View Full Version : Connaught Cup 2008/09

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7

13/12/2008, 7:07 PM
Loving your pathetic reply, you must be playing for Mayo yourself with the big talk. Hope u reveal yourself before we play celtic next season as it makes the game more interesting from my perspective. I'll understand if you dont though. Thanks for assessing my football skills though! Do yo come to all my games?

I dont need to play for Mayo or Castlebar Celtic to enjoy my football, I have nothing to prove, looking forward to the challenge of the super league. Cheers buddy ;)

Havent a clue who you are and neither do I want to know.I have Never seen you play.

It dosent bother me who you are

13/12/2008, 7:10 PM
Did it ever occur to you that the lads are merely extracting the urine???? It´s been going on for months and yet every time both yourself and Stevie rise to it... Of course the boys are going to keep it up, it´s too funny not to! Believe me, there is no genuine bias towards Celtic, it´s just that the season is over (for us anyway) and it´s a nice moment in the day to come online and see one of ye either crying or going nuts over some supposed slur on your beloved team. Especially when 352 posts after a night out! Keep it up boys, it´s making the long winter nights that little bit shorter...

Did it ever occur to ye that we could be doing the same to ye:D

At least we have our own team to talk about and not jump on another band wagon;)

Raheen
13/12/2008, 8:20 PM
Lads,

For the love of God could ye take all this sh**e else where and stick to talking football.

GoodFootball
14/12/2008, 8:18 PM
Did it ever occur to ye that we could be doing the same to ye:D

At least we have our own team to talk about and not jump on another band wagon;)

Lets stick to talking about football then!

Who did ye get in the next round of the junior cup? :D

GoodFootball
14/12/2008, 8:22 PM
Lads,

For the love of God could ye take all this sh**e else where and stick to talking football.

Point taken, lost track of the forum I was posting to :)

15/12/2008, 7:54 AM
As you well know celtic got beaten yesterday,Im not going to go crying about the result only to say that.....Nobody minds getting beat by a better team but when you have officials that dont know the laws/rules of the game it can be hard

I would like to think I would know a little about football

AS raheen posted,Lets keep this to football:ball:

kingkong
15/12/2008, 11:40 AM
heard you had a perfectly good goal disallowed

keith.henn
15/12/2008, 12:56 PM
Home advantage is what the Junior Cup is all about, just ask St Michaels, a mate of mine plays for them, says they were robbed in the quarters in Castlebar last year, but maybe he was just felling hard done by when travelling away and losing a tight game, isnt that what we all do???

At least ye have home advantage in the Connacht Cup?!?!!??!

GoodFootball
15/12/2008, 2:51 PM
Home advantage is what the Junior Cup is all about, just ask St Michaels, a mate of mine plays for them, says they were robbed in the quarters in Castlebar last year, but maybe he was just felling hard done by when travelling away and losing a tight game, isnt that what we all do???

At least ye have home advantage in the Connacht Cup?!?!!??!

Move on, thats all ya can do. In tight games its easy to blame certain decisions from ref etc...

Celtic might have better luck in the connaught cup :ball:

theboy
15/12/2008, 4:26 PM
i suppose its hard for any traveling team, thats the advantage for the home teams in any competition.
hopefully the mayo teams will have a better run in the connacht cup.

had celtic and manulla there strongest teams out??

when is the next round of the connacht cup to be played?

mayo clubs are always goin to be at a disadvantage in the external cups due to there season been over, plus clubs arent training as much as they were. Other counties are in mid season. if the super league starts in may next year it should help.

Thunderblaster
15/12/2008, 7:49 PM
If Westport United has the luck of black cats, I have no doubt that the agonising famine in the Connacht Cup will end. Personnel wise, we have a good enough side to win it, attitude wise, it is down to the players if they have the hunger and the passion to win the trophy. The supporters are screaming for Connacht Cup success.

keith.henn
15/12/2008, 9:46 PM
I'd say both Castlebar and Westport should both progress in the connacht cup at the expense of two middling sligo/leitrim premier league teams, I cant imagine the top teams in the sligo leitrim league(Carbury, City Utd, Strand) being bothered about having to face either cliffoney or ballygawley.........but sure if the underdog never has a chance is there any point in running these competitions?? no offence to Westport but I'd imagine they were the outsiders against Pike and Killester......we all have a slim chance on any given sunday/saturday night.......particularly if castlebar are a long ball team????

Fr Damo
22/01/2009, 3:12 PM
When is the Westport v Cliffiney game going ahead, A few from Athlone heading down spying for the FAI cup game.

hoop4life
22/01/2009, 3:53 PM
I'd say both Castlebar and Westport should both progress in the connacht cup at the expense of two middling sligo/leitrim premier league teams, I cant imagine the top teams in the sligo leitrim league(Carbury, City Utd, Strand) being bothered about having to face either cliffoney or ballygawley.........but sure if the underdog never has a chance is there any point in running these competitions?? no offence to Westport but I'd imagine they were the outsiders against Pike and Killester......we all have a slim chance on any given sunday/saturday night.......particularly if castlebar are a long ball team????

celtic dont play long ball. might have in the past but not now. play as good of football as any team in the county.

southern red
22/01/2009, 6:07 PM
any news on the draw for the next round yet ??
can someone update it please.

keith.henn
22/01/2009, 10:03 PM
hoop4life,

what are the chances of your pitch being playable on sunday, i hear ye were mad to get on sat night.....might be missing few???

hoop4life
23/01/2009, 3:42 PM
hoop4life,

what are the chances of your pitch being playable on sunday, i hear ye were mad to get on sat night.....might be missing few???

pitch will more than likely be playable. i dont think we are missing any either. the game was always set for sunday, didnt hear anything about trying to change it to saturday night.

threefivetwo
25/01/2009, 11:25 AM
the pitch should be playable, probably better than any pitch in sligo, not saying that in a thick way!! the game was asked to be on saturday night so it would be better for the supporters and to get more up to the game to watch t under the lights. we're not long ball team anymore, hopefully we won't be today :) u can prove us wrong...

hoop4life
25/01/2009, 3:34 PM
celtic 10-0 ballygawley
city utd 3-1 erris

snugboro 3-1 s & f utd????? i think

threefivetwo
26/01/2009, 2:56 AM
celtic 10-0 ballygawley
city utd 3-1 erris

snugboro 3-1 s & f utd????? i think

what do ya wreckon, can celtic play football????? not bein biast (hopefully thats spelt right) but that was football played at it's most, hoofers??? arsenal weren't n it today we showed today that we are not hoofers lets be honest we were savage today bud ya???

GoodFootball
26/01/2009, 11:07 AM
what do ya wreckon, can celtic play football????? not bein biast (hopefully thats spelt right) but that was football played at it's most, hoofers??? arsenal weren't n it today we showed today that we are not hoofers lets be honest we were savage today bud ya???

No disrespect to the result, im sure ye played like Arsenel and all that but Ballygawley are currently bottom of the 2nd flight in Sligo/Leitrom. They have won 1 out of 8 games this season and got hammered by more than 5 a couple of times.

Im sure there are tougher tests ahead for ye, well done though ;)

26/01/2009, 11:20 AM
3.56am

Connacht Junior Cup Fourth Round
NO HOME TEAM == AWAY TEAM DATE
A Partry Athletic 1-2 Reall Tubber 18th January
B St Johns Athletic V Aughannagh Celtic 25th January
C Ballinasloe Town 4-0 Dynamo Blues 11th January
D Mervue United V Oranmore 1st February
E East United V Kiltimagh/Knock 1st February
F Westport United V Cliffoney Celtic 25th January
G Manulla V Athenry 8th February
H Castlebar Celtic V Ballygawley Celtic 25th January
J City United V Iorrathas Aonthaithe 25th January
K Galway Hibs 2-3 Carbury FC 17th January
L Salthill Devon V NUIGalway 1st February
M Boyle Celtic V Castlerea Celtic 8th February
N Moyne Villa V Dunmore Town 1st February
O Cloonfad United 1-4 Yeats United 18th February
P Snugboro V Straide & Foxford Utd 25th January
R West United V Ballisodare United 8th February

Fifth Round Weekend 14th/15th February
S B V N
T M V Carbury FC
U Westport United V D
V City United V L
W Castlebar Celtic V Ballinasloe Town
X Yeats United V R
Y Real Tubber V E
Z Snugboro V G

hoop4life
26/01/2009, 3:37 PM
3.56am

A Partry Athletic 1-2 Reall Tubber 18th January
B St Johns Athletic V Aughannagh Celtic 25th January
C Ballinasloe Town 4-0 Dynamo Blues 11th January
D Mervue United V Oranmore 1st February
E East United V Kiltimagh/Knock 1st February
F Westport United V Cliffoney Celtic 25th January
H Castlebar Celtic V Ballygawley Celtic 25th January
J City United V Iorrathas Aonthaithe 25th January
K Galway Hibs 2-3 Carbury FC 17th January
L Salthill Devon V NUIGalway 1st February
N Moyne Villa V Dunmore Town 1st February
O Cloonfad United 1-4 Yeats United 18th February
P Snugboro V Straide & Foxford Utd 25th January

S B V N
T M V Carbury FC
U Westport United V D
V City United V L
X Yeats United V R
Y Real Tubber V E
Z Snugboro V G

mayos oscar tranyor cup semi final v a.u.l. is on the 14th/15th february so i dont think the fifth round involving mayo teams will be played that weekend.

did straide and foxford have 4 players sent off against snugboro yesterday?

theboy
26/01/2009, 3:56 PM
mayos oscar tranyor cup semi final v a.u.l. is on the 14th/15th february so i dont think the fifth round involving mayo teams will be played that weekend.

did straide and foxford have 4 players sent off against snugboro yesterday?

this was some game to watch, yes s&f had 4 players sent off in the second half. the ref was a disgrace if you ask me, him and his linesmen lost the run of themselves. maybe it was just me but the boro seemed to be given all the calls.
the 4 players to be sent off were alan mc donnell, gerry gaughan, paul fitzpatrick and declan tigue.

was anyone else at the game? what did ye think?

26/01/2009, 4:06 PM
this was some game to watch, yes s&f had 4 players sent off in the second half. the ref was a disgrace if you ask me, him and his linesmen lost the run of themselves. maybe it was just me but the boro seemed to be given all the calls.
the 4 players to be sent off were alan mc donnell, gerry gaughan, paul fitzpatrick and declan tigue.

was anyone else at the game? what did ye think?

Caught the last 20 Mins of the game,I would not nessecairly blame the referee,Alan Mc was a little unlucky but he was on a yellow card at the time,as for Dec Tighe it was a frustrated challenge near the end and he left the referee with no choice,it wasnt even a tackle it was a kick that was about three seconds late.The other lads I cant say but it seemed that they said a little too much to the ref and he just sent them to the line.I was told that it was not a dirty game or anything,after all I think snugboro only had One yellow for the day.Id say the boro lads were happy enough with the result considering that they had lost the cup final in sept to s&f

26/01/2009, 9:19 PM
if ya saw the whole game ya would no where "theboy" was comin from, yes snugboro were only given 1 yellow cards but should have had a few more, stevie gavin fouled all day long but no cards seen.

yes frustration led to tigue's red, the other 2 lads red were for letting the ref know wot they thought, that had built up from the 1st peno the boro were given. alan mc yes was on a yellow but made a hard tackle and got a second yellow after stevie made a 4 course meal out of it..

Jesus lads,give it a break...The boro lads didnt complain after they lost the cup final..but from my point of view they could and should have when they scored a perfect goal when the score was 3-3 in the cup final.They took it on the chin.I know stevie pretty well and to say he made a meal of it is a bit unfair considering that he was goin for physio this evening as a result of the challenge.In saying that I have the utmost respect for Alan as a footballer and I would say that He went for the challenge in a fair manner

keith.henn
26/01/2009, 10:02 PM

Fair play to the Castlebar lads, they really knocked the ball around well but in all fairness they were hardly pushed, and in no way was the 10-0 score line fair.....it should've been 14/15-0....dont get too carried away with it, we had 4 players over 35 who played the 90 mins on that huge milebush pitch and it was 9 weeks since we last had a match, and 2 one hour training session and the excessess of christmas since. I'm as stiff as a board today......in all probability you would've been better off playing yer b team in a friendly....still we enjoyed the day out and the hospitality too, cheers for that lads, we didnt even get asked back to pub by either Crossmolina or Kilmore in the previous years....and considering we beat Kilmore handy in the previous round and the thrashing ye gave us I dont hold much hope out for them in the Super league next year, best of luck in the next round, you'll have a harder time of it against Ballinasloe, we knocked them out of the fai two years ago on pens with 9 men, a real back to walls job that we were hoping to replicate yeasterday but we couldnt even find the wall...............

Leveller
28/01/2009, 8:10 AM

We had this debate before didnt we? When you played Swinford which are a couple of divisions down you hammered them and would be expected to.

Look at your latest oppositions pedigree? It is easy to play good football against a weak side.

You obviously cant differeentiate between a good team and a bad team.

28/01/2009, 7:12 PM
We had this debate before didnt we? When you played Swinford which are a couple of divisions down you hammered them and would be expected to.

Look at your latest oppositions pedigree? It is easy to play good football against a weak side.

You obviously cant differeentiate between a good team and a bad team.

Come on Leveller,352 was just replying to a few previous replys about how some people did or did not agree about the fact that Celtic played football or not.The answer was they do play football,Its the connaught cup and admittedly they played against what some people may say was a Lesser team.Its a cup competition and and its not there fault who the opposition were,but they still had to play and play football they did...end of story:ball:

Leveller
29/01/2009, 9:49 AM
Come on Leveller,352 was just replying to a few previous replys about how some people did or did not agree about the fact that Celtic played football or not.The answer was they do play football,Its the connaught cup and admittedly they played against what some people may say was a Lesser team.Its a cup competition and and its not there fault who the opposition were,but they still had to play and play football they did...end of story:ball:

Fair point 1924.

Thunderblaster
29/01/2009, 5:22 PM
What a farce, progressing two rounds without kicking a ball.:mad: Looking forward to the Oranmore/Mervue clash.:D

west awake
30/01/2009, 4:30 PM
What a farce, progressing two rounds without kicking a ball.:mad: Looking forward to the Oranmore/Mervue clash.:DYe will be 2 strong for whoever advances in this one.

Billynose
30/01/2009, 5:16 PM
Seeing as west fancy themselves (and rightly so) as potential winners of this competition ye must be bricking facing Westport :)

West United 3 - 2 Oranmore FC
West United 1 - 1 Mervue United
Oranmore FC 1 - 0 West United

west awake
30/01/2009, 5:57 PM
Seeing as west fancy themselves (and rightly so) as potential winners of this competition ye must be bricking facing Westport :)

West United 3 - 2 Oranmore FC
West United 1 - 1 Mervue United
Oranmore FC 1 - 0 West Unitedit wasn't a cheap shot at mervue or oranmore,westport are a very good side,your also very selective in your west results,west unbeaten in all cups,won 7 out of 9 in the league,drew 1 lost 1,beat galway hibs twice,beat athenry away,hammered rangers 6-1,salthill 5-1,colga 4-0,nuig 4-1,beat ballinrobe 7-0,beat usher celtic 10-1,fair enough oranmore deservedly beat west,but it was an off day and 9 times out of 10 west would win.

and as for west bricking it facing westport,west already beat them last year in westport 2-0 in the connacht cup,but thats not 2 say westport won't go all the way,there a very good side and west had to play out of there skin to win that day.i think the winners will come from west,westport,athenry or castlebar.maybe billynose oranmore will prove me wrong and go all the way and best of luck to ye if ye do.

Billynose
30/01/2009, 8:12 PM
Don't get me wrong, I know how strong west are this season. I was just (jokingly) making the point that if you say Westport are too strong for Oranmore/Mervue and Wests results haven't exactly been great against either of those teams this season, then maybe West should be scared of Westport :)

For the record i've no idea whatsoever how good Westport or any team from Connaught outside of Galway are for that matter so I won't make a prediction

threefivetwo
03/02/2009, 4:02 PM
No disrespect to the result, im sure ye played like Arsenel and all that but Ballygawley are currently bottom of the 2nd flight in Sligo/Leitrom. They have won 1 out of 8 games this season and got hammered by more than 5 a couple of times.

Im sure there are tougher tests ahead for ye, well done though ;)

i was only messing about the arsenal thing, we won't play that well again if we come up against a better team, no offense to ye!! ther'll def be tougher tests ahead for us, cheers bud!! :)

GoodFootball
03/02/2009, 4:29 PM
i was only messing about the arsenal thing, we won't play that well again if we come up against a better team, no offense to ye!! ther'll def be tougher tests ahead for us, cheers bud!! :)

No offense to ye? - No offense to Ballygawley players, ya mean.

Tougher test ahead alright for ye, against Fahy in the super league :D

05/02/2009, 2:38 PM
B St Johns Athletic V Aughannagh Celtic 8th February

S B V Moyne Villa
T M V Carbury FC
U Westport United V Oranmore
V City United V Salthill Devon
X Yeats United V R
Y Real Tubber V East United
Z Snugboro V G

threefivetwo
05/02/2009, 6:52 PM
No offense to ye? - No offense to Ballygawley players, ya mean.

Tougher test ahead alright for ye, against Fahy in the super league :D

sorry i got the names mixed up was readin the comment from the ballygawlew player and got mixed up. we wont see ye in the super league next year unfortunately, after all that waiting, we entered the a league, it's starting in april!!

hodgie
09/02/2009, 12:31 PM
West Utd 3-1 Ballisodare. A deserved win for a good side, I expect West to go a long way, tho yeats will prove a tough test next week. As for us, to go this long in the season unbeaten was a good run, hopefully will get back to winning ways next week.

swinfordfc
09/02/2009, 1:17 PM

B St Johns Athletic V Aughannagh Celtic
G Manulla V Athenry
M Boyle Celtic V Castlerea Celtic

S B V Moyne Villa
T M V Carbury FC
U Westport United V Oranmore
V City United V Salthill Devon
X Yeats United V West Utd
Y Real Tubber V East United
Z Snugboro V G

Cloggs
09/02/2009, 2:31 PM
sorry i got the names mixed up was readin the comment from the ballygawlew player and got mixed up. we wont see ye in the super league next year unfortunately, after all that waiting, we entered the a league, it's starting in april!!

fair play to yee.hope yee do very well in it.what other teams are in the a league with yee?will yee have to travel far or is on a regional basis?

hoop4life
09/02/2009, 2:52 PM
fair play to yee.hope yee do very well in it.what other teams are in the a league with yee?will yee have to travel far or is on a regional basis?

dont know how it is done.
i think it was two random groups last year. could be in cobh one week and derry the next.
not 100% sure of that.
definetley looking forward to it though!!

FahyForever
09/02/2009, 4:52 PM
What´s the situation with the A Championship? Is it a level between junior and senior? How long is it around? I never heard of it so I´m just curious. Best of luck to Castlebar in it anyway, I presume ye are Mayo´s sole representatives?

What´s the ramifications for the club at junior level? The B team are taking the place of the A team I´ve heard. Will they have many players available? The C team presumably take the place of the B team too? Exciting season for ye anyway!

threefivetwo
09/02/2009, 5:29 PM
What´s the situation with the A Championship? Is it a level between junior and senior? How long is it around? I never heard of it so I´m just curious. Best of luck to Castlebar in it anyway, I presume ye are Mayo´s sole representatives?

What´s the ramifications for the club at junior level? The B team are taking the place of the A team I´ve heard. Will they have many players available? The C team presumably take the place of the B team too? Exciting season for ye anyway!

ya, the b team are taking over for the super league and we definitely need more players to compete in the 'a' league far from good enough at the moment but there is a few players hopefully on the cards, it's a learning experience, hopefully we give it a good go!!!

GoodFootball
10/02/2009, 8:44 AM
ya, the b team are taking over for the super league and we definitely need more players to compete in the 'a' league far from good enough at the moment but there is a few players hopefully on the cards, it's a learning experience, hopefully we give it a good go!!!

It'll be tough enough to get the players for every game if ye're travelling away to Cobh and Fanad or whoever.

Are ye losing Andy Neary to S & F? Could be a good player to have in A league...what players are ye trying to sign? There's plenty of players out there who like to jump ship for better standard anyway so ye'll be alright!

hoop4life
10/02/2009, 1:53 PM

yes, we are mayo's only representatives. 2009 will be the a leagues second season running. it is a reserve league for already established eircom league clubs, while it is also a third division for more progressive non-league clubs to enter like ourselves, salthill and mervue. in 2008, mervue won the a league meaning that they got promoted to the 1st division which they will be playnig in this season. the aim is to try and get as many non-league clubs to join and try to force their way into the 1st divisionand also give us more high standard divisions in ireland like in most other countries.

hope that clears it up for you!!!

GoodFootball
10/02/2009, 2:21 PM
yes, we are mayo's only representatives. 2009 will be the a leagues second season running. it is a reserve league for already established eircom league clubs, while it is also a third division for more progressive non-league clubs to enter like ourselves, salthill and mervue. in 2008, mervue won the a league meaning that they got promoted to the 1st division which they will be playnig in this season. the aim is to try and get as many non-league clubs to join and try to force their way into the 1st divisionand also give us more high standard divisions in ireland like in most other countries.

I'd say Fahy will have a few years in the super league before joining the A league :D

FahyForever
10/02/2009, 3:00 PM

It does surely, fair play. Seems like a good idea both on behalf of the F.A.I improve the general standard of the game, and Celtic who want to test themselves at a higher level. What´s the situation with status though? Are ye playing Junior or Senior football? How does a team make the transition from Junior to semi-pro like the league of Ireland teams? Thanks for the help, please excuse all the questions!

hoop4life
10/02/2009, 3:07 PM
It does surely, fair play. Seems like a good idea both on behalf of the F.A.I improve the general standard of the game, and Celtic who want to test themselves at a higher level. What´s the situation with status though? Are ye playing Junior or Senior football? How does a team make the transition from Junior to semi-pro like the league of Ireland teams? Thanks for the help, please excuse all the questions!

no problem with the questions, excuse me on not being able to answer what our status is, i don't know.
i don't think it is much of a transition, celtic already train twice a week and that will probably go up to three maybe four nights a week.
it will take a lot of work from everyone in the club but i think we can pull it off!!
glad to hear that most nuetrals are supporting us.