20/01/2009, 3:22 PM
Connacht Cup Sunday: KO 2pm

Westport vs Cliffoney utd
celtic vs ballygawley
city utd vs erris
snugboro vs s&f

20/01/2009, 5:07 PM
No Mayo based players in the Republic of Ireland Amateur team which is a shame.

Republic of Ireland Squad: Graham Doyle (Freebooters FC), Dwane Crosby (Ardee Celtic), Shane Dunne (Killester Utd),James Walsh(St. Michaels FC), Graham Doran(WFTA FC), Mark Sheehan (Regional Utd), Mark Doherty (Newcastle West FC), Conor Dillon (St. Kevins FC), Willie Molloy (Sheriff YC), Tony O' Kane(Sheriff YC), Keith Harnett (Pike Rvs.), Paul Phelan (New Ross Cel.), Derek McCarthy (Kinsale FC),Brendan O' Driscoll (Camp Utd), Alan Barry (St. Michaels FC), Barry Kavanagh (Ballymun Utd), Paul Cummins (Aishling Annacotty), Derek Varian (Kinsale FC).

FahyForever
20/01/2009, 5:17 PM
No Mayo based players in the Republic of Ireland Amateur team which is a shame.

Republic of Ireland Squad: Graham Doyle (Freebooters FC), Dwane Crosby (Ardee Celtic), Shane Dunne (Killester Utd),James Walsh(St. Michaels FC), Graham Doran(WFTA FC), Mark Sheehan (Regional Utd), Mark Doherty (Newcastle West FC), Conor Dillon (St. Kevins FC), Willie Molloy (Sheriff YC), Tony O' Kane(Sheriff YC), Keith Harnett (Pike Rvs.), Paul Phelan (New Ross Cel.), Derek McCarthy (Kinsale FC),Brendan O' Driscoll (Camp Utd), Alan Barry (St. Michaels FC), Barry Kavanagh (Ballymun Utd), Paul Cummins (Aishling Annacotty), Derek Varian (Kinsale FC).

Who would you suggest might have made it Joe?

20/01/2009, 5:24 PM
Who would you suggest might have made it Joe?
I don't know, don't know the standard of the players selected. But with Mayo sides regularly making the latter stages of the FAI Cup and now in the semi final of the Oscar Traynor, i thought there might of been a decent exposure for some of the players to get noticed. Joe Lawless or Martin Geraghty maybe.

Do they have trials?

hoop4life
21/01/2009, 12:37 PM
Connacht Cup Sunday: KO 2pm

Westport vs Cliffoney utd
celtic vs ballygawley
city utd vs erris
snugboro vs s&f

westport and celtic to win comfortably. erris will find it tough in sligo. city united are a good side. think boro and s and f could go to penalties. two evenly matched teams

southern red
21/01/2009, 6:52 PM
4 home wins i'd say....

Footy Mad
29/01/2009, 6:31 PM
Mayo Junior Football Club Websites

Achill Rovers (http://www.achillrover.com)
Ballinrobe Town AFC (http://www.ballinrobetownafc.com)
Ballyglass FC (http://www.ballyglassfootballclub.ie)
Bangor Hibs (http://www.bangorhibsfc.ie)
Castlebar Celtic (http://www.castlebarceltic.com/)
Charlestown Athletic (ttp://www.freewebs.com/charlestownathleticfc/)
Claremorris AFC (http://www.claremorrisafc.com/)
Cross Celtic (http://www.crosscelticfc.com/)
Crossmolina (http://www.crossmolinaafc.com/fr_intro.htm)
Inver United (http://www.clubwebsite.co.uk/inverunited)
Iorrais Aontaihte (http://www.errisunitedfc.ie/)
Manulla FC (http://www.manullafc.ie/)
Moy Villa FC (http://www.moyvillafc.ie/)
Partry Athletic (http://partryathletic.googlepages.com/)
Snugboro United (http://www.snugboro.com)
Swinford FC (http://www.swinfordfc.ie/)
Westport United (http://www.westportunited.com/site/index.php)

Is there any others?

minivan man
03/02/2009, 11:23 AM
howya lads any truth in the rumour that there will be a division 3 this year instead of two division 2(A and b)?

irishyop
03/02/2009, 11:32 AM
howya lads any truth in the rumour that there will be a division 3 this year instead of two division 2(A and b)?

From what I understand that is true yes

Fish-Head
03/02/2009, 12:10 PM
And how are they going to decide which teams will be in Div. 3?

NoelM
03/02/2009, 12:10 PM
Sorry lads for asking a stupid question but how does this info get into the public domain? Just interested as there was also the A team and B team rules that someone posted a few days ago.
Also how will they decide who gets into div 2 and 3?

Whipitin
03/02/2009, 12:50 PM
Maybe those who finished in the top half of div 2a and 2b will play in division 2 and those towards the bottom will play in div 3.

Cloggs
03/02/2009, 3:13 PM
Sorry lads for asking a stupid question but how does this info get into the public domain? Just interested as there was also the A team and B team rules that someone posted a few days ago.
Also how will they decide who gets into div 2 and 3?

what rules for the a and b teams?i thought that they were just ideas that lasd had as to how they felt it should be done?

sinabhuil
03/02/2009, 3:22 PM
Has there been an announcement by Milebush? Where did this rumour come from? It would appear that all of the problems aired on this site have been solved with these proposals! Or have they?

NoelM
03/02/2009, 3:55 PM
what rules for the a and b teams?i thought that they were just ideas that lasd had as to how they felt it should be done?

This was the thread, maybe it is all wishes!!
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=111061

Footy Mad
03/02/2009, 8:01 PM
All Clubs secretaries were posted out a copy of the plans for the 2009 season and it does say that there will be a Division 3 this season.
the rules regarding A and B team players as outlined on the thread http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=111061 are also on this list of changes for the 2009 season.

rava
04/02/2009, 3:45 PM
How will the clubs know whos signed a or b. Will the league print the squads and give them to the clubs.

minivan man
05/02/2009, 8:23 AM
there was talk of printing them and sending them to all clubs involved in the league.

renovater
09/02/2009, 7:58 PM
I doubt the Mayo League will go down that road, as it would not allow teams to enter external competitions. unless there is a rule change in external comp,

Fish-Head
10/02/2009, 9:26 AM
How do you figure having a Div.3 would affect teams from entering external competitions?

swinfordfc
10/02/2009, 2:56 PM
As far as i'm aware a 3rd division will be in place this year and i think its the right way to go ..... have a system of 2 up and 2 down and there no more play off nonsence

FahyForever
10/02/2009, 3:06 PM
As far as i'm aware a 3rd division will be in place this year and i think its the right way to go ..... have a system of 2 up and 2 down and there no more play off nonsence

Thatīs fair enough, but how do you decide who goes into the third division? Seems unfair to pick teams who finished in the bottom halves of their perspective leagues and then suddenly announce that they have another step on the ladder to climb if they are to reach the top. Surely the Mayo League should announce their intentions first so everyone has a chance to prepare and finish in the top half in the knowledge that if they dont they go down??

Anyone got deas on how this will be sorted?

irishyop
10/02/2009, 3:45 PM
thats the same setup what I heard also, if u finished in top 5 of league you will stay in Div2, otherwise you are down to Div 3.

Mayo League announced intentions a year early ;) They are doing well to announce their intentions a month early never mind a year!! :)

NoelM
10/02/2009, 4:03 PM
Thatīs fair enough, but how do you decide who goes into the third division? Seems unfair to pick teams who finished in the bottom halves of their perspective leagues and then suddenly announce that they have another step on the ladder to climb if they are to reach the top. Surely the Mayo League should announce their intentions first so everyone has a chance to prepare and finish in the top half in the knowledge that if they dont they go down??

Anyone got deas on how this will be sorted?

I'd imagine it would be tough on a team that knew it was going to finish mid-table and took it's foot off the gas for the last couple of games not knowing that 5th/6th meant anything?

renovater
10/02/2009, 6:43 PM
How do you figure having a Div.3 would affect teams from entering external competitions?
In the old days when playing in the Mayo League Up to about 98 we had a div 3
It was this reason why we introduce div 2 north div 2 south then changed to div 2a Div 2b.
Its my understanding League lower than d,2 are not allowed to enter that why we have 2a, 2b, not a love to say you are in D,2

Fish-Head
10/02/2009, 9:46 PM
Ok, i get you now.
Bar what you say at the end.

minivan man
20/02/2009, 6:09 AM
it looks like div 3 is here so who is in it?

footie2008
21/02/2009, 4:23 PM
Without stating the obvious, its the teams who finished in the bottom half of 2a & 2b last season Not sure if they are announced yet. Check Snugboros website for last years tables. Are Bangor Hibs putting a b team? and any word on Celtic not having a c team.

FahyForever
21/02/2009, 5:55 PM
According to the Snugboro website there was nine teams in division 2a and ten teams in 2b. So how are they going to decide how many to take from each division? Presumably they will take four and five, leaving nine teams in division 3 and ten in division 2.

S+F B
Westport C
Ballyvary
Ballyglass B
Kiltamagh/Knock B
Manulla C
Hollister
Castlebar Town
Castlebar C

Would be the ones for the drop, although I doubt Castlebar C will be in existence (thatīs just a guess though).

hoop4life
21/02/2009, 7:36 PM
celtic won't have a c team

24/02/2009, 8:48 AM
The divisions as I see them. Pretty certain about Division 2.

Elverys Super League
Westport United
Ballina Town
Snugboro United
Castlebar Celtic
Manulla
Ballyheane
Iorras Aontaithe
Straide & Foxford
Fahy Rovers
Kilmore

Premier Division
Bangor Hibs
Ballinrobe Town
Claremorris
Castlebar Celtic B
Westport United B
Manulla B
Crossmolina
Swinford
Iorras Aontaithe B
Partry Athletic

Division 1
Urlaur United
Glenhest Rovers
Kiltimagh/Knock United
Ballyglass
Killala
Achill Rovers
Inver United
Clew Bay United
Mulranny United
Ballyheane B

Division 2
Charlestown Athletic
Ballina Town B
Moy Villa
Cross Celtic
Ballina United
Glenisland United
Conn Rangers
Claremorris B
Snugboro United B
Swinford B

Division 3
Straide & Foxford B
Castlebar Town
Westport United C
Castlebar Celtic C(Not sure if there involved)
Kiltimagh/Knock United B
Ballyvary Blue Bombers
Manulla C
Hollister
Ballyglass B
Hospital(Heard they were entering a team, not sure of name)

Cloggs
24/02/2009, 6:17 PM
The divisions as I see them. Pretty certain about Division 2.

Elverys Super League
Westport United
Ballina Town
Snugboro United
Castlebar Celtic
Manulla
Ballyheane
Iorras Aontaithe
Straide & Foxford
Fahy Rovers
Kilmore

Premier Division
Bangor Hibs
Ballinrobe Town
Claremorris
Castlebar Celtic B
Westport United B
Manulla B
Crossmolina
Swinford
Iorras Aontaithe B
Partry Athletic

Division 1
Urlaur United
Glenhest Rovers
Kiltimagh/Knock United
Ballyglass
Killala
Achill Rovers
Inver United
Clew Bay United
Mulranny United
Ballyheane B

Division 2
Charlestown Athletic
Ballina Town B
Moy Villa
Cross Celtic
Ballina United
Glenisland United
Conn Rangers
Claremorris B
Snugboro United B
Swinford B

Division 3
Straide & Foxford B
Castlebar Town
Westport United C
Castlebar Celtic C(Not sure if there involved)
Kiltimagh/Knock United B
Ballyvary Blue Bombers
Manulla C
Hollister
Ballyglass B
Hospital(Heard they were entering a team, not sure of name)

ballyvary have fairly plumetted down the leagues haven't they?heard that castlebar town have lost at least 5 of their lads from last year to celtic which would put a serious dent in their team if true.also heard that glenhest may not be able to field a team this year at all although i'm sure they'll put some sort of squad together.did they not have a very good youth team not so long ago?

irishyop
25/02/2009, 2:21 PM
U sure about Glenhest, would be suprised about that.

walshek
25/02/2009, 2:54 PM
well lads sure the league should have the list of all team that are entering by now. deadline was early february. if you look at ballyglass b who have failed to complete a league in the last 2 year + celtic c pulling out and glenisland if they go there will be a bigger division 3?? also any sign of league fixtures

sinabhuil
25/02/2009, 3:10 PM
League agm tomorrow evening. Fixtures usually given at this meeting. I am sure there are loads of people out there who already know the story.

