Thread: Irish Award Winners 2008

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by manalishi View Post
    If these guys are so promising what does this say about the new management team which aso excludes Liam Lawrence and includes David Connolly.

THIS IS NOT LOOKING GOOD????
    Very optimistic fella arent ya!!
    Best isnt even a regular starter for the under 21s at the moment so while he has potential it doesnt mean that he merits a place in the squad yet.Tabb could be there but I dont think he would be the difference between us qualifying or not so its not that big a deal that hes not there. Connollys inclusion was surprising but he was never gonna make the final 28 man squad anyway.
    Its really not that complicated!!!

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts

Irish award Winners 2008

He will probably be in Premiership next season.
    http://www.skysports.com/story/0,195...469781,00.html

Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    Very optimistic fella arent ya!!
    Best isnt even a regular starter for the under 21s at the moment so while he has potential it doesnt mean that he merits a place in the squad yet.Tabb could be there but I dont think he would be the difference between us qualifying or not so its not that big a deal that hes not there. Connollys inclusion was surprising but he was never gonna make the final 28 man squad anyway.

The real issue is why was Lawrence not incuded????
    "You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"

52 Posts

Sean St Ledger

Sean St Ledger completed a clean sweep of all the Preston North End Player of the Year Awards, after an outstanding season.

http://www.lep.co.uk/national-footba...est.4039323.jp

Thats excellent news, I confess to not having seen the lad play but I hear people on here rate him highly and this seems to confirm this. Hopefully it can continue. Is he likely to be staying at Preston for the forseeable future?

85 Posts
    Like everyone I hope he gets a move to the premiership, but the likelyhood is that it would be one of the promoted teams and I wouldn't want that either.

I think Bruce was heavily linked with him while at Birmingham and St Ledger was at Peterboro. Hopefully he's still keeping tabs at Wigan.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

fair play to him and nice to see a level of maturity from when he was giggling in the managers office in Big Ron Manager!!
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

think big ron manager did him an injustice the editing made him really bad, good player young and still developing is worth a shout for a ireland panel place but trap will decide so only time will tell
    We control by attitudes positive mental attitudes not by rules.

Didn't have much competition! They are shocking

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kingofkillteely View Post
    Didn't have much competition! They are shocking
    Typical begrugery. Can ya not just say well done to the lad for winning the award
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Tsss, he used an exclamation mark ffs! Hardly the mark of a true begrudger in fairness to the King.

edit; by the way, another Irish player won an award of late; Martin Rowlands won QPR's Player and Supporters Player of the Year Award. And he's one man who had lots of competition!
    Last edited by kingdom hoop; 06/05/2008 at 9:53 PM.

Fourth successive Player of the Year win for Richard Dunne. From Man.City website
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Quote Originally Posted by kingdom hoop View Post
    Tsss, he used an exclamation mark ffs! Hardly the mark of a true begrudger in fairness to the King.

edit; by the way, another Irish player won an award of late; Martin Rowlands won QPR's Player and Supporters Player of the Year Award. And he's one man who had lots of competition!
    And whatabout Liam Lawrence atStoke who didnt even make the Irish 40?
    "You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"

282 Posts
    I'll add to the negativity of king's remark, Hunty has done well, but its just a stark contrast to Doyle and Long who have been pitiful
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

Reading are crap alright, but as long as they stay up, and the Irish lads are playing then I'm happy. Well done Stephen Hunt.

75 Posts

Martin Rowland wins Both QPr

Player of the year awards on Sunday night. Very impressed with Damien Delaney excellent game at full back on Sunday and would definitely be a good option as a squad player.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

93-goal Josh Barrett, who plays for our under 10s, won the Maurice Edelston award for younger age groups.
    Doyle won't be in the team Long!

Nothing on Bojan's underage scoring record at Barca though - 961 goals in 7 seasons apparently

Any Photos from Sunday Nights Dinner Dance? Any rumours going around? Did you get to speak to Rowlands?
    Ciao

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops View Post
    Fourth successive Player of the Year win for Richard Dunne. From Man.City website
    And he was 2nd to Shaun Wright Phillips 5 years ago.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 07/05/2008 at 10:09 AM.