View Full Version : Foot.ie Music Exchange 2009
A few from the old list don't seem to be that active around here nowadays so I was wondering if there would be any interest in filling their spots and getting this going again?
Really enjoyed recieving a new mix CD every week (and then every other week) so I think it's worthwhile. Probably should keep it to between 8 and 10 people again, but do the old members have any interest in reviving this? And then would there be any potential new members?
For those that don't recall we basically get a number of forummers (say 8)and take it in turns to make and post out a compilation CD, music can range from the Beatles to your own garage band, it's completely your choice what goes on the CD
Memberlist
Jebus 23/02 - 01/03
The Optimist 02/03 - 08/03
Thischarmingman 09/03 - 15/03
Stann 16/03 - 22/03
Noby 23/03 - 29/03
Sunny Jim 30/03 - 05/04
Lionel Ritchie 06/04 - 12/04
Monzo 13/04 - 19/04
Kingdom Hoop 20/04 - 26/04
SligoBrewer (joining in June)
kingdom hoop
05/02/2009, 5:18 PM
Excellent, someone took the initiative! Admittedly I haven't been all that active lately, but I'm not prepared to give up my slot! If I'm booted out on account of creative differences fair enough, but I still owe yourself, Noby and Stan a round, so I'll have to send that out anyway, so I may as well stay in. :)
We probably should start again alright though, and I agree on the numbers you propose.
And would also encourage anyone thinking of joining in to do so!
The Optimist
05/02/2009, 7:04 PM
Hi lads.
I'd love to join in on the music exchange if possible.
05/02/2009, 9:02 PM
Count me in. :)
My address has changed, I'm now in Dublin so just let me know before you send me anything or when you're making an address list.
(and then every other week)
You must have got a pile of them that I didn't then. :D
Count me in again anyway. We still going on themes or reverting to a general mix kind of thing?
Just to be awkward, I'd like to see a couple more forummers, 10 maybe, in the exchange. The more different types of CD the better, but balanced against the amount of burning to be done!
And though people are of course at liberty to put what they like on, I'd hope the trend of (for the most part) including lesser known or obscure tracks continues, that was the best bit for me.
06/02/2009, 7:29 PM
I'll rejoin in June, after the Leavin'.
Sorry for ditchin' yous all.
Ooh, count me in if it gets up and running again.
kingdom hoop
09/02/2009, 1:14 PM
I'll rejoin in June, after the Leavin'.
Hmmm, that reminds me. I'm doing exams in a few weeks so on mature reflection I should probably focus on those rather than spending days vacillating on terribly troublesome stuff like putting track 5 in track 7's place or vice versa. And I won't (or shouldn't anyway! :rolleyes:) have time to give the other CDs the proper listens, feedback and discourse they deserve.
So unfortunately it's probably best if I revoke my membership for now, but would love to rejoin in mid-April should my application for temporary leave be accepted by the committee. :)
You could, of course, put yourself at the bottom of the list, so then you should have about ten weeks before worrying about burning a cd.
kingdom hoop
10/02/2009, 12:12 PM
Fair point well made dear Noby.
I'll have to think about it.
Ok, I've thought about it. And no, I'll drop out. My condition, Severely Susceptible To Any Kind Of Distraction Syndrome, necessitates it so, I'm afraid. Although I'll probably still check in at regular intervals, see how things are going, look at what the tracklists are, and spend a few days buying all the separate tracks. :D
Despite doing the Leaving this coming June, I'd be interested in such a venture if there's room. Wouldn't really have time to compile a mix in the months of May and early June though (the designated 'cram-like-hell' months).
Memberlist is up, 2 places left for anyone who is interested and we'll get started then
In last year's exchange was there any restrictions on the diversity of the selections? I have a feeling that my mix is going to incorporate a wide range of genres, which may or may not prevent the cd from having much of a flow.
Sunny Jim
17/02/2009, 1:28 PM
I'd love to take part, if ye have room.
Jebus will revert no doubt, but I think there still is room alright.
Will you give Lionel a nudge too Jebus, see if he's interested again?
Sunny Jim is in, I'll pm Lionel and we can get started from there
18/02/2009, 8:35 AM
Arm twisted. Go on so sure, I'm in. :cool:
Membership is complete thanks to the heavies I sent round to Lionel's last night
Anyone have any preference for what order they need to go in? Will we push the timeframe from every week out to every two weeks as well as that tripped us up in the second round of releases last year?
My preference would be weekly, but if someone can't make it to give plenty of notice so the person up next can jump in. The first round seemed to run smoother.
Fortnightly could work but there would have to be no delays, as otherwise it would go on forever.
Anyone have any preference for what order they need to go in?
A middle slot that doesn't clash with my orals (end of March) or actual Leaving (June) would suit me. :)
18/02/2009, 10:18 PM
Dates up in first post for your week to send out. Does this suit everyone?
stann
19/02/2009, 12:22 AM
Am happy with that anyway Jebus. Feck, will have to get thinking!
Didn't see this until now either...
In last year's exchange was there any restrictions on the diversity of the selections? I have a feeling that my mix is going to incorporate a wide range of genres, which may or may not prevent the cd from having much of a flow.
No restrictions last year Monzo, whatever you like is grand. A bit of flow a nice bonus but not essential. Thankfully! :D
The Optimist
19/02/2009, 6:55 AM
Dates up in first post for your week to send out. Does this suit everyone?
I'll go second no problem.
Sunny Jim
19/02/2009, 7:14 AM
Yeah that's fine with me.
kingdom hoop
19/02/2009, 1:46 PM
Fine by me too Cap'n.
Feck, will have to get thinking!
You've got the prime St Patrick's Week slot! Something related to green or Ireland or snake-banishing should strike the right chord! :p
I'll need postal addresses for everyone so guys and I'll get mine out next week. SligoBrewer throw me your one again and I'll send one out to you and all
kingdom hoop
19/02/2009, 7:13 PM
Do you have the addresses from the last round no? That'll save a few of us a small bitín of effort if you do... (I think I have them saved somewhere anyway if you don't.)
Edit: Yeah I had them in a PM from last time (no, I wasn't storing them with intention of nefarious activity) so for all those who participated last time your address has been forwarded to Jebus - so you don't need to PM him unless you have some other purpose for so doing, which would of course be none of my business, so I won't ask if you do or you don't.
monzo
19/02/2009, 11:24 PM
Am happy with that anyway Jebus. Feck, will have to get thinking!
Didn't see this until now either...
No restrictions last year Monzo, whatever you like is grand. A bit of flow a nice bonus but not essential. Thankfully! :D
Lovely stuff, I've a few tracks already in mind and they juxtapose quite nicely.
PM sent btw!
kingdom hoop
24/02/2009, 3:05 PM
So, here we are, on the cusp of a new season: enthusiasm mingling with tension, Hope battling Realism; the familiarity of the old, the exoticism of the new; all ready to bubble and boil together, set to form an at-times fiery, other times cool, concoction of diverse ingredients lavishly combined to form a sumptuous nine-part serving of immensely tasty fare.
Hurrah,
hurrah,
HURRAY! :)
24/02/2009, 3:32 PM
is there a running order? I'm in no hurry but can slot in wherever needed either.
kingdom hoop
24/02/2009, 3:36 PM
Yeah the running order is in the first post.
You're scheduled to go 7th, which translates as the week beginning the 6th April.
Burning my ones off tonight lads and will have them out tomorrow morning.
Excellent. And so it is re-born.
Done and dusted lads. Didn't get them out til the afternoon post so they might not reach you til Monday I'm afraid, damn college deciding to take up my time, I live in hope that those closer to me might have their copy by tomorrow though :)
I went with an all female compilation as well the non-sexist among you may be pleased to hear, some new, some old, some well known, some not so well known (maybe), a mix from Patti Smith to Le Tigre to Anais Mitchell basically
Hope you enjoy
Intriguing.
I just received a letter in the post. Inside was an unmarked cd. Folded around this cd is a blank piece of note paper. I am, of course, assuming this is from jebus. Is the track list written in invisible ink? I'm tempted to squeeze lemon juice over the piece of paper just to see.
Either that or someone is going very old school in their virus spreading methods. I'll chance it in my computer at lunch time and see what happens.
02/03/2009, 12:03 PM
Sorry, didn't have time to write anything out so I burnt the tracks onto the CD, in case that fails here is the track list
* I for one always lose those sheets of paper anyway :p
1. Patti Smith - Gloria
2. Feist - 1234
3. Sinead O'Connor - Mandinka
4. Tegan & Sara - Where Does The Good Go
5. Le Tigre - TKO
6. The All Seeing I - The Beat Goes On
7. Martha & The Vandellas - Dancin' In The Street
8. She & Him - Sweet Darlin'
9. Laura Marling - Crawled Out Of The Sea
10. The Be Good Tanyas - The Littlest Birds
11. Joanna Newsom - Peach, Plum, Pear
12. Erin McKeown - La Petite Mort
13. Ani DiFranco - Hypnotized
14. Anais Mitchell - Old Fashioned Hat
15. Nina Simone - Mr.Bojangles
16. Ella Fitzgerald - Let's Fall In Love
Lovely mix, thanks Jebus. The Sinead O'Connor track possibly the highlight. Loved TKO as well. Beforehand Gloria was the only track I had heard off the list. :eek:
The Optimist
02/03/2009, 6:06 PM
I loved the Tegan And Sara track and also the Le Tigre one.Never heard of any of those two before.
I always wondered who sang the "1234" song and now i know!
I can't decide on a theme for my selection so i'll probably just mix it up a bit and see where it goes.
Jebus can you PM me with the addreses and i'll post them out on thursday.
Glad you liked them lads
Updated list of all participants have been sent on to the Optimist so we can forward that bad boy around :)
Sunny Jim
02/03/2009, 8:25 PM
Thanks for the CD Jebus. Most of the tracks were a bit quiet for my taste tbh, but I liked Tegan & Sara, Le Tigre and The All Seeing I.
kingdom hoop
02/03/2009, 9:59 PM
Haven't listened yet but got it today alright, cheers man. Going by tracklist and Sunny Jim's response it seems I can look forward to being subtly charmed by the tenderness of it all. Excellent.
Oh but no title? What A Phe...no-male-on CD! maybe? Or less complicated, but no less delightful, Fenomenal Female?
02/03/2009, 10:03 PM
Mine was a real rush job in the end, got very busy with birthday parties, recoveries and Dubstep last week. But I'll go with your first suggestion Hoop
Was in a quiet mood last week when making it due to said recovery days, if you'd caught be this week I'd have a mix of dubstep and breakcore most likely
kingdom hoop
03/03/2009, 12:54 AM
Mine was a real rush job in the end, got very busy with birthday parties, recoveries and Dubstep last week.
Bahhhh! And you said it was college that held you up. LIAR!
Oh. Hang on. Music, parties, recoveries, more music, more parties, more recoveries. Maybe it was college! :D
Anywhichwhatway, I can safely and happily say a lack of hours of tense rumination did not unduly effect the output. Really enjoyed it, no songs I don't like, flows very nicely, as evidenced by two successive listens without so much as a discontented "hmm that's not great." I probably put it best in my looking-ahead post above, "subtly charmed by the tenderness of it all." :)
Maybe the most pleasing thing is that it's not music I'd normally listen to and don't have much of, and probably wouldn't buy a CD of most of the artists, but it's music I quite like, and now I have a nice varied CD of it. So I imagine it getting plenty of plays. Good start to the series anyway. To pick one highlight out of a consistently bright bunch, I'd probably go for the track by The Be Good Tanyas. (pity about their name though!)
Anyway, I'm rambling again.
In short - I liked it. Good work. :)
Good good, and as you pointed out, going to bed the worse for wear at 10am on a Tuesday morning, missing all of Tuesday and large chunks of Wednesday, only to do the exact same on Thursday and Friday night as you did the previous weekend is all part of the college experience. :)
No one going for Anais Mitchell as their favourite track yet is starting to make me very angry and upset though, I think I'll go get drunk :p
The Optimist
03/03/2009, 8:48 AM
No one going for Anais Mitchell as their favourite track yet is starting to make me very angry and upset though, I think I'll go get drunk :p
Without trying to sound ungrateful her voice would go through you for a short cut!
03/03/2009, 12:05 PM
Hell on a handcart this country is going to the dogs :mad: :)
Sunny Jim
03/03/2009, 1:19 PM
Anais Mitchell's song was OK Jebus, but as for Joanna Newsom, her voice is, eh, interesting to say the least. An acquired taste maybe.
I thought the same about Joanna Newsom when I first heard her, and I'd be told I'd hate her voice initially but to give it time and you'll grow to love it, and you know what, they were right
My advice: Give it time :)
The Optimist
03/03/2009, 3:49 PM
Without trying to sound ungrateful her voice would go through you for a short cut!
In my ignorant state i've just realised i mistook Anais Mitchell for Joanna Newsom!
The Anais Mitchell track isn't that bad at all!
kingdom hoop
03/03/2009, 4:33 PM
I dunno, I love Joanna Newsom. In fairness I'd heard her before so that definitely helped. Remember thinking she sounded a bit silly at first, now she's got a more lovely playful beguiling type buzz going on.
To be honest Anais Mitchell cuts through me a lot more. On which topic, how are we pronouncing "Anais"? I remember playing soccer against a lad called Anus before - a cause of considerable mirth to hear his name! Anais just reminded me of it. So is this one Anus, or Anne, or Annay, or wha?