Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Come for the fighting, stay for the football

Come for the fighting, stay for the football

Glad to see the Eircom League is proving such a hit with our youth. Particularly the hordes of 12-17 year old Shels and Bohs jersey wearing sorts who were throwing plenty of digs at each other after the match tonight.

Nothing quite like sitting on the bus listening to these lads recount their epic tales of heroism again and again and again at the top of their voices to the public transport users of our city, before playing the footage back on their videophones.

Although my personal favourite is when they begin to rally their posse in to one of their favoured chants in a resplendent cockney baritone.

It'll be a dark day when these freshmen graduate from their academy of gougery and seek to out do each other in gorey bravado.

I'll sign off with this representative snippet of conversation:
    Boy A: "Are yiz going to the Cork game next week?"
    Boy B: "Will there be a fight?"
    www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football

I blame bebo - ban the internet I say
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

They were wearing colours?Finally,get them on camara and show to the respective clubs and they can't ignore it or say they're not fans,they'll have to take action
    No Comment.

ban the internet I say
    No doubt someone will find a button to press to unban it, so I say:

Burn the internet down to the ground to stop both it and any over reactions to said events.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

47 Posts
    I blame the idiocy of todays youth.

You wont hear a whisper about it though,bar this forum or any pics in the herald
    No Comment.

Come on lads... They aren't real hooligans, just trying to imitate Green Street, or the Hammers fans, or the Milwall lads.

Its harmless craic, at least its good to see more people out to see the EL anyway.

Though I suppose you old granda's need something to moan about, don't you? (I mean, you'd probably make a similar post if there was a lack of youngsters at the game)

do we need a thread on trouble that wasnt actually witnessed by the person giving out about it?

Quote Originally Posted by Leeza View Post
    Come on lads... They aren't real hooligans, just trying to imitate Green Street, or the Hammers fans, or the Milwall lads.

Its harmless craic, at least its good to see more people out to see the EL anyway.

Though I suppose you old granda's need something to moan about, don't you? (I mean, you'd probably make a similar post if there was a lack of youngsters at the game)
    Don't post such ****e when you havent a clue what you are talking about . Fighting inside and outside the ground is harmless craic ? Are you stupid ?

Shocking scenes on Richmond Road last night and as a neutral follower of the EL for many years now I`m not sure whether I will be back again

245 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Leeza View Post

You can't be serious.
    It gives lie to the old adage "there's no such thing as bad publicity".The Irish papers love this kind of crap to fill up their back pages with.

Quote Originally Posted by stickyjoe View Post
    Shocking scenes on Richmond Road last night and as a neutral follower of the EL for many years now I`m not sure whether I will be back again
    C'mon. I really don't see how this will stop you going to el matches. It probably happens somewhere in every city after every match.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Thats stupid.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

It'll take more than idiot kids fighting among themselves to stop me going to a game. But I'd certainly be hand picking the games I'd take my younger relatives to.
    www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football

22 Posts
    You dont get any of that crap down here as far as I know!! well I am a youth and I for one would hate to be apart of this

Sorry you are right I`ll be back as soon as possible. My kids can`t wait to get involved in the middle of the random punchups between a few hundred scumbags, riot police and police dogs again on their way out of a game.

I will be back as for some bizarre reason I love the league but I`ll be choosing my games carefully from now on. The amount of scumbags at last nights game from both sides along with the 100-150 that were waiting outside that didn`t get into the ground was hard to believe. Robbing flags, throwing bottles and coins onto the pitch and the pre-arranged fights to me is not football

Rovers v Bohs in 2 weeks time should be great fun...

Quote Originally Posted by SPXcyan View Post
    You dont get any of that crap down here as far as I know!! well I am a youth and I for one would hate to be apart of this
    nah you just get stones and bottles thrown at you instead. Bohs have always had an element of knacker support them but it seems to be growing in Shels support too. We'll see if they act on their statement last week

My kids can`t wait to get involved in the middle of the random punchups between a few hundred scumbags, riot police and police dogs again on their way out of a game.
    A few hundred involved in randon punch-ups? Riot police? Are you sure you're not confusing it with a Panorama programme?

Of course hooliganism and fighting cannot be condoned by any footall fan and nor can it diminished. But over-stating it is also wrong and would serve only to attract even more of the little inadequates.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

I'm fully aware of our element but the bohs youth were in the ground a good 45 minutes before kick off trying to incite trouble, unveiling a stolen flag and trying to kick down the partition fence, not to mention running towards the Shels support! And just before the gypos go off on one, there was a bohs flag taken by some little creamer, but it was given straight back, to sum up Bohs= Scum!

Don't get me started on the Garda presence inside the ground absolute joke! Second half before they realised its more then just cushty overtime!
    Sitting pretty!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra Red View Post
    Don't get me started on the Garda presence inside the ground absolute joke! Second half before they realised its more then just cushty overtime!
    It's up to your club to request Gardaí within the ground.
    If your club isn't willing to pay for sufficient resources, then they should be taken to task over any subsequent security breaches.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast