hoop4life
19/02/2009, 12:40 PM
mayo teams in action this weekend
round 4
manulla v athenry
round 5
westport v oranmore
celtic v ballinasloe
my opinion, athenry to beat manulla, westport to win a tight game against oranmore and celtic to dispose of ballinasloe 2-1.
they will all be tight games
GoodFootball
19/02/2009, 1:06 PM
mayo teams in action this weekend
round 4
manulla v athenry
round 5
westport v oranmore
celtic v ballinasloe
my opinion, athenry to beat manulla, westport to win a tight game against oranmore and celtic to dispose of ballinasloe 2-1.
they will all be tight games
Athenry will hammer Manulla
Westport will hammer Oranmore
Celtic to go through marginally
hoop4life
19/02/2009, 1:15 PM
don't underestimate oranmore. they beat mervue 3 or 4nil in the last round and celtic only beat them on penalties last year and if i can remember correctly, celtic were lucky to come away with a win. oranmore are also 4th in the prem. league in galway ahead of the likes of salthill, mervue and nuig.
i would expect westport to win but they won't hammer them.
19/02/2009, 1:22 PM
Ex Boro player of the year Sean O'Brien playing centre back for Oranmore, few of us heading over.
GoodFootball
19/02/2009, 11:13 PM
don't underestimate oranmore. they beat mervue 3 or 4nil in the last round and celtic only beat them on penalties last year and if i can remember correctly, celtic were lucky to come away with a win. oranmore are also 4th in the prem. league in galway ahead of the likes of salthill, mervue and nuig.
i would expect westport to win but they won't hammer them.
mervue is a b team and they are ahead of oranmore, as are west it'd and athenry. Salthill are bad this year. Oranmore are mid table equivalent of manulla or ballyheane and if Westport play well they will hammer them simple as. Ya never know in cup football though!
Raheen
20/02/2009, 9:55 AM
Athenry's form hasn't been great of late! They will win by an odd goal perhaps but not a hammering!
hoop4life
20/02/2009, 11:43 AM
mervue is a b team and they are ahead of oranmore, as are west it'd and athenry. Salthill are bad this year. Oranmore are mid table equivalent of manulla or ballyheane and if Westport play well they will hammer them simple as. Ya never know in cup football though!
fair enough, if thats your opinion. i'm just saying that i think oranmore could be a bit of a banana skin for westport. they were good last year and they have the added advantage of playing competitive football every week unlike westport who didn't look sharp against st peters and at least 2 of their team got cramp.
having said that, i still would expect westport to beat them in a tight game.
Billynose
22/02/2009, 3:44 PM
Any results in yet?
hoop4life
22/02/2009, 3:47 PM
Any results in yet?
celtic 3-1 ballinasloe
westport 6-3 oranmore
22/02/2009, 4:20 PM
Connacht Junior Cup
Aughannagh 3-0 Moyne Villa
City Utd 2-0 Salthill Devon
Manulla 3-2 Athenry
Real Tubber 1-2 East Utd
Westport United 6-3 Oranmore
Yeats Utd 2-7 West Utd
Castlerea Celtic 3-1 Boyle Celtic
Castlebar Celtic 3-1 Ballinasloe Town
3 Mayo, 2 Sligo, 2 Galway and either Sligo or a Roscommon team in the last 8
Fair play to East United, from Galway Division 3 to get this far. The level in Galway isn't what it used to be.
Fifth Round Weekend 14th/15th February
S Aughannagh Celtic 3-0 Moyne Villa
T Castlerea Celtic V Carbury FC
U Westport United 6-3 Oranmore
V City United 2-0 Salthill Devon
W Castlebar Celtic 3-1 Ballinasloe Town
X Yeats United 2-7 West Utd
Y Real Tubber 1-2 East United
Z Snugboro V Manulla
hoop4life
22/02/2009, 5:13 PM
Connacht Junior Cup
X Yeats United 7-2 West Utd
west utd from galway city beat yeats utd 7-2. that result needs correction.
do you have full qtr final draw? we are away to city utd, thats all i know.
22/02/2009, 5:17 PM
west utd from galway city beat yeats utd 7-2. that result needs correction.
do you have full qtr final draw? we are away to city utd, thats all i know.
