View Full Version : Georgia V Ireland - Saturday, 6th September 2008 - World Cup 2010 Q - Mainz, Germany

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7

The Legend
06/09/2008, 5:36 PM
he must have a problem with Andy Reid, this is ridiculous.

christo
06/09/2008, 5:37 PM
Here comes Paul McShane for Finnan

Maroon 7
06/09/2008, 5:37 PM
Finnan off. McShane on.

bobloblaw
06/09/2008, 5:38 PM
Ah jesus, give him a bloody run out. How demoralising it must be to see McShane and Miller get on ahead of ya.

The Legend
06/09/2008, 5:38 PM
oh sweet jaysus, we need to be up 4-0 for these type of changes

backstothewall
06/09/2008, 5:39 PM
McShane and Miller on

we can't afford many injuries in this campaign if they are the standard of the cover we have

bobloblaw
06/09/2008, 5:39 PM
he must have a problem with Andy Reid, this is ridiculous.

Tbh, i feel like a **** giving out because we're winning. Just not right though.

Maroon 7
06/09/2008, 5:40 PM
Ah jesus, give him a bloody run out. How demoralising it must be to see McShane and Miller get on ahead of ya.

Seems like Trap doesn't fancy him as a player. I know he's not the most athletic but he might help us to keep the ball.

backstothewall
06/09/2008, 5:41 PM
If by problem you mean he's too fat, too slow and Stephen Reid is better, then i guess he does

bobloblaw
06/09/2008, 5:42 PM
Seems like Trap doesn't fancy him as a player. I know he's not the most athletic but he might help us to keep the ball.

Well thats it. If you're not going to give him a run out when we're 2 up against this shower there's really no point bringing him along.

OT, is S. Ireland cut adrift now? Don't want that pathetic piece of crap anywhere near this side. Doesn't deserve the shirt.

christo
06/09/2008, 5:43 PM
If by problem you mean he's too fat, too slow and Stephen Reid is better, then i guess he does

Well said

bobloblaw
06/09/2008, 5:44 PM
Don't think a single poster has said anything about him replacing S. Reid, but carry on!

06/09/2008, 5:45 PM
OT, is S. Ireland cut adrift now? Don't want that pathetic piece of crap anywhere near this side. Doesn't deserve the shirt.
Don't soil the thread like that:D

Maroon 7
I think Trap said he's more likely to play Andy Reid in games where we might go with one up front. So Italy away probably and maybe Bulgaria away. Might not see too much of him apart from that.

Have 10 euro on doyle and 2-0. 25/1 in powers.

skitz3
Can someone answer why the Irish fans are singing "Champion-a"?

christo
06/09/2008, 5:46 PM
Don't think a single poster has said anything about him replacing S. Reid, but carry on!

He wouldn't fit in anywhere else in my mind

SuperDave
06/09/2008, 5:47 PM
Have 10 euro on doyle and 2-0. 25/1 in powers.

champion bet, tha' lad, champion bet.

on t'other note, we've not looked half bad defendin t'set pieces and corners and whatnot.

*applies touch of death to future matches*

06/09/2008, 5:47 PM

Trap a ttoni

The Legend
06/09/2008, 5:48 PM
well even so, u have to agree he'd a better sub than any of those 3 by miles...

soccerc

They're not, but you wouldn't understand seeing you don't support England B

bobloblaw
He wouldn't fit in anywhere else in my mind

4-4-2 WooooooT!!!!

skitz3
06/09/2008, 5:49 PM
Trap a ttoni

Ah thats it alright. Thank you Gustavo.

bobloblaw
Looks a good little player that no. 7, certainly sends in a good set-piece.

Ugh!!

SuperDave
champion bet, tha' lad, champion bet.

on t'other note, we've not looked half bad defendin t'set pieces and corners and whatnot.

*applies touch of death to future matches*

*applies touch of death to KR Post's bet*

06/09/2008, 5:50 PM
**** it

bobloblaw
Well that certainly takes the shine off this result.

We'll need to be much much better.

2-1 :(

bobloblaw
06/09/2008, 5:51 PM
We'll take it.

skitz3
06/09/2008, 5:51 PM
They're not, but you wouldn't understand seeing you don't support England B

Ah now don't take it personally Soccerc. There's a good boy, don't cry now. Big boys don't cry.

Are you going to be ok now? There's a big brave boy.

06/09/2008, 5:53 PM
Mission Accomplished ,

we deserved to win , bit disappointing no clean sheet but still 3 points away from home isn't to be sniffed at , next up Montenegro :D

06/09/2008, 5:54 PM
We'll take the three points away from home. Job done!

06/09/2008, 5:55 PM
Dunphy getting the boot in now with his simplistic nonsense. :rolleyes:

The lads did well and, IMO, there was no real threat of them losing that game.

Maroon 7
06/09/2008, 5:56 PM
At least we look a lot more organised than the Stan days. Wouldn't be hard right enough.

bobloblaw
Pretty fair criticism's from John and Dunphy i feel.

What in the hell is Sounness doing there?

conlonn
Ireland much improved but still a lot of questions to answer

I have no faith in them or the manager now. They have three points but a better team would have drawn or beaten us. Why is Liam Lawencre or Rory Delap not in the squad.

S Hunt is a headless chicken not up tp this level.
McGeady was good

Centre mod still a prob. A Reid should be in the team

Robbie Keane is totally over rated.

Trapatoni has many questions to answer

Still conceding late goals

They have improved though from Stan's chaotic era.

Maroon 7
06/09/2008, 5:57 PM
Dunphy says McGeady can't play on the right. I thought he looked much better on the right than when he was on the left.

irishfan86
06/09/2008, 5:58 PM
Happy to get the 3 points, but the manner of it was a bit unconvincing.

