View Full Version : Connaught Cup 2008/09
Murty you are pathetic. You know what they say, what goes around comes around.
I have been told the rules are due to be changed, the games will be played on a neutral and playable (not a cow field) pitch, with neutral officials from quarter final stage upwards. This will help all clubs avoid the injustice we were done on the day.
Are ye changing them ? Surely before they are changed they would have to be brought up for discussion before an agm , if not , clubs could put in "pathetic" objections .
Cow field , surely your players should have been at an advantage as ye are a rural club , West Uniteds players nor the venue in Mervue would have had sight of a live cow in years .
Just a small reminder , the pitch was in Mervue , two teams played on it , neither of whom would have played there for years since previous Connacht Cup winners , Crescent United , were in junior soccer ( about five years ago ).
West played the semi final against East Utd on a pitch they never played or trained on at the weekend .The standard was brutal , says a lot for yereselves .
No doubt ye will improve now that the excellent facilities in Westport Gaa club are nearing completion , lovly soccer pitchs there , fair play to them !
west on there day are as good as any team in the whole country but having watched them lately all though still winning games they appear to be gone off the boil alot from there early season form,they have some absolute quality players but they don't seem to be clicking lately,yesterday west had there opponents pinned back for the whole game and owned the ball but seemed to lack the killer touch that was so evident early on in the campaign,it took a late peno to win it.anyways west will be well up for the final having not won the connacht cup since 1982.
Couple of positional changes in the team seem to have taken from their fluency . Better" names "may not necessarily improve them as a team .Willie McDonagh an example there , not a bad player , but is basically learning about his team mates as he goes along .Fitzy , whats up ? how come he didnt start ? tactics , Padraig hoofing every ball to the front men , who were being marked by the likes of Reuben all 6' 3" of him .How can West play football , with this game plan , maybe for a one off game as it was it was deemed necessary but it almost back fired on this occassion .Matts must have cringed every time he saw the "missile" coming down out off the sky , indeed Wests tactics cancelld out their own players to an extent .
TheRealMuller
07/04/2009, 4:15 PM
we were by far the better team and our keeper even said after he didn't have one save to make. he wasn't near the 3 goals so didn't have 2 make save. we had so so so many chances it was unbelievable. castlerea will prob b the worst team to ever contest a connaught junior final. the ref also told one of our players that the free he scored was direct and after he scored cancelled it out saying it was indirect and then gave a free out....(we wont go appealing though, we take defeat on the chin!!) the pitch was one of the worst i've played on in a long time, no one could play proper football at all. after the game in the pub the castlerea players were buying drinks for the refferee and the linesmen and they were buyin the drinks back for the castlerea players. everybody hates losing but when a team were far better and deserved to win it just hurts!! if west are anyway descent at all they will win the final awful easy!!
352 are you for real, buying drink for the refs you cannot be serious i was in the same pub after the match and i didnt even see the crea players talking to the officials never mind buying a drink for them, just cos it didnt go your way there is no reason to be sour!!! the refs were poor for both teams the only thing he got right on the day was booking one of your cheats for diving.
worst team to contest a final??? crea never got out of first gear on sunday and still managed to put 3 past ye, says alot about your own team!! all the talking about westport and castlebar celtic all season and how they are going to contest the final and neither of them made it, and when both teams got knocked out they started b*tching about the refs, whats that all about, any chance of a mayo team being men and just taking their beating
west awake
07/04/2009, 5:14 PM
352 are you for real, buying drink for the refs you cannot be serious i was in the same pub after the match and i didnt even see the crea players talking to the officials never mind buying a drink for them, just cos it didnt go your way there is no reason to be sour!!! the refs were poor for both teams the only thing he got right on the day was booking one of your cheats for diving.
worst team to contest a final??? crea never got out of first gear on sunday and still managed to put 3 past ye, says alot about your own team!! all the talking about westport and castlebar celtic all season and how they are going to contest the final and neither of them made it, and when both teams got knocked out they started b*tching about the refs, whats that all about, any chance of a mayo team being men and just taking their beatingi know the ref was from galway,he was originally supposed to ref the west v east game,he's terrible,he wants to be involved too much in everything,didn't see the game but i'm sure it was a close game between 2 good teams looking forward to the final,whenever its on.
west awake
07/04/2009, 5:23 PM
Couple of positional changes in the team seem to have taken from their fluency . Better" names "may not necessarily improve them as a team .Willie McDonagh an example there , not a bad player , but is basically learning about his team mates as he goes along .Fitzy , whats up ? how come he didnt start ? tactics , Padraig hoofing every ball to the front men , who were being marked by the likes of Reuben all 6' 3" of him .How can West play football , with this game plan , maybe for a one off game as it was it was deemed necessary but it almost back fired on this occassion .Matts must have cringed every time he saw the "missile" coming down out off the sky , indeed Wests tactics cancelld out their own players to an extent .great set up out in knocknacara but the surface was shocking and impossible to play good football on,west started trying to play ball but it was impossible,i taught willie mcdonagh was the best player on the pitch,don't know why fitzy wasn't starting but you can only pick 2 from ian burke,miko,dara ryan and fitzy and all 4 are quality on there day and have all represented galway at oscar traynor level.mathias had an off day but they are few and far between.
Closing Time
07/04/2009, 11:00 PM
worst team to contest a final??? crea never got out of first gear on sunday and still managed to put 3 past ye, says alot about your own team!! all the talking about westport and castlebar celtic all season and how they are going to contest the final and neither of them made it, and when both teams got knocked out they started b*tching about the refs, whats that all about, any chance of a mayo team being men and just taking their beating
I don’t agree with 352 comments and I was at the game but on the day the home team got out a jail and had two major decisions go their way but that is football and these decisions tend to go to the home as all teams have got including us, but still its makes it hard to take at the time. That said Bar could not kill the game off and Rea never say die attitude was rewarded in the end. With regard to not getting out of first gear that was because you were not allowed to, not that you decided to play in 1st gear. If you play like that again I would you find it hard that you would win the cup? Pitch was poor for both teams but suited the stronger and older home side. Best of luck in the final. I don’t think anyone saying a Celtic Utd final can be faulted with that, taking into account these two teams recent form in the FAI & Connacht cup comp. Maybe Rea have been in Connacht finals in the past and were unfairly considered outsiders. Maybe you can tell me different. IMO Utd are the best Junior team in Connacht and I know West etc will have a go.
TheRealMuller
08/04/2009, 9:35 AM
I don’t agree with 352 comments and I was at the game but on the day the home team got out a jail and had two major decisions go their way but that is football and these decisions tend to go to the home as all teams have got including us, but still its makes it hard to take at the time. That said Bar could not kill the game off and Rea never say die attitude was rewarded in the end. With regard to not getting out of first gear that was because you were not allowed to, not that you decided to play in 1st gear. If you play like that again I would you find it hard that you would win the cup? Pitch was poor for both teams but suited the stronger and older home side. Best of luck in the final. I don’t think anyone saying a Celtic Utd final can be faulted with that, taking into account these two teams recent form in the FAI & Connacht cup comp. Maybe Rea have been in Connacht finals in the past and were unfairly considered outsiders. Maybe you can tell me different. IMO Utd are the best Junior team in Connacht and I know West etc will have a go.
No this will be the first Connaught final for castlerea to contest. there is no doubt that Crea were not able to put any real passages of play together until the no.8 for Cbar went off injured. as for the decisions for from the ref ye were hard done by esp with a very questionable offside that went against ye, but saying that that is strong Crea team who have put decent runs together in the FAI cup over the last few years.
Cbar were the better team for most the game on sunday and had some very good young players and were hard done, but 352 putting us down as the worst team to contest a final is a terrible statement to make considering we put 5 past Manualla who were also tipped to turn us over!!
Closing Time
08/04/2009, 10:00 AM
No this will be the first Connaught final for castlerea to contest. there is no doubt that Crea were not able to put any real passages of play together until the no.8 for Cbar went off injured. as for the decisions for from the ref ye were hard done by esp with a very questionable offside that went against ye, but saying that that is strong Crea team who have put decent runs together in the FAI cup over the last few years.
Cbar were the better team for most the game on sunday and had some very good young players and were hard done, but 352 putting us down as the worst team to contest a final is a terrible statement to make considering we put 5 past Manualla who were also tipped to turn us over!!
Hope your first final is a good one for your club the oldest in Connacht as far as I know. I know for a fact your team is know where near the worst team that has played in this final and if you play the like you did in the last 15 minutes for 90 you will be hard to beat. All Celtic were disappointed with the result but that’s behind us now as we look forward to our new adventure in the LOI. Let the big time roll on. The statement by 352 was out of order but I can feel his pain which is good to see.
Leveller
08/04/2009, 1:53 PM
Are ye changing them ? Surely before they are changed they would have to be brought up for discussion before an agm , if not , clubs could put in "pathetic" objections .
Cow field , surely your players should have been at an advantage as ye are a rural club , West Uniteds players nor the venue in Mervue would have had sight of a live cow in years .
Just a small reminder , the pitch was in Mervue , two teams played on it , neither of whom would have played there for years since previous Connacht Cup winners , Crescent United , were in junior soccer ( about five years ago ).
West played the semi final against East Utd on a pitch they never played or trained on at the weekend .The standard was brutal , says a lot for yereselves .
No doubt ye will improve now that the excellent facilities in Westport Gaa club are nearing completion , lovly soccer pitchs there , fair play to them !
On the subject of pitches, we were not sure which pitch we were playing on, as your crew in Galway could not make up your minds where the game was going to be played.
Your quotes;
You - "West Uniteds players nor the venue in Mervue would have had sight of a live cow in years"
Yeah, and the grounds haven't seen a groundskeeper grounds keeper either.
You - "West played the semi final against East Utd on a pitch they never played or trained on at the weekend .The standard was brutal , says a lot for yereselves"
How does this say alot for ourselves? What are you on about?
You - No doubt ye will improve now that the excellent facilities in Westport Gaa club are nearing completion , lovly soccer pitchs there , fair play to them !
Yes, fair play to them.
08/04/2009, 8:04 PM
very mature post TheRealMuller ;)
It is very obvious from reading a lot of the posts (not all ) on this subject , that a major travesty of justice has been carried out .The 2009 Connacht junior cup final should be between Westport and Castlebar Celtic . Not the likes of West United and Castlerea Celtic .They only beat the previously mentioned Mayo teams , and , therefore do not deserve there day out on the top playing surface in Ireland , Terryland Park .
Is this whinging unique to Mayo , as East Uniteds players and managers posted opinions on the Galway Forum re their defeat to West , all were graceful , thankful and passed on best wishes to their conquerors .
Sportsmanship ? Obviously an inferiority complex has crept into male sport in Mayo , I think it leaks form the underachieveing GAA senior mens team , I mean what else could it be , ye surely are not that bad minded by accident ?
09/04/2009, 9:40 AM
haha great post murty. they mayo senior team are always very expectant alright :D
TheRealMuller
09/04/2009, 12:03 PM
good post murty and i hope its a great final, any idea when its going to be played i heard whispers of the 10th of may???
Closing Time
09/04/2009, 3:01 PM
It is very obvious from reading a lot of the posts (not all ) on this subject , that a major travesty of justice has been carried out .The 2009 Connacht junior cup final should be between Westport and Castlebar Celtic . Not the likes of West United and Castlerea Celtic .They only beat the previously mentioned Mayo teams , and , therefore do not deserve there day out on the top playing surface in Ireland , Terryland Park .
Is this whinging unique to Mayo , as East Uniteds players and managers posted opinions on the Galway Forum re their defeat to West , all were graceful , thankful and passed on best wishes to their conquerors .
Sportsmanship ? Obviously an inferiority complex has crept into male sport in Mayo , I think it leaks form the underachieveing GAA senior mens team , I mean what else could it be , ye surely are not that bad minded by accident ?
Bar one from 352 (IMO wrong) who from Celtic said that Rea should not be in the final and I dont think he said they should not be in final just not very sporting with his comments. If East had the same justice as Utd do you think they would be sending the same posts, cop on young man. Celtic players and supporters went back to the pub with the home team and spent a nice few pounds in the pub and supported their lotto. What more do you want us to do say they deserved their win and the better team won. If that’s not sportmanship maybe you have a different brand in Galway. Yes we were hurting, and giving out when you feel you left the game behind you and every ref decision that went against you was a major decision in our eyes, as all teams I have been involved with in Dublin and other places have done, but you get over it by the next day, well some off us do. Come 352 take back you statement and wish the rea all the best in the final. As for Mayo GAA, I would say the people on here really don’t give a sh**e about how the mayo GAA team are doing be it good or bad.
As I said not all posts , and well put and said .I replied because this section of foot.ie had turned into a whinging section more than anything else . Giving out about teams that had won rather than lost had become the norm .
I have ,over the last 5 /6 years have been involved with players from both Westport and Castlebar Celtic in a coaching and management capacity , as well as lads form all over Mayo and have found them ALL to be honest , hard working and very commited to their chosen sport .I have enjoyed hospitality over the years in Castlebar , Ballina and even the "Squealing Pig " after games where my club team had been victorious and always found the hosts to be warm ,friendly and sportspeople .
So this leaves me wondering as to who these people are , that have made me so mad I felt I had to reply to their rants ?
Please note I throw in the odd bit myself to stoke things up a bit ,, but definitly feel there are a small few plikes who see no further than their own little football and are determined to be bad minded .Up Mayo ( if I dont put that in my parents in Claremorris will kill me !!:):):)
GoodFootball
10/04/2009, 10:19 AM
As I said not all posts , and well put and said .I replied because this section of foot.ie had turned into a whinging section more than anything else . Giving out about teams that had won rather than lost had become the norm .
I have ,over the last 5 /6 years have been involved with players from both Westport and Castlebar Celtic in a coaching and management capacity , as well as lads form all over Mayo and have found them ALL to be honest , hard working and very commited to their chosen sport .I have enjoyed hospitality over the years in Castlebar , Ballina and even the "Squealing Pig " after games where my club team had been victorious and always found the hosts to be warm ,friendly and sportspeople .
So this leaves me wondering as to who these people are , that have made me so mad I felt I had to reply to their rants ?
Please note I throw in the odd bit myself to stoke things up a bit ,, but definitly feel there are a small few plikes who see no further than their own little football and are determined to be bad minded .Up Mayo ( if I dont put that in my parents in Claremorris will kill me !!:):):)
Your away in your own world mate! Might I suggest creating a forum called murtys thoughts...at least we wouldn't have to read he cr@p you write on forums like this where people like to discuss football
10/04/2009, 1:03 PM
Please note I throw in the odd bit myself to stoke things up a bit ,,
I'd appreciate if you just posted about football and not bother "stoking things up a bit" as there's enough going on already and I'm the person who has to deal with it when it goes pear shaped around here.
Leveller
21/04/2009, 8:46 AM
Your away in your own world mate! Might I suggest creating a forum called murtys thoughts...at least we wouldn't have to read he cr@p you write on forums like this where people like to discuss football
Well said!:D
east utd
04/05/2009, 3:22 PM
Eexpect west to win on sunday 4 v 1,peno against us was very tough,never was but thats football,get on with it and will be in terryland to wish them good luck.if westport think they are the team they are they should concentrate hard on winning it next year.
TheRealMuller
04/05/2009, 10:38 PM
nice to see East utd dropping off a comment i thought this forum had gone dead!!! is anyone else willing to put their neck out and call it, reckon myself its going to be tight, hope both teams make is a good game!!
east utd
05/05/2009, 1:30 PM
thanks muller,changing laptops hence off posting.,if the final wasent in terryland would make it a 50/50.as east proved on a one -off match anything can happen.
buddyb
05/05/2009, 9:39 PM
Firstly , lads bit of an injury doubt with West top scorer Matts O Malley , big loss if not make it . Would predict a 2-1 or 3-1 win for West as i watched West beat Tuam Celtic 5-1 in Terryland earlier in the year and were very impressive with the ball on the ground . No one would have beaten them that night !!!!
Secondly , Any Castlebar lads out there be able to tell me asap the dimentions of the astro pitch in Castlebar ????? Much Obliged !!!!!
sprah1
05/05/2009, 10:15 PM
Firstly , lads bit of an injury doubt with West top scorer Matts O Malley , big loss if not make it . Would predict a 2-1 or 3-1 win for West as i watched West beat Tuam Celtic 5-1 in Terryland earlier in the year and were very impressive with the ball on the ground . No one would have beaten them that night !!!!
Secondly , Any Castlebar lads out there be able to tell me asap the dimentions of the astro pitch in Castlebar ????? Much Obliged !!!!!
Not exactly sure, but I'd say 100yds x 50. A little narrow but good enough none the less for 11 v 11.
hoop4life
06/05/2009, 10:08 AM
i think it is around 100x50 but im not sure. milebush astroturf is bigger but the surface is old and very hard and poor. celtic astroturf surface is a lot better and it is big enough for 11 v 11.
Closing Time
06/05/2009, 10:09 AM
108 x 56 approx
hoop4life
06/05/2009, 10:13 AM
108 x 56 approx
sounds right. i knew it was around that size but i wasn't totally sure
Would ye agree these type of surfaces give the home side an unfair advantage over a team that is used to training and playing on grass ?
sprah1
07/05/2009, 10:03 PM
Would ye agree these type of surfaces give the home side an unfair advantage over a team that is used to training and playing on grass ?
No........I'd rather play on a good Astro like at Celtic rather than on some of the other muck pitches that are around......
TheRealMuller
08/05/2009, 5:22 PM
i would say it defo does, although it is better than playing on a poor pitch i think teams who are used to playin on these surfaces are able to play at a much higher tempo and usually this makes it very hard for the opposition to get into the game
east utd
09/05/2009, 1:56 PM
allows for more technical skills to be developed,all underage matches at age ten should be played on these surfaces,getting away from this many castlerea supporters going to the final
hoop4life
09/05/2009, 2:30 PM
agreed. u10s and some games at all youth levels should be on astro. a lot easier coach kids to pass the ball on an astro than on a wet mucky pitch. they're the way forward
TheRealMuller
10/05/2009, 9:13 AM
allows for more technical skills to be developed,all underage matches at age ten should be played on these surfaces,getting away from this many castlerea supporters going to the final
From wat i have heard from ppl seems to be a god amount travelling, think this weather will encourage a few more to travel aswel!!
just a matter of interest are there any local bookies providing odds on todays game???
Looking forward to a good game of football and hopefully not the type of battle that happened when the teams played last!!
10/05/2009, 12:02 PM
Good LUck to connachts oldest soccer club today in Terryland park. Hopefuly ye can do it and get the result ye deserve.
All the best to Willie Grant and Tom Lallys team , 15 mins away from kick off in the final .Hope its a good sporting match , enjoy the game Castlerea but hope West win it .
hoop4life
10/05/2009, 7:37 PM
west utd 0-2 castlerea
congrats to castlerea!! :ball:
TheRealMuller
10/05/2009, 9:05 PM
Originally Posted by TheRealMuller http://foot.ie/forums/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?p=1123223#post1123223)
castlerea celtic made it into the semi's after a win against manulla today, could they be the surprise package??
delighted to say that we were the surprise package today in what was a very hard fought game, def had a bit of luck on our side not to concede but i think that is needed to win any nevermind when your up against quality opposition. Great to see such a good turn for a junior final and alot of credit has to be given to west utd and the manager willie grant who were very gracious in defeat!!!
Closing Time
10/05/2009, 10:45 PM
Well done to Castlerea Celtic
Westside142
11/05/2009, 8:18 AM
Originally Posted by TheRealMuller http://foot.ie/forums/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?p=1123223#post1123223)
castlerea celtic made it into the semi's after a win against manulla today, could they be the surprise package??
delighted to say that we were the surprise package today in what was a very hard fought game, def had a bit of luck on our side not to concede but i think that is needed to win any nevermind when your up against quality opposition. Great to see such a good turn for a junior final and alot of credit has to be given to west utd and the manager willie grant who were very gracious in defeat!!!
Yes well done on your great win yesterday.No one gave ye a chance and its a nice change from the usual top teams winning this cup.Karma does exist.
11/05/2009, 9:10 AM
well done castlerea celtic, sounds like ye were deserved winners on the day and played really well, and kepper pulling off a great penalty save for ye. I'm sure some are still out celebrating the win :D
11/05/2009, 10:53 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xVEI0JOpMU4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0QhrOS16yYg
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PPKJ6ivczEk
murty
11/05/2009, 12:13 PM
Well done to Castlerea on yere deserved win in the final yesterday . The better team on the day won , deservedly so . The goal from the full back was as good a goal as you would see anywhere . Your keeper if he was still there today would not be beaten , excellent display .Your supporters all 700 of them were a credit to your club , town and county lovly sporting people .
The setting was absolutely magnificent , everyone could see why the Terryland park surface has won top pitch in hte league of Ireland for the last number of years .Bathed in warm sunshine , most Galwegians cannot remember a warm Terryland , normally artic wind coming straight down the Corrib .
West I think froze on the day and didnt really get going until it was too late and the game over . Young side , if they can stay together , with Willie still in charge they can only improve over the next number of years .
Again very well done Castlerea .
west awake
11/05/2009, 4:30 PM
well done castlerea from all at west utd,your win was well deserved,we'll come back next year and try again,no excuses,the ref was good the pitch was perfect,missing no players,everything was there for us but we weren't good enough on the day,i was glad to hear you say west were gracious in defeat because they always are,i must say castlerea were gracious in victory which is even more important,they never rubbed it in,good sportmen all round,just a little footnote to show how sporting west are and not like some other teams,they were informed after the game by a member of the connacht fa that you can only use 3 subs from 5 which is 16 on the card but castlerea named 18 and i think brought on no.17 in injury time,west were told to object and go through the proper channels and they would get a replay,the words from the west manager,stick your replay were not w**tp**t,we got beaten by the better team on the day end of story.
hoop4life
11/05/2009, 4:39 PM
well done castlerea from all at west utd,your win was well deserved,we'll come back next year and try again,no excuses,the ref was good the pitch was perfect,missing no players,everything was there for us but we weren't good enough on the day,i was glad to hear you say west were gracious in defeat because they always are,i must say castlerea were gracious in victory which is even more important,they never rubbed it in,good sportmen all round,just a little footnote to show how sporting west are and not like some other teams,they were informed after the game by a member of the connacht fa that you can only use 3 subs from 5 which is 16 on the card but castlerea named 18 and i think brought on no.17 in injury time,west were told to object and go through the proper channels and they would get a replay,the words from the west manager,stick your replay were not w**tp**t,we got beaten by the better team on the day end of story.
fair play, as has been said before if you are beaten on the day you are beaten on the day. end of.
was surprised to hear the result but it is good to have the odd shock winner every now and again. opens up the whole competition. it will be even more open anymore seen as more than likely celtic, mervue and salthill are unlikely winners with their second teams. makes it more interesting
murty
12/05/2009, 12:27 PM
True for you , not a shock though re Castlerea , they were looking good form the very start . Note you mention Salthill as not being in the mix re Connacht cup , I may be wrong but I would be fairly cerain the have never won it , maybe not even in a final ? I know for certain they only ever won a single premier league in Galway , despite all their facilities and huge number of players . Mervues team in this years Connacht cup was a combination of their 3rd and 4th teams who play in the premier and first div in Galway , their second team are in the Eircom u 20 league .
Outside bet for next years competition with a bit of luck Oranmore FC . Galway Hibs , of whom some of their very recently retired players had three and four Connacht cup medals are a few years off the mark yet , so West look the best Galway bet again as Athenry are in a bit of (outside ) player fuelled turmoil .
threefivetwo
12/05/2009, 3:40 PM
fair play to the west manager for saying that, not everyone tries to go to such measures as westport did when they lose a game. well done to castlerea!!
west awake
12/05/2009, 4:07 PM
fair play to the west manager for saying that, not everyone tries to go to such measures as westport did when they lose a game. well done to castlerea!!exactly the best team won on the day and if west won it in a replay it wouldn't be like winning at all if you ask me,not alone was manager against appealing,the club as a whole felt they just didn't deserve anything on the day.
Good LUck to connachts oldest soccer club today in Terryland park. Hopefuly ye can do it and get the result ye deserve.
Are they really Connachts oldest soccer club ? Galway Rovers date back to 1937 and I think UCG ( now NUI, G) have records going back to at least 1906 . When were Castlerea formed ? Is Donald Egan still involved with the club ? "hooda " or something like that he was called inthe very early 90s .
12/05/2009, 9:33 PM
1894, was the first game played, an Uncle has a picture from around 1906 or so I think. They used to play games near what was the dance hall and whats the mart now as well from the 50s onwards.
There are more informed people than me on here probably, but they disbanded and reformed again around 1958 i think. Having said that the uncle said he played early 50s(and he has a pic from sometime around then as a young fella as well in a celtic jersey) so I'm not sure thats exactly the right date.....but the point is they were definitely around in 1894 :)
There were a good few egans involved in the club down through the years I beleive!!
Thanks for that Paul , at that rate they must be one of the oldest teams in the country ! Bet they won't have as long a wait til there next cup win !
east utd
13/05/2009, 9:57 AM
while sad to see west lose,it gives hope to the rest of the clubs that t is happening,[personally]a level off in overall standard in connaught ..any team can beat anyone on a particular day.can tell you we are very dissapointed not to have beaten west,most neutrals gave us no chance ,but fair play to them they won.west,wesport castlebar top 3 but outside that any team can break trough