View Full Version : Everton in for Coleman

Pages : 1 2 [3]

thesilverfox
03/02/2009, 4:18 PM
if he signed its a bit weird that there is no mention of him whatsoever on the everton website.

brianw82
03/02/2009, 6:11 PM
if he signed its a bit weird that there is no mention of him whatsoever on the everton website.

There is also no mention of it on Setanta, who went through all the final day transfers earlier.

thesilverfox
03/02/2009, 6:35 PM
theres a synopsis on the bbc website also of all the premier league spending and what movements, in and out, each team had. All it showed for Everton was Jo. Am I the only one thats a little worried by this. I know rte have an article up regarding the signing but seeing nothing on the efc website or any of the forums ive checked is cause for concern

03/02/2009, 10:01 PM
Yeah. I'm not sure what the craic is at all like...

LBrett91
03/02/2009, 10:08 PM
ya but on The Sun and ESPN which is the more trusted one they have him down as signed. really this strange. why do not say they have signed on their website and end the confusion.

WoodquayBoy
04/02/2009, 9:27 AM
Lads, it is on the Evertone website that he has signed
http://www.evertonfc.com/match/transfers.html
No mention of a fee, but he is there all right, and best of luck to him, one of the best young players in the league IMO

red metal
04/02/2009, 9:47 AM
Must have been only put up this morning!Best of luck to the lad.

04/02/2009, 10:05 AM
http://www.evertonfc.com/news/archive/moyes-confirms-coleman-arrival.html

lowroadrover
04/02/2009, 10:38 AM
Glad for him, he was great for us ,love to see him make it to the first team.

dong
04/02/2009, 11:09 AM
Glad for him, he was great for us ,love to see him make it to the first team.
Agreed. Hope it goes well for the lad. Seemed like a nice guy too.

kkontour
04/02/2009, 12:09 PM
Hes a big loss to the club, but deserves every success,
Good luck to him.

Guts&Glory
04/02/2009, 12:21 PM
Does anyone have any definite information about

(A) How much we got for Seamie £ 60,000/£150,000/£60,000 with add ons.......

(B) Does whatever Money we did get go towards the
€ 60,000 needed for Paul to get back on board?

My understanding is that Rovers already had money put aside to pay any players up to the start of the new season so Seamie's transfer money should not have been needed for that.

The sound of silence from Rovers is great, stating the transfer money as undisclosed.....not as if we are talking millions of Euro here so why is it disclosed ? Everton signed a lad for £15m in the summer and the transfer fee relating to Seamie is undisclosed??????!!!!!!

Great to see the Rovers board not orgainising a fundraiser by themselves , unless you count a plea to 12 businesses to contribute €5,000 each for no return on offer not even a advertising hoarding or the like.

To quote Brannigan "it's up to the supporters".....is not up to the board as well??????

Instead they leave it up to the Trust to do much the work.

The Rovers website still shows the 1st Division trophy presentation of 2005 with Mickey Mc and Faz in it............

Time for a revolution lads...Board out Trust in!!!

red_away
04/02/2009, 12:22 PM
I just want to know what we got for him!

If it remains undisclosed the rumour mill will go into overdrive and all sorts of negative crap will come from this!!!

brianw82
04/02/2009, 12:39 PM
I'm just imagining a conversation between Coleman and Liverpool folk, 2 horrible accents combine..... *shudder*

Redie
04/02/2009, 3:33 PM
According to Today's champion we got 60k up front with add on's and that 60k was included in the budget that was approved by the FAI.
Other clubs made offers but none were as much as Everton.

Everton recently paid 1 millon pounds to plymouth for a 17 year old.

RedRebel32
04/02/2009, 3:56 PM
Daylight robbery, how long is this going to go on? Seems to me our club is not being run in a professional manner,look at what jay o'shea was going to go for like!

I wish seamie all the best, a top lad and great player.I would love to know the ins and outs of this deal because tbh,it looks like we could have got more through compensation.60k is ridiculous as an initial fee,peanuts to everton they probably pay more than that weekly to just 2 players,madness

red metal
04/02/2009, 4:23 PM
http://www.people.co.uk/sport/tm_headline=everton-to-sign-seamus-coleman&method=full&objectid=21050827&siteid=93463-name_page.html

Seems Moyes had Mc stay watching him

LBrett91
04/02/2009, 4:36 PM
ya in that article it says "surprise cut-price deal". that wonder if they are even surprised by the low money he went for. is there a sell on clause in the transfer from what people are saying? great for the lad. hope he makes it for everton and plays for Ireland. looks like the coleman for ireland songs last year in the showgrounds might be right!!!:D

forza rovers
04/02/2009, 5:28 PM
best of luck to the lad!a great player and hope he breaks into the first team soon.

sligofan4ever
04/02/2009, 5:46 PM
Good luck to the lad. must keep a look at for Evertons cup match tonight and see did he atleast make the bench.

brianw82
04/02/2009, 6:06 PM
Good lick to the lad. must keep a look at for Evertons cup match tonight and see did he atleast make the bench.

That'd be a bit too soon for him, tbh. He's just coming back to training, and they'd need to have a proper look at him in training themselves.

Rovers fan
04/02/2009, 6:15 PM
Good lick to the lad.

Whatever your into;)

Rovers Maniac
04/02/2009, 10:11 PM
Moyes showed tonight if Seamie is good enough he will get his chance, good club to go to. :)

04/02/2009, 10:16 PM
Moyes showed tonight if Seamie is good enough he will get his chance, good club to go to. :)

One of Everton's greatest days thanks to Moyes' youth policy. They bought Seamie.. and did I miss something else?;)

Inside Man
04/02/2009, 10:19 PM
Certainly better than that other pile of muck lying across the river mersy.
(Very annoyed liverpool fan)

Indeed he will get his chance and would love to see him make a player of himself as we all know he is quality. Is there nobody on here absolutely enraged about that transfer fee we got for him. The club could have easily sqeezed an extra 30-40k up front for him and we wouldn't now be looking at Cook going or having to fork more of our own money out to help the club.

celticV3
04/02/2009, 10:48 PM
On tonights performance seamie is better than Hibbert

Redzer
05/02/2009, 3:37 PM
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11671_4897413,00.html

whiteagle
07/02/2009, 11:22 PM
Theres no point saying we could of got 30k or 40k more for coleman, thats easy to say on this forum..

At the end of all the speculation everton were the only club with an offer in for Seamie take it or leave it .. they offered the 60k .. so we would of been wrong to hold onto him and not let him fulfill his potential. We have never received that much for any one player so we are doing well , Seamie gets to go to a premier league club and the club gets sixty thousand to help with our financial problems..

red arrow
08/02/2009, 10:55 AM
your on the button white eagle and remember when seamie makes the breakthrough (which he will) we will get another little nestegg.

Well Red
08/02/2009, 7:29 PM
Interested Red Arrow that you feel we will receive add ons from Everton when Shamie breaks through, is this a fact or are you being optimistic. Shows how hard up we are when we let a player of this quality go for €60K and it also shows what a shower Everton are to insult us with this money. Some years ago Everton were known as the Bank of England team because of their wealth, must have slipped in the meantime to Bank of Scotland or Bank of Iceland. Everton simply took advantage of our dire position and one cannot admire them for that but naturally we wish Shamie well.

Redkenrover
08/02/2009, 9:52 PM
Interested Red Arrow that you feel we will receive add ons from Everton when Shamie breaks through, is this a fact or are you being optimistic. Shows how hard up we are when we let a player of this quality go for €60K and it also shows what a shower Everton are to insult us with this money. Some years ago Everton were known as the Bank of England team because of their wealth, must have slipped in the meantime to Bank of Scotland or Bank of Iceland. Everton simply took advantage of our dire position and one cannot admire them for that but naturally we wish Shamie well.

Its a fact. We will get more when he makes 1st team debut, when he makes 10 1st team appearances and when he makes international debut. Fact of the matter is that football is a business and Everton offered as little as possible for Seamie, and as the selling club Rovers then have two options.

1. In the absence of another offer, accept the offer on the table. No matter what we are entitled to under FIFA regulations, the selling club has the right to sell the player on their terms.

2. Reject the offer, wait until Seamies contract runs out and see him leave, probably resenting SRFC for inhibiting his career.

As it is he leaves with the best wishes of all and on good terms with the club. Remember Seamie is a good player but has a bit to go to reach his full potential. Everton are not going to come in and offer us a load of money. Thats the reality of it.

08/02/2009, 10:14 PM
We got him for free, he did exceptionally well for us and sold him for what will rise to a decent enough figure one day. Let's face, we've been screwed a lot worse down the years...

RedRebel32
09/02/2009, 4:05 PM
We got him for free, he did exceptionally well for us and sold him for what will rise to a decent enough figure one day. Let's face, we've been screwed a lot worse down the years...

But rory, do you not think it a sad state of affairs when the best thing we can say about our most valuable asset moving on with his career is that we've been screwed a lot worse in the past? There is no point crying about it now as the deal is done and we must move on, however perhaps it would be wise to try and improve the club organizationally so as in the future we stopped getting screwed

DocRovers
09/02/2009, 6:53 PM
He move very close to the close of the transfer window to the club that made the best offer. If he did'nt go then he would have had to wait till the summer & that is valuable time when you are Seamus' age - plus I am sure it is'nt what the lad wanted. There is no guarantee that a better offer would have come in for him next time either. To continually second guess & criticise the organisation of the club without knowing all the facts is a little unfair.

Shedend83
10/02/2009, 5:03 PM
Best of luck to him !

http://evertonfc.com/news/archive/coleman-debut-for-reserves.html

sligofan4ever
10/02/2009, 6:15 PM
Link wont work for me Shedend83, Although I would expect hes in the reserves match tonight for Everton.

happydays97
10/02/2009, 7:31 PM
http://www.evertonfc.com/player-profile/seamus-coleman

sligored
10/02/2009, 8:50 PM
one nil result - report differs from teams reported - anichebe not in team reported on everton site

Boro Reserves 1 Everton Reserves 0

A LATE James Cronesberry drive gave Boro Reserves all three points against Everton at Central Avenue, writes SAM LOUGHRAN...

Seb Hines make his first start since returning from a matchless loan spell with Derby, while David Knight starts in goal with Jason Steele is currently on international duty with England U19s.

Victor Anichebe started up front for Everton and was the only recognised outfield experience in the Toffees' line-up.

Everton created the first chance of the game inside three minutes as Jose Baxter burst through the Boro defence and despite being under strong pressure from Hines and Joe Bennett, fired a shot to the right of Knight which the 'keeper parried round for a corner.

Teams

Boro: Knight; Corker, Hines, Robinson, Bennett, Gal-Andrezly, Saiko, Smallwood, Cronesberry, Franks, Porritt. Subs: Filler (gk); Oliver, Weldon, Gray, Otte.

Everton: Turner; Coleman, Irving, McCarten, Barnett, Powell, Wallace, Akpan, O'Kane, Baxter, Spencer. Subs: Davies, Krenn, Duffy, Kinsella, McAleny

10/02/2009, 9:36 PM
For those of you with subscriptions to Setanta, AFAIK Everton's reserves are playing Liverpool's next week, so that match should be live on Liverpool's Digital Channel.

Chance to see Seamie in action;)

10/02/2009, 9:53 PM
For those of you with subscriptions to Setanta, AFAIK Everton's reserves are playing Liverpool's next week, so that match should be live on Liverpool's Digital Channel.

Chance to see Seamie in action;)Just checked the listings, tis on alright. Nice one:)

10/02/2009, 10:01 PM
ye'd be lost without me;)

Donegalcelt
10/02/2009, 10:06 PM
one nil result - report differs from teams reported - anichebe not in team reported on everton site

Boro Reserves 1 Everton Reserves 0

A LATE James Cronesberry drive gave Boro Reserves all three points against Everton at Central Avenue, writes SAM LOUGHRAN...

Seb Hines make his first start since returning from a matchless loan spell with Derby, while David Knight starts in goal with Jason Steele is currently on international duty with England U19s.

Victor Anichebe started up front for Everton and was the only recognised outfield experience in the Toffees' line-up.

Everton created the first chance of the game inside three minutes as Jose Baxter burst through the Boro defence and despite being under strong pressure from Hines and Joe Bennett, fired a shot to the right of Knight which the 'keeper parried round for a corner.

Teams

Boro: Knight; Corker, Hines, Robinson, Bennett, Gal-Andrezly, Saiko, Smallwood, Cronesberry, Franks, Porritt. Subs: Filler (gk); Oliver, Weldon, Gray, Otte.

Everton: Turner; Coleman, Irving, McCarten, Barnett, Powell, Wallace, Akpan, O'Kane, Baxter, Spencer. Subs: Davies, Krenn, Duffy, Kinsella, McAleny

Seamus Coleman made his debut for Everton reserves in a 1-0 loss against Middlesbrough in the FA Premier Reserve League tonight.
He "gave a solid debut performance at right-back, playing a full 90 minutes for Andy Holden's side, contributing to what was a confident display by the Blues' back four up until the final minute," according to Everton website.
They conceded a last minute winner

dong
11/02/2009, 8:28 AM
Cheers for that. Nice to hear how he's getting on.

showgies
11/02/2009, 9:00 AM
Everton Res vs Liverpool Res live on LFC TV next Tuesday 6.30

Boo_Boy
11/02/2009, 9:03 AM
Everton Res vs Liverpool Res live on LFC TV next Tuesday 6.30

Great:)

happydays97
12/02/2009, 7:59 PM
http://www.evertonfc.com/assets/_files/images/feb_09/efc__1234362833_Seamus450.jpg

dong
12/02/2009, 8:50 PM
Rovers jersey suits him better!:p
Massive opportunity for him.

Only1Rovers
16/02/2009, 12:33 PM
Nice to see the Everton are using a photo of Seamie in the Showgrounds.

http://www.evertonfc.com/match/squad.html?player_id=177

Guts&Glory
16/02/2009, 12:47 PM
http://www.evertonfc.com/assets/_files/images/feb_09/efc__1234362833_Seamus450.jpg

He looks so happy!!!

Cheer up Seamie!!

Only1Rovers
16/02/2009, 1:01 PM

It's just not the Showgies....