefer games to be played in an honest spirit. Cheating in sport makes me sick
The Brazilians are no angels in that regard either or South Americans in general, come to think of it they're nearly all at it.
26/08/2009, 4:50 PM
All the references you make are to the Billy Morgan era. Under Counihan our record is:
Cork 1-16 Kerry 1-11 - Munster Final, July 2008
Cork 3-7 Kerry 1-13 - All-Ireland Semi Final, August 2008
Kerry 3-14 Cork 2-13 - All-Ireland Semi Final Replay, August 2008
Cork 1-10 Kerry 0-13 - Munster Semi Final, June 2009
Cork 1-17 Kerry 0-12 - Munster Semi Final Replay, June 2009
Our record : W2 D2 L1
From what I can make out, we could have the first Final replay in nine years.
When did you last beat Kerry in August or September?
DeLorean
26/08/2009, 5:07 PM
We never have as you well know!!;) An absolutely horrible record against them in Croke Park, mainly due to the fact that they have been a million times better team than us, despite indications in Munster that this wasn't the case. We are a lot stronger now but whether we are good enough, time will tell.
CF1989
30/08/2009, 3:35 PM
well done to Sligo Rovers' reserve team goalkeeper Michael Shlingerman on getting to the All Ireland minor final for mayo today
30/08/2009, 4:41 PM
well done to Sligo Rovers' reserve team goalkeeper Michael Shlingerman on getting to the All Ireland minor final for mayo today
He was class today. Poor first half by Mayo and written off by the 3 ***** in the studio but a much better second half performance and took their goals well.
Kerry-Meath was one of the worst games of football I have ever seen. Dreadful stuff. Nice little tumble by Colm Cooper as well. I hope Cork turn up for this years final. I think they have the players to do some damage to this Kerry team who looked flat and off the pace.
eamo1
02/09/2009, 12:56 PM
Does anyone think Tipp can beat Kilkenny in the hurling final?The league final cant be used as to how this game might go as it was too long ago.I think the Tipp half back line is good enough to match Kilkenny for the puck outs etc.Everyone talks about Kilkenny's midfield and full forward line but the real "gears" of their attack is the half forward line.Galway stifled them a good bit (in that area) in the Leinster semi earlier in the year until they went a man down.If Tipp can win that area of the field and keep their discipline with frees etc to a minimum then they will win.
02/09/2009, 4:21 PM
I dont really have a clue, but id like to see Tipp win it, just for a change.
Hibernian
03/09/2009, 6:33 PM
Well we beat them at some stage unlike your shower of mugs
apo11o
05/09/2009, 10:16 AM
In my local club my name came out for an All Ireland ticket to the football.I ve now been told I have to pay for it, just wondering is this the norm.
Is it the same in other clubs?
05/09/2009, 10:28 AM
In my local club my name came out for an All Ireland ticket to the football.I ve now been told I have to pay for it, just wondering is this the norm.
Is it the same in other clubs?
Yeah. U can sell it on easy though. If u have 2 i'll take them off u?
05/09/2009, 9:13 PM
Just watching Up for the Match and I must say Gráinne Seoige is looking absolutely lovely!
I have a spare ticket to the hurling final if anyone wants it, face value.
I would prefer a swap for a football final if anyone has one.
PM in any case if interested.
06/09/2009, 4:08 PM
Digraceful scenes afterwards. Clearly could see punches thrown at stewards and Gardai from those on the Hill. No doubt would be called a riot by the papers if it was at a "soccer" match.
06/09/2009, 4:29 PM
It's the GAA's fault for trying to stop the fans running onto the pitch, imo.
There's a huge risk of a stampede or crush by letting the fans all pool up at the foot of Hill 16 and then having the Guards and stewards trying to force them backwards.
06/09/2009, 4:38 PM
It's the GAA's fault for trying to stop the fans running onto the pitch, imo.
There's a huge risk of a stampede or crush by letting the fans all pool up at the foot of Hill 16 and then having the Guards and stewards trying to force them backwards.They spent the last two weeks in the media telling people they wouldn't get on the pitch.
GAA people feel they have a God given right to get on the pitch, but they don't. Have you seen how much the GAA have paid out in damages for people injured in pitch invasions over the last decade? There were a few articles in the Sunday papers on it over the last few years. Not to mention the damage to the pitch.
If LoI fans struck out at stewards and guards like some of the Kilkenny fans did it would be in the papers for weeks.
06/09/2009, 4:46 PM
People aren't robots though and they aren't going to be thinking about their safety when they've just won the All-Ireland.
It is a dangerous tradition but, imo, it was more dangerous when the stewards started pushing the fans back into more onrushing fans.
06/09/2009, 6:35 PM
People aren't robots though and they aren't going to be thinking about their safety when they've just won the All-Ireland.
It is a dangerous tradition but, imo, it was more dangerous when the stewards started pushing the fans back into more onrushing fans.
Still not good enough Frank. As said if that was a "soccer" match there'd be war over it and there'd be stills from videos published to identify the ringleaders and have them thrown to the mercy of the law.
Nobody's asking them to be robots -they can celebrate and behave themselves at the same time. Their own organisation asked them to stay off the pitch for health and safety reasons ...theirs, the players, the officials. Feckin rednecks.
kingdom hoop
06/09/2009, 7:40 PM
Excellent game today. In general Tipp gave an inspirational display, but all the game's crucial moments pivoted against them.
I didn't see the Gardaí being punched, but definitely agree an effort should be made to pick out the culprits. However I'm not sure there would be the claimed media-hysterics if a similar incident happened after say Derry City won their fourth FAI Cup in a row after a fantastic, tense tussle with Cork City and there was a tradition of invading the pitch as a means of celebration? Not trying to be smart, I just don't think the incident is being viewed in its full context.
Anyway, last word should go to the Kilkenny team for an outstanding achievement.