Relying on a goalkeeper error for our victory hardly instills me with confidence.

A bit worried about Trap's defensive mentality in the final minutes as well.

Liam Miller for Doyle? Straight out of Kerr's tactic book.

06/09/2008, 5:59 PM
I have no faith in them or the manager now. They have three points but a better team would have drawn or beaten us. Why is Liam Lawencre or Rory Delap not in the squad.
What?!

Did you think any of that or did you just push buttons to see what came out?!

Georgia aren't a bad team; they had some chances as you'd expect, but we did well enough. Better than anything under Stan anyway. Late goal was silly, but if the keeper had held Whelan's shot, we'd have paid more attention (and wouldn't have made experimental subs) and probably not conceded it.

A deserved three points are a deserved three points; I'll take that as a start.

carloz
06/09/2008, 6:02 PM
Ireland much improved but still a lot of questions to answer

S Hunt is a headless chicken not up tp this level.
McGeady was good

Centre mod still a prob. A Reid should be in the team

Robbie Keane is totally over rated.

Trapatoni has many questions to answer

Still conceding late goals

They have improved though from Stan's chaotic era.

Oh dear god!!! You have no faith in the manager after he guided us to a victory against a very capable team. Lawrence has always been a troublemaker and i guess for that reason he is not in the squad. Delap has a long throw, that is all
Centre midfield was excellent tonight with Reid and Whealan looking very good together and both being good shouts for man of the match.
Trap doesnt have many questions to answer, he has got a good result and finally got some shap back to a team who have had the confidence kicked out of them in recent years by an inept manager.
I cant beleive you are jumping on the sceptical bandwagon and your quote about having no faith in the manager is ridiculous and actually angers me.
The only negative point i have about tonight is the use of substitutions.

stiffler
06/09/2008, 6:02 PM
Great way to start the qualifying campaign, 3 points is 3 points.

In my opinion, If stan was manager we would have drew that game.

boovidge
06/09/2008, 6:04 PM
Mission accomplished indeed.

The main thing was that we got the 3 points today. We never looked in danger of losing the game. Their late goal put obviously tarnished the score a bit but what do you expect with McShane and Miller on the pitch ;)

Hunt played really well, much better than I expected. Always gave the fullback a problem.

McGeady inconsistent but got the assist and proved that he can perform in the green jersey.

Dunne and O'shea looked like a solid parternship.

Steven Reid was excellent, great to see him back playing competitive football.

Didn't see too much of Whelen but he looked accomplished and helped spread the ball a bit. Lucky goal but they all count.

Overall i'm very pleased with the performance and it's the first time in a while i've dared to believe we can qualify for a tournament. :)

bobloblaw
A bit worried about Trap's defensive mentality in the final minutes as well.

No problem with that persoonally. Its making substitutes with twenty minutes to go that hand the initiative back over to the opposition.

Come on now, would we have given anything away by bringing Reid on for Doyle? No.

Dunphy says McGeady can't play on the right. I thought he looked much better on the right than when he was on the left.
McGeady was actually better tonight than he has been for Celtic this season but its not saying much as he's been way off form for Celtic. He had a decent 2nd half. Can't fault his "end product" though. Set up the first goal, started the move for the 2nd goal with a 50 yard pass to Keane with his left foot, and played the corner for O'Shea's free header. I look forward to seeing him now against Montenegro.

Whelan was deservedly motm. Most of the players played well and I think it was mainly down to Trap that Georgia came into the game more in the 2nd half. We'll be seeing that a lot if we're winning by half time.

christo
06/09/2008, 6:05 PM

He put in the cross from the right!!! I don't get Dunphy sometimes

conlonn
06/09/2008, 6:06 PM
What?!

Did you think any of that or did you just push buttons to see what came out?!

Georgia aren't a bad team; they had some chances as you'd expect, but we did well enough. Better than anything under Stan anyway. Late goal was silly, but if the keeper had held Whelan's shot, we'd have paid more attention (and wouldn't have made experimental subs) and probably not conceded it.

A deserved three points are a deserved three points; I'll take that as a start.

Better than under Stan but as someone said the substitutions made right out of Brian Kerr's coaching handbook.
Andy Reid should be in the team. Stephen Hunt should be impact sub at best
Its a positive start but they need to improve a lot.
On the upside they should improve for Wednesday and win that. But I am not inspired with confidence on that performance or Trap's substitutions

To say the late goal was silly is stupid. Irleand have been giving away late goals for fun throughout the last how many years?????

Macedonia, Slovakia, ........

boovidge
06/09/2008, 6:06 PM
I thought it was common knowledge that Dunphy always talks out of his arse. I doubt he even believes what he says, he's just always trying to make a controversial point.

boovidge
06/09/2008, 6:10 PM
Better than under Stan but as someone said the substitutions made right out of Brian Kerr's coaching handbook.
Andy Reid should be in the team. Stephen Hunt should be impact sub at best
Its a positive start but they need to improve a lot.
On the upside they should improve for Wednesday and win that. But I am not inspired with confidence on that performance or Trap's substitutions

To say the late goal was silly is stupid. Irleand have been giving away late goals for fun throughout the last how many years?????

Macedonia, Slovakia, ........

2 examples, one from many years ago. :rolleyes:

The substitutions wouldnt have been made if we were only 1-0 up.

Trap is still unbeaten as manager.

seanfhear
06/09/2008, 6:16 PM
He put in the cross from the right!!! I don't get Dunphy sometimes I have never got Dunphy in my life.The money that spoofer has made out of been a spoofer is unreal.
Happy with the result.Not sure about miller but lets give the manager the benefit of the doubt
I do think that Liam Lawrence has ability and is a decent size which most of our players are not.Remember the old saying "a good big one is better than a good little one"