199 Posts
    Moved to MU to early in his career...
    Hope it works out for him

3,322 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AlaskaFox View Post
    I know, but if Caleb Folan can get a call-up, why can't Liam?
    Because Folan is fulfilling a role in the squad - backup to Doyle along with Walters, and Best. Miller is behind Fahey, Andrews, Gibson, McCarthy, possibly Lawrence and Rowlands in the queue for central midfield

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JGKyne View Post
    Moved to MU to early in his career...
    Hope it works out for him
    Aye, The Rat'. Celtic fans said it then and ever since....

What a waste. Feck him.

386 Posts
    Going down under for lifestyle rather than furthering his footballing career who could blame him. Good luck to him!

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tommy_c12000 View Post
    Going down under for lifestyle rather than furthering his footballing career who could blame him. Good luck to him!
    Perth's a grand spot though. It's no Melbourne but at least he has the opportunity of heading up to the pinnacles and the lancelin inn.

2,702 Posts
    My brother lived there for 8 years and loved it. Apparently it's a great spot. Great climate and outdoor lifestyle. Assuming he's on an OK package it's an easy move for him.

282 Posts
    Its all been downhill for him since he ****ed Roy off after turning up late for training.
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

1,914 Posts
    You mean as he's going down under.

31 Posts
    Celtic effed up by not offering him a contract early enough. Allowed him a tantilising glimpse of the glorious EPL delights which he jumped at. Celtic fans rightly interpreted his move as foolish and disrespectful(stood by him during injuries, propelled him into 1st team) and when oul sir awex lost the league there was no way Miller, a january pre-contract signing, would be walking into MU's centre field come the summer. Career killed stone dead before it began. A few years in the hoops and it all could have been so different. Shame for the lad, he had champions league glory at Celtic, a support who took him to their hearts, subsequently shat on them, and now he's the walking definition of a let-down journeyman pro.

162 Posts
    http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/spo...y-celtic-boss/

Celtic manager Neil Lennon has lauded Perth Glory’s signing of former Hoops midfielder Liam Miller, claiming the Republic of Ireland international will have a big impact on the A-League this season.
    Lennon played alongside the new Glory signing at Celtic seven years ago and has also witnessed the 30-year-old midfielder’s recent form for Hibernian in the Scottish Premier League.
    “I’ve known Liam a long time and he had couple of seasons at Hibs where he played very, very well,” Lennon said.
    “It’s a good signing for Perth and one thing Liam will do is make Perth a better team. He’s a very good player - technically very good and clever. He makes some really good runs.
    “When he first burst on to the scene at Celtic he had a meteoric rise and he went off to Manchester United and his career probably didn’t pan out the way people thought it would’ve done but he’s still got a lot of quality.
    “He’ll be a good signing and it’s a bit of a coup for Perth to get him.”

119 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bottle of Tonic View Post
    Celtic effed up by not offering him a contract early enough. Allowed him a tantilising glimpse of the glorious EPL delights which he jumped at. Celtic fans rightly interpreted his move as foolish and disrespectful(stood by him during injuries, propelled him into 1st team) and when oul sir awex lost the league there was no way Miller, a january pre-contract signing, would be walking into MU's centre field come the summer. Career killed stone dead before it began. A few years in the hoops and it all could have been so different. Shame for the lad, he had champions league glory at Celtic, a support who took him to their hearts, subsequently shat on them, and now he's the walking definition of a let-down journeyman pro.
    He was already one of the top players in the SPL which even back then was a very weak league, particularly technically so for a player like him I don't think he could have learned anymore there and perhaps would have rotted into mediocrity there instead of obscurity elsewhere. I think he made the right choice taking an oppurtunity at Man Utd, most young lads should be jumping at the chance to leave the SPL for a better standard league. Ultimately he didn't make it but I don't put that down to his decision to leave Celtic. His attitude failed him at Sunderland and like most players who go there he just wasn't good enough for Man Utd.

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Murfinator View Post
    He was already one of the top players in the SPL which even back then was a very weak league, particularly technically so for a player like him I don't think he could have learned anymore there and perhaps would have rotted into mediocrity there instead of obscurity elsewhere.
    Talk about rewriting history! Miller had shown glimpses of being a great player for Celtic, notably in 2 CL games against Anderlecht & Lyon. His future looked bright. In 4-5 years he made 26 appearances (per wiki), I'd say he could have learned a hell of a lot more had he stuck around both domestically and in Europe. Poorly advised imo.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

2,284 Posts
    I have a feeling Wiki just counts league appearances.

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    Possibly you are correct but I think the point still stands.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

162 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    You are indeed correct.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post
    Possibly you are correct but I think the point still stands.
    Yeah, certainly. Just being a grumbling pedant.

282 Posts
    Appears Liam got his first goal down under against Adelaide United in a 3-0 victory on Sunday. His side are doing OK in the league and are looking as though they bound for the playoffs. He seems to have been an ever present in the team.

Oh, and while you guys are laughing at him playing in the A League, I should note its about 85° Fahrenheit in Perth right now. Actually watched a little bit of the Wellington Phoenix game yesterday, the standard isn't great but maybe about the same as MLS, or somewhat comparable to League One, or some SPL sides.

I watched some of their playoffs a few years ago and their method really is confusing as hell with major and minor semi-finals (doesn't mean the same thing as in GAA), then the grand final, etc.
    Last edited by theworm2345; 30/01/2012 at 3:35 AM.
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

Miller has been standout for Perth for the past two games. He controls play well and gives them an attacking edge.

282 Posts
    Scored again last night.
    My Guarantee

2,643 Posts
    wow. If he keeps turning in decent performances for a third rate team, Man U might take a punt on him!

21. Thanks From:

Page 13 of 16 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast