View Full Version : Sean Connor back in management
Gaillimh Al
08/12/2008, 2:09 PM
As per the Dundalk website, Sean Connor will be announced as Dundalk manager at a press conference at 6pm this evening.
Feck, really hoped to see him take over from our current incumbent.
08/12/2008, 2:13 PM
http://www.dundalkfc.com/home.asp
He'll be found out... again. Complete and utter lying, bullying spoofer.
08/12/2008, 3:36 PM
As a Bohs fan, do you not see any irony in that, after all the two Gerrys have done? At all, like?
Partizan
08/12/2008, 3:47 PM
I wouldnt bother argue with the fans of the Invincible Pub. Sure they'll be playing in 1st Division after the 2 Gerry's, Blackie and Liam Carroll are finished with them.
08/12/2008, 4:11 PM
I'm a little worried by the fact that Sligo fans don't seem to have a good word to say about him.. Perhaps they are bitter at him jumping ship to Bohs though. It seems to me that he did quite a bit for their club - He won the first division in his first season and established them as a premier division side. What is the story then Sligo fans?
I wouldn't pay too much attention to what Bohemians fans have to say though as obviously the €250,000 he got off them last week is going to leave a bitter taste in the mouth. He turned them around from finishing 9th under Farrelly in 2006 to finishing 3rd and qualifying for the Intertoto Cup. I'm not really sure how they can claim he is a bad manager.. They seem to just make comments like LukeO made but don't actually expand on it.. :confused:
Personally, I'm happy enough with this appointment. He does seem to have brought in good signings at both clubs and done quite well on the field. Anyway, I'll give him a chance and see how he gets on. He should have enough about him to keep us up and at the moment that's all I want for 2009..
08/12/2008, 4:13 PM
Main question is - is he an improvement on John Gill? I'm not sure that he's much of an improvement, if he is one at all. But then I will plead relative ignorance on both managers.
08/12/2008, 4:27 PM
Main question is - is he an improvement on John Gill? I'm not sure that he's much of an improvement, if he is one at all. But then I will plead relative ignorance on both managers.
Connor has proven experience in the premier divison which Gill does not. For that reason I think it is probably an improvement alright.
08/12/2008, 4:28 PM
Gill did OK with Dublin City for the six months of 2006 they existed, in fairness.
That was him then, wasn't it?
08/12/2008, 4:34 PM
Gill did OK with Dublin City for the six months of 2006 they existed, in fairness.
That was him then, wasn't it?
He only lasted six months though.. He couldn't handle the pressure of the premier division.
08/12/2008, 4:53 PM
Terrible decision.
Resurrect this thread at the end of 2009 season and quote me if I'm wrong but doubt it.
Rovers Maniac
08/12/2008, 4:58 PM
I'm a little worried by the fact that Sligo fans don't seem to have a good word to say about him.. Perhaps they are bitter at him jumping ship to Bohs though. It seems to me that he did quite a bit for their club - He won the first division in his first season and established them as a premier division side. What is the story then Sligo fans?
I wouldn't pay too much attention to what Bohemians fans have to say though as obviously the €250,000 he got off them last week is going to leave a bitter taste in the mouth. He turned them around from finishing 9th under Farrelly in 2006 to finishing 3rd and qualifying for the Intertoto Cup. I'm not really sure how they can claim he is a bad manager.. They seem to just make comments like LukeO made but don't actually expand on it.. :confused:
Personally, I'm happy enough with this appointment. He does seem to have brought in good signings at both clubs and done quite well on the field. Anyway, I'll give him a chance and see how he gets on. He should have enough about him to keep us up and at the moment that's all I want for 2009..
I honestly have nothing good to say about Connor and i mean nothing at all. I give zero credit zero, Some people say he should be given credit for signing Coleman but a blind man could see Coleman that night we played them in a friendly. The one thing i will say is that nobody in their right mind could blame him one little bit for walking out for Bohs, as Bohs had hit the Jackpot. But it was the way that he did it and the digs at us in the press he made and the constant tapping up of players that showed any promise. He could have taken Faz for nothing when he left but Faz had had a shocker of a season and he wanted nothing to do with him. Tierney comes in plays Faz at centre forward and he looks a different player and all of a sudden he wants him and wants to play faz up front although he had never played him up front in the 2 years he had him. :)
Ah i could go on but i am sick of people thinking it is bitter balh blah as it does sound like it a bit, but it will be very interesting to see how he gets on but i know given the choice between himself and Kenna no contest in my eyes, Connor would never have done what kenna done. He reads all these forums and he will have all the right sound bites at the start saying what a big club Dundalk can be etc etc. His sweet talk of the gypos was actually quality if you listen back to it. :D
To be honest he has landed a decent job club on the up etc as i thought he would be off to Harps and sunk with out trace with them but i suppose he can go to them in a couple of years. But i would have serious concerns if i were Dundalk and hiring this fella.
Maybe you can ask him yourself if he invites you out to dinner and then, allegedly, [edit: better not]...
to be honest, he was a terrible man-manager but had a mostly decent eye for players. Sure, he bought some duds but he also bought some good players. He just couldnt manage them very well and ended up losing the respect of the dressing room. On the plus side, he will regale you with stories of Brucey (and probably show you the christmas card he got from him) around the christmas log fire. So its not all bad.
08/12/2008, 5:00 PM
To be honest he has landed a decent job club on the up etc as i thought he would be off to Harps and sunk with out trace with them but i suppose he can go to them in a couple of years. But i would have serious concerns if i were Dundalk and hiring this fella.
Eh, what is with the Limerick 37 avatar? I was very confused there for a second..
Rovers Maniac
08/12/2008, 5:05 PM
Eh, what is with the Limerick 37 avatar? I was very confused there for a second..
In hounor of Jebus i am worried about that guy, he is losing it.
One last thing his contacts are the best :rolleyes:, he has loads of contacts but he got all the players except Burns, O'grady and Brown (a striker we paid way too much money from and scored 1 goal in the first division). The rest was by our contact who he tried to tap up as well and told him to do one. :D.
The guy is chancer in my view anyway, he was found out with Bohs when he had loads of money, but don't fall for his PR bull.
adamd164
08/12/2008, 5:21 PM
Good appointment, and a nice easy target for chants about the sexual harrassment charges next season to boot!
forza rovers
08/12/2008, 5:26 PM
falling out with players,his constant name dropping,talking crap,giving abuse to the fans....
Good appointment, and a nice easy target for chants about the sexual harassment charges next season to boot!hunchback syndrome:D
garyderry
08/12/2008, 5:29 PM
falling out with players,his constant name dropping,talking crap,giving abuse to the fans....
hunchback syndrome:D
but as said by the Dundalk fans,
he will likely keep them up,
good short term appointment, then get someone decent in when they
become available.
of course if they were daft and offered him a 3-4 year contract
not so good news for Dundalk.
Boo_Boy
08/12/2008, 5:34 PM
European football AND beating Connor, this will be great.
happydays97
08/12/2008, 5:48 PM
Terrible decision.
Why???
08/12/2008, 5:49 PM
Why???I've made points elsewhere, not repeating them again.
I'm not the only one who thinks it.
brianw82
08/12/2008, 6:43 PM
Sean Connor doesn't believe in central midfielders. His outfield formation is a rectangle.
08/12/2008, 7:18 PM
Eh, what is with t
he Limerick 37 avatar? I was very confused there for a second..
holidaysong i was getting very worried about this lad and to think I used to work with him!! u beat me to it...;)
wonder88
08/12/2008, 7:33 PM
A really stupid appointment by Dundalk. A club with real potential and they have learned nothing from the Bohs experience. BTW I was glad he took Bohs a quarter mill, the two Gerrys deserve it. Saw a fair bit of his last season at Sligo, he really is full of bull and a pure actor (pr background). Anyway fair play to him for getting one of the best jobs going these days.
Jersey Cow
08/12/2008, 7:56 PM
He'll be found out... again. Complete and utter lying, bullying spoofer. wrote Luko........
Found out with what??.....he did sign 8 was it, of Bohs starting 11 in the Cup Final.....Correct me if I am wrong here but were the Bohs board not made out to be the liars in court??..........good luck to Connor for getting back in the saddle and shame on the cowboys who are running Bohs!!
SMorgan
08/12/2008, 9:19 PM
He'll be found out... again.
Refresh my memory. When was he found out any other time?
As a Dundalk fan, I am as happy as a dioxin-free pig in the brown stuff.
As a Bohs fan, do you not see any irony in that, after all the two Gerrys have done? At all, like?
And I've stuck up for the Gerrys where exactly? Two wrongs don't make a right etc. etc.
Connor is a dishonest spoofer... whatever the Gerrys have done does not change that fact.
LeixlipRed
08/12/2008, 9:45 PM
Relegation beckons for Dundalk :)
08/12/2008, 9:47 PM
What's all this Gerry talk about, who's Gerry?:confused:
08/12/2008, 9:50 PM
Gerry Cuffe and Gerry Conway, Bohs' President and Secretary respectively.
celticV3
08/12/2008, 9:54 PM
The worst thing is he is a decent manager. He done a good job to lead us to the first division title. He seemed to get on with the fans aswell, i rember him stepping on the suporters bus after a defeat to dublin city and with passion promising us the first division title.
Most rovers fans are a bit sore at him "jumping ship" to bohs but it was the way he done it before and after. He is let down somuch by his ego. As was said his constant name dropping (prepare to hear of a link with dundalk and wigan/birmingham city) I won't judge him yet, i think with everything to do with the bohs fiasco he should realise that if he messes up, then he won't get into management again.
08/12/2008, 9:56 PM
It'll be nice to have the chance to worry about such things. ;)
oriel
08/12/2008, 10:02 PM
We'll see how he gets on, also will depend a lot on the quality he brings in. Most on oriel web appear to be fine with the appointment.
I didnt notice a lot of better options out there that are currently available.
For me, i`m willing to judge him on results with us , nothing else matters, I`ve no interest about his personal stuff or history with other clubs
08/12/2008, 10:03 PM
I'd say Connors will have something to say about that. He'll think he was hard done by and it could be exactly what Dundalk need.
08/12/2008, 10:04 PM
Gerry Cuffe and Gerry Conway, Bohs' President and Secretary respectively.
Is that like the Gerry and Gerry show yeah? :eek:
08/12/2008, 10:18 PM
Well there's certainly an element of comic suffering about the situations they find themselves in..
Rovers fan
08/12/2008, 11:24 PM
What's all this Gerry talk about, who's Gerry?:confused:
Read the bohs forum and you'll find out a bit about them. Basically they're being found out to be lying bastads....
09/12/2008, 9:01 AM
Is that like the Gerry and Gerry show yeah? :eek:
Eh, would that not be the Tom and Tom Show from the picture.
There's a thought. Tom The Gom and Tom McGurk together in a half hour light chat show with Lucy Kennedy reporting from Mumbai...
wexfordned
09/12/2008, 10:01 AM
He'll be found out... again. Complete and utter lying, bullying spoofer.
Connor is a spoofer. He has a great eye for a player but his man management skills are about zero. Fitness was a big issue last year. Burns & Fenn in particular were overweight throughout the whole season & nothing was done about it. Several Bohs players will tell you (not just Owen Heary) that no manager ever game them as much time of as Connor did
He can certainly talk the talk, nearly up there with Roddy in that regard. I'm sure he will mention his connections in England with the fans. (Players can expect a good luck card from Steve Bruce before the season starts:rolleyes: )
While he did get bohs to third place he did it by playing some of the most boring football ever seen at dalymount. We had loads of clean sheets under Connor but scored f**K all goals as it was a case of everyone defend deep so as not to concede. It seemed not losing was more important than winning
jinxy lilywhite
09/12/2008, 10:15 AM
Personally I think a good appointment. A proven track record in the premier division and really that is all we want. It's idiotic to say that we'll challenge for major honors but we have to be realistic and aim to finish higher than 7th place (10th place relegated and 8th and 9th are in a playoff). I don't think JG would of got us that. I believe that Connor will keep us well out of trouble.
cheech
09/12/2008, 10:43 AM
He did it by playing some of the most boring football ever seen at dalymount. We had loads of clean sheets under Connor but scored f**K all goals as it was a case of everyone defend deep so as not to concede. It seemed not losing was more important than winning
That really improved under Fenlon. :D
Ah well,better than promotion beckoning in the 92nd minute and the.........its colin scanlon........yyeeeaaahhhh. Enjoy Div 1 for another few years,i dont think we will be going back anytime soon!!!
jinxy lilywhite
09/12/2008, 10:59 AM
Ah well,better than promotion beckoning in the 92nd minute and the.........its colin scanlon........yyeeeaaahhhh. Enjoy Div 1 for another few years,i dont think we will be going back anytime soon!!!
Oh yeah Shep that was good.:D
09/12/2008, 11:04 AM
He only lasted six months though.. He couldn't handle the pressure of the premier division.
Eh - you do remember that Dublin City went bust after six months of the Premier?
And I've stuck up for the Gerrys where exactly? Two wrongs don't make a right etc. etc.
Connor is a dishonest spoofer... whatever the Gerrys have done does not change that fact.
True. But given most of what he was accused of having done was retracted by Bohs in court, I'm curious as to what's left for him to have lied about?
wexfordned
09/12/2008, 11:25 AM
That really improved under Fenlon. :D
Sure did Roddy:D
wexfordned
09/12/2008, 11:27 AM
Eh - you do remember that Dublin City went bust after six months of the Premier?
True. But given most of what he was accused of having done was retracted by Bohs in court, I'm curious as to what's left for him to have lied about?
Had a player under contract with an Irish league club training with Bohs without the club's permission
Promised players contracts then at the end of the season more or less told them to f**k off
Boh_So_Good
09/12/2008, 11:36 AM
Good luck to him I think Dundalk made a god move. He was a very good manager at Sligo Rovers and it's only because he moved to Bohs and took a bunch of players that SR fans are so anti-Connors. Grow up.
I think he was treated unfairly at Bohs too. I really have no problem with the man and he should do well at Dundalk.
Rovers Maniac
09/12/2008, 12:09 PM
Good luck to him I think Dundalk made a god move. He was a very good manager at Sligo Rovers and it's only because he moved to Bohs and took a bunch of players that SR fans are so anti-Connors. Grow up.
I think he was treated unfairly at Bohs too. I really have no problem with the man and he should do well at Dundalk.
Hi Sean i think you're great :D
09/12/2008, 12:10 PM
Eh - you do remember that Gill left Dublin City during the 2004 season, while Dublin City went bust in the 2006 season..?