Great chance for Harrington tomorrow. Norman will find it tough to put 4 top class rounds in a major back to back at his age.
Choi mightn't have the experience to win it.
I know its way after but I got Harrington at 22/1, so im pretty happy at that, also have Furyk but he is gone of the boil
can still get good value - i put a bit on Simon wakefield at 22/1, considering PP are paying e/w on top 4 at this late stage, and he played very good stuff today
Surprised that PP have Norman joint second fav, i would have him as slight favouriie to be honest, as he was nearly hitting the green all day
anyway all set up for a cracker tomorrow, and no i wont be watching the Ga either!!!![]()
Great chance for Harrington tomorrow. Norman will find it tough to put 4 top class rounds in a major back to back at his age.
Choi mightn't have the experience to win it.
I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?
BTW only recently found out Norman is now married to Chris EvertWierd to have 2 superstars of my sporting youth to get together at this stage.
Harrington 1 ahead after 7. Only 1 over for the day. If someone sets a score like 9 over early on it could be hard to beat!
2 holes up with 3 to play.
The tournements his to throw away
(which rhymes)
I am a poet and i didn't know it.![]()
Looks like he has won it with that shot on the 17th.
Brilliant stuff by Harrington. His second on 17 was just spectacular. He second on 18 wasn't bad either. Great day indeed.
Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.
Excellent last nine particularly the 17th and 18th. Well done Padraig.![]()
Ya brilliant performance by Padraig, outstanding to do it having to contend with the injury!
He really was in a class of his own in the last 4 holes, he would have won even if the Tiger was there, no doubt in my mind.
Irish sportsperson of the millenium so far? Or is that too strong, but I can't think of anyone that can replicate his achievements in any sport in recent years![]()
San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.
well he is deffo the best irish golfer of all time anyway
Fair play to him!
Well done to Ian Poulter aswell. I would have loved to have seen him win it if Harrington didn't.
LESS OF THE BULL NOW!
He is an Irish Legend now![]()
He is up there with the best Irish Sportspeople ever, we rarely compete at the highest level in individual sports so when we get a talent like himself or stephen roche or steve collins we should cherish it and be glad to be able to watch it, back to back opens, not even nicklaus could do that!
I agree, but it kinda depends what you take 'best' to mean. I'm sure he'd admit he's not the most talented Irish golfer ever. But from what I've read over the years and from talking about this with a few (some old) people earlier I've come to the conclusion that he's the most admirable Irish golfer of all time, but that Christy O'Connor Snr had more raw talent. That's no slight on Harrington, just that apparently O'Connor had unbelievable natural talent, but given golf is such a psychological game, for Harrington to conquer that aspect and produce on the big occasion makes him stand-out for me.
Anyway that battle's pretty academic. What's important is that Páidí won! And in quite some style too. From a personal point of view seeing him win was highly emotional as I was away last year so had to read of that victory on the 'net, though I didn't quite cry today. There really is so much to admire about the win, foremost the level he played at for the back nine. Good players can hold it together under pressure, great players thrive and seem to produce, like Harrington did today, extra-special shots when it really counts.
But that doesn't just happen by chance: Coming second so many times makes you look inside yourself, it strengthens your resolve, you learn how to play yourself as much as play golf; spending your life on the range practising different types of shots, different swings, knowing that one day they'll need to be called and relied upon; building your season around majors, forsaking the regular cheque and near-guaranteed Ryder Cup spot that would come with playing every week; trusting your ability enough to be able to smile after getting a silly double-bogey; all the above hint at an exceptional attitude driving different aspects of the game, that on glorious days like today can come together in ecstatic unison.
Anyway, I could go on all day, so I'll just finish by saying well done Pádraig and that we should note that his win was, quite amazingly, the sixth Irish win on the Tour this season. Ireland rules the world. Great days. I haven't been this happy since the glory days of the Eurovision in the mid-90s.![]()
Just can't get excited about Harrington. I think it's the personality bypass and the grating voice. Normally when an Irish person does well at any sport, even tiddlywinks, I sit glued to the tv but didn't bother watching the golf. Harsh I know. "What's good for me is good for my game".
Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.
Very happy for Padraig. But gutted for myself that i didnt back him for 25/1 at the start.... the wrist injury i thought would feck him up, but fair play, well proud of him.
'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'
25/1Who were the favourites for that in Woods' absence?
Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.
he was 33/1 on paddy powers, ragin
Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!