View Full Version : Georgia V Ireland - Saturday, 6th September 2008 - World Cup 2010 Q - Mainz, Germany

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7

06/09/2008, 4:18 PM
Keeper looks poor

06/09/2008, 4:18 PM
Needless foul by Hunt there.

christo
06/09/2008, 4:22 PM
McGeady seems to have the better of the full back and Reid is spreading the ball excellently

06/09/2008, 4:28 PM
was gonna lambast McGeady before that cross for Doyles goal... sublime... goal on 11mins eh? my prediction earlier in this thread is looking good...

to be fair, we look good, very organised and relaxed. im impressed so far.

the iraqgoals link works pretty well by the way...

Maroon 7
06/09/2008, 4:30 PM
Georgia look a bit rubbish to be honest (touch wood). Anything less than all 3 points here would be a big disappointment.

Maroon 7
06/09/2008, 4:37 PM
Georgians having their first bit of decent possession at the moment.

christo
06/09/2008, 4:38 PM
Free header six yards

06/09/2008, 4:40 PM
They are starting to create chances, next thing you know they will have put one in he back of the net!

Brendan 82
06/09/2008, 4:42 PM
I love Hunt. He just beats the crap out of the other team!

christo
06/09/2008, 4:46 PM
Lovely touch by Whelen

Maroon 7
06/09/2008, 4:48 PM
1-0 HT.

Great first 30 minutes. Fell away a bit in the final 15.

More of the first 30 and we'll win handily. A repeat of the final 15 and it'll be a nervy second half.

06/09/2008, 4:52 PM
Should we make any changes at the half? McGeady maybe? Losing the ball too easily.

irishfan86
06/09/2008, 4:53 PM
Sitting back too much. We need another goal or this could be a disaster.

06/09/2008, 4:55 PM
I won a few quid on Doyle anyway. He's playing well if only the ref would stop calling nothing fouls against him.

Glenn Whelan has been excellent. S.Reid his usual commanding self. McGeady playing like he has been for Celtic this season. Just can't seem to beat a player. I wish he'd come inside more as he's way too predictable.

christo
06/09/2008, 4:55 PM
McGeady or Hunt both losing possesion too much

06/09/2008, 5:02 PM
apart from the cross McGeady has been shocking bad. I think Hunt has been more effective than McGeady and i would like to see Murphy or Reid on for McGeady.

The last 15-20 was a bit ropey and i think the break came at the right time...

christo
06/09/2008, 5:04 PM
I don't think Hunt has done anything at all, just his usuall running around like a mad yoke thing, don't think he ever offers much to the side, that said McGeady is no great player either

Maroon 7
06/09/2008, 5:09 PM
Free header O'Shea puts it well over.

06/09/2008, 5:09 PM
O'Shea should have buried that!

backstothewall
06/09/2008, 5:12 PM
I don't think Hunt has done anything at all, just his usuall running around like a mad yoke thing, don't think he ever offers much to the side, that said McGeady is no great player either

McGeady put in the cross for the goal!!

They swapped wings after a half hour and we looked crap after that. they were both having to come infield to often after that and losing the ball as a result.

Glad to see McGeady back on the right and Hunt back to the left

Maroon 7
06/09/2008, 5:14 PM
McGeady looking better on the right again.

Keane hits the post and McGeady puts the follow up just wide. Bugger.

The Legend
06/09/2008, 5:16 PM
did the commentator just say "the former Inter Milan Striker" when referring to Keane... Fair enough, its factually correct, but he didnt exactly play much for them lol

christo
06/09/2008, 5:16 PM
McGeady put in the cross for the goal!!

They swapped wings after a half hour and we looked crap after that. they were both having to come infield to often after that and losing the ball as a result.

Glad to see McGeady back on the right and Hunt back to the left

Agree, thats why I'm defeneding why McGeady should stay on instead of Hunt

They are looking better now they've switched back too

backstothewall
06/09/2008, 5:17 PM
Nothing more either could have done with that. Keano did well to hit the post and McGeady was being closed down and tried to curl it round his man

backstothewall
06/09/2008, 5:19 PM
Agree, thats why I'm defeneding why McGeady should stay on instead of Hunt

They are looking better now they've switched back too

I would keep them both on. we look very good with them both in their natural positions. Gordan Strachan take note

Anything less than 3 points would be robbery here

Maroon 7
06/09/2008, 5:21 PM
Well done O'Shea. Important interception there.

Under a bit of presssure here.

06/09/2008, 5:24 PM
Lucky there we were.

backstothewall
06/09/2008, 5:26 PM
Ccould of gone anywhere there off Dunne

Good to see McGeady and doyle tracking back well at stages in there.

We could easily get one on the break here. They are pushing numbers forward

Maroon 7
06/09/2008, 5:26 PM
McGeady was fouled there just outside the box. Not given.

06/09/2008, 5:27 PM
Lucky there we were.

are you Yoda?

this is getting pretty nervy...

christo
GOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLL!!!!!!

Whelen :D:D:D

Take that Whelan's critics!

Maroon 7
Whelan with a 40 yarder. Keeper makes a howler.

2-0

The Legend
Whelllaannnnn lol nice

not any more!!!!! gowan ya boya

06/09/2008, 5:28 PM
That'll work...2-0!

06/09/2008, 5:28 PM
Yes!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I wasn't expecting that!!!!!!!!!!!

backstothewall
06/09/2008, 5:29 PM
We could easily get one on the break here. They are pushing numbers forward

You heard it here first :D

The Legend
06/09/2008, 5:29 PM
he had so much space i thought he could have went another 10 yards before taking a shot

Monkfish
06/09/2008, 5:30 PM
Ole! Ole! Ole!

What a keeper! :D

soccerc
06/09/2008, 5:30 PM
Take that Whelan's critics!

Where's (Wally) Ciaran now?

Congrats Glenn me oul buddy

christo
06/09/2008, 5:32 PM
he had so much space i thought he could have went another 10 yards before taking a shot

He doesn't need another ten yards

backstothewall

Jaysus, even where he scores he gets critisised ;)

What was that clown who got arrested doing?? Missed what happened typing this message

was that Andy Reid attempting to streak the pitch?

The Legend
06/09/2008, 5:33 PM
Jaysus, even where he scores he gets critisised ;)

What was that clown who got arrested doing?? Missed what happened typing this message

i wasnt giving out about Whelan, i meant the defence was crap there.... to be fair, i would have saved that.... nice keeping

bobloblaw
06/09/2008, 5:34 PM
Two up, bring Reid on and maybe grab a third. Why Miller?

Maroon 7
06/09/2008, 5:35 PM
Doyle off. Miller on

backstothewall
i wasnt giving out about Whelan, i meant the defence was crap there.... to be fair, i would have saved that.... nice keeping

I know, only winding

Not that i'm critisising Don Trap, but why would he change this??

And if Liam Miller is the answer, what on earth is the question?

Liam Miller????? Trapa, whatsa uppa?

irishfan86
06/09/2008, 5:36 PM
Miller? FFS

Watch him score now ala Whelan!