View Full Version : FIFA rankings thread
I presume (like last campaign) second place in the group for Euro 2012 will guarantee a place in the finals.
SuperDave
15/10/2009, 4:14 PM
I presume (like last campaign) second place in the group for Euro 2012 will guarantee a place in the finals.
Nope. There are to be nine groups, not seven.... if there were seven groups, we would currently be 21st and on the very verge of being 4th seeds if we lost in the playoffs.
The nine winners and best runner up will qualify, with the remaining eight runners up entering playoffs.
My Uefa informants tell me that the draw for the playoffs will be seeded but if Uefa decide half way through they don't give a sh it who qualifies cos the big nations are all in, they'll fu ck with us all and get rid of the seeding just for the hell of it.
Crosby87
15/10/2009, 4:30 PM
We will never qualify for Euro. The team will be half too old half too young. Trap is of a delicate age and will probably be a little dementia riddled by the Euro deal. He is likely to try and name Roy Keane thinking its ten years ago.
Its either Africa or Brazil in 4.
15/10/2009, 4:51 PM
These are the up to date UEFA Euro 2012 seedings (I have included the bonus points for making the playoffs but obviously no data related to the results)
Playoff teams are in bold.
Three of the top four teams are likely to remain first seeds, with the fourth one remaining / dropping to second seed status.
Ukraine are likely to say second seeds.
We are almost certain to remain third seeds, along with Bosnia.
Slovenia will possibly be third seeds, but could slip to fourth!
I'll include an automatic calculator once the draw is made.
For the euro 2012 draw Poland and Ukraine are not in the seeding pots.
So do it again please:D
SuperDave
15/10/2009, 5:40 PM
For the euro 2012 draw Poland and Ukraine are not in the seeding pots.
So do it again please:D
If you look closely you'll notice there are 10 teams in the second and third seed pots.... now look closer still and you'll see Ukraine are in the second pot and Poland are in the third.
:p
15/10/2009, 9:32 PM
Smart aleck:D
EalingGreen
15/10/2009, 11:41 PM
These are the up to date UEFA Euro 2012 seedings (I have included the bonus points for making the playoffs but obviously no data related to the results)
Israel ------ 28,052 - Third Seeds
Bulgaria --- 27,198
Ireland ---- 26,948
Finland ---- 26,827
Poland ----- 26,620
Norway ---- 26,210
Bosnia ----- 25,785
Scotland --- 25,646
Slovenia ---- 24,681
N Ireland --- 24,518 - Third Seeds
Austria ----- 24,381 - Fourth Seeds
Latvia ------ 23,303
Hungary ---- 23,048
Lithuania --- 22,071
Belarus ----- 21,515
Belgium ----- 21,426
Wales ------- 21,274
Macedonia -- 19,409
Cyprus ------ 18,791 - Fourth Seeds
Pardon my ignorance, but does this mean that we (NI) cannot be overtaken for 3rd seeding by any of the Play-Off results (indeed could see Slovenia fall below us if they bomb out in their p/offs), but could slip down to 4th seeding if we perform badly in any friendlies we play between now and the Draw* for Euro2012?
* - In Feb.2010?
P.S. There is strong talk that NI will be playing an away friendly with Bulgaria in November. I hope you have softened them up for us!
16/10/2009, 1:33 AM
EG, yes NI are safe as third seeds. Friendly matches don't count for the UEFA national team co-efficents, only for the FIFA world rankings.
swinfordfc
16/10/2009, 8:41 AM
in today official rankings today - we are ranked 34th placed (sorry i thought it would be 32nd) - if we had won the last night - we be 28th :mad:
SuperDave
19/10/2009, 5:25 PM
Re Seedings..... my calculator tells me even if we win both legs 6-0 or even if we lose them 6-0 we will be third seeds for euro2012.
Slovenia might slip from 3rd to 4th seeds if they lose even one leg (what a kick in the teeth, winning one leg, losing the other, qualifying and being fourth seeds for 2012!) and Austria will rise, or Bosnia could fall from 3rd to 4th if they lose both legs (or even draw one), but both cannot fall, only one, with Austria rising from 4th to 3rd seeds.
Ukraine could fall from 2nd seeds to 3rd seeds but realistically only if they lose both legs home and away to Greece.
Greece could rise from 2nd seeds to 1st seeds at the expense of any of the others, but only if one of them fails to win a single game (except for Russia for whom two draws is enough to retain first seed status) and Greece win both of theirs.
A little irrelevant today, I know, but still worth keeping an eye on. I mean, Slovenia could qualify with a 2-0 win and 1-0 loss and fall to fourth seed status for the euro qualifiers!
swinfordfc
26/10/2009, 11:05 PM
so in the probable rankings - we draw in croke park and lose in france - and thus lose out in the race of the world cup ....... :(
Football is not played on paper (or on my computer's software) :)
swinfordfc
28/10/2009, 8:15 AM
Football is not played on paper (or on my computer's software) :)
thats true - but your never to far away :)
SuperDave
16/11/2009, 1:34 PM
Barring absolutely freakish results (basically Slovenia knocking 11 past Russia, or Slovenia winning and Bosnia losing by a combined total of about 10 goals), these are the euro2012 qualifier seedings:
Spain, Germany, Netherlands, Italy, England, Croatia, Russia, France, Portugal
Czech Rep, Sweden, Greece, Switzerland, Serbia, Turkey, Denmark, Slovakia, Romania
Israel, Bulgaria, Finland, Norway, Ireland, Scotland, Northern Ireland, Bosnia, Austria
Slovenia, Latvia, Hungary, Lithuania, Belarus, Belgium, Wales, Macedonia, Cyprus
Montenegro, Albania, Estonia, Georgia, Moldova, Iceland, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Liechtenstein
Azerbaijan, Luxembourg, Malta, Faroe Islands, Andorra, San Marino
dynamo kerry
16/11/2009, 1:38 PM
Barring absolutely freakish results (basically Slovenia knocking 11 past Russia, or Slovenia winning and Bosnia losing by a combined total of about 10 goals), these are the euro2012 qualifier seedings:
Czech Rep, Sweden, Greece, Switzerland, Serbia, Turkey, Denmark, Slovakia, Romania
Israel, Bulgaria, Finland, Norway, Ireland, Scotland, Northern Ireland, Bosnia, Austria
Slovenia, Latvia, Hungary, Lithuania, Belarus, Belgium, Wales, Macedonia, Cyprus
Montenegro, Albania, Estonia, Georgia, Moldova, Iceland, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Liechtenstein
if we have a good approach to this there's no reason we can't finish at least second. none of those 2nd tier teams are really scary. good sides of course but all have had peaks and troughs over the years. no guarantee that they will be challenging for top spot.
Duggie
16/11/2009, 1:38 PM
could be some disatrous groups there for us..
dynamo kerry
16/11/2009, 1:40 PM
could be some disatrous groups there for us..
equally there could be a good one
france
greece
ireland
latvia
lichetenstein
san marino
ChrisRed
16/11/2009, 9:49 PM
equally there could be a good one
france
greece
ireland
latvia
lichetenstein
san marino
San Marino, please not again!
16/11/2009, 9:58 PM
Take in a heartbeat:
Croatia
Slovakia
Ireland
Belarus
Liechtenstein
Luxembourg/Andorra
Would cry in a heartbeat:
Spain
Serbia
Ireland
Belgium
Montenegro
Faroes
Would get to in a heartbeat (while still having a chance):
Portugal
Switzerland
Ireland
Hungary
Liechtenstein
Luxembourg/Andorra
16/11/2009, 10:01 PM
Would cry in a heartbeat:
Spain
Serbia
Ireland
Belgium
Montenegro
Faroes
that would kill me
dynamo kerry
16/11/2009, 10:03 PM
San Marino, please not again!
it couldn't happen again...
16/11/2009, 10:15 PM
that would kill me
Yup, thats the nightmare group I reckon. Spain are probably the best side in the world, Serbia aren't exactly pushovers either, Belgium are bloody erratic, while we failed to score against a Novice Montengrin side, and Kerr would kill himself to take points off us.
The thoughts of it...
16/11/2009, 10:21 PM
Yup, thats the nightmare group I reckon. Spain are probably the best side in the world, Serbia aren't exactly pushovers either, Belgium are bloody erratic, while we failed to score against a Novice Montengrin side, and Kerr would kill himself to take points off us.
The thoughts of it...
yep wed draw with everyone and loose to spain and prob come third in the group at best..... mabe beat the faroes at home!
swinfordfc
19/11/2009, 12:13 PM
When is the next one out?
dr_peepee
19/11/2009, 12:19 PM
Dunno how these things are calculated.
Would last nights result count as a win over the 90 minutes in terms of how seeding points are distributed???
swinfordfc
19/11/2009, 12:20 PM
Would last nights result count as a win over the 90 minutes in terms of how seeding points are distributed???
Good point - i dont know the answer to it either ....
When is the next one out?
Well, UEFA have now updated the seedings they'll be using for the Euro 2012 draw :
http://www.uefa.com/competitions/euro2012/news/newsid=901647.html
FF
New rankings out today and Ireland have dropped 5 places to 44th in the world / 24th in Europe. It's not that significant for us right now, but it was a bit surprising to see us drop by so much. I guess the next time we have to worry about seedings is (hopefully) the draw for the Euro 2012 play-offs?
31/03/2010, 11:14 PM
44th :question:
When Stan was pushed out the door we were ranked about 32 or 33 :confused:
Trap has us on a downward slide but has managed to convince us that we are on the up and up.
01/04/2010, 12:08 AM
44th :question:
When Stan was pushed out the door we were ranked about 32 or 33 :confused:
Trap has us on a downward slide but has managed to convince us that we are on the up and up.
it was October 2007, we were 32nd in the October figures, and 35th in the November figures.
Two losses on the bounce didn't help the ranking
01/04/2010, 1:07 AM
Result in Paris counted as a draw.
New rankings out today and Ireland have dropped 5 places to 44th in the world / 24th in Europe. It's not that significant for us right now, but it was a bit surprising to see us drop by so much. I guess the next time we have to worry about seedings is (hopefully) the draw for the Euro 2012 play-offs?
The EURO 2012 play-offs will be seeded using the UEFA coefficient, not the FIFA rankings. The next time you'll have to worry about the rankings is November 2011 - the preliminary draw for the 2014 FIFA World Cup (http://www.football-rankings.info/2010/03/2014-fifa-world-cup-seeding-for-uefa.html).
If Japan don't defeat Serbia on April 7th, you'll climb one spot to 43rd.
FIFA Ranking (http://www.football-rankings.info/2010/03/fifa-ranking-april-2010-preview-i.html): April 2010 preview (I).
DannyInvincible
14/07/2010, 9:14 AM
For what they're worth, the latest FIFA rankings have been released today and see us rise five places to 36th after the victories over Paraguay and Algeria prior to the World Cup. Unsurprisingly, France have suffered quite a tumble by twelve places to 21st due to their embarrassing showing at the tournament. The continental ranking rates us the 21st best team in Europe.
http://www.fifa.com/worldfootball/ranking/lastranking/gender=m/fullranking.html#confederation=0&rank=194
14/07/2010, 10:54 AM
England up 1? Failed to qualify for Euro 2008. WC06 Q Final appearance and knocked out in second round (2010)
Italy drop out of top 10. Won the WC in 2006, qualified for Euro 2008 etc.
Baffling.
Colbert Report
14/07/2010, 11:49 AM
England up 1? Failed to qualify for Euro 2008. WC06 Q Final appearance and knocked out in second round (2010)
Italy drop out of top 10. Won the WC in 2006, qualified for Euro 2008 etc.
Baffling.
I believe the rankings don't take anything older than four years ago into account.
England won all ten competitive matches en route to the World Cup, whilst Italy drew with us twice! That should clear it up for you.
I've always hated the rankings sytem, especially because everyone in America thinks that it's the be all and end all of how good a team is.
14/07/2010, 11:54 AM
I believe the rankings don't take anything older than four years ago into account.
England won all ten competitive matches en route to the World Cup, whilst Italy drew with us twice! That should clear it up for you.
I've always hated the rankings sytem, especially because everyone in America thinks that it's the be all and end all of how good a team is.
Didn't England lose to Ukraine? Italy were undefeated and I'd say our group was tougher. How does it explain England messing up their Euro 2008 qualifying campaign. Italy got through no bother and then played 4 games at the tournament itself.
14/07/2010, 12:26 PM
Yes, France and Italy have been hit double. Their great performance in WC 2006 has been wiped off and they both performed poorly at this tournament (and the last). Italy are probably flattered by their results in our qualifying group.
DannyInvincible
14/07/2010, 1:14 PM
Didn't England lose to Ukraine? Italy were undefeated and I'd say our group was tougher. How does it explain England messing up their Euro 2008 qualifying campaign. Italy got through no bother and then played 4 games at the tournament itself.
According to the FIFA site, these are the games that counted towards this month's movements for both England and Italy since the last set of rankings were released.
Date Match Type Pts
27/06 GER 4:1 (2:1) ENG FIFA World Cup™ Final 0.00
23/06 SVN 0:1 (0:1) ENG FIFA World Cup™ Final 2100.00
18/06 ENG 0:0 ALG FIFA World Cup™ Final 629.00
12/06 ENG 1:1 (1:1) USA FIFA World Cup™ Final 688.20
30/05 JPN 1:2 (1:0) ENG Friendly 430.13
24/05 ENG 3:1 (2:1) MEX Friendly 507.83
Date Match Type Pts
24/06 SVK 3:2 (1:0) ITA FIFA World Cup™ Final 0.00
20/06 ITA 1:1 (1:1) NZL FIFA World Cup™ Final 451.40
14/06 ITA 1:1 (0:1) PAR FIFA World Cup™ Final 669.24
05/06 SUI 1:1 (1:1) ITA Friendly 176.00
03/06 ITA 1:2 (0:1) MEX Friendly 0.00
I'm not an expert on how the rankings are calculated as I've never really bothered to go into too much detail with them, but if you've a bit of time, the methodology behind the calculation is explained in depth here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FIFA_World_Rankings#Current_calculation_method
From a brief skim over that, it appears that, within the last four year period, recent fixtures count more - amongst other criteria (result, match status, opponent strength, relative confederation strength) - while earlier fixtures are gradually weighted less and less as time moves forward until they are no longer counted once a four-year period has passed since the date they were played. I don't know how satisfactory an explanation that is, or even if it is one really, but it's something at least I guess. ;)
How those respective figures from the individual matches are then transformed into, say, the total figure of 1125 accorded to England for the last four-year period - an increase of 57 points since May's rankings - and the total figure of 982 accorded to Italy for the same four-year period - a drop of 202 points since May's rankings - I'm not totally sure. Maybe it says there and I'm completely blind. Numbers were never my forté.
DannyInvincible
14/07/2010, 1:51 PM
Indeed. I remember people used to scoff at the lofty positions occupied by CONCACAF sides like the USA and Mexico. And for good reason too. The positions were seen as being disproportionately flattering in terms of a comparison with genuine ability and the nature of the results - often against relatively inferior opponents compared to those opponents teams from other confederations had to face - from which the points affecting the rankings were gained. I think FIFA attempted to rectify this with the changes they introduced to the calculation methodology in 2006.
However, the position of Egypt in 9th and Gabon ahead of us in 34th would suggest that there might be something up with how CAF results are currently weighted. Unless I'm really underestimating both, but neither even qualified for the World Cup. Maybe I could excuse Egypt's positioning given the fact they've won the African Cup of Nations for a few years running and only just lost out on World Cup qualification in a play-off against Algeria, but Gabon in 34th (six places ahead of Cameroon even) seems like a complete anomaly considering they were ranked a lowly 104th three years ago and had been residing around that position for quite some years before that. But again, maybe I'm underestimating them completely as I'm not going on anything else other than my gut perception of their ability and what I have in front of me here. I remain open to correction if such is the case.
Gather round
14/07/2010, 2:04 PM
Didn't England lose to Ukraine? Italy were undefeated and I'd say our group was tougher. How does it explain England messing up their Euro 2008 qualifying campaign. Italy got through no bother and then played 4 games at the tournament itself
England got 27 points in qualifying, three more than Italy. The most significant difference between their qualifying groups was that Italy didn't have six guaranteed points against a village team- but against that Cyprus, Georgia and Montenegro only managed three wins between them, from 30 matches.
However, the position of Egypt in 9th and Gabon ahead of us in 34th would suggest that there might be something up with how CAF results are currently weighted. Unless I'm really underestimating both, but neither even qualified for the World Cup. Maybe I could excuse Egypt's positioning given the fact they've won the African Cup of Nations for a few years running
Indeed. However weak Africa is overall, even winning one continental cup (only six months ago) is impressive. Let alone three in a row.
ALTERNATIVE UEFA RANKING BASED ON WORLD CUP FINALS AND QUALIFYING PERFORMANCE ONLY:
1 (1) Spain, World champion
2 (2) Netherlands, finalist...
3 (3) Germany, semis
4 (5) Portugal, round of 16
5 (4) England, round of 16
6 (16) Slovakia, round of 16
7 (11) Switzerland, group stage
8 (12) Slovenia, group stage
9 (8) Serbia, group stage
10 (18) Denmark, group stage
11 (7) Greece, group stage
12 (6) Italy, group stage
13 (13) France, group stage
14 (10) Russia, play-off
15 (15) Ukraine, play-off
16 (31) Bosnia, play-off
17 (21) R Ireland, play-off
18 (14) Norway, weakest group runner-up
19 (9) Croatia 20 qualifying points
20 (20) Sweden 18
21 28 Finland 18
22 27 Latvia 17
23 19 Czechia 16
24 22 Israel 16
25 23 Scotland 16
26 34 Hungary 16
27 32 N Ireland 15
28 17 Turkey 15
29 25 Bulgaria 14
30 33 Austria 14
31 39 Belarus 13
32 36 Macedonia 13
33 29 Lithuania 12
34 41 Wales 12
35 24 Romania 12
36 30 Poland 11
37 40 Iceland 11
38 26 Belgium 10
39 35 Cyprus 9
40 38 Montenegro 9
41 43 Estonia 8
42 37 Albania 7
43 49 Kazakhstan 6
44 45 Azerbaijan 5
45 47 Luxembourg 5
46 48 Faeroes 4
47 44 Armenia 4
48 46 Georgia 3
49 42 Moldova 3
50 50 Liechtenstein 2
51 51 Malta 1
52 52 Andorra 0
53 53 San Marino 0
Official FIFA rank shown for comparison
14/07/2010, 3:27 PM
I've always put far more stock in the Elo ratings (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_Football_Elo_Ratings#Top_60_ranking). The difference between two team's ratings is related to an estimate of how often one will beat the other (draws counting as half a win). The ratings are updated after each match. It's not dissimilar to a bunch of techniques used to estimate things in telecommunications and other fields.
We're 27th by that measure, Egypt are 12th (so they do seem to be pretty good), and Gabon are nowhere in sight.
Gather round
14/07/2010, 5:08 PM
I've always put far more stock in the Elo ratings (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_Football_Elo_Ratings#Top_60_ranking)
At first sight, they look just as convoluted as FiFA's.
The difference between two team's ratings is related to an estimate of how often one will beat the other (draws counting as half a win). The ratings are updated after each match. It's not dissimilar to a bunch of techniques used to estimate things in telecommunications and other fields
It's unnecessarily subjective. You don't have to rely on estimates, when you have a more than adequate set of competitive and recent results for every team.
We're 27th by that measure, Egypt are 12th (so they do seem to be pretty good), and Gabon are nowhere in sight
According to ELO, you are ranked ahead of four European teams that qualified for the finals, including two qualifying group winners one of whom made it to the round of 16.
14/07/2010, 5:33 PM
At first sight, they look just as convoluted as FiFA's.
Yes. They're also more accurate.
It's unnecessarily subjective. You don't have to rely on estimates, when you have a more than adequate set of competitive and recent results for every team.I think I've mislead you with the word "estimate". The results determine the estimate by mathematical formula. Trust me - this system is based on reasonably sound statistics.
According to ELO, you are ranked ahead of four European teams that qualified for the finals, including two qualifying group winners one of whom made it to the round of 16. Yes. There's some luck involved in football.
14/07/2010, 9:25 PM
At least Gabon and NI have something in common in the Elo rankings.
Gather round
16/07/2010, 8:03 AM
Yes. They're also more accurate
They aren't particularly, I've pointed out a number of inaccuracies.
I think I've mislead you with the word "estimate". The results determine the estimate by mathematical formula. Trust me - this system is based on reasonably sound statistics
You haven't, I trust you and understand the principle. Trouble is that ELO's formula, whatever its benefits to actuarial/ engineereing/ chess grand master calculations, is basically unnecessary to working out that teams who qualify for the World Cup are better than those that don't, teams that make the play-offs like Bosnia can't be worse than the 12 higher-ranked Europeans that didn't, and so on.
Yes. There's some luck involved in football
The league table doesn't lie.
A system that ranks Poland (11 points in qualifying, fifth place) HIGHER than Slovakia (22 points, first, reached last 16) just isn't very credible, is it?
16/07/2010, 2:22 PM
A system that ranks Poland (11 points in qualifying, fifth place) HIGHER than Slovakia (22 points, first, reached last 16) just isn't very credible, is it?
The ELO probably penalises Slovakia's severely because Slovakia only managed to pick up one point against an Irish team managed by Steve 'Stan' Staunton during the EURO 2008 qualifying campaign!!! Instant 1000 point reduction.
16/07/2010, 3:34 PM
Gather round, every single ranking system will have something you disagree with. Greece won the European Championships. How on earth were they lower ranked than Spain afterwards? Poland are dropping in the rankings, Slovakia are rising. Neither team has reached equilibrium yet.
Statistical analysis led JP Morgan to conclude that England were favourites for the world cup: they were 4th before the finals in the Elo scheme on the back of their qualifying campaign (since dropped to sixth; and yeah, JP Morgan think the Elo system is the best statistical model of football) and had an easier route to the final than Brazil, Spain or Holland (I think). Luck, form, nerve: these are things a ranking system can't possibly evaluate.
Gather round
16/07/2010, 7:33 PM
The ELO probably penalises Slovakia's severely because Slovakia only managed to pick up one point against an Irish team managed by Steve 'Stan' Staunton during the EURO 2008 qualifying campaign!!! Instant 1000 point reduction
Stan who? Come on, he's ancient history :cool:
Gather round, every single ranking system will have something you disagree with
Says who? I've suggested both FIFA's and your ELO equivalent are baloney and suggested something better, that reflects reality and is pretty easy to follow. In that it ignores the irrelevant (half-paced friendlies), the ancient (games from four or five years ago) and the convoluted (weighting games according to strength of the opposition or some onther arbitrary criteria).
Greece won the European Championships. How on earth were they lower ranked than Spain afterwards?
You tell me. Like I said, the official rankings are baloney.
Poland are dropping in the rankings, Slovakia are rising. Neither team has reached equilibrium yet
Ask your Poland-supporting friends, I suspect like mine they'll suggest their ranking has gone through the floor- and it won't 'reach equilibrium' for a while, given that they wpn't be playing any competitive games for the next two years. They're simply rubbish, and any system which distorts that to the extent ELO does is of limited use in measuring recent real past, as distinct from predicted future performance.
Statistical analysis led JP Morgan to conclude that England were favourites for the world cup: they were 4th before the finals in the Elo scheme on the back of their qualifying campaign (since dropped to sixth; and yeah, JP Morgan think the Elo system is the best statistical model of football), and had an easier route to the final than Brazil, Spain or Holland (I think)
My own statistical evidence suggested that England were third best in Europe on 19 November (and still on 11 June, as I discount friendlies). Then, obviously, they fell back a bit. I don't know a single England fan who's graduated primary school who seriously thought they were favorite at start of the tournament- most expected them to match Sven's record of regular quarter-finals (ie by winning the group, then beating Ghana or Serbia before going out to another group winner, maybe France. Perhapd JP should stick to hedged derivatives or whatever and leave reading the odds to that octopus?
Luck, form, nerve: these are things a ranking system can't possibly evaluate
You can't be serious. Results follow from form (in which luck plays a small part, and the better/ more experienced teams tend to be less nervy, I reckon). To repeat- the ranking, broadly like a league table, should reflect recent performance and achievement on the field- not what JP thinks will sell best on the Dow Jones in future. At least FIFA are honest about why their equivalent exists- it 's to give them something to sell to Coca Cola and other corporate sponsors.
ArdeeBhoy
17/07/2010, 7:41 AM
ALTERNATIVE UEFA RANKING BASED ON WORLD CUP FINALS AND QUALIFYING PERFORMANCE ONLY:
1 (1) Spain, World champion
7 (11) Switzerland, group stage
8 (12) Slovenia, group stage
9 (8) Serbia, group stage
10 (18) Denmark, group stage
11 (7) Greece, group stage
12 (6) Italy, group stage
13 (13) France, group stage
14 (10) Russia, play-off
15 (15) Ukraine, play-off
16 (31) Bosnia, play-off
17 (21) Ireland, play-off
(14) Norway, weakest group runner-up
51 51 Malta 1
52 52 Andorra 0
53 53 San Marino 0
Official FIFA rank shown for comparison
Surely that table is flawed (not to mention being pinched from elsewhere) as Ireland are either equal 14th or 16th at worst (their FIFA/UEFA ranking is above that of Bosnia?). All tables are subjective and international football is becoming much like much of the English leagues where all teams, bar the top 3/bottom 6 or so, are capable of getting a result against each other, so the 'tables' are subject to much greater potential fluctuation in reality.
In our case, perhaps we deserve more credit for not losing many games, even if we seem to win precious few (against the 'higher-ranked' teams) in competitive games either!!!