Page 8 of 13 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Thread: Trapattoni's first (extended) squad announced!

3,501 Posts
    Dunne picked up a hamstring strain, having a scan today

When does he cut some of them?
    Is it just before the friendlies?

Cant understand why Mc Carthy , Lawrence Tabb and Delaney are not in this squad while Miller, Stokes and O'Dea are

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by amaccann View Post
    Is Connolly the only injury from the weekend? I wasn't paying attention over the weekend; it seems odd that he would be the only one out of a squad of 40.
    Connolly was injured weeks, if not months ago
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

Quote Originally Posted by FarBeag View Post
    Cant understand why Mc Carthy , Lawrence Tabb and Delaney are not in this squad while Miller, Stokes and O'Dea are
    I would have liked to see Lawrence there too, but surely Miller and Stokes should be in a 40 man squad, especially Stokes, I know he hasn't had a great season but I think thats partly because Keane doesn't know how to get the best out of him, he ain't a winger ffs, what is it with Keane and playing forwards on the wing?

Farbeag, how are they all in North London?

I don't think you could have seen much of McCarthy if ye think he should be there, he was terrible for charlton at the start of the season and hasn't improved.

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    I don't think you could have seen much of McCarthy if ye think he should be there, he was terrible for charlton at the start of the season and hasn't improved.
    Paddy McCarthy was third in the player of the season poll: http://www.cafc.co.uk/newsview.ink?nid=32289&newstype=p

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    from BBC report on Stoke - Bristol City

"Mamady Sidibe put Stoke ahead in the 14th minute when he headed home Liam Lawrence's precise free-kick. "

he was also booked but its hard to see how he can not be in the top 40 players that can play for ireland. Hes having a great season in a pretty decent team.
    Lawrence was born in England wasnt he? Just wondering how he qualifies for Ireland?

Quote Originally Posted by lionelhutz View Post
    Lawrence was born in England wasnt he? Just wondering how he qualifies for Ireland?
    Liam Lawrence was born in Retford and qualifies for Ireland because of his Irish grandfather, who came from Kerry. He played with Mansfield Town before joining Sunderland for £175,000 in June 2004 and in his first season he made 20 appearances, scored six goals and helped them win promotion to the Premiership. He was an ever-present in 2005/06 season when Sunderland again fell back into the Championship. He has been a member of Ireland’s panel since Stephen Staunton took over as manager. He moved to Stoke City on loan in November 2006 and the transfer was completed in January 2007. He has not figured with Ireland since the squad went to training camp in the Algarve in the summer of the same year.

http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=c...ask=view&id=56

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Farbeag, how are they all in North London?

Paul, He has improved and improved a lot. I have seen a good bit of McCarthy including a few MOTM performances and I believe him to be a better player than McShane, but this is only my opinion of course. We are in trouble if we have to rely on O'Shea to bail us out if required. We need to have backup for Dunne which we don't at present, therefore I suggest both McCarthy and St Ledger. We also need a left back hence Delaney

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    Liam Lawrence was born in Retford and qualifies for Ireland because of his Irish grandfather, who came from Kerry. He played with Mansfield Town before joining Sunderland for £175,000 in June 2004 and in his first season he made 20 appearances, scored six goals and helped them win promotion to the Premiership. He was an ever-present in 2005/06 season when Sunderland again fell back into the Championship. He has been a member of Ireland’s panel since Stephen Staunton took over as manager. He moved to Stoke City on loan in November 2006 and the transfer was completed in January 2007. He has not figured with Ireland since the squad went to training camp in the Algarve in the summer of the same year.

http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=c...ask=view&id=56
    Cheers for that

Liam lawrence makes Championship team of the year! why was he not picked? Does anybody know why?

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tomred23 View Post
    Liam lawrence makes Championship team of the year! why was he not picked? Does anybody know why?
    Yes, cos there are eejits selecting the squad.

Quote Originally Posted by Paddy Garcia View Post
    Yes, cos there are eejits selecting the squad.
    Might have something to do with why he left Sunderland

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Shedender81 View Post
    Might have something to do with why he left Sunderland
    I strongly suspect you are correct. However if we are willing to have Ireland back then I don't see any reason not to have Lawrence. Upsetting Sunderland and Roy should not be a reason for exclusion.

We have not been in a position to be too picky in the past, though Jack certainly made O'Leary wait. McGrath (not comparing him to Lawrence here!) was forgiven and so have many others such as Kennedy and Co.

Given our midfield has been so lightweight recently we really need to try out a player like Lawrence with some urgency.

We have all sorts in there - Potter, Rowlands, Whelan, Miller even Gibson, all far less compelling candidates than Lawrence - currently.

I strongly suspect you are correct. However if we are willing to have Ireland back then I don't see any reason not to have Lawrence. Upsetting Sunderland and Roy should not be a reason for exclusion.

We have not been in a position to be too picky in the past, though Jack certainly made O'Leary wait. McGrath (not comparing him to Lawrence here!) was forgiven and so have many others such as Kennedy and Co.

Given our midfield has been so lightweight recently we really need to try out a player like Lawrence with some urgency.

We have all sorts in there - Potter, Rowlands, Whelan, Miller even Gibson, all far less compelling candidates than Lawrence - currently.
    Lawrence is a winger. He's behind Duff, MacGeady, Hunt, Ireland and Reid.

Reid and Ireland arent wingers or shouldnt be played there anyway.

Trap has spoken to QPR's Italian manager Luigi de Canio about him, and Tardelli savoured two QPR games where Rowlands was his typically impressive, inspiring self. But more than the benefits arising from QPR's Italian revolution, being the key cog (captain and midfield dynamo) in turning a side that looked doomed to relegation a few months back to a comfortable mid-table one suggests Rowlands (on form and personality) merits a place in the squad.

I'm not necessarily saying he's better than Lawrence, but that the somewhat denigrating "all sorts" tag is a little harsh.

On the subject of QPR players, I think Damien Delaney's exclusion was a mistake given the paucity of defenders in the squad and his excellent form over the past four months. Tardelli went to QPR's game last week against Charlton, a game that many said Delaney was MOM in, so if there are a few defensive withdrawals I'd say Delaney might be called up. And rightly so.

2,796 Posts
    Yes, I was sure that Trap/Tardelli and De Canio would have been in contact so I was surprised neither QPR lad made it. I wonder does Delaney regret leaving Hull?! Their march up the table seems to have coincided with his departure.

To be honest, excited as I am about the new regime, I get the impression that between them all they simply don't know yet the full options available to them. There were a few in the squad I was disappointed with and a few outside I'd expect to have been included.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Yes, I was sure that Trap/Tardelli and De Canio would have been in contact so I was surprised neither QPR lad made it. I wonder does Delaney regret leaving Hull?! Their march up the table seems to have coincided with his departure.

To be honest, excited as I am about the new regime, I get the impression that between them all they simply don't know yet the full options available to them. There were a few in the squad I was disappointed with and a few outside I'd expect to have been included.

OF course thats only natural, but hopefully they will learn from this and cop on. Its hard with the little coverage outside of the premiership - even top half of premiership - to learn about/gauge players unless you are going to all the games. Time will only tell on this.

Page 8 of 13 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast