View Full Version : Montenegro V Republic of Ireland - Wednesday, 10th September 2008 - World Cup 2010 Q
Pages :
[
3]
Noelys Guitar
09/09/2008, 4:58 PM
Steven Reid is a serious doubt (up to 1 hour before the game) otherwise unchanged team from Trap.
He whose name dared not be mentioned is lined up to replace him.
That is bad news. Miller as replacement is just..........I don't even want to go there. He is the nearly, near man. Never consistent enough in his play to be considered as good as an average pro like Carsley. I defy anyone to show me a game he has controlled from midfield since he left Celtic. And I don't mean Roy Keane or Stephen Reid like control. I mean Carsley like control. Just making simple short passes to a team mate throughout a game. I hope you mean Andy Reid and not Miller.
boovidge
09/09/2008, 5:02 PM
Ok,fair enough,it is your opinion.
You think that there is no chance of us beating you-you might be supprised,what else can I say?
Just to let you know that I have great deal of respect towards Ireland and Irish people(Scotish too).In fact,Irish people is one of the people I like the best.I know a lot about your history and your strugle against English ocuppation.I know that you were starved to death and killed in great numbers.You cant imagine how similar our histories have been.If somebody is into history please read something about Montenegrin before you write something like finnpark did.In fact,you could call us Balkan Irish and Scots.
It is offending when people write something that they know nothing about.Please imagine why do we have just 700 000 population.Constant
wars for freedom have something to do with that.
Sorry for going into politics-I had to reply on Finnparks post.
Those Scots were largely responsible for the atrocities in Ireland ;)
irishultra
09/09/2008, 5:14 PM
Montenegrin is a good poster, and I like his insight. Don't know why FinnPark is trying to provoke him.
But in fairness I think a lot of us have said that Montenegro will be a dark horse and very capable of doing well in this group.
We know the limitations of our own team but its reasonable that people will expect (a close) win.
youngirish
09/09/2008, 5:31 PM
You think that there is no chance of us beating you-you might be supprised,what else can I say?
Just to let you know that I have great deal of respect towards Ireland and Irish people(Scotish too).In fact,Irish people is one of the people I like the best.I know a lot about your history and your strugle against English ocuppation.I know that you were starved to death and killed in great numbers.You cant imagine how similar our histories have been.If somebody is into history please read something about Montenegrin before you write something like finnpark did.In fact,you could call us Balkan Irish and Scots.
It is offending when people write something that they know nothing about.Please imagine why do we have just 700 000 population.Constant
Montenegro don't listen to FinnPark he is just trying to wind you up. Historically we are nothing like the Scots. They brown nosed the English and profited from their Empire while we fought wars at times against the Brits and at other times for them but rarely profited from either.
Anyway I respect your country and any small country who has fought for and earned it's independence against a great power as is the case with our own proud nation (we fought the greatest empire the world had ever seen). Brings a tear to my eye just thinking about it even though I reckon my great grandparents were probably collaborators.
09/09/2008, 5:35 PM
That is bad news......I hope you mean Andy Reid and not Miller.
Miller unfortunately.
That report was from RTE reporter on the spot. She is the one who named Miller that he was being lined up, sounded definite, like she was in the know.
I listen carefully to these reports to detect any bull :)
S Reid will face a late fitness test, a knee injury.
boovidge
09/09/2008, 5:37 PM
Montenegro don't listen to FinnPark he is just trying to wind you up. Historically we are nothing like the Scots. They brown nosed the English and profited from their Empire while we fought wars at times against the Brits and at other times for them but rarely profited from either.
It was the Scottish empire as much as the English. Hence the term "British Empire".
Anyway the main point is: Finnpark is an idiot. :)
boovidge
09/09/2008, 5:40 PM
My trust in Trap is being seriously stretched if Miller gets his game above Andy Reid. :eek:
irishultra
09/09/2008, 5:40 PM
So Steven Reid could be out and Liam Miller in midfield....God no.
Fergie's Son
09/09/2008, 5:43 PM
Ignore him. It's going to be tough. If Miller replaces Reid then I may openly weep. It's a tough environment with a very geed up crowd. I'd take a draw right now.
09/09/2008, 5:51 PM
Low centre of gravity is usually a preference for defensive midfielders. Makelele, Gattuso, Senna etc.Are you seriously suggesting Liam Miller has any physical attributes in common with those 3 or that Miller can tackle or shield a defence?
09/09/2008, 5:53 PM
Stutts,I hope you have had your dinner finished before you heard the news:)
09/09/2008, 5:54 PM
Trap says he's optimistic Reid will be fit. Now, where's my dinner?
09/09/2008, 5:58 PM
Reid came through the training session, so it's a matter of waiting to see if there is any reaction.
Noelys Guitar
09/09/2008, 6:21 PM
I was watching Channel 5's coverage on Saturday and I could have sworn that Trap told Brady to tell Andy Reid to warm up in the second half (Just after Whelan scored). They had a microphone close to Trap and that is what he seemed to say. Anyone else catch that? I was amazed when Miller came on instead.
boovidge
09/09/2008, 6:22 PM
Yeah i saw Reid warming up. I reckon once we got the second goal Trap decided to throw on Miller instead.
A huge point I think everyone has missed, Montenegro's jerseys is almost identical to the Macedonia one :eek::D Red and yellow!!
Quietly confident about this game, i sincerely believe there is a great opportunity here after the wkds results. If we have 6 points heading into the Cyprus game at home, already we will be in a very strong position.
I think Reid will be fit, sincerely hope so, IMO he is fast becoming one of the players we cant afford to be without.
Drumcondra 69er
09/09/2008, 7:29 PM
I wouldn't get offended about what Finnpark is posting mate, he's been posting boll1x all day. Not really noticed much of him before but it's obvious that he's a wind up merchant or if not then an utter cretin.
Fair play to you for posting on here, it's been interesting to read. hope it's a good game tomorrow but that you're left waiting a little longer for your first win! Best of luck with the rest of the campaign!
Paddy Garcia
09/09/2008, 7:49 PM
To be honest with you, you are completely in the wrong forum - you seem to be labouring under the misapprehension that people here know what they are talking about. I've never heard this allegation before and there are many, many, who would take offence at the suggestion, if they had the wit to comprehend.
You will variously find views along these lines, all typical of people who know nothing about football :
Keane is rubbish.
Keane is rubbish and should be replaced with Daryl Murphy - your mate Finnpark (bless).
McGeady is rubbish.
McShane is class and a move to Barcelona is likely (& this is one of the bosses).
Extolling the virtues of Graham Kavanagh (appreciate you may never have heard of him) as an international.
Delight at Kilbane breaking his face & therefore (incorrectly called) likely to miss the Georgia game.
John O'Shea should be left at home, regardless of the options (see McShane above).
Northern Ireland are a better team.
.....oh and that the Pogues are rubbish.
I just dont want to disappoint you .... before you read any further.
To be honest with you, you are completely in the wrong forum - you seem to be labouring under the misapprehension that people here know what they are talking about. I've never heard this allegation before and there are many, many, who would take offence at the suggestion, if they had the wit to comprehend.
You will variously find views along these lines, all typical of people who know nothing about football :
Keane is rubbish.
Keane is rubbish and should be replaced with Daryl Murphy - your mate Finnpark (bless).
McGeady is rubbish.
McShane is class and a move to Barcelona is likely (& this is one of the bosses).
Extolling the virtues of Graham Kavanagh (appreciate you may never have heard of him) as an international.
Delight at Kilbane breaking his face & therefore (incorrectly called) likely to miss the Georgia game.
John O'Shea should be left at home, regardless of the options (see McShane above).
Northern Ireland are a better team.
.....oh and that the Pogues are rubbish.
I just dont want to disappoint you .... before you read any further.
Brilliant :D
irishfan86
09/09/2008, 8:09 PM
Given the conditions (predicted to be 37 degrees Celsius), and the possible injury situation to Stephen Reid, I think if I was offered a draw right now I'd take it.
The idea of a Whelan-Miller partnership scares the **** out of me.
Dun Laoire
09/09/2008, 9:11 PM
Given the conditions (predicted to be 37 degrees Celsius), and the possible injury situation to Stephen Reid, I think if I was offered a draw right now I'd take it.
I fancy us to win but if we are 1 down in the 93rd minute with only the 4 added i would accept a draw too :D
Because he does it to everyone, provoking random people is what FinnPark "does" around here. :rolleyes:
Not the only forum let me tell ya
cheifo
09/09/2008, 9:47 PM
I was watching Channel 5's coverage on Saturday and I could have sworn that Trap told Brady to tell Andy Reid to warm up in the second half (Just after Whelan scored). They had a microphone close to Trap and that is what he seemed to say. Anyone else catch that? I was amazed when Miller came on instead.
Yip, glad someone else noticed that.Could be one very fired up Andy Reid if he gets on.
09/09/2008, 10:06 PM
Yip, glad someone else noticed that.Could be one very fired up Andy Reid if he gets on.If we get the same reaction as Aldo coming on against Mexico, I'll be delighted. (the goal obviously, not the swearing. Or the 2-1 loss)
10/09/2008, 12:21 AM
Yip, glad someone else noticed that.Could be one very fired up Andy Reid if he gets on.
yep i saw that too. could not beleive he brought on Miller.
youngirish
10/09/2008, 12:44 AM
If it's still 37 degress by 7 in the evening in Podgorica I'll eat my own head.
the-blue-harp
10/09/2008, 1:02 AM
mns had a report from podriga at about 8.30 our time, dunno the time difference but it was dark there and the sweat was dripping off jim beglin and the reporter tony o doneghey(or whatever) it was reported to be 37.5 degrees at that time and they did look uncomfortable in the heat.
10/09/2008, 8:17 AM
I have to admit that the confidence I have going into this fixture will be shattered were Liam Miller to replace Reid (because of injury). PLEASE PLEASE let him be ok this morning.
Let's go for the 3 points, don't respect them too much and go for the kill. Their defence leak goals and they'll be gutted they dropped 2 points against Bulgaria. Come on the boys in green!
10/09/2008, 9:05 AM
Press conference from Trapattoni and Robbie Keane: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=QAIGF0VZ
lionelhutz
10/09/2008, 10:54 AM
I don't think there's much chance of S Reid missing out. All the reports I've read today and yesterday state that he sat out training Monaday as a precaution and trained fully on Tuesday so why is anyone worried?
Granted, it would be a nightmare to see Whelan and Miller in centre mid. I actually don't know if I'd be able to bear watching it!!
Drumcondra 69er
10/09/2008, 11:08 AM
Press conference from Trapattoni and Robbie Keane: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=QAIGF0VZ
Is Trap taking a tumble off his chair on that clip?
Dying to see that!
In all fairness can you imagine the difference in the coverage in the papers had Staunton done that?
Gather round
10/09/2008, 11:11 AM
Northern Ireland are a better team
.....oh and that the Pogues are rubbish
Top tips there from the lad Paddy.
I saw a Shane McGowan tribute act lurching out of Kelly's cellars in Belfast recently. Luckily, I'd escaped before he could start singing.
Montenegrin
10/09/2008, 11:40 AM
I just wanted to say that I had no attention of underestimating you at all.I really think that we can put up a good fight and beat you eventually.But,as you know,we are new in this buisness and I would be very happy if we started well,so maybe I am not as objective as I think I am.After all,if we are not ment to qualify for WC than I would definitly like Ireland to do so.
YoungIrish I was more thinking about "Brave Heart" period Scots(yes,watched the movie,cant help it,although I know it is mostly SF;)).
co. down green
10/09/2008, 12:32 PM
Team unchanged for tonight's game
Ireland: Given, Finan, O'Shea, Dunne, Kilbane, McGeady, Whelan, Reid, Hunt, Keane, Doyle
Wolfie
10/09/2008, 12:33 PM
Ireland: Given, Finan, O'Shea, Dunne, Kilbane, McGeady, Whelan, Reid, Hunt, Keane, Doyle
Hasn't Reid yet to carry out his fitness test?
Razors left peg
10/09/2008, 12:33 PM
Any word on reids fitness yet?
Wolfie
10/09/2008, 12:38 PM
Jaysus - I've a rotten bout of PMT already. :( :)
Noelys Guitar
10/09/2008, 12:45 PM
Any word on reids fitness yet?
Hour before kick-off it seems for a last look. By the way this could be a Trap ploy. The Italians are always saying one of their top players is injured before a game. And then Hey Presto a recovery Lazurus would be proud off come kick off time. I fully expect to see a fully fit Reid playing a big part tonight.
Billsthoughts
10/09/2008, 12:58 PM
The match gets ever more intriguing - Lord Alfred Tennyson vs. the Wolfe Tones! Our history is generally about naive rebels who rose bravely against foreign invaders... and were shot.
Is that Wexfords or Irelands history?:D
Wolfie
10/09/2008, 12:59 PM
Is that Wexfords or Irelands history?:D
Brings to mind the Hairy Bowsie's classic "The crack was 90 the day we died for Ireland" :D :D
10/09/2008, 2:23 PM
Hasn't Reid yet to carry out his fitness test?
One of Mick's thorough fitness tests, like the one he did with McAteer an hour before the Cameroon game, will do.
10/09/2008, 2:41 PM
May be able to watch it online here, for those of you who can't get to a TV.
http://www.justin.tv/eminem153rd
Closed Account 2
10/09/2008, 3:09 PM
p.s.I dont know why are you comparing this Montenegrin team with Yugoslavia and Serbia and Montenegro since our most important players were to young to play back than.We,undoubtly,have better attack than Serbia today and they have better defence.On the other hand it was always like that;)(Predrag Mijatovic and Dejan Savicevic are Montenegrins).
I don't know about this, I really think Pantelic and Zigic are good strikers. I think Montenegro has the best midfield of the two countries. Incidently did Marko Basa decide for Montenegro or Serbia in the end ?
Srećno na noćas! Ali ja sam iric i mislim Crna Gora jedan - Irska dva :)
Vi ste Crnogorac ? Odkale... iz Titograd ?
livehead1
10/09/2008, 3:29 PM
What channel is this on in the UK, i cant seem to find it?!
Noelys Guitar
10/09/2008, 3:41 PM
Go to http://www.islsport.co.nr/. Then click on ISL Sport on the left hand side at top of page. If anyone finds a better link please post.
10/09/2008, 3:44 PM
Another one for ye.
http://www.justin.tv/eminem153rd
10/09/2008, 3:46 PM
this to (http://static.hcrhs.k12.nj.us/images/mcjournalism/television.jpg)
FarBeag
10/09/2008, 3:49 PM
There not i am afraid.You will either have to find a stream or some pub with an Irish sky card.
adamcarr
10/09/2008, 3:49 PM
http://www.justin.tv/nelson7
The welsh game is on this at the moment. Wales missed a peno but Russia are destroying them. 1-0 at the moment to the Russians.
FarBeag
10/09/2008, 4:04 PM
http://www.live-footy.org/
Adrianovic
10/09/2008, 4:17 PM
Setanta Ireland 430.
I'm sure I used to be able to watch matches on this over here in the UK, I'd be quite disappointed to find out I couldn't now. They've been advertising it on the TV and everything.