Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

Thread: Limerick: European Capital of Murder 2008

Quote Originally Posted by rebs23 View Post
    I really like Limerick but I always get into arguments with Limerick people about this issue when they say it doesn't affect the majority of law abiding citizens in the city no more than any other city. Unfortunately it does and you are more likely to be the victim of serious crime in Limerick above other cities evn if you have no connections to anything to do with the fueding.
    Nonsense to be honest, having lived in Cork and Dublin as well as Limerick I can honestly say that there is equal, if not more, of a chance of someone starting on you in both those cities as there is in Limerick City. Neither myself or any of my family have ever been a victim of serious crime despite living literally down the road from one of streets commonly associated with the gangs

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208 View Post

But what do i know im an idiot that judges people in hoodies.
    Shhuuutttt uuppp

25 Posts
    Limerickers taking the fued off the streets and onto the web.

Quote Originally Posted by Roadend View Post
    Limerickers taking the fued off the streets and onto the web.
    You may not have a higher chance of being a victim of crime in limerick but you do have a way higher chance of getting into an pointless argument about it !

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208 View Post
    You may not have a higher chance of being a victim of crime in limerick but you do have a way higher chance of getting into an pointless argument about it !
    Moyross is any thread jebus wades into
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    Moyross is any thread jebus wades into
    That's a bit harsh on Moyross isn't it

The statistics which the CSO and the newspapers use are playing on the fact of Fianna Fail non activity in the boundry extension issue. Galway city has expanded many times to meet its needs and has a council housing est population of near 9%. Limerick "city" due to its restricted size by Fianna Fail* has a council est pop of 60% +)Limerick city, is split in 3. Limerick city council (which all the figures are taken from, pop 60,000) Limerick county council, pop 80,000 and that which exists in greater limerick city 30,000) and clare county council of what exists in greater Limerick 20,000+)

* if Willie got his finger out and expanded the city boundries to take in its population, Fianna Fail would lose one TD in west Limerick and one TD in Clare. Willies vote would increase to 40,000+ but his failure to transfer votes to other party members is why he never gets a big ministry. Fianna fail are happy to let Limerick "city" stagnate as long as they keep their quota of TDs.

So why did all the Limerick ppl move to Clare and County Limerick? Wel they didnt actually go, you see Clare county councilors (all of whom are property developers) built new houses (1000s of them) all along the citys borders. This ment that the population of clare rose and also its revenue as road tax now has to go to ennis, while the Limerick cities resources (bus and sewage) is strained by that of another county. Clare will not want to give up its land, not for land sake but for revenue sakes. Likewise Limerick County council who now have most of Limericks high rate payers in its environs. The amount of council ests within the greater Limerick city areas of Clare and County Limerick is under 10%.

Oh and Anto, you live in Clare not Limerick

Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    The statistics which the CSO and the newspapers use are playing on the fact of Fianna Fail non activity in the boundry extension issue....
    ...is the correct answer (as Angus Deaton used say). Top post G353.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

282 Posts
    Well, we have a 15.65 per 100,000 in Chicago
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

Not sure if I agree with you there. Unfortunately there are plenty of pretty horendous examples of innocent people in Limerick having their lives dented and blighted by the problems of serious violence in the city from the 2 kids that got petrol bombed to Brian Fitzgerald to the families that have had to move out of Moyross, Southhill, etc to those that were told not to testify in criminal cases, to those others that were murdered by members of the crime families in unrelated incidents.
    Sigh.......................

Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    The statistics which the CSO and the newspapers use are playing on the fact of Fianna Fail non activity in the boundry extension issue. Galway city has expanded many times to meet its needs and has a council housing est population of near 9%. Limerick "city" due to its restricted size by Fianna Fail* has a council est pop of 60% +)Limerick city, is split in 3. Limerick city council (which all the figures are taken from, pop 60,000) Limerick county council, pop 80,000 and that which exists in greater limerick city 30,000) and clare county council of what exists in greater Limerick 20,000+)
    Not sure what point you're trying to make as the CSO stats is for the Limerick Garda division includes the city and county. If the stats were for the Limerick urban area only they would be far higher as a per head of population basis as crime tends to be concentrated in the urban areas.

The only urban Garda divisions are those in Dublin and the one for Cork City. The comparisons would look a lot worse only for the fact that 83,000 people living in County Limerick are included with the 100,000 living in the city and it's environs for the purposes of the statistics. Have a read of them, Limerick Citys crime problems are therefore watered down statistically due to the inclusion of the country area of Limerick in the stats. I know they don't make for pleasant reading and I'm not slagging.
    eg Rates for 2006
    Murder 3.18 per 100,000 in Limerick City and County, Galway West 1.11, Cork City 1.38, Waterford/Kilkenny 2.16
    Firearms Limerick City and County per 1,000 .69, Galway West .04, Cork City .10 and Waterford/Kilkenny .11
    Aggravated Burglary again Lim .08, Galway .04, Cork .03
    Criminal damage Lim 14.9, Galway 7.24, Cork City 12.13
    Theft from person Lim 1.37, Galway .29, Cork City .79
    Unauthorised taking of vehicle Lim 4.99, Galwway 2.05, cork 2.7
    Burglary (not aggravated) Lim 6.37, Galway 4.9 Cork 4.11
    Robbery of an estb or inst Lim .21, Galway .17 Cork .18
    Remember all the above stats compare Limerick City and County with Galway West and Cork City.

and so on and so on. Sorry lads the stats don't lie

The discussion about the boundary issue, that is also a huge problem in Waterford, Dublin and Cork. None of the city boundaries in Ireland reflect the actual size of the cities except Galway.
    Cork City FC

eg Rates for 2006
    Murder 3.18 per 100,000 in Limerick City and County, Galway West 1.11, Cork City 1.38, Waterford/Kilkenny 2.16
    Firearms Limerick City and County per 1,000 .69, Galway West .04, Cork City .10 and Waterford/Kilkenny .11
    Aggravated Burglary again Lim .08, Galway .04, Cork .03
    Criminal damage Lim 14.9, Galway 7.24, Cork City 12.13
    Theft from person Lim 1.37, Galway .29, Cork City .79
    Unauthorised taking of vehicle Lim 4.99, Galway 2.05, cork 2.7
    Burglary (not aggravated) Lim 6.37, Galway 4.9 Cork 4.11
    Robbery of an estb or inst Lim .21, Galway .17 Cork .18
    Remember all the above stats compare Limerick City and County with Galway West and Cork City.

Some terrible numbers across basically every category. I am sure the serious crime numbers have gone up for 2007-08 too. The only possible mitigating factor could be that Limerick doesn't have a critical mass for say murder so that even a few extra deaths would skew the results however this would not be the case for "minor" crime.

...no but they give some a grand wee stick to beat the place with don't they. I'm not challenging your stats other than to say they confirm nothing new beyond that we have a turf war and tit-for-tat blood feud between a couple of groupings of violent criminals.

Using them to describe "Limerick" as a "murder capital" of "Europe" is as up it's own hole and media-serving as describing Dublin 1 as the most dangerous place in most of Leinster.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345