View Full Version : Croker Singing Section confirmed

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Mento
12/01/2009, 8:35 PM
Why isn't there anything on the FAI website???

For something thats confirmed this guy seems to be asking for a lot of personal information? and aswell shouldn't the e-mail be youboysingreen@fai.ie and not a free gmail account which ANYBODY can set up???:confused:

There is an FAI launch next week. They simply want us to get a start and try get the first few hundred in

Mento
12/01/2009, 8:37 PM
You never said we needed to give this detail. I sent my email at lunch.
Is it the number and location of the tickets I got for Cyrpus and Poland?

Not too sure to be honest. If they have any problems we will be in touch

Greenforever
12/01/2009, 8:59 PM
Why isn't there anything on the FAI website???

For something thats confirmed this guy seems to be asking for a lot of personal information? and aswell shouldn't the e-mail be youboysingreen@fai.ie and not a free gmail account which ANYBODY can set up???:confused:

ANYBODY who has been to Ireland matches should know the ybig now with the free fanzine for a couple of years, the information asked for is not very personal, your BB code ( only if you dont know it your name and address to trace it - everyone should know theres or be able to get it) an email address which you cant email them without, and where your seats were located ??

Fair play to Mento and his mates, I'll be emailing a number of bb codes to try and get us all our gang from the away games together, we'll certainly create a great athmosphere for next month! :D

12/01/2009, 9:03 PM
I've applied for 4 tickets myself!

Colie
12/01/2009, 9:19 PM
Hope to God the seats are from the back down coz if they're at the front then you can forget about standing up. There are an untold number of saps that continuously tell us to sit down when singing/ dancing/ generally trying to make a semblance of an atmosphere during the matches. We've just taken to moving seats at every match so that we're up at the back there at the doors in the Lower Davin. My ticket usually tends to be in the Lower Davin (el ticket) so hopefully I can just bail over to wherever yez all are & add the bodhrán to the noise. I do tend to sing the auld "Trappatoni's Green n White army" for 30 minute bouts though.

Claret Murph
13/01/2009, 6:10 AM
The only negative point I would like to make is that behind the goals down at the front are very poor seats in the Davin stand that's if you want to watch the game that is .

citizenerased
13/01/2009, 10:52 AM
Strictly an all green dress code..no suits ar going out clobber...and everyone bring a scarf...

13/01/2009, 10:59 AM
i think if its the lower down the better as you have more chance of getting everyone involved. IF there are 1600 fans singing then you can be sure the other few around wont have the chance to tell people sit down.

Are seats in the davin stand cheaper?!

Ill transfer, the only problem is for watching the game with my crap eyesight my seats in the centre lower cusack are absoloutely perfect!!!! its a pity the singing section couldn't be put there :D

citizenerased
13/01/2009, 1:21 PM
there will be no sitting down, standing for the 90..we are on front of the EL fans so doubt they will tell usto sit..Paul get a pair of nhs jam-jars for watching the match!!:D

Mento
13/01/2009, 3:32 PM
Any block booker who wants to transfer must do so before THURSDAY NIGHT

Greenforever
13/01/2009, 9:58 PM
7 of us moved and should be another 30 or so tomorrow, on the one road:D

citizenerased
14/01/2009, 4:08 PM
bump...bump...bump...bump...bump...bump...bump...b ump...bump...bump...bump...bump...bump...bump...bu mp...bump...bump...bump...

Colie
14/01/2009, 7:17 PM
...we are on front of the EL fans so doubt they will tell us to sit..You're in dreamland mate. Believe me there will be plenty of "down in front".

soccerc
14/01/2009, 8:17 PM
there will be no sitting down, standing for the 90..we are on front of the EL fans so doubt they will tell usto sit..!:D

EL fans are scattered all over the lower Davin :mad:

14/01/2009, 9:03 PM
7 of us moved and should be another 30 or so tomorrow, on the one road:D

See/Hear yis there GF! :D

AidoM
15/01/2009, 8:58 AM
well lads, i met the FAI with mento. all flags can be put on the first 10 rows of the davin which are currently empty,,and also on the hill when its not being used. On the one road will be the new anthem...rememeber anyone joing the section must actually sing...strict dress code aswell..green..