Cloggs
25/02/2009, 4:04 PM
U sure about Glenhest, would be suprised about that.

no not sure at all/was just something that i heard at the weekend.couldn't see them not playing in the league this year.just heard that they were really struggling for numbers.maybe somebody from glenhest could clarify this?

hoop4life
25/02/2009, 4:10 PM
no not sure at all/was just something that i heard at the weekend.couldn't see them not playing in the league this year.just heard that they were really struggling for numbers.maybe somebody from glenhest could clarify this?

i heard that glenhest hadn't enough for a team so the few that they had would play with fahy and fahy would use glenhests pitch. don't know if thats true or not

the real deal
25/02/2009, 4:57 PM
i heard that glenhest hadn't enough for a team so the few that they had would play with fahy and fahy would use glenhests pitch. don't know if thats true or not

ya beans is a great player isnt he???

couchpotato
25/02/2009, 5:58 PM

Glenhest always seem to be struggling for numbers at the start of the year but usually get a team together by the time the league starts. theyve still plenty of talented players although recent seasons have too encouraging

Bandit
25/02/2009, 6:06 PM
Glenhest always seem to be struggling for numbers at the start of the year but usually get a team together by the time the league starts. theyve still plenty of talented players although recent seasons have too encouraging

I heard there is one or two of the lads from glenhest training with celtic A League panel ????

hoop4life
25/02/2009, 6:10 PM
I heard there is one or two of the lads from glenhest training with celtic A League panel ????

you heard wrong buddy!! chris rowland came to the club from glenhest last summer. no one else from glenhest at celtic

couchpotato
25/02/2009, 6:13 PM
you heard wrong buddy!! chris rowland came to the club from glenhest last summer. no one else from glenhest at celtic

Surely rowland wont be anywhere near the A League squad, celtic should be looking for better players to take to the A League

25/02/2009, 6:18 PM
Rowland started against Ballinasloe couchie. Not many left wingers about, he's young and surely Kilkelly can coach him.

threefivetwo
26/02/2009, 6:15 AM
Rowland started against Ballinasloe couchie. Not many left wingers about, he's young and surely Kilkelly can coach him.

shane hynes has signed back along with gary price and 1 or two more that are training but not signed yet, they qwill be sorted out soon enough!! chris is a good player, very quick and fit but maybe wont start for the a league team, good player though!!

theboy
26/02/2009, 11:54 AM
Have ye signed many new players for the A league 352?

Cloggs
26/02/2009, 1:44 PM
shane hynes has signed back along with gary price and 1 or two more that are training but not signed yet, they qwill be sorted out soon enough!! chris is a good player, very quick and fit but maybe wont start for the a league team, good player though!!

having played against chris on a number of occassions i'd have to agree with you.he is a good player alright but might not yet be fit for the a league team.but with a little more coaching could make the step up given a bit of time.

as fahy using the glenhest pitch and the glenhest lads signing for us its the first that i've heard of it.would be well happy if a few of them did sign as there is still plenty of talented lads playing with them.

rava
27/02/2009, 8:49 AM
The 3 b team rule was carried last night and A team squads are to named before start of season.

yellowmonkey
27/02/2009, 8:50 AM
With regard to friendlies Boro B are available, unfortunatley only to travel(Pitch out) So if anyones wants we will happily travel any sunday . Send us a PM Cheers! :ball:

27/02/2009, 8:55 AM
The 3 b team rule was carried last night and A team squads are to named before start of season.
Can you outline the 3 b team rule?

rava
27/02/2009, 9:01 AM
Only 3 B team players allowed in a A team fixture. I think this is the leagues way of making sure the A teams sign 16 decent A players. Apparently a club signed a 62 old as a A team player last season:eek: