Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Come for the fighting, stay for the football

reder
    No doubt this will make the papers. It is such a shame that trouble in the EL seems to be highlighted in the media more than the football itself. In every other country the opposite is true. I was thinking about going to the Rovers v Bohs cup game in a few weeks but if this is going to be the highlight of the game, I will give it a miss. I have west ham at home the next day at 12.45 anyway.

Also, from what I saw at the last shels v bohs game at the tolka park, this is 2 groups of teenagers. They need a good kicking from the cops and that'll sort it out. Its not exactly West ham v Millwall.

Quote Originally Posted by Leeza View Post
    Its harmless craic, at least its good to see more people out to see the EL anyway.

How ya doing. I'm 17, from Monaghan and support the Magic Mons.
    Ah yes, it makes sense now!

Quote Originally Posted by nshoop View Post
    Ah God be with the days when you'd be on the train coming out of waterford and bricks and stones would come flying through your window,memories
    Good times!

They all follow the hurling team now.

Scratch that - they all play for the hurling team now.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

I love these Maud Flanders threads
    ONE CITY, ONE TEAM.

Red&White
    Come on lads... They aren't real hooligans, just trying to imitate Green Street, or the Hammers fans, or the Milwall lads.

Its harmless craic, at least its good to see more people out to see the EL anyway.

Though I suppose you old granda's need something to moan about, don't you? (I mean, you'd probably make a similar post if there was a lack of youngsters at the game)
    Wise. Up.

Drumcondra Red, is the SSC still a figment of my imagination?

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie View Post
    Yes. This is the DGB.
    Who Cares?!

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie View Post
    It is, yeah, although we do have a group of kids running around acting the hard man, we're dealing with it though, don't worry!
    Sitting pretty!!!

At the time it was quite late, and I overemphasised my wording, but I still hold to the fact that its just a few scangers up for a few kicks. You really bigging up something which isn't that big an issue.

And lets leave bigotry to one side, eh Peader?

At the time it was quite late, and I overemphasised my wording, but I still hold to the fact that its just a few scangers up for a few kicks. You really bigging up something which isn't that big an issue.
    And if you have a 6 year old kid or a pregnant wife with you and these scangers kick off, and your family is frightened out of their wits, is that not a big issue Leeza?
    www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football

123 Posts
    ...he supports Monaghan ffs. They don't know what fans are, never mind hooligans.

heard the chairman of sligo bemoaning summer football says it is killing the game in sligo ..too many young lads out gathering hay and making manure instead of watching it in the showgrounds.
    on a serious note clubs do note have the cash /ability/resourses to deal with scumbags at lol matches. and the fai only response is to fine the clubs and put more financial burden on the clubs ..
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

Were you there for this to be an accurate assesment?
    Sitting pretty!!!

As clubs try to promote th LOI I reckon the scumbag element are turning away a lot of fans who might be interested in attending games. Perhaps the interweb has highlighted every incident but I reckon levels of violence has increased. As a Bohs fan I am less than interested than attending Rovers Bohs matches any more due to the element that follow both (and many other) clubs. Reading about tyre slashing and bottle throwing at a recent Galway Athlone tie shows this element are everywhere. No wonder bar-stoolers are happy to watch football on tv
    "oh my, that was some beer we had last night, I think I feel like getting sick" Effin Eddie

Quote Originally Posted by Larry 'da' Wyse View Post
    As clubs try to promote th LOI I reckon the scumbag element are turning away a lot of fans who might be interested in attending games........
    Agreed, and people who already attend games would be less likely(sp?) to bring along a mate if last nights crap is going to become the norm at games.

70 Posts
    Trouble keeping people away from EL matches
    I have heard it all now
    To many drama queens, overstating the problem
    A fight is a riot, carnage, destruction you would see more trouble
    with aul ones fighting over the january sales

The video footage of the Bohs "supporters" running across the pitch reminded me of my school sports for the under 12's. Where's the parents eh, cos most of them looked like they would still be grounded.
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by Gareth View Post
    The video footage of the Bohs "supporters" running across the pitch reminded me of my school sports for the under 12's. Where's the parents eh, cos most of them looked like they would still be grounded.
    Have a closer look and you should see grown men as well!
    Who Cares?!

Quote Originally Posted by Gareth View Post
    what footage?
    No Comment.

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra Red View Post
    I'm fully aware of our element but the bohs youth were in the ground a good 45 minutes before kick off trying to incite trouble, unveiling a stolen flag and trying to kick down the partition fence, not to mention running towards the Shels support! And just before the gypos go off on one, there was a bohs flag taken by some little creamer, but it was given straight back, to sum up Bohs= Scum!

Don't get me started on the Garda presence inside the ground absolute joke! Second half before they realised its more then just cushty overtime!

Great Balanced report....

Given straight back? The "We Are Bohs" flag and it had to retrieved by stewards and Gardai. And when it was retrieved, it was soaked. With what I don't know. Beer, ****, spit are all possibilities... (I had the misfortune of putting it back up)

You also failed to mention the scores of Shels fans who left the lego stand 5-10 mins before the end of the game to congregate outside the Ballybough end gate..

to some up Shels=Scum!

Why the hell is p-i-s-s censored?? Ridiculous...

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast