Page 15 of 56 FirstFirst ... 5131415161725 ... LastLast

Thread: eircom League in Europe - 2008

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    No points for Inter-Toto.
    Feic, forgot about that. There are some very obscure points that can be picked up alright in the third round (i think) but not even worth talking about. Its a pity. So fair play to Drogs.

Come on City and Pats !!

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Anyone know what size of crowd was at it ?
    On the radio they were talking about unfamiliar surroundings for Drogs & as an aside mentioned the Jodie was full.

jodi was full, that avbout it, around 100 behind the goal, not a s big as our usuall euor crowd....a lot of non drogs there, john delaney, tracy piggot, the chef from fair city! and a few other fai gangs.....
    played well in second deserved anothe i think...muck in 1st half....positive for 2nd leg but you never know...'they didnt like it up em' as they used to say in dads army...
    thanks for all the 'well dones' in the posts...hopefully we can get through, good luck to pats nad cork i think they will sail thru...

Quote Originally Posted by mandrake View Post
    jodi was full, that avbout it, around 100 behind the goal, not a s big as our usuall euor crowd....a lot of non drogs there, john delaney, tracy piggot, the chef from fair city! and a few other fai gangs.....
    played well in second deserved anothe i think...muck in 1st half....positive for 2nd leg but you never know...'they didnt like it up em' as they used to say in dads army...
    thanks for all the 'well dones' in the posts...hopefully we can get through, good luck to pats nad cork i think they will sail thru...
    Reality check, LT are a very poor side and, considering the wages being paid out by your club, this is a bad result...make no mistake about that. There is no way DUFC will progress. Another moral victory, that's all it is. Bull****.

What? Come back after the second leg!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Higgo View Post
    Reality check, LT are a very poor side and, considering the wages being paid out by your club, this is a bad result...make no mistake about that. There is no way DUFC will progress. Another moral victory, that's all it is. Bull****.
    Thats a fair point I think. LOI clubs should be targeting these types of clubs for cheaper players too.

Kink looks nifty

Bitter much and giving out about wages?

Levadia are not a poor side.Newcastle had trouble putting them out.(Same scoreline as tonight) and they've also had other good scalps in their european adventures.

Was at the match, decent representation from other e.l fans looking at the merchandise.

The drogheda defence is not what it used to be and they could have done with our new centre half out there. Was a very bad mistake to let them in.

They dug themselves out of it in the second half with a good first goal and an opportunistic second. Could and should have been more in the end but drogs will be confident going into the next leg.They are the better side.

Now our turn.

462 Posts
    Kink is one of Estonia's best players alongside Oper.

It is a good result in the end, considering what happened, some teams might have lost confidence etc but Drogs realised their ability and showed it in the 2nd Half, I would be confident of an away goal now.

Well done Drogs, happy to see Faz score for ye.

Good luck pats and City

A moral victory is when you loose, but should really have won - or at least played well above your station and went down gallantly.

Drogs result therefore wasn't a moral victory - it was a victory full-stop.

Thanks Higgo- I was looking for an opportunity to update my profile signature. After the 2nd leg I might just have that opportunity...

When I watched LT against Bohs, they were very poor. My point is that, given this is only the first qualifying round, the wages being paid by our top clubs are way above what results like this suggest they should be. Ok, saying it's a moral victory may be a little premature. However, there is something wrong when you're paying top dollar to players who are failing to knock out teams such as Riga (awful side) and others who are seemingly delighted to beat a mediocre side in LT by such a dangerous scoreline.

I think you're talking moral crap there bud.

Quote Originally Posted by ciaraa View Post
    I think you're talking moral crap there bud.
    Read the second post and give me your response to that?

moral victories are for defeats and draw, thats for our nationanal side, i think our clubs dont really go for moral victories in europe, win or your out.
    we think we should be beating teams from lat/lit/est however soemtimes no matter how much we pay our players here it doesnt matter if they arent as good as other teams....anyway in this situations tallin might have had 6 internationals, but for who ...estonia!! not exactly world beaters...
    i think we should get a result away...funny ol game isnt it

When Drogheda showed some composure in the 2nd half they cut LT apart after some amount of aimless balls early on but will they show that in the second leg?

Doolin will prob go 4-5-1 again, try to pack the defence & hoof the ball clear when they get the chance instead of a more disciplined controlled performance like the 2nd half?

The tie is there for Drogheda I just don't trust them to play it right.

To sum up the relevant results from the 4 countries immediately above us in the rankings last year:
    Latvia - Ventspils beaten 1-0 in Wales by Llanelli
    Bosnia - FK Modrica beat Tirana 2-0 in Albania
    Lithuania - Kaunas beat Santa Coloma 4-1 in Andorra
    Moldova - Sheriff Tiraspol beaten 1-0 in Kazakhstan by Aktobe

2 good and 2 bad so far, fingers crossed our rivals will have a bad time of it in the UEFA as well.
    Foot.ie's entire existence is predicated on the average idiot's inability to ignore other idiots

have to agree re: buying players that would be a good addition that EL clubs pay decent wages too or at least relatve to the others.

Btw fair play to drogheda, great to see a win in terms of moving up the co-efs table.

good luck to st pats and cork tonight, hopefully sneak a win without conceding.

51 Posts
    Lads,

well done to Drogs last night but now we need a win from Pats and Cork today to keep pressure on lithuania and even poland!

cmon pats and cork

49 Posts
    is there any coverage tonight on RTE LW for uefa cup games ????

Page 15 of 56 FirstFirst ... 5131415161725 ... LastLast