Thread: Drogs vs Kiev the match part

22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post
    LMAO off don't to say anything at all you are doing it all by yourself

Sorry can't write a longer reply i am on the banter with that cracking result tonight, summer football has all been worth it
    Are you free for bookings? Some comedians have cancelled at the bulmers festival you would be a shoe in.

Summer football is worth it for the teams that can afford to pay their PROFESSIONAL players every week.

kdjac
    5-0

Quote Originally Posted by anti dub View Post
    **** off you Sligo bogger. Of course it's not been worth it for you minnows. But we let ye in the league, isn't that enough. You get your big day out in the city.
    Cork City founded 1984 who let who in the league Sorry anyway way too busy saving my club from going out of business, we are not in the habit of letting out club die up here or giving our ground to the bog ball association, still your probably happier the men with sticks have an extra place to play

lads stop distracting from the point at hand and bore off, tit for tat is tiring.

Only saw the second half due to gaelic training, but was very impressed with how organised Drogheda were, I think thats the most organised I have seen an Irish team in Europe. Having said that they were chasing shadows at time, and the gulf in class was there to be seen, especially in the tight situations and the quick one-twos. Another thing that ****ess me of is these Irish lads are pros now, and getting paid well for it, how come they are ALWAYS weaker than the opposition, especially in one on one situations, no excuse for that when they have all week to bulk up the upper-body muscle in the gym. Definitely happy to see the application of concentration the whole time(well 45 mins i saw at least ) , as it was severly lacking in EL teams in Europe in years gone by. The only thing I will say was in relation to tactics/manager decisions, Chicken Kiev attacked down the left time and time again, and made space for the right winger by drawing out droghedas defence to the left, doolin should have been bringing on a defensive left-sided winger/midfielder to stop the wave and wave of attack down that side. Drogheda will be punished a lot easier out there on a wider pitch. Any manager could have seen where the main threat was coming from and should have done something to stem it.

Very disappointing to think that with all the Pool, Celtic, United supporters that go across the irish sea, wouldn't even go to watch an Irish soccer team in Europe. That place should have been full tonight.

Its over as a contest, 2 or 3-0 now, whoever thinks its going to be any different hasn't a clue, we have seen it all before.

Well done drogheda and upsetting ye didnt get the draw.

Quote Originally Posted by kdjaC View Post
    Are you free for bookings? Some comedians have cancelled at the bulmers festival you would be a shoe in.

Summer football is worth it for the teams that can afford to pay their PROFESSIONAL players every week.

kdjac
    Actually a little birdy told me you were having issues doing that , don't worry you are only new to seeing professional footballers at your club and understanding they need to be paid every week

126 Posts
    No, that wouldn't please me actually, there is only football.

What sickens me is to see your chairman on telly begging for a return to winter football, using summer footie as a scapegoat because you haven't been run properly. The league has made huge strides on the european stage in past years. We're climbing right up the coefficients table. So **** ye, go back to junior football if you want to play in winter.

126 Posts
    Oh, and in 24 years Cork City FC have won the league and cup the same number of times as SRFC have in 80. And that's to ignore every other club who have represented Cork. So shove it.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    lads stop distracting from the point at hand and bore off, tit for tat is tiring.

Only saw the second half due to gaelic training, but was very impressed with how organised Drogheda were, I think thats the most organised I have seen an Irish team in Europe. Having said that they were chasing shadows at time, and the gulf in class was there to be seen, especially in the tight situations and the quick one-twos. Another thing that ****ess me of is these Irish lads are pros now, and getting paid well for it, how come they are ALWAYS weaker than the opposition, especially in one on one situations, no excuse for that when they have all week to bulk up the upper-body muscle in the gym. Definitely happy to see the application of concentration the whole time(well 45 mins i saw at least ) , as it was severly lacking in EL teams in Europe in years gone by. The only thing I will say was in relation to tactics/manager decisions, Chicken Kiev attacked down the left time and time again, and made space for the right winger by drawing out droghedas defence to the left, doolin should have been bringing on a defensive left-sided winger/midfielder to stop the wave and wave of attack down that side. Drogheda will be punished a lot easier out there on a wider pitch. Any manager could have seen where the main threat was coming from and should have done something to stem it.

Very disappointing to think that with all the Pool, Celtic, United supporters that go across the irish sea, wouldn't even go to watch an Irish soccer team in Europe. That place should have been full tonight.

Its over as a contest, 2 or 3-0 now, whoever thinks its going to be any different hasn't a clue, we have seen it all before.

Well done drogheda and upsetting ye didnt get the draw.
    Good post Paul, Drogs had very little foot hold on the game and were much smaller in frame as well. Regards for the crowd the only Dublin team that gets a crowd are Bohs, the Dublin public don't care about the clubs. Maybe Shamrovers will pick up when they get out to Tallaght as they will attract number from Clondalkin and Ballyfermot as well as Tallaght. I am nearly sure i hear Rico saying that the moral victory in Europe did not count anymore recently on MNS maybe but seems to have changed his mind tonight.

For the 2nd leg score Please see the Kdjac post about Drogs losing but the score being 0-0 out there

Oh, and in 24 years Cork City FC have won the league and cup the same number of times as SRFC have in 80. And that's to ignore every other club who have represented Cork. So shove it.
    24 years god that is amazing for you is that a record ?

126 Posts
    We'll still be here next month anyway.

No, that wouldn't please me actually, there is only football.

What sickens me is to see your chairman on telly begging for a return to winter football, using summer footie as a scapegoat because you haven't been run properly. The league has made huge strides on the european stage in past years. We're climbing right up the coefficients table. So **** ye, go back to junior football if you want to play in winter.
    sligo rovers have never played junior football
    sligo rovers have won the league the exact same amount of times as cork city
    sligo rovers is situated in sligo a town with a population of about 1/10th the size of cork and its suburbs.
    sligo rovers are going through a tough time and we don't all follow our chairmans views on summer/winter soccer. i love summer soccer,seing good football ongood pitches in good weather is a joy to behold.
    way to kick us when we're down

126 Posts
    I actually would like to apologise. I sympathise with Sligo's (mostly decent) support base, but I have a rather severe migraine, and this clown was bugging me with his digs on Drogs tonight and summer football. It would be a disaster for anyone who cares about Irish football if Sligo were to go down.

Actually a little birdy told me you were having issues doing that , don't worry you are only new to seeing professional footballers at your club and understanding they need to be paid every week
    That would be the Mocking Bird.

Anyway, no issues with paying players at Pats.
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

More than anything I thought it was a really great game of football played at a very high tempo.

I suppose you could say it was a fair result although Drogheda played very well, especially in the second half.

I thought Zayed played considerably better than he did for Drogs against Derry. Every player from Drogheda upped their performance level significantly but I suppose that is to be expected in European football. Richie Baker worked exceptionally hard tonight.

I suppose Roddy did make some valid points but it's almost as if he was hoping that Drogheda would lose.

If I was in Dublin I would have been at the game. From shots of the Jodi stand, I didn't see many jerseys from other EL clubs. Any approximate attendance figures? 5,000 sounds very low.
    Robbie Hedderman. Arguably the greatest Derry City player of all time...

462 Posts
    Dynamo were too quick in the first half, their movement was just at another level compared to Drogheda. They scored a poor goal in terms of defending, at least let them outplay you and tap it in, always hard to recover from that.

The 2nd half was a bit even to be fair, although Dynamo did have a lot more shots, they did not really threaten the goal enough for a team of their quality. Drogheda pressed them and got into them, and again, gave away a silly goal.

I thought Ewing was hit and miss tonight, did save a few goals at times but the goals that went in were his fault to be honest, he did look a little out of his depth at times.
    Maher and especially Gartland were brilliant, played to their max. Keegan was really good in the 2nd half, broke up a lot of their attacks.

Drogs will do well to lose by a goal out there, I would think.

I actually would like to apologise. I sympathise with Sligo's (mostly decent) support base, but I have a rather severe migraine, and this clown was bugging me with his digs on Drogs tonight and summer football. It would be a disaster for anyone who cares about Irish football if Sligo were to go down.
    apology accepted...
    i only saw the second half as well,but was rather impressed,kiev are a big team and it would have been a rout a few short years ago as put by one of the pundits,can't remember which....the ties dead but hopeflly we'l see another decent show by drogs

Maybe Shamrovers will pick up when they get out to Tallaght as they will attract number from Clondalkin and Ballyfermot as well as Tallaght.
    Ballyfermot is a 10-minute (or less) walk away from Richmond

**** off you Sligo bogger. Of course it's not been worth it for you minnows. But we let ye in the league, isn't that enough. You get your big day out in the city.
    muppet

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Drogheda did well considering the opposition. Hope Celtic get Kiev, cause Im dead sure they would beat them at home too.

Some people on this site are unreal if they are actually were expecting a result tonight. Kiev was a huge step up in class, and the fact that Drogheda made a come back should be something to celebrate.

As fior the match itself, Zayed was useless, and seemed to be always in the wrong place at the wrong time. I thought the substitutions were a bit strange, and cahill (who had a good game) should have been taken off as he was well kanckered with 20 mins to go, he was giving the ball away to many times in the centre of the pitch
    The goalie was well dodgy, some good saves with his feet, but you can imagine a defender would be ****ing himself with Ewing behind him.
    And the Kiev centre backs looked bad. Also did anyone notice how many times Drogheda won high balls against Kiev - that is their weakness.
    Last edited by bennocelt; 30/07/2008 at 11:50 AM.

386 Posts
    Very open game.

RTE's commentary was hysterical at times.

Kiev were given a lot of time on the ball and had an extra swagger about them.

Ewings (if I'm not mistaken started the season as third choice with Drogheda) was at fault for both goals, but he did make a couple of good saves.

Disappointing Drogheda couldn't get the draw but looking forward to seeing what they can do out in Kiev next week.

Isn't it a fair reflection on how well Drogs did and how well the league is doing to say I'm gutted for them. To lose 2-1 to a team of Kiev's european pedigree and be disapointed shows that Irish football should no longer be seen as whipping boys but should be shown some respect.
    IMO it's down to summer football, a debate for another day.
    Drogs fans should be proud of their players and club. They're a credit to the league. Feck the begrudgers.
    Can't see them going through now but miracles have happened before, best of luck to them and to Pat's and Cork, let's all get behind them.
    Esse Quam Videri

Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast