View Full Version : Foot.ie Music Exchange 2009

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

01/04/2009, 7:20 PM
That last cd by TCM is class.

noby
02/04/2009, 10:07 AM
Louden Up arrived. I'll stick it on later. A quick scan of the track list and it looks like a fair few songs that are new to me.

stann
02/04/2009, 3:15 PM
Good, good, that's what I do be hoping for with these yokes. :)

Might as well put up the tracklist so, anyone who hasn't got it yet surely will by the a.m.

1. Cran - Cucanandy / The Dusty Miller (1995)
2. Amateur Night In The Big Top - The Story (2003)
3. A Skillz & Krafty Kuts ft TC Izlam - Tricka Technology (2004)
4. Scritti Politti - Hypnotize (1985)
5. Goldfrapp - Slide In (2005)
6. Pet - Monza (2004)
7. Echo & The Bunnymen - Never Stop (1983)
8. The Delays - Nearer Than Heaven (2003)
9. Cocteau Twins - Carolyn's Fingers (1988)
10. Elbow - Station Approach (2005)
11. Thin White Rope - Moonhead (1987)
12. Big Black - Bad Penny (1987)
13. King Of The Slums - Fanciable Headcase (1989)
14. A House - Snowball Down (1987)
15. T Power vs MK Ultra - Mutant Jazz (Full Version) (1996)
16. The Nextmen ft Dynamite MC - High Score (Stanton Warriors Remix) (2004)
17. Slyde - Kiss Kiss Bang Bang (2008)
18. Evil Nine ft Seraphim - Icicles (2008)

The Optimist
02/04/2009, 3:28 PM
Just finished my first listen stann.
There are some gems there!
The second track from "Amateur Night In The Big Top" is genius.It took me a while to cop on that it's actually Shaun Ryder.
What's the name of the album cos i have to hear more of that.

I'll listen to the cd a few more times and report back.

stann
02/04/2009, 3:45 PM
It is a cracking tune alright!
I got it off an X-Ray cover CD, if you remember that magazine from a few years ago.
That's the way it was credited on that CD, don't know if that's because it was a pre-release demo or what, but I was looking it up the other day, and it turns he actually released a solo album called Amateur Night In The Big Top under his own name. Amazon have it anyway. (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Amateur-Night-Big-Top/dp/B00009V8WR/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=music&qid=1238687049&sr=1-1)

monzo
02/04/2009, 4:02 PM
Louden Up arrived. I'll stick it on later. A quick scan of the track list and it looks like a fair few songs that are new to me.

Same for me, only heard of six of them so this should be good. I got me a headache at the minute so might not get listening to it until tomorrow.

monzo
03/04/2009, 2:47 PM
Undecided over Icicles and Mutant Jazz as the highlight. The former's chugging Pixies-like bass is just great. The first three tracks, Monza, Station Approach and Snowball Down were also well liked, while the Echo & The Bunnymen track has reminded me that I really need to get one of their albums! :)

noby
07/04/2009, 11:07 AM
Slight fore-warning - I've had a change in personal circumstances, since last Friday, which should, in theory mean I have a lot of free time to be making mix tapes, but the last couple of days I've spent sorting things out. So, my cd, while still on my to-do list, dropped down a peg or two priority-wise. I should still have them sorted towards the end of the week.

noby
14/04/2009, 7:34 PM
Ok, so, a week late and with no track list, but I finally got 'Versions' done and dusted, and posted today.
Sorry for the delay.

Oh and after the death of my printer I'll just post up the track list here instead.

monzo
14/04/2009, 10:07 PM
Good stuff :) Hmmm dunno if there'll be a printed track list from me either, unless people can persevere through bright pink writing :p

In other FME09-related news, I'm pretty sure I heard Vision Thing (by Sisters of Mercy) used as the background music for some MNS matches a couple of weeks ago.

15/04/2009, 11:10 AM
Ok, so, a week late and with no track list, but I finally got 'Versions' done and dusted, and posted today.
Sorry for the delay.

Oh and after the death of my printer I'll just post up the track list here instead.

Got it this morning and have had one listen. For now ...Smiths cover is class (won't give it away til you post tracklist other than to say there is an alternate and very, very fine version out there performed by none other than Anthrax!)

I've also been listening to Stanns (on now) and TCMs last night ...monster review planned for later today. Working on my own pretty much all day which means I'm up the walls but can blare tunes at least.
....later folks.

monzo
15/04/2009, 3:46 PM
Had a listen there now - some really great songs. Really enjoyed the double Minutemen / Kinks bomb (two of my favourite bands), Vaselines, NC and the entire first half of the album. As for the Young track, have you heard the Pixies version of it, noby? I like the original but for whatever reason I prefer their's. Is track 21 a Dino Jr. track? Pure love Mascis.

noby
15/04/2009, 9:23 PM
Good ol' An Post seem to be doing the business, so here's the tracklist:

Versions (original/alternate/cover)

The Good, The Bad And The Ugly - The Scofflaws 1998
Madness - Prince Buster All Stars 1962
History - Harry & Radcliffe 1969
Swan Lake - Madness 1979
Paranoid Android - Easystar Allstars feat. Kirsty Rock 2006
I wanna hold your hand - Al Green 1969
Wie Schon Das Ist - Marvin Gaye 1987
Higher Ground - Stevie Wonder 1973
Love Machine - Arctic Monkeys 2006
Corona - Minutemen 1984
Victoria - The Kinks 1992
I touch myself - Rolf Harris 1993
Anarchy in the UK - 386DX 2001
Joe le taxi - Stereo Total 1999
Falling - Wedding Present 1992
London - Cinerama 2000
Purple Rain - Stina Nordenstam 1998
Born in the USA - Ballboy 2003
Winterlong - Neil Young 1977
Jesus wants me for a sunbeam - The Vaselines 1986
The boy with the thorn in his side - Dinosaur Jr. 1996
Mack the knife - Nick Cave 1997
Á la fin - Blur 1994

Monzo, I'm presuming most people know the Puxies version of Winterlong, hence the original on the cd. Actually most people probably know the Neil Young version, but I really like it, so I just shoehorned it in there.
You'r correct about #21. I have a compilation where it's credited ti Dinosaur Jr., but I think it's also on a J.Mascus album.

16/04/2009, 12:01 AM
Haven't had a listen yet but I'm looking forward to it after seeing that track listing

noby
16/04/2009, 11:38 AM
Smiths cover is class

Which one, by the way?

16/04/2009, 12:46 PM
Which one, by the way?

Cinerama doing London.

The Optimist
17/04/2009, 12:30 PM
Some good tunes on there noby.
Highlights for me are The Vaselines,Steveie Wonder,Dinosour Jr and The Wedding Present.

The only downside for me was the thought of Rolf Harris "touching himself":):):)

17/04/2009, 1:10 PM
Okay I'm overdue on a few so LONG POST WARNING...

Commenting on tracks I either didn't have or especially enjoyed...

STANN
Cran - Cucanandy / The Dusty Miller (1995) great …must pick this up for the Da.
A Skillz & Krafty Kuts ft TC Izlam - Tricka Technology (2004) …rockin tune.
Scritti Politti - Hypnotize …remember them well. Was 11 when C&S was out. Preferred the Word Girl mind.
Echo & The Bunnymen - Never Stop …is it a different version to the one on the hits album? Or is that long since I’ve listened. Either way –they should’ve been U2.
The Delays - Nearer Than Heaven ...really liked this. Reminded me a bit of All About Eve and yet also St. Etienne
Big Black - Bad Penny you can really hear the influence BB had on so many subsequent rock, grunge and industrial bands.
A House - Snowball Down still sounds great even if a little of it’s time
T Power vs MK Ultra - Mutant Jazz (Full Version) .... nice blissed out breakbeat.
Slyde - Kiss Kiss Bang Bang that is very good indeed.

TCM
Georgia Swing- Jelly Roll Morton cool tune …over 80 years old now!
The Summerhouse- The Divine Comedy …great song, great recording.
There's No Night Out In The Jail- Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds . Love this. Curious that with Cave having such a strong baritone voice he’s actually struggling to get down to some of the notes.
Love, You Should've Come Over- Jeff Buckley …can’t make my mind up about this one. Hell of a performance mind.
Today Has Been Ok- Emiliana Torrini …thought this lisa hannigan. Not bad.
Hold Onto Your Friends- Morrissey …know it well. His finest lp too.
Smokey Joe's Cafe- The Coasters …my 4 year old thought this was class.
Martha- Tom Waits Find it hard to listen to this depending on my humour. Great, great song. I suppose a lot of folks have a ‘Martha’. Incidently I did a gig with a Tom Waits tribute recently…
Long Gone- Syd Barrett …gem of a record
I Wanna Be Your Boyfriend- The Ramones
The Leaving Of Liverpool- The Pogues
Classic pair of tunes by Pogues and Ramones respectively
Half A Life Away- Stiff Little Fingers …scarcely the best record SLF ever made but sounds great here. Like the A House tune on Stanns it’s very much of it’s time but there’s nothing wrong with that at all.
Albion- Babyshambles not a band tune at all. Pleasantly surprised.
Since I Left You -The Avalanches. Great track.
House Of The Rising Sun- Woody Guthrie …this is my find of the day. I’d never heard this before. Savage version, absolutely savage.
Glory Box- Portishead wow this takes me back to college …Carol from 3rd year and the way she might look at you. She was filthy –in the most excellent application of the term I should say…:cool: think she liked this lot.
Green Green Fields- The Impacts …great tune. Never heard of it or the Impacts. Quite a find a s well.
Little Church- Miles Davis –beautiful.
Naive- Lily Allen …very pleasantly surprised –genuinely thought it was Kate Nash til I saw the track listing. Very impressive performance.
Wonderful One- Vera Lynn nice closer for the CD. Good work TCM.

NOBY
The Good, The Bad And The Ugly - The Scofflaws 1998
Madness - Prince Buster All Stars 1962
History - Harry & Radcliffe 1969
Swan Lake - Madness 1979
Good Bad and Ugly aside -not mad about the reggae/ska tinged versions of opening tunes. Is that Prince Buster version not the original no?
Paranoid Android - Easystar Allstars feat. Kirsty Rock This was more impressive. Not my favourite Radiohead tune but a difficult one to deliver in any style and they did it well.
I wanna hold your hand - Al Green That's great. Never heard it before.
Wie Schon Das Ist - Marvin Gaye This is priceless. I'd recently taken to wondering what 'Saturday Night at the Movies' would sound like in German. Now I've some idea ..."Zatterdag Nacht inst der Film-Haus..."
Love Machine - Arctic Monkeys Thought this was the View doing ‘Love Machine’ til I saw the tracklisting. Cool.
Victoria - The Kinks I love Victoria as well …no idea it was The Kinks.
I touch myself - Rolf Harris Rolf Harris is the man. That’s a frightening take on the Divinyls though.
Anarchy in the UK - 386DX Anarchy cover is excellent -I thought it was Stephen Hawking :eek:
Joe le taxi - Stereo Total Joe le Taxi is excellent too.
Falling - Wedding Present Weddoes cover of Falling ****es on Julie Cruises original from a height. Some great covers in the hit parade series. Lets make some plans, cattle and cane, pleasant valley Sunday...
London - Cinerama 2000 That version of London is fantastic. Completely different vibe. For something more similar to The Smiths (just heavier) ….anthrax’ version P_DGi79uMBI
Born in the USA - Ballboy Sounds abit like David Kitt . Nice version.
Jesus wants me for a sunbeam - The Vaselines Original no? I know Nirvana covered it at some stage. I'm sure Eugene Kelly played Limerick a few years back supporting Evan Dando.
The boy with the thorn in his side - Dinosaur Jr. It only adds to the charm of it that it sounds like he's knocking it out at a 'back to mine for a bevvy' party at 4AM.

Nice one Noby.

noby
17/04/2009, 9:44 PM
A very detailed post! As for the 'Original, no?' queries, yes they are. Hence the title 'Verions', including original versions.

The German Marvin Gaye is from a Motown compilation - all the original artists re-recording their songs in German, Italian, Spanish etc. Berry Gordy really knew how to work it.

Sunny Jim
29/04/2009, 10:37 AM
Gone a bit quiet here lately hasn't it?

Anyway I’ve been a bit busy lately so I have only got to listen to Stann’s CD as yet. I loved the King of the Slums; I’m definitely going to check out more of their stuff.

I was a bit shocked to find out the singer of The Delays was, eh, male, but I liked the song. I also liked the Elbow and Big Black songs.

Also “Kiss Kiss Bang Bang” is a song I would normally run a mile from but I find it strangely good and I don’t know why.

Anyway I hope to listen to TCM’s and Noby’s CD’s before the end of the week.

Sunny Jim
29/04/2009, 10:40 AM
By the way, I will be posting my CD’s out on Friday or Monday next.

From what I’ve heard so far there doesn’t appear to be much of an appetite for heavy rock/metal so I’ve toned it down a bit and thrown a few quieter tracks into the mix, but it’s still best listened to loud!!

Sunny Jim
06/05/2009, 10:28 AM
“Songs from the Bog” is on the way today; you should have it tomorrow. I tried to maintain a flow by starting with the quieter tunes, gradually working up to the loudest ones at the end. I’ll post up the tracklist tomorrow.

BTW Lionel, you have a PM.

Sunny Jim
07/05/2009, 11:37 AM
Here's the tracklist.

1 Avenues - Ahab 2006
2 I Don't Mind At All - Bourgeois Tagg 1987
3 Yesterday's Girl - Cry Before Dawn 1989
4 Just A Shadow - Big Country 1984
5 Thunderstorm - Pierce Turner 1993
6 Jig of Life - Kate Bush 1985
7 Holloway Girl - Marillion 1989
8 Personal Saviour - Mo' Solid Gold 2001
9 Empty at the End - Electric Soft Parade 2003
10 Highs and Lows - The Laundry Shop 2007
11 You Know My Name - Chris Cornell 2007
12 Unsatisfied - Nine Black Alps 2005
13 Wayward Child (Live) - Rory Gallagher 1980
14 Kennedy - Wedding Present 1989
15 The Wrath of Marcie - The Go! Team 2007
16 Before Tomorrow Comes- Alterbridge 2008
17 State of Love and Trust- Pearl Jam 1992
18 Take Me Home - Wilt 2002
19 Crying Shame - Muse 2007
20 Blind Man - Black Stone Cherry 2008
21 State of the Union - Rise Against 2005
22 Broken Man - Von Bondies 2004

monzo
07/05/2009, 4:07 PM
Haven't listened to it yet (haven't had the chance to give stann and noby's cds the time they deserve either) but must say I've always loved 'State of Love and Trust'. 'Kennedy' too (even had it on a preliminary list for my mix tape!:D).

stann
11/05/2009, 7:44 AM
Had a few spins now Sunny Jim, very much enjoyed it I must say. :)

Safe to say some of the stuff would not be my cup of tea, but it was great to hear, especially some excellent examples of the power ballad! :D

Highlights include the Ahab tune, Pierce Turner, The Laundry Shop (always wanted to know who did that), Nine Black Alps, Alterbridge (which was a really nice surprise, and nice to see that stuff is still being done well) and the Von Bondies.
Kennedy is probably my favourite Weddoes tune, just brilliant, and The Wrath Of Marcie is my current fave from the Go! Team, so two excellent inclusions there.
Brilliant to see a Big Country tune on there also. Though I tend to favour the stuff from their first album, it just shows they didn't half write some cracking songs.
Love the Kate Bush track also, madly over-the-top, brilliant! If I remember right there's some big Irish names on that one, including her brother Paddy who's a top, top trad musician. Great album that too. It's also inspired a good spin of her old stuff in the last few days, so thanks for that.
Actually, was a bit jealous that you were able to put a few Wexford acts in the mix, thinking that Val Doonican and Gilbert O'Sullivan don't quite match up, but then I remembered Kate is a good Waterford girl, which'll do for me! :)

The Optimist
11/05/2009, 9:08 AM
Being listening to "songs from the bog" a few times over the weekend.

A lot of good stuff in there and a few others that wouild'nt rock my boat.

Highlights for me:
Broken Man - Von Bondies. An all time classic.
Just A Shadow - Big Country. One of the best bands around in the 80's early 90's.
Thunderstorm - Pierce Turner.
Jig Of Life - Kate Bush. This one really surprised me!
Unsatisfied - Nine Black Alps. Check out the album!
Wayward Child - Rory Gllagher.
Kennedy - Wedding Present
State Of Love & Trust - Pearl Jam.
Take Me Home - Wilt.

Nice to see the Wexford connection in the track list.
I didn't include the Cry Before Dawn song because cos it wouldn't be a favourite of mine.A great band in there day and have a lot more stronger songs that that one.

Overall an enjoyable cd that brought back some good memories.

12/05/2009, 12:49 PM
Hi folks, with yeer indulgence I'm going to be a week late with mine which is due this friday/weekend I believe. I'm just busy with rocknroll stuff. If that's okay I'll be getting them out wednesday/thursday next week ...or if anyone wants to fill the gap this week -fine. short notice I know.

Got a couple of listens to Sunny Jims while out driving at the weekend. Eclectic for a rock based CD. I'll give a more detailed review later on but I know and love the Wedding Present (played support to them and Cinerama!) and Bourgeois Tag tunes ...In fact I have both on 12" somwhere.

Big Country tune is great as well. I could never get into Cry Before Dawn I'm afraid though.

I'll have a few more listens over the week.

Sunny Jim
13/05/2009, 7:44 AM
Well I'm glad ye enjoyed some of the tracks anyway.

p***r b****d!

Stann, they're two dirty words. If I thought my taste had fallen that far I would end it all now!

kingdom hoop
16/05/2009, 1:40 AM
Well I'm glad ye enjoyed some of the tracks anyway.

Your choice of words is uncannily appropriate given, for whatever reason, my version of Songs From The Bog played only the first eight songs before giving me guff - the kind of unnegotiable guff that leads to a disgruntled yet appreciative "meh" from me, in that I listened to what I could, and enjoyed as much, but was subsequently left dumbstruck as my mind willed the following songs to play, but the technology was just not willing to cooperate. (Those of us with Fit-Minds-But-Unfit-Bodies-Syndrome should be feeling a touch empathetic at this juncture.)

So be it, is my attitude.
Perhaps, after all, it was meant to be so. Maybe the first 8 songs are of such divine standing that God decreed they should stand alone - not to be tarnished by the subsequent few, maybe like a good-looking Cork bird before she opens her mouth?

Anyways, embarrassed at my tardiness and general lackadasicalness, I avow to become more visible (and audible). However, I won't fill in for Lionel this week. But I note that Monzo is due to go the week after. And I remember Monzo's doing the Leaving -- so I'll go after Lionel, so that our Star Student is not unduly distracted with Non-Curricular Duties. (so FAO Monzo, the choice is yours, don't feel under pressure to deliver, or even send, your offering.)

Over, and, out.... (for now)

monzo
16/05/2009, 11:20 AM
Anyways, embarrassed at my tardiness and general lackadasicalness, I avow to become more visible (and audible). However, I won't fill in for Lionel this week. But I note that Monzo is due to go the week after. And I remember Monzo's doing the Leaving -- so I'll go after Lionel, so that our Star Student is not unduly distracted with Non-Curricular Duties. (so FAO Monzo, the choice is yours, don't feel under pressure to deliver, or even send, your offering.)

Over, and, out.... (for now)

Yep, go right ahead, can thus fully concentrate on the damn exams :D I can then get the mixes sent out in the second or third week of June.

As for Sunny Jim's mix, I got listening to it just the once, t'was pretty good overall (highlights include Wayward Child, Unsatisfied, You Know My Name, Broken Man and Jig of Life) but I'd need a second listen to comment on it more.

Sunny Jim
20/05/2009, 11:16 AM
Your choice of words is uncannily appropriate given, for whatever reason, my version of Songs From The Bog played only the first eight songs before giving me guff - the kind of unnegotiable guff that leads to a disgruntled yet appreciative "meh" from me, in that I listened to what I could, and enjoyed as much, but was subsequently left dumbstruck as my mind willed the following songs to play, but the technology was just not willing to cooperate.

I take it you mean "it broke", KH??

Sorry about that. Heads will roll. I'll post another one to you later this week.

kingdom hoop
20/05/2009, 4:27 PM
I take it you mean "it broke", KH??

Yeah, that was what I was trying to say alright. :)

Thanks for re-sending Jim (no need for an extra case though I suppose).

23/05/2009, 9:35 AM
Hi lads, been doing some work on my compilation and will use this rainy day to nail it down. Expect some snap, crackle and pop (okay not snap they were s***e) as I've been digitising some of my old 7" vinyls this week. Should be in the post on monday.

Sunny Jims CD is standing up to repeated listens with Go Team, Wilt and Rise Against added to my list of favourites.

stann
01/06/2009, 11:25 AM
Sorry to always be the one doing this, but any white smoke from the Treaty City yet?

01/06/2009, 11:36 AM
Sorry to always be the one doing this, but any white smoke from the Treaty City yet?

Apologies for the delay Stann ...and everyone else. I should've flagged sooner that I'd run into some difficulties ...mainly time constraints. I know I'm overdue but I've most of the tunes assembled. Just need to grab the time to do the burning.

Will keep all better informed.

04/06/2009, 1:18 PM
Gentlemen, the missiles are flying. :)

stann
04/06/2009, 2:35 PM
Sweet.
Preparing for some snap (small s), crackle and pop so! :)

04/06/2009, 2:59 PM
Actually I bunched all the 7" conversions at the end as I'd say a beachball would've dug a better groove on my vinyl than that old stylus -which has definitely seen better days.

Nothing especially 'new' -as in 'recently released' though maybe a few bits, particularily home grown and locally produced, that won't be well known ...none of that applies to the retro big-beat section which is very mainstream and just for kicks.

I'll post a tracklisting over the weekend.

monzo
05/06/2009, 3:01 PM
Just got it in the post there. Likin' the disc, Lionel! :D

I'll have a listen to it sometime next week. Looking forward to track number two - only heard the original a few days ago and was quite blown away.

stann
05/06/2009, 7:25 PM
Got it today too. Driving tomorrow so will give it a good spin. Looks excellent though, can't beat a bit of Big Beat! :)
Some blast from the past with the Tuesday Blue too, loved that song, not heard it in years!

08/06/2009, 11:07 AM
Hope ye don't mind my sticking a tuppence worth in on my own as well. Hope they all made it. For some reason the last few seconds were clipped off the final tune on 1 or 2 of them.

Lonnie Donnegan –Tom Dooley (1958)
Johnny Cash – The Mercy Seat (2000)
The Hitchers – Liver (1997)

Have to confess a selfish interest here. Was in The Hitchers and we used those first two as our intro tunes. Yeah ...two intro tunes! Up our own holes or what? Just carrying on a little tradition with Tom Dooley as I started LionelVol1 with a Lonnie Donnegan tune as well. The Mercy Seat might’ve been written for Johnny Cash he does it that well.

Dropkick Murphys – Rocky Road to Dublin (2001)
It’s a bit begorrah but still crackin.

Jinx Lennon – City of Styrofoam Cups (2007)
Probably the finest Irish writer of his generation. From the LP Know Your Station Gouger Nation.

Tooth – Perfect Teeth (1999)
Windings – Surrounded (2005)
...bit of rock’n’roll family trees here. After Tooth called it a day Steven Ryan (guitar/vocals) went on to form Giveamanakick (who’s Hatch 77 was on my previous compilation. Mark O’Connor (bass/vocals) who’s Float On was also on Lionels Vol1 was also in Tooth and, as well as his own stuff, he has gone on to engineer pretty much everything remarkable in Limrock over the last decade) . Meanwhile Steven Ryan has also released an album as Windings and frequently performs Windings material ably assisted by yet another Tooth member Liam Marley.
The Shanks – Babbling (1998)
Rulers of the Planet – Phone No. (2005)
...This week on Rock Family trees –The Shanks –this is an unfinished mix of Babbling (or Babbling Brook as I always knew it) by the pride of Kanturk, Co. Cork. They released an album on their own, ‘The Prawn Lawn’, in the mid 90’s before recording ‘Brang,’ from which this tune is lifted, for Murgatroid -the same label The Hitchers were on, in 97-98. After The Shanks the band members re-emerged in Rulers of the Planet (Mick and Niall), and Stanley Super 800 (Stan)

Cooper – Hanging on the Telephone (1996)
Top drawer cover by Dutch punks Cooper.
Zwan – Lyric (2003) I thought this tune was easily as good as most of The Smashing Pumpkins stuff and it’s a pity Corgan couldn’t hold the whole show together .

Spinal Tap – Tonight I’m Gonna Rock You (1984)
Had to go with this one after a cup final replay between it and ‘Sex Farm’. Never mind lyrically dubious stuff like the Police’ Dont Stand So Close or ABBAs Does Your Mother Know ...this puts it up to Gary Glitter .
“Your Sweet, but you’re just four feet, and you still got your babyteeth. You’re too young and I’m too well hung , but tonight I’m gonna rock you!”
Half Man Half Biscuit – The Referees Alphabet (2000) The Y is for Yate –the kind of town referees come from. :D

Fat Boy Slim – The Rockafeller Skank (1998)
Cornershop –Brimful of Asha (FBS Extended Remix) (1998)
Wildchild – Renegade Master (FBS Remix)(1998)
DJ Shadow Vs Metallica –Number Song feat Orion (Lionel Ritchie Blackguard Mash) (2009)
Ah Fatboy you genius. The magic of FBS lay in his ability to let no-hoper indie DJs (I was that soldier) break out of the constraints of playing Blur, Oasis etc... by creating a range of off-the-shelf mixes all of which had the same bpm and all of which had a drumless noisy bit three quarters of the way in where you could just fade up the next one –thus enabling beatless morons hold a headphone can up to one ear with their shoulder while punching the air with their free arm and urging the crowd to come AAAAAwwwwnn!! . All the while doing fatboys plugging for him. The sample of Metallica/Cliff Burtons intro to Orion wasn’t credited on the notes of Entroducing though it’s credited on the wiki. I just mixed a wee bit more in at each end. Crackin record all round.

The 7”s
Tuesday Blue – Tunnel Vision (1986) released on U2s Mother label and re-released by EMI three years later.
The Soupdragons – Hang Ten (1986) long before they sold their souls to floppy madchester ****ness like I’m Free –The Soup Dragons made very, very fine singles like Hang Ten which reached 102 in the charts late in 86. Tired of only reaching 102 and being patronised as a 2nd division Housemartins they sold their souls to floppy madchester ****ness like I’m Free.
Andy White – Here Come The Girls (1988) ...sound a bit familiar in places? I thought so too. Not the first time the Belfast bard had the arse ripped out of one of his songs by a pop act either. Have a listen to ‘Na Na Na Na’ next to Westlifes World of Our Own.
Fuzzbox – Love Is The Slug (1987) I shoplifted this from Golden Discs (no wonder they’re going to the wall) in early 1987. Don’t try and smuggle 7”s out of shops in your arse-crack –it’s extremely dangerous.
Klinkhamer – It Doarp (1990) If you can’t make out what he’s singing it’s probably because he’s singing in Fresian. Klinkhamer were a ska-punk band from Leeuwarden in the northern Netherlands.
Andy Stewart – Donald Where’s Your Troosers? (1957)
...if you can find a better Elvis impersonator –you hire him! My son loves this and listens to it at bedtime.

stann
10/06/2009, 10:01 AM
Absolutely loved it, Lionel, you've gone and raised the bar another few notches with this one.
Mixed, and your own mash-up! :eek:
What did you use for the mixing and to burn it properly can I ask?

To the tunes, well quicker to say the Dropkick Murphys was maybe a bit meh for me, but I loved everything else.

Especially loved:
Johnny Cash – The Mercy Seat Agree with the above, this and Hurt are two covers at least that he was made to sing
The Hitchers – Liver Heard of them through here, not heard the song though. Simply brilliant line that, "she broke my heart, so I ate her liver" :D
Jinx Lennon – City of Styrofoam Cups Just love this song, really must get myself that album
The Shanks – Babbling Also new to me, this one, and another band to check out
Spinal Tap – Tonight I’m Gonna Rock You Haha, class inclusion!
Big Beat Interlude Great inclusion too, love anything Big Beat, and am a huge fan of Mr Cook's work, no matter how LCD he's supposed to be. Chap has the midas touch - that Cornershop remix is phenomenal. Nifty bit of mixing by yourself there too!
DJ Shadow Vs Metallica – Number Song feat Orion (Lionel Ritchie Blackguard Mash) That's quite impressive! Anything with Shadow in it gets my vote, but with your own mash you've gone and done it now...
Tuesday Blue – Tunnel Vision Blast from the past this one. Knew the chorus still though, belting it out word perfect in the car :D
The Soupdragons – Hang Ten Loved that era Soup Dragons, the singles at least. Soft As Your Face was another cracker I remember from around the same time, before they went faux baggy.
Fuzzbox – Love Is The Slug Man, had not heard this in ages either. Another band I loved at the time, a somewhat guilty pleasure maybe.
Andy Stewart – Donald Where’s Your Troosers? Have to love this song, never heard the Elvis bit though, it's quite uncanny!

10/06/2009, 1:32 PM
Absolutely loved it, Lionel, you've gone and raised the bar another few notches with this one.
Mixed, and your own mash-up! :eek:
What did you use for the mixing and to burn it properly can I ask? Mixed the FBS/DJShadow/Metallica stuff in Adobe Audition (formerly Cool Edit Pro) which is actually more of a multi-track studio than a fruityloops or even Cubase type sequencer.

Burned with Nero -there's a setting in there where you can change the duration of the gap between songs, which is 2 secs by default, or remove it altogether. There's an overlap/crossfade function in there as well but truthfully I don't think it's great. It's too long and automatically fades out the ending track and fades up the new track which isn't what you'd be after mixing dance stuff certainly.

Spinal Tap – Tonight I’m Gonna Rock You Haha, class inclusion!
Yep ...I actually have Smell The Glove. What a title! They should've gone with the original artwork mind. They'd get into less grief over that today than this little ode to underage groupies. They're playing Wembley Arena on June 30th!

DJ Shadow Vs Metallica – Number Song feat Orion (Lionel Ritchie Blackguard Mash) That's quite impressive! Anything with Shadow in it gets my vote, but with your own mash you've gone and done it now...
Didn't actually do a lot with it beyond sticking the intro to Orion at the start and a stretching a sample to fit over the all drums outro. I remember at the time Entroducing was released it was boasted the record contained no new performances and was an "audio-collage" of samples form old records which was why I found it curious that Orion wasn't creditied ...he just mightn't have gotten clearance to use it at that point which makes releasing it at all very, very risky if Metallica/Cliff Burton Estate had decided to play silly buggers.

I remember telling mates of mine "that's Orion by Metallica" and some of them saying "nah ...I'm not hearing it". One bass-player buddy of mine did point out that anyone who buys Bassist-Monthly type magazines could get the settings and gear needed to create the exact sound Burton got. But that doesn't sit well with DJ Shadows no-new-performances boast. Either way the sample's since been acknowledged.

Fuzzbox – Love Is The Slug Man, had not heard this in ages either. Another band I loved at the time, a somewhat guilty pleasure maybe! Fuzzbox or to give them their full moniker We've Got A Fuzzbox And We're Gonna Use It were a great band even if a bit one dimensional -before some clown decided to "produce" them while they were still young and suggestable enough to partake in muck like Pink Sunshine in 1989. I have that album on cassette somewhere, got it in a bargain bin for a punt, and it is the most tragic piece of claptrap imaginable when one considers that three years earlier these girls were coming up with stuff like this and 'Rules and Regulations'.

RkOj282VD-Q

Andy Stewart – Donald Where’s Your Troosers? Have to love this song, never heard the Elvis bit though, it's quite uncanny! It's savage. ...got the year wrong on this -just being picky -it's from 1961.

stann
10/06/2009, 2:56 PM
Mixed the FBS/DJShadow/Metallica stuff in Adobe Audition (formerly Cool Edit Pro) which is actually more of a multi-track studio than a fruityloops or even Cubase type sequencer.

Burned with Nero -there's a setting in there where you can change the duration of the gap between songs, which is 2 secs by default, or remove it altogether.

Ah right, that's a commercial bit of gear isn't it? What's your recommendation on it, is it worth it for the part-time noodler who may or may not be a little bit simple? :) Would be too big a job for something like Audacity I guess.
What about Nero? Though no doubt there's no shortage of freeware burning software that will let you put zero gaps in too.
And at risk of hijacking the thread, one more thing :D, for those mixed tunes, did you set the CD track start points in Nero too, or in Audition?

You going over to see Spinal Tap? :D

10/06/2009, 5:29 PM
Ah right, that's a commercial bit of gear isn't it? What's your recommendation on it, is it worth it for the part-time noodler who may or may not be a little bit simple? :) Would be too big a job for something like Audacity I guess.
I've only audacity a couple of times but found it a little cumbersome and clanky. But you probably could do a similar job with it. Adobe Audition is a better piece of gear in my opinion. It's quite easy to use even for someone inexperienced with it. Though you can use it for high end stuff as well. I'm recording an album at the moment and I'll probably end up partially or fully mixing it with Audition and I'll definitely master it with it.

What about Nero? Though no doubt there's no shortage of freeware burning software that will let you put zero gaps in too. I'd say any of the burner software out there should have that function. I have Roxios Easy CD Creator as well on my old PC so I'll check.

And at risk of hijacking the thread, one more thing :D, for those mixed tunes, did you set the CD track start points in Nero too, or in Audition?
Did it in Audition. Imported the tunes put them into a session to create a single audio file and then broke it up again when I'd them overlapping as desired. See jpeg below...

http://c2.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images02/88/l_5538a723f4614b54ba3a5283930455c9.jpg

probably can't see the text but track 2 is Rockafeller Skank, track 3 is Cornershop and 4 is renegade master. The green line running along the top of each track but which plunges downward during rockafeller skank is what's called a volume envelope. you can push and pull that line all over the place to make the volume rise and fall. Here I'm just using it for a simple enough fade out. You can see another line -blue this time -running through the middle of each track. That's the pan envelope and you can push a track to either side of the mix as frequently as you like with that. As you can see I left it dead center all the way.

So when I was happy with how the tracks overlap -I created a mixdown -which is in the "edit" dropdown menu and you can see the 2 vertical pale lines where I split the mixdown in to three seperate files again.

stann
11/06/2009, 12:27 PM
Ah very good, cheers Lionel, looks and sounds kinda similar to Audacity, superficially at least. And enough for me not to be put off by it! You'd recommend a purchase so?
How does it handle speed tweaking and beatmatching type stuff? Didn't arise with the FBS stuff I know. :D

11/06/2009, 12:47 PM
Ah very good, cheers Lionel, looks and sounds kinda similar to Audacity, superficially at least. And enough for me not to be put off by it! You'd recommend a purchase so?
How does it handle speed tweaking and beatmatching type stuff? Didn't arise with the FBS stuff I know. :D

It's fine. I'd to get the exact time of a drum loop in the dj shadow tune and stretch the metallica riff to match and it did it fine. For that matter I'd to tweak the key of the metallica riff as well as DJS had raised it a little under a semitone for number song. It'll let you do all that. It has find beats/snap to beats/loop to beats functions as well though honestly I don't use them much.

It is similar to audacity. Audacity remended me a lot of wave studio which I got on my first PC. I think the version I have somewhere might be very basic just.

kingdom hoop
13/06/2009, 12:17 PM
Buachaillí, I am about to concoct the next sonic smorgasbord for your respective auditory amazements. So you should have another treat finding its way to you some day next week (probably later in the week). I suspect the only mixing will be of genre, but let that not disappoint you, for this will be special. Well, we'll see. I think I'll set a guiding selection-philosophy of something kinda global with a fairly laid-back, cheerful vibe - as that's generally what I listen to and it should fit in with the summer season. So expect something, let's say "exultantly chilled" (if that isn't too oxymoronic). Ok, less typing, more thinking, 'whhhay I go. :)

kingdom hoop
18/06/2009, 11:01 AM
Bloody forgot to buy CDs the past two days (hopefully I'll manage the onerous task today), so 'twill probably be next week by the time Pat gets them to you. You can continue to enjoy Lionel's for now.

The setlist is practically settled - the infeasibly unappeasable collator almost satisfied. I think I've managed to largely stick to my brief, it has a slightly different feel to all the other offerings that each had slightly different feels, so hopefully such continuing variation is welcomed.

21/06/2009, 10:14 PM
Brought your CD over to New York with me Lionel and these Americans sure like their Lionel Ritchie mixes :)

Great CD again that raises the bar yet again. Now if only we could persuade the Hitchers to reform ;)

Can't wait for Kingdom Hoop's CD now, I have to hold my hand's up and say that I enjoy this Kerry degenerate's mixes the best :D