Page 5 of 11 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Tonight's latest

Thought Joxer and his legs (still unbroken as they are, in spite of aspirations otherwise here) did a great job for that first goal.

Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    Athlone Town vs Limerick 37

Match abandoned due to waterlogged pitch and safety reasons
    When was the last game played on that pitch and were there any training sessions on it this week? how many times has your games been postponed or cancelled this season and when we played ye the last time (2 2 draw) it wasnt so hot either. For a brand new facility (the pitch)it seems to be having a lot of problems IMO

1,104 Posts
    There were under 19 international games on the pitch during the week but Flancare had the same amount and I've rarely seen the pitch looking as well as it was on Thursday. Fair enough there's been a bit of rain around here since but not that much I wouldn't have thought!

70 Posts
    20 Euro to stand on a death trap of a terrace is a disgrace and they wonder why they cant get people through the gates

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    When was the last game played on that pitch and were there any training sessions on it this week? how many times has your games been postponed or cancelled this season and when we played ye the last time (2 2 draw) it wasnt so hot either. For a brand new facility (the pitch)it seems to be having a lot of problems IMO
    Pitch was playable at 2pm but we had heavy persistant rain since 10 am that morning. It rained up in Athlone virtually every day for the past two weeks. League were contacted at 3pm and asked did they want to get the pitch inspected as water was starting to lay on it round the centre circle. They sent out a ref who decided that unless there was a guarantee that the rain would stop for an hour so the pitch could drain then it wasnt definite that the match could be finished.

So he called it off. It was the right decision as it was still pouring rain at 7.30pm and it would have become dangerous.

Your team were contacted in advance of the pitch inspection and as soon as I knew that it was off I contacted Joe to let you all know.

As for matches played on the pitch this week, you know how many there were but that has no bearing on it.

As for training on the pitch. We dont even allow teams warm up on the pitch never mind train that is what our second pitch is for.

To be honest I don't think that the pitch was any worse with water laying on it than what we played Galway on the previous Friday in the Cup but each referee can look at things in a different way.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

67 Posts
    Any links for St Pats against Sligo online?

Cheers

Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    It rained up in Athlone virtually every day for the past two weeks. same as Kildare, Longford, Galway etc

Your team were contacted in advance of the pitch inspection and as soon as I knew that it was off I contacted Joe to let you all know.
    And it was lucky that the supporters bus left an hour later then usual and we were only a half hour into our journey when we got the news.

As for matches played on the pitch this week, you know how many there were but that has no bearing on it.

I dont know but i would like to know the numbers, and btw when we were up last time as i said the pitch was in bad condition and the story was that the FAI had been using it for games during the week same again perhalps?

To be honest I don't think that the pitch was any worse with water laying on it than what we played Galway on the previous Friday in the Cup but each referee can look at things in a different way.
    Was it one of the Kellys

and btw what were the safety reasons for calling off the game a pitch unplayable i can get but safety reasons? hope the game is on tomorrow now not many will travel on a monday night

84 Posts
    Was down in the stadium this morning and the pitch was fine.

Safety reasons would be the pitch becoming dangerous for players if anymore water fell on it.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

just watched that pats sligo rovers match just now... pats committed the biggest daylight robbery since shergar.. sligo rovers were by far the better team and they should have won.. they would have won if kudozovic was still playin with them..

we were robbed

Pats had the luck of a top team. Teams like Rovers never get a 92nd minute winner.

Fair play to them, though. That late goal is as valid as one scored in the first minute. Can't fault any of our players for effort. You could see that Boco and Almeida were really crushed by losing so late on.

462 Posts
    Sligo were the better team by some distance, they just got a little unlucky with Brush fumbling straight to 'D Lynch' as Jefferies called him.

Pats were disappointing, maybe one eye on the UEFA Cup game, like not getting an injury etc. They were sloppy most of time when entering the final third.

Quote Originally Posted by brianw82 View Post
    Pats had the luck of a top team.
    What's that then?
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

238 Posts
    Sligo were by far the better team alright, Cretaro and Boco were outstanding. Their work-rate and quality on the ball was top notch.
    Sligos final ball was the only downside for them throughout the 90 minutes, they didn't really threaten the Pats goal enough.
    Fair played to Pats though, they kept going to the final whistle and kept the title race open, a loss or draw would have been disastrous for them.

Pats had the luck of a top team. Teams like Rovers never get a 92nd minute winner.

Fair play to them, though. That late goal is as valid as one scored in the first minute. Can't fault any of our players for effort. You could see that Boco and Almeida were really crushed by losing so late on.
    yeah fair play to Pats
    absolutely gutted to lose the game
    our lads gave it their all,
    just missing someone to tap the ball home for us.
    i watched the game in a local pub and was really proud to call myself a SRFC supporter,
    the attitude our lads approached the game was first classs.
    Paul Cook is A Rovers legend

Quote Originally Posted by srfc1928 View Post
    yeah fair play to Pats
    absolutely gutted to lose the game
    our lads gave it their all,
    just missing someone to tap the ball home for us.
    i watched the game in a local pub and was really proud to call myself a SRFC supporter,
    the attitude our lads approached the game was first classs.
    Paul Cook is A Rovers legend
    doesn't take much to become a legend in Sligo

Cook is more of a man than most of the other managers in the league. Never makes excuses, tells it straight, and always gets the best from whatever players he has.

Very much doubt that Fenlon would be doing better in Cook's shoes.

22 Posts
    Cook is more of a man than most of the other managers in the league. Never makes excuses, tells it straight, and always gets the best from whatever players he has.

If JMC left pats would like Cook as next manager. Sligo play nice football regardless of players and considering the issues there hes done very well.

We robbed them tonight but they had noone who could nick a goal and we have loads of them.

ref was awful stupid amount of yellows shown.

not gonna fault players or manager for having an eye on thursday biggest Euro game in clubs history and we should be beating Sligo with whatever 11 we send out.

kdjac
    Last edited by kdjaC; 24/08/2008 at 10:39 PM.
    5-0

Yes he has you playing nice football its easy on the eye and he looks a good manager but to call him a legend after 2 years is it?iIs a joke IMO

Quote Originally Posted by kdjaC View Post
    If JMC left pats would like Cook as next manager.
    Shams have him signed up for next season apparently.

Page 5 of 11 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast