View Full Version : Setanta Cup Final

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5]

02/11/2008, 2:45 AM
Team with massive home and fan advantage wins now devalued Cup Final shocker

Wonder if Stangmore Park or Clandeboye Park will be as welcoming for next year's final should they make it out of the IFA section.

Would only be fair ofc

Setanta comittee would want to get their act together for next year. If IL team qualify for final against LOI team they should have choice of venue in final. If they say Ballyskeagh fair enough.

This should be made clear before competition starts.

02/11/2008, 8:57 AM
Yup, we won .... its great isnt it? ;)

2:12 AM? What time do you call that to be in after winning the Setanta cup? There were places out there still serving at that stage! Shame. Shame.

Graemerz
02/11/2008, 10:24 AM
Setanta comittee would want to get their act together for next year. If IL team qualify for final against LOI team they should have choice of venue in final. If they say Ballyskeagh fair enough.

This should be made clear before competition starts.

You ever been there? :D

Tell ye what if they EVER decide to play a final at that ****hole the competition will be completely doomed. :p

Graemerz
02/11/2008, 10:26 AM
Team with massive home and fan advantage wins now devalued Cup Final shocker

Wonder if Stangmore Park or Clandeboye Park will be as welcoming for next year's final should they make it out of the IFA section.

Would only be fair ofc

Well if the competition is still running next year and the IFA representatives get to the final I would imagine the final would be played at Windsor Park again.

Dassa
02/11/2008, 10:29 AM
I have to say after last nights final how devalued I feel this cup has become. I really cant see this cup being around in its current format in two years unless the Setanta Commitee gets a complete overhaul.

Well done to Cork

adamd164
02/11/2008, 11:00 AM
Lots of bitter people out there, makes me laugh to see the Dubs having a cut at us. Irony of the highest order.

Linfield had home advantage last year. Why didn't that "devalue" the competition?

And before you start about distances, think to yourself that surely that gives Dublin teams an "unfair advantage" over all the rest of us every year because of having to travel far less throughout the competition, simply because of geography.

fionnsci
02/11/2008, 12:28 PM
Ian Stokes once again proved why he's the worst referee in the league!
Never a free-kick for Glentoran's and Danny Murphy should have been booked for his handball in the 1st half when he caugh it as it was going out but wasn't.

Maybe it was just me but I thought the ref was very good (except for Glens' goal). He let the game continue and didn't overuse the cards when it would have been so easy to.

sullanefc
02/11/2008, 12:36 PM
Maybe it was just me but I thought the ref was very good (except for Glens' goal). He let the game continue and didn't overuse the cards when it would have been so easy to.

You mean he didn't over use the cards with the Glentoran players. Booked City players first chance he got, esp Gamble (10 mins) and Danny Murphy.

First Glens booking was in the 83rd minute. And he didn't even book the player that stamped on Dudfield, let alone send him off. Crap ref.

02/11/2008, 12:52 PM
2:12 AM? What time do you call that to be in after winning the Setanta cup? There were places out there still serving at that stage! Shame. Shame.

Man i put in a tough shift there, first drink at 4.00 in the afternoon. I was hammered when i posted that :p

Brutal, he had a 'mare .... but he wont have to answer for any decision so no point in even saying it.

viagogo
02/11/2008, 3:06 PM
Sh!t. I only see that now. I couldn't go cause I had no tickets. Went to a pub to waych it and the bartender turned over at half time to the premiership for some barstoolers. By the time I got home it was 2-1. God I'm p!ssed off

Went out to watch Man Utd and Hull and told a guy watching it that I was going to Turners Cross later. He responded by saying What for?

02/11/2008, 5:45 PM
Congrats to Cork. Great comeback, and I thought Kearney was excellent.

In fact, I thought the whole Cork team, especially in the second half, was f**cking excellent -- please someone preserve that for YouTube! :D

I actually quite like the Setanta Cup, even though we haven't been in it. May need a tweak or two, but what competition on this island doesn't?

02/11/2008, 6:05 PM
I have to say after last nights final how devalued I feel this cup has become. I really cant see this cup being around in its current format in two years unless the Setanta Commitee gets a complete overhaul.

What changes do you recommend?

The complaint about Cork having home advantage seems to be answered by Linfield having home advantage last year. The rules about the final venue seem fairly well known (alternates between north and south unless both finalists are from the same league).

02/11/2008, 6:20 PM
What changes do you recommend?

The complaint about Cork having home advantage seems to be answered by Linfield having home advantage last year. The rules about the final venue seem fairly well known (alternates between north and south unless both finalists are from the same league).

They're changing it to 3 groups of 3 next year. I think that's a bad idea tbh. Overall I think you could do a lot better than the current format, too many pointless, unattractive games.

My personal preference would be to get rid of the league cup and the northern equivalent(for premier teams) and have a straight knockout tournament for both premier divisions. Round one North vs South, then an open draw.

02/11/2008, 6:48 PM
The complaint about Cork having home advantage seems to be answered by Linfield having home advantage last year.

No it isn't.

Windsor has always been the north's final venue. If Linfield hadn't made last year's final it would still have been at Windsor.

Linfield therefore had home advantage by default. This year, Cork were given it by design. If you can't see the difference here - one of intent - then I really do fear for you.

The rules about the final venue seem fairly well known (alternates between north and south unless both finalists are from the same league).

Indeed they were well known : Windsor if held in the north, Tolka if held in the south. That's the way it was for the last 3 years.

02/11/2008, 6:50 PM
Indeed they were well known : Windsor if held in the north, Tolka if held in the south. That's the way it was for the last 3 years.

You know full well that wasnt a rule and wouldnt have been the case last year if we were in the final so to claim it was a rule 'for the last 3 years' is simply wrong.

02/11/2008, 7:18 PM
Don't worry; I'm used to dcfcsteve's ridiculously patronising posts. ;)

Dassa
02/11/2008, 7:52 PM
I dont know about anyone else from IL point of view but to me this tournament has began to feel like a competition run by People from the Republic and that teams from the IL are just lucky enough to be invited.

The issue wherby a Stadium not even completed was selected for a showpiece final just sums up the competition.

I know that it has to be NI one year and ROI venue the next but the organisers must act with a sense of fairness to both sides.

As for the final, Cork where the better side and deserved winners.

02/11/2008, 7:57 PM
In fairness, Turner's Cross with one stand missing is still bigger than most grounds in the country, north or south.

corkboy360
02/11/2008, 8:43 PM
1-1 now.

There's a smattering of gobsh1tes in the Glens support methinks. Hope they behave themselves later win or lose.
Majority of them only came down for trouble and there was a pub smashed up before 5:00.

02/11/2008, 9:49 PM
You know full well that wasnt a rule and wouldnt have been the case last year if we were in the final so to claim it was a rule 'for the last 3 years' is simply wrong.

1) The idea that Cork was apparently offered the chance to host last year's final was far from common knowledge. The first most people heard of it appears to have been on here over the last few weeks.

2) Cork didn't get to the Final, so it is an irrelevant/moot point any way.

3) Why weren't you offered it in 2005, in preference to the south's preferred venue of Tolka ??

02/11/2008, 9:51 PM
Don't worry; I'm used to dcfcsteve's ridiculously patronising posts. ;)

Pot, kettle.....! :eek:

And we're all used used to you resorting to childish digs when your arguements are spent...

corkboy360
02/11/2008, 10:19 PM
1) The idea that Cork was apparently offered the chance to host last year's final was far from common knowledge. The first most people heard of it appears to have been on here over the last few weeks.

3) Why weren't you offered it in 2005, in preference to the south's preferred venue of Tolka ??
Sour Grapes STILL

Cheer up yer playing in a cup final which i suppose has to be unfair seeing has Bohs are from Dublin and it's on around the corner from phibsboro:rolleyes:

SunnySweeney
02/11/2008, 10:51 PM
Majority of them only came down for trouble and there was a pub smashed up before 5:00.

That is simply not true and misrepresents the overall spirit of what happened.

The vast majority of Glentoran fans that came down were civil, sound honest-to-goodness football supporters. There were about 15-20 kn*obheads amongst them and they seem to have been responsible for the trouble in the TCT and the sectarian BS that happened at the game (in fairness City also had a small fringe of like minded idiots that were egging them on).

If you go on the cork forum and read the posts it is quite clear that this is the overwhelming point of view. The Glentoran fans were in many cases apologetic and embarrassed by these tossers - they said that they didn't recognise them and hadn't seen them before.

Also for the record, the TCT wasn't smashed. It is true that the owner got punched and had some bottles thrown at it him. This happened while he was ejecting some of the Glentoran rabble element that have tried to give the other 98% a bad name.

02/11/2008, 11:20 PM
Sour Grapes STILL

Cheer up yer playing in a cup final which i suppose has to be unfair seeing has Bohs are from Dublin and it's on around the corner from phibsboro:rolleyes:

Grow-up Corkboy - it's not sour grapes.

Only one team on the island can win the Setanta Cup - but that doesn't stop fans of any other team from raising genuine concerns over it where they exist. And anyoen who thinks there weren't issues re choice of venue this years has their head up their arse.

Your earlier post claiming the majority of Glens fans came down looking for trouble says a lot about how seriously you can be taken anyway. And I note you didn't even try to tackle the issues raised in my message above. Don't bother responding if you've not got anything constructive or vaguely sensible to say....:rolleyes:

P.S. I'm literally cringing for you at your comments re Bohs and the FAI Cup Final :o

03/11/2008, 12:34 AM
Grow-up Corkboy - it's not sour grapes.

Only one team on the island can win the Setanta Cup - but that doesn't stop fans of any other team from raising genuine concerns over it where they exist. And anyoen who thinks there weren't issues re choice of venue this years has their head up their arse.

Your earlier post claiming the majority of Glens fans came down looking for trouble says a lot about how seriously you can be taken anyway. And I note you didn't even try to tackle the issues raised in my message above. Don't bother responding if you've not got anything constructive or vaguely sensible to say....:rolleyes:

P.S. I'm literally cringing for you at your comments re Bohs and the FAI Cup Final :o

Have you not heard Steve - they've shelved Harristown and are moving into the RDS from next season

03/11/2008, 12:50 AM

The vast majority of Glentoran fans that came down were civil, sound honest-to-goodness football supporters. There were about 15-20 kn*obheads amongst them and they seem to have been responsible for the trouble in the TCT and the sectarian BS that happened at the game (in fairness City also had a small fringe of like minded idiots that were egging them on).

If you go on the cork forum and read the posts it is quite clear that this is the overwhelming point of view. The Glentoran fans were in many cases apologetic and embarrassed by these tossers - they said that they didn't recognise them and hadn't seen them before.

Also for the record, the TCT wasn't smashed. It is true that the owner got punched and had some bottles thrown at it him. This happened while he was ejecting some of the Glentoran rabble element that have tried to give the other 98% a bad name.

I agree here, the Glens fans were brilliant, each and everyone of them. The guys who caused the trouble in the pub were not Glens fans, no colours, just braindead twits looking for trouble.

100% of Glens fans were brilliant, end of.

pateen
03/11/2008, 9:12 AM
I agree here, the Glens fans were brilliant, each and everyone of them. The guys who caused the trouble in the pub were not Glens fans, no colours, just braindead twits looking for trouble.

Have to say the same. I met some really sound glens fans. Even at the smoking section of the Evergreen, there was loads of 12th July marching songs been sang. I think I was the only cork supporter there at one stage and two lads put their arms around me to join in, there was laughter and big smiles all round all they sang towards me.
The same after the game, hand shakes and 'the better team won' comments

You always get the idiot schooligans everywhere and Glens unfortunately were no different.

03/11/2008, 1:38 PM

Does that 100% include those who were throwing objects at Murphy, Kearney etc? Or the two who leaned over the wall to shove Danny Murphy in the first half? I may never recover from the shock of coming down on the same side as the Cockney Weasel... :o

Edit: I'm sure the majority of Glentoran fans were lovely people. But they came across fairly poorly on TV because of those who acted the moron.

adamd164
03/11/2008, 6:03 PM
No it isn't.

Windsor has always been the north's final venue. If Linfield hadn't made last year's final it would still have been at Windsor.

Linfield therefore had home advantage by default. This year, Cork were given it by design. If you can't see the difference here - one of intent - then I really do fear for you.
Rubbish. It's not that it's the north's "preferred" venue at all, it's simply the only ground in the north capable of hosting such a final. That isn't true of the south (leaving of course the St Annes End fiasco to one side, because of the decision having been taken in the assumption that it'd be open).

Turner's Cross is at least as good a venue is Tolka Park (now better following recent work, in my opinion) and so there's nothing particularly remarkable about hosting it there.

Cheers to BohDiddley and everyone else who's offered sincere congrats to us. I know who I'm rooting for in the FAI anyway; let's make it an Irish double!

03/11/2008, 6:14 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/irish/7707102.stm

Whatever about what has gone before, I am delighted with the approach taken by the committee on this one.

Aubry Ralph comments after the game were little more than blackmail. Glad to see their bluff has been called.

03/11/2008, 6:17 PM
I'm rooting for in the FAI anyway; let's make it an Irish double!

03/11/2008, 8:17 PM
Rubbish. It's not that it's the north's "preferred" venue at all, it's simply the only ground in the north capable of hosting such a final.

Why couldn't The Oval host a Setanta Final ? :confused:

Or Mourneview ? Or Ballymena Showgrounds ?

Do you actually know much about any grounds in the North outside of Windsor ?

03/11/2008, 9:43 PM
Cheers to BohDiddley and everyone else who's offered sincere congrats to us. I know who I'm rooting for in the FAI anyway;You can't tar them all with the one brush cos of steves one man Setanta Cup Final venue crusade.

03/11/2008, 10:00 PM
Does that 100% include those who were throwing objects at Murphy, Kearney etc? Or the two who leaned over the wall to shove Danny Murphy in the first half? I may never recover from the shock of coming down on the same side as the Cockney Weasel.

They are not fans though, Glens fans have said that that section the faces weren't recognised and it was just an element who had only interest in trouble, not even looking at the game.

Edit: I'm sure the majority of Glentoran fans were lovely people. But they came across fairly poorly on TV because of those who acted the moron.

Well City fans want to play them every week, because the Glens fans were brilliant. Loads of colour, noise, chants, good bit of an edge, there in numbers and great craic. They were easily the best fans at the Cross all year. Inside and outside the ground.

03/11/2008, 10:52 PM
Well City fans want to play them every week, because the Glens fans were brilliant. Loads of colour, noise, chants, good bit of an edge, there in numbers and great craic. They were easily the best fans at the Cross all year. Inside and outside the ground.

Not trying to pour water on this, but see what the numbers are like if you were playing them three times a year.

crc
03/11/2008, 11:13 PM
it was just an element who had only interest in trouble, not even looking at the game.
I was at the game and saw this. There were a few who were holding up 'banners' towards the shed and didn't turn round to watch the match once. Is that seriously why they travelled 6/7 hours and back again?

Most of the Glentoran fans were great. I went to the Evergreen after the game and there was a good number of Glens fans and they were all good craic - it was a picture of the way football should be in Ireland.

On the issue of the stadium, Turners Cross is still one of the best grounds in the league even with a whole stand missing, but the ticket distribution wasn't fair. It should have been 50:50. Even with a reduced capacity, Glens should have been entitled to at least as many tickets as they could sell up to 50%.
However, even though I think that finals should be in a neutral venue, I'm resistant to the idea that the only suitable venues exist in the Belfast-Dublin corridor. Ireland is more than just these two cities, and anywhere that is capable should be a legitimate venue for a final.
It should be noted, however, that in terms of the Setanta Cup, Cork are normally at a profound disadvantage, given that 4 clubs come from each league (and when Derry qualify, it means that 5 clubs come from NI). The closest away game for Cork out of all 4 seasons of the Setanta Cup has been in Dublin. Contrast this to every other club, where most games are about 2 hours away or less.

Patrick Dunne
03/11/2008, 11:23 PM
Good point, crc.

It occurred to me during the acrimonious build-up to the Setanta Cup Final that Terryland Park could have been a possible alternative venue. Outside of Turners Cross, it can now claim to be the second best ground in the EL.

5,000 + capacity. Half-way between Cork and Belfast.

corkboy360
04/11/2008, 8:27 PM

Well from my point of view Turners Cross was not a safe place to stroll around on your own before the game and if you go over to the cork forum read pr's post about been threathened by a glentoran fan.Also i was walking out and as i passed the mountain a group of about 10 with colours and a flag shouted "fenian *******".I can only post on my own experience

04/11/2008, 11:56 PM
Good point, crc.

It occurred to me during the acrimonious build-up to the Setanta Cup Final that Terryland Park could have been a possible alternative venue. Outside of Turners Cross, it can now claim to be the second best ground in the EL.

5,000 + capacity. Half-way between Cork and Belfast.

Its a very valid point, and where better to have a final than Galway, great city, good craic, can definitely cater for two big sets of travelling fans. It would be ideal actually, fair play Patrick.

Lux Interior
05/11/2008, 9:37 AM
Not trying to pour water on this, but see what the numbers are like if you were playing them three times a year.

No doubt they'd be down. More routine games bring out more routine fans.

Bit like your turnout at Pats for your group game, yip?

:p

05/11/2008, 10:47 AM
I can only post on my own experience

Your own experience?
So you met the majority of the 1200 Glentoran fans down and asked them their intentions and you were in the "smashed up" pub at the time of the incident were you?

The vast majority of Glens fans were great and both sets of fans mingled together before and afetr the game without issue in the Evergreen bar. The match brough a few idiots out of both Cork and East Belfast who focused on each other (and not the match) during the game, but to suggest that the majority came down for trouble is a load of nonsense.

05/11/2008, 3:36 PM
Out of curiosity will Glentoran face some level of punishment for the objects thrown at Liam Kearney and the Cockney Weasel? How would such a process even be conducted, by the IFA or by both national bodies?

05/11/2008, 6:03 PM

Precisely.

SUB of the day
05/11/2008, 6:31 PM

Perfectly put..........BTW, the atmosphere generated by the Glenmen, was the best ever , bar none at the X.I hope the Glens take the title up North, a trip to the Oval would be class.

corkboy360
05/11/2008, 9:08 PM
Your own experience?
So you met the majority of the 1200 Glentoran fans down and asked them their intentions and you were in the "smashed up" pub at the time of the incident were you?

The vast majority of Glens fans were great and both sets of fans mingled together before and afetr the game without issue in the Evergreen bar. The match brough a few idiots out of both Cork and East Belfast who focused on each other (and not the match) during the game, but to suggest that the majority came down for trouble is a load of nonsense.
Did i say that? But I was there roughly 5-10 mins after it and there was a woman scared as she lived by spar and said they ****ed on her door and shouted at her and her child.Don't think there would have been enough time to meet 1200 people and shake there hands.I am pretty sure everyone knew that group were travelling with them.

06/11/2008, 10:56 AM

1) It was announced...given ye're performance in it Im not surprised you werent paying attention, City and Drogs fans knew

2) It makes a lie of your 'its been the 'rule' for 3 years comment

3) Because teh shed was in the process of being torn down and the place was in no condition to host it.

id argue the same this year given the St Annes was closed but it was presumed it'd be open.