View Full Version : Gaa 2009
06/09/2009, 7:43 PM
Great game ruined by terrible refereeing. Both goals should never have been allowed. The 1st goal was actually a free-out and for the 2nd Tennyson slid out over the touchline with the sliothar in his hands.
Ceirtlis
06/09/2009, 8:05 PM
Great game ruined by terrible refereeing. Both goals should never have been allowed. The 1st goal was actually a free-out and for the 2nd Tennyson slid out over the touchline with the sliothar in his hands.
Thought the referee had a good game apart from the penalty decision, which was a howler. Was still a 21 yard free in all the same. Would be pretty sure that the ball wasnt carried over the sideline before the first goal too.
Tipperary threw it away, I thought. They were by far the better team but didnt make it pay and were caught for the two goals. Even after the man got sent off they were still the better team up until the first goal.
kingdom hoop
06/09/2009, 8:22 PM
Agree with you Ceirtlis on the ref - good game overall, and Kavanagh kept that one in play.
Tipp definitely threw it away. It's all well and good saying "their time will come" - but having delivered that level of performance on the day, they'll hardly get many better opportunities to win an All-Ireland. Curran, Maher and O'Mahoney were outstanding in defence, two-midfielders the same, and Kelly and Corbett were on fire. Sickening to play so well, to give yourself such a chance of winning, and then lose at the end.
Once again Kilkenny were on the right side of a few crucial referee decisions in a big game.They made them count but like i said to a friend before todays game id love to see how they'd do if those crucial decisions went against them etc.About time some team crowded the half back line,Galway couldnt keep it up in the Leinster semi final but it worked and Tipp did a far better job of it today and but for big referee decisions it could have gone the other way.
What goes around comes around though and Tipp won in 01 thnaks to some very dodgy decisions.The ref that day was at their celebrations the following Tuesday night.
DeLorean
07/09/2009, 9:20 AM
In my local club my name came out for an All Ireland ticket to the football.I ve now been told I have to pay for it, just wondering is this the norm.
Is it the same in other clubs?
Yes!! and I wouldn't be complaining
DeLorean
07/09/2009, 9:28 AM
Doesn't really matter whether or not the ball was over the line for the 2nd goal, the fact is that goal only came as a result of the first goal anyway. I don't agree that it was a free in, the only foul was committed at the very end inside the box, by which time it was definitely over carrying. It's true about 2001 though, Galway had a good goal disallowed that looked likely to make the difference that day. Just as well though cos otherwise Galway would have won the Hurling/Football double, and as a Corkman, that's all we have left now!!
Den Perry
07/09/2009, 12:02 PM
Agree with you Ceirtlis on the ref - good game overall, and Kavanagh kept that one in play.
Tipp definitely threw it away. It's all well and good saying "their time will come" - but having delivered that level of performance on the day, they'll hardly get many better opportunities to win an All-Ireland. Curran, Maher and O'Mahoney were outstanding in defence, two-midfielders the same, and Kelly and Corbett were on fire. Sickening to play so well, to give yourself such a chance of winning, and then lose at the end.
Ref had a shocker - Padraig Maher blatently elbowed in the head, had his facemash pulled in first half, penalty was a crazy decision, power fouled curran in build up to second goal...if you think ref was good you should stick to watching football.
Fair play to KK though, great team and humblw set of lads. Pity the same could not be said about their manager who was a disgrace in his post match interview. arrogant t wat
Finally, if those scenesat the end happened at a soccer match there'd be war. there were plenty of appeals to saty off the pitch and those idiots could have caused serious injury with their behaviour on the terraces
07/09/2009, 12:36 PM
Tipp should have got at least one goal, probably two, but Kilkenny's ability to live off scraps and take pretty much every chance was unbelievable.
Tipp should have been out of sight with 10/15 mins to go, but Kilkenny were still in the game and you always knew that they would likely win a close game.
07/09/2009, 8:34 PM
Has there ever been a better hurler in recent times than Tommy Walsh. The guy is unreal, he has everything not only the skill but never pulls out of a challenge. He produces it in every big game and knows how to look after himself as well. A hurling superstar
apo11o
07/09/2009, 10:43 PM
Yes!! and I wouldn't be complaining
Your not really from Cork .
DeLorean
08/09/2009, 1:26 PM
Your not really from Cork .
:confused:ha?
WexCar
09/09/2009, 5:55 AM
In my local club my name came out for an All Ireland ticket to the football.I ve now been told I have to pay for it, just wondering is this the norm.
Is it the same in other clubs?
of course ya'll have to pay.
Every county board gets a certain amount of tickets which is then allocated amongst all clubs, so every GAA club in the country has access to some tickets ( at least 4 or 5) which is usually raffled off to members who put their name forward.
apo11o
10/09/2009, 9:22 AM
[QUOTE=WexCar;1228455]of course ya'll have to pay.
No I dont, E75 for Munster final, remember the last one?:eek:
WexCar
10/09/2009, 4:57 PM
75 bucks for a Munster final :eek: shockin price!
gilberto_eire
11/09/2009, 1:27 AM
Has there ever been a better hurler in recent times than Tommy Walsh. The guy is unreal, he has everything not only the skill but never pulls out of a challenge. He produces it in every big game and knows how to look after himself as well. A hurling superstar
Ya there has, quite a few actually, more honest players too. He's a dirty little **** and should have walked on more then one occasion this year, if he was rightly sent off against us in the Leinster semi, then KK could well be sitting on a ''3 in a row-all out''...... ability wise though he's a good player and could play any position really bar FB or FF.
He WASN'T over the line for the second goal, that was my immediate reaction at the time, coupled with a possible push from his resulting clearance, i went back and re-watched the clip several times on the RTE website, the ball wasn't over(if it was it was marginal) but there was a blatant push by one of the KK forwards on the Tipp back as he was about to catch the ball, that put him on his arse and left buckets of space for KK to progress into for an easy second goal.
Cody came out this week hitting back at analyst's and the media for stating his team were dirty, saying it was a vendetta, and singled out Walsh for praise after he suffered a ''witch hunt'' from the media.
.............It's true though, (although i wouldn't call them dirty in the sense that they'd try take a player out of the game) they consistently foul, yet there players don't receive reds for persistent fouling, this has to change, they kill off many goal chances by fouling yet receive no cards.
Dig out the stats for free's for and against in KK's games this year, i'd be surprised if in any game they had more free's then their opponents.
Against us in the semi they fouled, time and time again, killing off a number of goal chances. The Dubs kept in touch through McCrabbe's free taking from what i remember. I missed most of the Waterford game so couldn't comment there, and i think the numbers were(in or around) 18/8 in favour of Tipp in the final
apo11o
13/09/2009, 4:33 PM
I see a Sligo man is ref for the final next sun, this should be interesting:o
15/09/2009, 12:02 AM
I see a Sligo man is ref for the final next sun, this should be interesting:o
Good article by Colm O'Rourke about this here (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaa-championships/gaelic-football/duffy-will-play-central-role-in-footballs-clash-of-the-giants-1885353.html)
DeLorean
16/09/2009, 3:53 PM
Decent article alright. I like O'Rourke anyway, his views are balanced and he's not interested in the shock factor that Spillane and Brolly engage in.
17/09/2009, 2:46 PM
Not really but he talks a lot of sh1te all the same. Im not too gone on any GAA commentator to be honest, they change their opinions more often than a hoor changes her knickers. Every pre match speak is about a team being past their best and over-hyped etc etc, generally only for them to eat their words at the end. They are full of even more soundbites than in soccer.
rebus2008
17/09/2009, 3:32 PM
Not really but he talks a lot of sh1te all the same. Im not too gone on any GAA commentator to be honest, they change their opinions more often than a hoor changes her knickers. Every pre match speak is about a team being past their best and over-hyped etc etc, generally only for them to eat their words at the end. They are full of even more soundbites than in soccer.
you obviously don't watch much of el tel & co on itv or super sundays on sky with jamie. Aside from giles/dunphy & co, soccer punditry is fairly dire.
In defence of sky/itv, even they wouldn't stoop to inflicting ger canning on theior viewers.
Thats said, alot of the pundits on Sunday game are of the wallpaper variety - needed to fill the gaps but very bland. O'Rourke one of the better ones.
17/09/2009, 5:57 PM
I like the Gah guys on RTe to be fair, esp O rourke...........
but the pits has to be Paudi O Shea for the Indo, man everytime he calls a game he nearly always gets it wrong, smug ****
MeathDrog
17/09/2009, 8:08 PM
I detest Joe Brolly. Rest of them I've no problem with.
rebus2008
17/09/2009, 10:41 PM
I like the Gah guys on RTe to be fair, esp O rourke...........
but the pits has to be Paudi O Shea for the Indo, man everytime he calls a game he nearly always gets it wrong, smug ****
dear jesus, paudi is some pain in the h%le. But sure he was a great pal of haughey and is bosom buddie with the crook ahern. Enough said.
plus..his pub is absolute overhyped ****e. Not even top 10 pubs around dingle area (way off topic i know) and worse for the grumpy paudi when in the house
hula4
17/09/2009, 11:43 PM
the best pundit of the lot is dara o cinneide, excellent speaker and a very shrewd football brain as well
DeLorean
18/09/2009, 10:58 AM
the best pundit of the lot is dara o cinneide, excellent speaker and a very shrewd football brain as well
As a Corkman I concur, and incredibly balanced as well for a Kerryman.
The nerves are settin in now. Too many bad experiences of Kerry in Croke Park to take anything for granted. Think we'll need goals to win it, something like 2-12 should be enough.
18/09/2009, 11:09 AM
As a Corkman I concur, and incredibly balanced as well for a Kerryman.
The nerves are settin in now. Too many bad experiences of Kerry in Croke Park to take anything for granted. Think we'll need goals to win it, something like 2-12 should be enough.
Well I backed Cork at 8/1 in May, so obviously I'm hoping that they do it. Gonna back Kerry to win between 1-5 now to try and cover my bet.
SunnySweeney
20/09/2009, 2:21 PM
Does anyone have a link for the football final today?
I am in New York. I can get the RTE radio commentary but I'd like to watch it.
Thx
SunnySweeney
20/09/2009, 2:52 PM
My ears are aching listening to Micheal o Muircheartaigh on the radio -
I don't get him at all - what a mucksavage !!!
JustinTV had a link for a few minutes but they shut it down for copyright reasons :(
http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=49707&part=sports
SunnySweeney
20/09/2009, 3:06 PM
http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=49707&part=sports
Thx
I found one here too. I'll switch over to yours if the feed gets choppy/cut off etc
http://atdhe.net/
SunnySweeney
20/09/2009, 4:07 PM
******** anyway - Cork didn't show up on the day.
They can't expect to win when they hit that many wides.
The game was there for the taking with the start that Cork had.
20/09/2009, 5:35 PM
Cork are going to thrash whoever we play in the final. We've already beaten Kerry by eight points this year and I sadly can't see Meath getting past Kerry.
Cork are a far superior team this year. Back in 2007 and years previous we had very few forwards capable of troubling Kerry. We went up in hope more than expectation but it's not like that now. We have 6 forwards that can score and also half backs. We don't have the weak links in the full back line that we had either, namely Derek Kavanagh at full back and Kieran O'Connor at corner back. Donncha O'Connor was pretty much flying the flag on his own in 07 in the scoring stakes with Masters never really a man for the big day, plus he had a broken jaw. O'Neill and Goulding are huge scoring threats in the full forward line and Kerrigan and Kelly are playing well in the half forwards, none of those players started the 07 final. You could be right in that it might be the same old story, but there's no question but that there's more to be optimistic about.
Umberside and Delorean, dream on
Kerry only ever start playing in August. Why any different this year?
Never in doubt, only one winner of Sam this year,
20/09/2009, 7:20 PM
Were there any Kerry fans at the ground today?!
Kerry defended well and capitalised on Cork's poor display in front of goal. Cork looked lost out there and lacked leadership on the field.
I hope the GAA instruct refs to start flashing yellows for any player who kicks the ball away when a free is awarded to the opposition. It drove me insane today.
apo11o
20/09/2009, 11:30 PM
poor ref :eek:Puke football:eek:Some of those guys today, Cork and Kerry , they can t even solo the round thing, :eek:
DeLorean
22/09/2009, 2:33 PM
Umberside and Delorean, dream on
What are you on about? My posts were balanced and I didn't once predict a Cork win. I just stated they had a much better chance than previous years as they have improved a lot. A blind man could see that is the case. They were very poor the last day, mainly because Kerry got their tactics right, but they were still in the game for the most part. A tiny bit less wasteful and there'd have been nothing in it on the scoreboard.
25/09/2009, 8:41 PM
Well done to former Rovers man Johnny Davey on his All Star nomination
apo11o
06/10/2009, 2:43 PM
Sligo Senior football final half time,
T strane 3pts E Harps 2pts
prem half time
Arsneal 4 1 B burn.
dantheman
15/10/2009, 5:17 PM
Gaa NFL fixture list for 2010 here:
http://www.gaa.ie/page/allianz_gaa_football_national_league_roinn_11.html
http://www.gaa.ie/page/allianz_gaa_football_national_league_roinn_21.html
http://www.gaa.ie/page/allianz_gaa_football_national_league_roinn_31.html
http://www.gaa.ie/page/allianz_gaa_football_national_league_roinn_41.html
apo11o
19/10/2009, 6:23 PM
Has T Kennelly done a R Keane by writing his book and telling what he planned to do to a Cork player in the final?
What action if any will GAA take?