Good spot, corrected, I'll try to get the draw.
west awake
23/02/2009, 10:23 AM
any news on the draw joe?big shock athenry going out.
swinfordfc
23/02/2009, 10:37 AM
Fifth Round Weekend
Z Snugboro V Manulla
I guess these 2 games are play this coming weekend?
Some game between Snugboro and Manulla!!!
23/02/2009, 11:27 AM
Fifth Round Weekend
Z Snugboro V Manulla
I guess these 2 games are play this coming weekend?
Some game between Snugboro and Manulla!!!
Snugboro game on the 1st of March, Castlerea on the 8th
Fifth Round
== HOME TEAM VERSUS AWAY TEAM
T Castlerea Celtic 8th Mar Carbury FC
X Yeats United 2-7 West United
Z Snugboro 1st Mar Manulla
QUARTER FINALS
Weekend 14th/15th March
300 Z V T
400 West United V Westport United
500 City United V Castlebar Celtic
600 East United V Aughannagh Celtic
SEMI FINALS
Weekend 4th/5th April
700 300 V 500
800 400 V 600
FINAL
Weekend 25th/26th April
800 V 700
GoodFootball
23/02/2009, 12:38 PM
Well done to Manulla, great result.
Other 2 were easy enough to predict.
By the draw it looks like a Westport Celtic final hopefully! Although the celtic players might have played a few senior matches by then and wont be allowed play in any "junior" competitions? Is this a correct assumption to make?
23/02/2009, 1:16 PM
Well done to Manulla, great result.
Other 2 were easy enough to predict.
By the draw it looks like a Westport Celtic final hopefully! Although the celtic players might have played a few senior matches by then and wont be allowed play in any "junior" competitions? Is this a correct assumption to make?
Read something in the Connacht a couple of weeks ago, which intimated that Celtic were trying to get there league cup games postponed pending there involvement in the Connacht Cup. Not sure of the status.
hoop4life
23/02/2009, 5:21 PM
Snugboro game on the 1st of March, Castlerea on the 8th
Fifth Round
Z Snugboro 1st Mar Manulla
QUARTER FINALS
Weekend 14th/15th March
300 Z V T
SEMI FINALS
Weekend 4th/5th April
700 300 V 500
800 400 V 600
FINAL
Weekend 25th/26th April
800 V 700
celtic westport final would be brilliant. i think west and city utd would have something to say about that though. the winners will come from one of those four and the final will probably involve those two of those four teams. who are aughannagh celtic?
any news on the draw joe?big shock athenry going out.
Manulla deserved to win,Thought that Athenry were shockingly bad.They were at sixs and sevens at the back.Im not been critical of them but there defense looked as though it was the first time they played together.Mossy had a great game plan and it worked.Id say you would have to make them favourites to beat snugboro now next sunday based on yesterdays performance
24/02/2009, 10:27 AM
joe we might b 3rd division ,but we are a new team,wud give most prem teams a run ,has worked great 4 us when teams see we are 3rd division think we are a soft touch,saying that we dont expect to win it out but u never know,who ever gets home adv in the final shud win it
Wasn't disparaging your efforts East Utd. My comment about the level in Galway was specifically based on the impression Oranmore left on me from last weekend. Been following there results this year, and they've got some noticable scalps, however based on there performance on Sunday, I couldn't see where there results were coming from.
east utd
24/02/2009, 12:36 PM
dident take it that way joe,west are the best in galway but oranmore salthill etc too inconsistent,still oranmore on a learning curve like ourselves ,have a feeling westport will beat west think if city united are at home my money wud b on them.as 4 ourselves aughanagh on a par with real tubber who we beat so hopeful,our own league though is our priority.which wud b great to win .so good matches in da qfinals always a shock in 1 so which 1 do u think?
MOD EDIT:Can you please leave out the text speak?
east utd
24/02/2009, 12:41 PM
celtic westport final would be brilliant. i think west and city utd would have something to say about that though. the winners will come from one of those four and the final will probably involve those two of those four teams. who are aughannagh celtic?there are in sligo prem division ,doing my homework as we speak!:):)
west awake
24/02/2009, 1:52 PM
this one should be a cracker,westport will be out for revenge after west's 2-0 win in westport last year in the last 16,two very good footballing sides,this will be tough call,west are flying at the minute.i think whoever wins this one will reach the final.
red metal
24/02/2009, 6:37 PM
I watched 20 mins of West v Yeats on sunday.Very good side cant see anybody touching them in connaught.My money is on West Utd!They have been close the last few seasons.I think this is there year
hoop4life
24/02/2009, 8:25 PM
there are in sligo prem division ,doing my homework as we speak!:):)
best of luck to ye. good to see smaller clubs (no offence) like yerselves and aughannagh getting a good cup run. ye seem to be a progessive club. our u16s played yer u16s before christmas in sfai cup and they gave celtic a good go and we have a few decent players in that side. the few of us on the sideline agreed that ye had a few good footballers so fair play to ye, ye are doing well!! the more good clubs we have trying to improve, and it can't be easy with salthill, mervue, hibs around ye, the better it is for everyone!
east utd
25/02/2009, 10:13 AM
thanks hoop.was involved with mervue underage for a few years so know how they and salthill operate.you guys had a very good u17team a few years ago are they now part of your junior squad?
hoop4life
25/02/2009, 4:05 PM
thanks hoop.was involved with mervue underage for a few years so know how they and salthill operate.you guys had a very good u17team a few years ago are they now part of your junior squad?
i'd say there would be alright. we have a fair few youths in the first team squad. 2 of our 16 year olds that played against ye would be on it and there is a few 17 and 18 year olds on it aswell. our u17s got to two national semi finals and one quarter finals in three years but since then some of that age group and above have joined el clubs
swinfordfc
02/03/2009, 9:42 AM
Updated;
Castlerea game on the 8th
Fifth Round
Z Snugboro 1-2 Manulla
QUARTER FINALS
Weekend 14th/15th March
300 Manulla V T
SEMI FINALS
Weekend 4th/5th April
700 300 V 500
800 400 V 600
FINAL
Weekend 25th/26th April
800 V 700
hoop4life
03/03/2009, 9:09 PM
anyone gonna put their neck on the line and predict a winner?
i'm gonna say that west utd will win it. they should probably still be in the fai junior cup but were beaten narrowly by sheriff who are now joint favourites. manulla could be dark horses.
east utd
04/03/2009, 9:19 AM
west got beaten at home last week,difficult away game to mervue this week ,bad result there could jolt their confidence.cup matches are all about on the day,would make westport favourites,if they beat west they are at home to either us or aughanagh and if sucessful have the final at home.so westport for me.
threefivetwo
05/03/2009, 11:54 AM
it hurts to say but if westport get over the game against west they have a great chance, great team with a lot of quality players, city will be a hard team to beat too on the other side of the draw. celtic v westport in milebush would be a great final don't think we have the team at the moment though to beat them, westport will be out for revenge for their defeat to celtic in the semis a few years back when celtic won it!
Northern Gale
05/03/2009, 12:24 PM
alright lads new to all this so forgive mistakes, i think Celtic are right back in the driving seat again and there seems to be an inch to everyones step around the club which seems to be having a very positive effect on all involved.
TheRealMuller
08/03/2009, 8:36 PM
Manulla will be playing castlerea celtic after they beat carbury 3-1 today
historynut
09/03/2009, 12:00 AM
See Castlerea going well. Possibly one of the oldest clubs in Connacht, as may date back to same era as Athlone Town's beginnings.
Just wondered whats the furthest they have been in Connacht Cup, know they have'nt reached a final.
swinfordfc
09/03/2009, 8:46 AM
Updated;
QUARTER FINALS
Weekend 14th/15th March
300 Manulla V Castlerea Celtic
SEMI FINALS
Weekend 4th/5th April
700 300 V 500
800 400 V 600
FINAL
Weekend 25th/26th April
800 V 700
west awake
09/03/2009, 2:35 PM
west got beaten at home last week,difficult away game to mervue this week ,bad result there could jolt their confidence.cup matches are all about on the day,would make westport favourites,if they beat west they are at home to either us or aughanagh and if sucessful have the final at home.so westport for me.west bounced back yesterday with a 3-0 away win over mervue,good performance by west,it sets them up nicely for a crack at westport next sunday,should be a cracker,could go either way.
hoop4life
09/03/2009, 7:29 PM
mayo teams in action at the weekend
city utd v celtc.............. celtic on penos
west utd v westport.............. penos also, don't know which way
manulla v castlerea.............. manulla to scrape through
threefivetwo
10/03/2009, 11:21 AM
don't think the city v celtic game is on this weekend as city are involved in the fai.
swinfordfc
10/03/2009, 12:49 PM
don't think the city v celtic game is on this weekend as city are involved in the fai.
city game in fai cup in not on till 22nd march
threefivetwo
10/03/2009, 2:19 PM
city game in fai cup in not on till 22nd march
thats when the quarter finals are on, city aren't in the quarters yet and have 2 play their last 16 game first which will probably be on this weekend!
swinfordfc
10/03/2009, 2:46 PM
thats when the quarter finals are on, city aren't in the quarters yet and have 2 play their last 16 game first which will probably be on this weekend!
no they game against the kerry team (last 16) game is down for the 22th march - FACT!!!!
We can get something right you know :p
threefivetwo
10/03/2009, 4:56 PM
no they game against the kerry team (last 16) game is down for the 22th march - FACT!!!!
We can get something right you know :p
relax i wasn't saying it in a bad way at all..
Northern Gale
11/03/2009, 2:44 PM
relax i wasn't saying it in a bad way at all..
352 always starting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
KBurke
15/03/2009, 3:19 PM
West Utd are through to the semi final after beating Westport 4-2 on pens after the game finished 2-2 aet.
Contoversial game with the home team getting 2 pens. scored 1 missed 1. Also Westport looked like scoring a winner in normal time when the game was stopped as the linesman wanted to bring something to the refs attention. Westport officals not to happy after the game
east utd
15/03/2009, 3:29 PM
East 2 v aughanagh0
TheRealMuller
15/03/2009, 5:23 PM
castlerea celtic made it into the semi's after a win against manulla today, could they be the surprise package??
threefivetwo
15/03/2009, 6:00 PM
celtic won 1-0 and should have been more, missed a penalty and a wide open goal, good performance by celtic against a good city team and celtic missin a few too. what were castlerea like against manulla?
hoop4life
15/03/2009, 6:12 PM
celtic won 1-0 and should have been more, missed a penalty and a wide open goal, good performance by celtic against a good city team and celtic missin a few too. what were castlerea like against manulla?
good win alright. heard celtic had only 13 players such was the amount of injuries. what was the celtic team??
castlerea beat manulla 5nil.
semi finals looks like this
castlerea v celtic
west utd v east utd
celtic v west final!!!
west awake
15/03/2009, 6:46 PM
West Utd are through to the semi final after beating Westport 4-2 on pens after the game finished 2-2 aet.
Contoversial game with the home team getting 2 pens. scored 1 missed 1. Also Westport looked like scoring a winner in normal time when the game was stopped as the linesman wanted to bring something to the refs attention. Westport officals not to happy after the gamewest were poor today and i think westport deserved to win it to be honest but i think there gripe with the ref was well off,west got 2 penalties,but both of them were certain penalties,they should of had another blatant penalty before they got there first penalty,the westport no.2 kicked a west player from behind off the ball,the linesman flagged it,he called the ref over and said his recommendation was a straight red,ref bottled and gave a yellow,i must say westport weren't very gracious in defeat,they were invited by west back to the local pub for a meal,which west do for every home game against teams that travel,they informed west before the game that they would be coming back afterwards,they never showed up,despite saying they would and about 20 meals went to waste,bad sportsmanship if you ask me,we lost on penalties up in dublin in the irish cup,we were sick as parrots,we still turned up for a drink with the sheriff lads afterwards,common courtesy,also when we beat westport last year down there,none of them turned up again at the pub they arranged to meet us in.
keith.henn
15/03/2009, 7:23 PM
That could be a mayo thing, we'd thre trips to mayo in the conn cup, in crossmolina, all the way to black sod bay too, no mention of a pub or sandwiches by either side....we got a feed in castlebar alright, but considering we were bet 10 -0 I think we deserved a few sausages and chicken wings