Page 225 of 394 FirstFirst ... 125175215223224225226227235275325 ... LastLast
Results 4,481 to 4,500 of 7867

Thread: The say anything, what's on your mind thread

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    When did the last 16 become "Round of 16" and the last 32 become "Round of 32"? Very feckin irritating.
    Reminds me of that mog Ger Canning referring to the Munster Championship as the Munster and the Leinster Championship as the Leinster, etc. That's just not what people call them, very annoying. He annoys me in general though, he tries to be an articulate fancy pants but doesn't have the brain capacity to pull it off, and just ends up confusing himself in a really cringing way. I remember there was a wide in the first minute or two of the 2002 All Ireland Final and he said "it's gone over the bar". When he realised that he was wrong he said "in fact it's been disallowed", not disallowed Ger, just wide. His absolute worst has to be this though, when the scores were getting a bit difficult to calculate in a goal fest Munster championship match between Cork and Waterford-

'I was absent from school the day we did sums, I had a hamstring injury to my mouth'

My God.

915 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Real ale Madrid View Post
    God I hate those Brennan's Bread ads on the radio, especially the new one referring to the election. I've never bought that bread ever because of those unbelieveably annoying adverts.

Brennan's - "todays bread, today" Wuh ha ha ha - ahh F*** RIGHT OFF.
    There’s one classic one from around the mid-eighties that my uncle recorded off the radio. Apparently, the actor and crew recording the ad finished up early in the studio and recorded a spoof. Unfortunately, the wrong tape got sent to RTE...

The dialogue went, as near word for word as I can remember:

“And when Oul’ Mr Brennan was asked to reveal the secret of his bread, sez he – heh!heh! – ‘would you f*** off and mind your own f***ing business!’ Course, he was always good at the oul repartee.”

Got played three or four times one afternoon apparently. Anybody else ever hear it?

248 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eminence Grise View Post
    There’s one classic one from around the mid-eighties that my uncle recorded off the radio. Apparently, the actor and crew recording the ad finished up early in the studio and recorded a spoof. Unfortunately, the wrong tape got sent to RTE...

The dialogue went, as near word for word as I can remember:

“And when Oul’ Mr Brennan was asked to reveal the secret of his bread, sez he – heh!heh! – ‘would you f*** off and mind your own f***ing business!’ Course, he was always good at the oul repartee.”

Got played three or four times one afternoon apparently. Anybody else ever hear it?
    The ad was definitely made alright,I've heard it,not sure about the wrong tape going to RTE though.

63 Posts
    Ah the power of Youtube!
    Last edited by horton; 24/02/2011 at 1:49 PM.

Feel even more like Monaghan is outer Mongolia as rte lose their satellite link from the shopping centre on four live show.

290 Posts
    Sun! Managed to sit outside today in short sleeves and it was so much more noticibly brighter this morning when I got up I thought I was running late. Now, where's the suncream...

290 Posts
    I know it's like shooting fish in a barrel, but the opening line of this article made me laugh out loud:

Under the headline: Why do priests still perform exorcisms?

Of the approximately 70,000 exorcisms he has carried out, Father Gabriele Amorth estimates that fewer than 100 have been cases of genuine demonic possession.

3,352 Posts
    70000 exorcisms?! How long does one take? Eight years is 70128 hours. So assuming an exorcism takes one hour, and the article says he's in his 80s, then he's spent at least 3 hours a day, each and every single day of his life performing exorcisms.

Edit - actually, his wiki credits him with ten exorcisms a day. And another 20,000 in the ten years since his retirement.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 24/02/2011 at 4:16 PM.

762 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    I know it's like shooting fish in a barrel, but the opening line of this article made me laugh out loud:

Under the headline: Why do priests still perform exorcisms?
    Why? His opinion is quite plausible. I'd say much fewer than 100, but there you go.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

22 Posts
    i have a new found appreciation for tequila, sambuca, and jaegar bombs after they helped me sort out the mess that is my personal life. and the best part was no hangover!
    i believe in one man, one vote. i should be that one man with that one vote.

ALWAYS ON TOUR!

Was doin the Jagers meself last nite. Funtimes.

105 Posts

20 Posts
    Amazing video. Euro 2012 will be fun.
    Misfits

282 Posts
    I remember being impressed by the number of Polish fans that turned up at the friendly against Poland in Dublin a couple of years ago (November '08 maybe?), seem to be a passionate bunch.
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

3,377 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by theworm2345 View Post
    I remember being impressed by the number of Polish fans that turned up at the friendly against Poland in Dublin a couple of years ago (November '08 maybe?), seem to be a passionate bunch.
    you don't know the half of it, never seen so many garda vans after a game

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Yes so will I c u next Tuesday for Funtimes then?
    What happened to our Funtimes that were supposedly today?
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

111 Posts
    Fancied Ireland to beat England in the cricket. 100/1 were the odds but didn't get time to get to the bookies before and during work. Absolutely kicking myself.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Johnston, Mooney and O'Brien...when they're not making lovely bread they're destroying the English at cricket!
    Bray Wanderers: So good they were relegated twice (and still stayed up).

21. Thanks From:

915 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bray-Z View Post
    Johnston, Mooney and O'Brien...when they're not making lovely bread they're destroying the English at cricket!
    You'll neee-ver wheat the Irish!

It's OK: I'll go quietly...

Quote Originally Posted by Eminence Grise View Post
    You'll neee-ver wheat the Irish!

It's OK: I'll go quietly...
    They'll be a BATch of those sorta jokes coming along I'd say...
    Bray Wanderers: So good they were relegated twice (and still stayed up).