The foot.ie flag has been placed there for ALL matches in Croke Park :) :p :mad:

Sligo Hornet
15/01/2009, 9:26 AM
The foot.ie flag has been placed there for ALL matches in Croke Park :) :mad:

If there is a shortage of space can I put my flag on top of yours?;)

citizenerased
15/01/2009, 10:35 AM
You're in dreamland mate. Believe me there will be plenty of "down in front".

Well they will get a suprise as i imaginge there will be too many to tell to sit down. FAI said that we were going to be on front of the 1000 el fans..

citizenerased
15/01/2009, 10:49 AM
my point was about the falgs aido, the rest of that space can be filled with other flags, add more colur to the Davin

AidoM
15/01/2009, 11:27 AM
If there is a shortage of space can I put my flag on top of yours?

No - it will be like the Podgorica takeover :p :mad: :rolleyes:

AidoM
15/01/2009, 11:29 AM
my point was about the falgs aido, the rest of that space can be filled with other flags, add more colur to the Davin

Agreed but nobody's getting my space :eek: :D :p

citizenerased
15/01/2009, 12:14 PM
ya better go in early so aido as the Monaghan boys and Davey Keogh have their eyes on it:D

Drumcondra 69er
15/01/2009, 1:18 PM
17 of us looking to move, have maield YBIG so hopefully won't be a problem. Fair play for people organising this, I've been saying it'd be a great idea ever since they put the bucket seats in LR, never thought the FAI would actually agree to it.

citizenerased
15/01/2009, 1:56 PM
yeah as long as ye get it in before 10 tonight, you should be grand, getting unbelievable response so far, we will deffo fill the 1600 allocation..In fairness to the FAI they have been 100% behind this since we suggested it to them,you will see over the coming weeks their efforts..

Ari Gold
15/01/2009, 2:40 PM
Great idea lads. Well done - I am transferring 3 tickets to there.

Keep the new songs simple I reckon as they'll be easiest to catch on then around the stadium. "On the One Road" is perfect to begin with.

This section could also be used to stamp out any Mexican wave attempts during games! :)

15/01/2009, 4:53 PM
I wonder if it would be possible to bring a "two stick" banner. using small plastic poles? (no longer than 4ft)

Mento
15/01/2009, 7:58 PM
I wonder if it would be possible to bring a "two stick" banner. using small plastic poles? (no longer than 4ft)

As far as I know it will, I will confirm though

Sligo Hornet
15/01/2009, 8:04 PM

Are they from the Snow White panto in Gdansk?

15/01/2009, 10:37 PM
Only if their names are Gregorky

Mento
16/01/2009, 2:19 PM
17 of us looking to move, have maield YBIG so hopefully won't be a problem. Fair play for people organising this, I've been saying it'd be a great idea ever since they put the bucket seats in LR, never thought the FAI would actually agree to it.

Drumcondra 69 - Check your PM

16/01/2009, 2:28 PM
will there be a return of the large poled flags seen before at lansdowne behind the goals?

Curtains
16/01/2009, 4:13 PM
Happy days. This is a great idea. We have seats in the lower davin over to the left and if we even hint that we are about to stand up people behind **** their pants. Its not good. Expect to see some pink ireland hats bopping about in that area with you all!! :D

irishultra
16/01/2009, 10:49 PM
tell me where and how i can get in singing section?

and eirebhoy brilliant, bout time we bring some of the gaelige to irish matches.

craig7042
16/01/2009, 11:06 PM
Happy days. This is a great idea. We have seats in the lower davin over to the left and if we even hint that we are about to stand up people behind **** their pants. Its not good. Expect to see some pink ireland hats bopping about in that area with you all!! :D

Its the best news the Irish team has had in years! I've been in Lower Davin for a while, and the Poles were amazing. You're right though, I got told to sit down from a lad behind and that was near the end when all the goals were going in.... so sad. And its been shameful seeing everyone leave 10 minutes before the end. Dont get me started on Dunphy and his crew aswell!

I really think this sort of initiative can make a difference though! I'm 38 now, and dont have the energy I had before Italy 90, but I can tell you I'll be in that singing section giving it socks against Georgia!!! Well done everyone! Come on the boys in green! And I'm bringing someone who'll sing with me aswell !!

Mento
17/01/2009, 11:02 AM
tell me where and how i can get in singing section?

and eirebhoy brilliant, bout time we bring some of the gaelige to irish matches.

The LFA offices in Merrion Square are open from January 22 til Feb 10

SuperDave
19/01/2009, 2:08 PM
This is a great idea (finally) but the serious problem is the location. The view is terrible from the lower Davin.

Surely someone should suggest to the FAI that the pitch is moved closer to the Davin end and away from the Hill (leaving them even further from the pitch). After all, they're only away fans.... and it would surely add at least some much needed claustrophobia to the pitch. Away teams need to be scared, and to do this they need to be brought closer to the fans.

[this is all a bit tongue in cheek, but it still doesn't solve the issue that the view from the lower davin aint great. i'm top deck, back row of the hogan, level with the goal line at the davin end, and the view is actually pretty good, and much better than down there..... although i do appreciate the need to keep the singing section in the lower centre, as it were, and there's no way it would work in the e70 parts of the stadium]

Ari Gold
19/01/2009, 2:15 PM
The view in the Lower Davin is fine so long as your not down too near the pitch. I've being in the upper part of this lower tier (Row EE) for all of Ireland's games in CP and its fine in my opinion.

I believe the Singing Section will be up towards the back of the Lower Davin as the guy in the FAI ticket office confirmed my new singing section seats to be Row LL.

Colie
19/01/2009, 8:54 PM
Well they will get a suprise as i imaginge there will be too many to tell to sit down. FAI said that we were going to be on front of the 1000 el fans..True, safety in numbers. Should work alright. I guess if everyone is just standing from the word go there's nothing they can do.

kingdomkerry
19/01/2009, 11:25 PM
It will be a brave man to tell me to sit down!

Claret Murph
20/01/2009, 6:07 AM
It will be a brave man to tell me to sit down!

Are you ready " hey big boy , sit down " ;) spoken in my near perfect northern english accent .

Yep that should do it .........;)

Mento
20/01/2009, 12:12 PM
We will be in the blocks at the back of the lower Davin and standing IS permitted

irishultra
21/01/2009, 1:54 AM
what tickets should i be getting to get in on the action?

i went to see hertha berlin playing and seeing as we're in the lower davin i presume it will be like the olympicstadion.

seriously we should do the bouncey thing and the slow clapping leading to a rapid clapping of the hands and then IRELAND

Drumcondra 69er
21/01/2009, 9:11 AM
Drumcondra 69 - Check your PM

Replied to you there mate, cheers.

21/01/2009, 3:35 PM
I don't use the YBIG website, but I'd say there are a fair few crossover fans between that site and this. I'd a good call from the Ticket Office yesterday and there does seem to be a bit of get up and go about getting a formal (if unofficial ) section together.

I'd say it would be easy enough to organise groups within the singing section, to gather ideas and how to put those into practice, a la The Bounce, or the Slow - Medium -Crescendo of clapping.

We actually have a real opportunity on our hands here. Whether its down to the FAI YBIG or both, we should appreciate the opportunity.

co. down green
21/01/2009, 6:36 PM
fair play to those who pushed for this so hard with the fai

Well done to all involved -YouBoysInGreen, FAI and even Trap has got in on the act.

http://www.ybig.ie/news_detail.asp?id=561&SectionId=3

Excellent initiative

L37Ultra
21/01/2009, 9:36 PM
What section and row are the tickets for the singing section. My tickets are in section 319 and row VV in the Lower Davin stand. Will I be near the singing section?

Battery Rover
21/01/2009, 9:42 PM
What section and row are the tickets for the singing section. My tickets are in section 319 and row VV in the Lower Davin stand. Will I be near the singing section?

yes directly at the back of it in the Eircom league section

kingdomkerry
21/01/2009, 9:46 PM
Afaik 320 321 & 323

stiffler
21/01/2009, 10:07 PM
Hopefully the whole lower Davin will become the main singing section, and it will easily spread to the corners of the hogan and the cusak!

Claret Murph
22/01/2009, 6:19 AM
One thing for sure it will stop that nasty Mexican wave getting past us lot as we will be standing anyway .