Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: John Rooney

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by stiofain View Post
    Not too impressed with this. Surely he dosent qualify anyway, if its only his grandmothers people that are from Derry?
    I'm second generation Irish myself, but to be honest, i find it a bit embarassing when people try to 'claim' Rooney, Keown and thier like as one of our own.
    Each to thier own, in my opinion. I'm extremely proud to call myself Irish but i've met other people who have similar parentage to myself and arent particulary bothered.
    All Rooney's people from both sides are Irish decent, think the grandmother's name is actually Fitzsimons(?) and that's on his Mum's side, he has 26 county roots on his father's side.

As for the Keowns, I know people in London who knew the family and they were pillars of the Irish community over there, there was a lot of surprise and disapointment when he declared for England.

Agree with your last point, I have 2G mates who consider themselves totally Irish, others who support Ireland and England (cop out imo) and others who follow England, as you say, each to their own....

3,340 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by anto1208 View Post
    The FAI where alerted to Rooney Sr but as usual didnt bother there arse getting him to declare.

John Rooney was realeased at the time of Rooney joining UTD i had thought he went with him. He played in midfield at everton
    I'm convinced I read an article on tribalfootball.com ages ago that the FAI had approached Everton for documents on his parentage, but found out he wasn't eligible because he had already played competitive underage football for England

1,916 Posts
    Not too impressed with this. Surely he dosent qualify anyway, if its only his grandmothers people that are from Derry?
    I'm second generation Irish myself, but to be honest, i find it a bit embarassing when people try to 'claim' Rooney, Keown and thier like as one of our own.
    Each to thier own, in my opinion. I'm extremely proud to call myself Irish but i've met other people who have similar parentage to myself and arent particulary bothered.
    One Grandmother from Derry is enough.
    Alex Bruce has a Grandmother born in the North.
    It is on the outer edge of the qualification criteria but I get a kick out of it when they turn down the OWC.

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    It is on the outer edge of the qualification criteria but I get a kick out of it when they turn down the OWC.
    Can opener produced, can opened, escaped worms all over the keyboard...

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ciaran View Post
    Agree. In modern times Andy O Brien is a good example of a "career move" Irish player while Kilbane is an example of the exact opposite, someone who's genuinely Irish despite not being born here.
    Not to mention someone else, who I've seen in a photo with Robbie playing Gaelic Football
    Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    Pretty sure Tim Cahill's brother plays for Samoa.
    Yeah, and Tim played in an underage match for them and that nearly ruined his Aussie career. Then they changed the rule making him eligible

Dont forget about Adam Rooney and Anthony Gerrard as well
    Last edited by theworm2345; 28/03/2008 at 1:22 AM.
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by theworm2345 View Post
    Dont forget about Adam Rooney
    What about him?

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by livehead1 View Post
    What about him?
    He is supposed to be pretty good, his name is Rooney, I don't know what else
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    877 Posts
    He is supposed to be pretty good, his name is Rooney, I don't know what else
    Adam Rooney was born in Dublin
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Dont forget about Adam Rooney and Anthony Gerrard as well[/QUOTE]

As i've stated already Gerrard was called up and might have played in an underage friendly some years ago but they then found out that he didn't qualify
    I have a head only Snow White would love

i have to agree with the poster who said it sounds like he is trying to enhance his career, nevermind the age.

130 Posts
    Not to mention someone else, who I've seen in a photo with Robbie playing Gaelic Football
    That certain individual who connections with Ireland are dodgy enough, has always given his all for us, more than can be said of a few of the Irish born lads. Also scored a few important goals on the way, hope Trap brings him back into the squad in the coming months, still has something to offer imo.

Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    That certain individual who connections with Ireland are dodgy enough, has always given his all for us, more than can be said of a few of the Irish born lads. Also scored a few important goals on the way, hope Trap brings him back into the squad in the coming months, still has something to offer imo.
    I'm not sure but given theworms track record I thought he was on about connolly. HOwever I heard that clint was supposed to be quite good at it. Reminds me of a GF club over here actually, called dulwich harps, they have a youth setup, where there are quite a few Irish 2gs, however all these black lads are way better than them at the game with no Irish background at all.....more than half the team to be precise!

Yeah, and his dad has an england 'B' cap. Back then it was enough to tie you to that country if you get capped at 'B'. I'm not sure what the criteria is now.
    Esse Quam Videri

1,916 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Denis The Red View Post
    Yeah, and his dad has an england 'B' cap. Back then it was enough to tie you to that country if you get capped at 'B'. I'm not sure what the criteria is now.
    We are experts on the criteria now after having had to teach it to our OWC brethren in a 100 page thread.

Once a player has an "A" level cap, (friendly or competitive) then there is no switching.
    A player capped at youth level and B level for England
    can switch allegiance to Ireland as long as he make the switch before the age of 21 years.

We are experts on the criteria now after having had to teach it to our OWC brethren in a 100 page thread.
    We've not heard from that lot for a while. When they re-surface I'm sure their friendly win over Georgia will get repeated reference within the coming months - possibly within a new 100 page thread.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    Sh1t, remember that now, am I imagining it of did he have an England jersey on as well that night? The red one? Or am I thinking of that sap Ray Shah who wore one for half the summer on Big Brother and got rightly slated for it?
    That "sap" Ray Shah is a close friend of mine so, unless you know him, less of the "sap" please. In any case Ray was born in Tilbury in Essex and lived there until he was 11 so he's every right to regard himself as English.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

41 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy View Post
    That "sap" Ray Shah is a close friend of mine so, unless you know him, less of the "sap" please. In any case Ray was born in Tilbury in Essex and lived there until he was 11 so he's every right to regard himself as English.

PP
    Well thats him out of the reckoning for our problem left back position then!!

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    Adam Rooney was born in Dublin
    Yes...don't forget about him, we could have two Rooneys up front someday (though I heard John prefers midfield)

Quote Originally Posted by SunderlandBohs View Post
    Dickson Etuhu plays for Nigeria and his brother Kelvin plays for England U21. I think the Kalou brothers are the same. One plays for Holland and the other plays for the Ivory Coast. Open to correction on that one. You're right not to get excited about Rooney's brother. Maccelsfield is about his level according to the Silkmen's fans. It kind of stinks of "I'm not good enough to play for England so I'll opt for Ireland instead".
    They both play for Côte d'Ivoire but Salomon wanted to play for Holland. He got rejected by FIFA and played in the last Cup of Nations
    Last edited by theworm2345; 28/03/2008 at 12:22 PM.
    My Guarantee

Yeah, im aware of that but i assume that by the article saying her people were from Derry, that herself would have been born elsewhere.

I dont want to take this two far off topic but say John Rooneys grannie is eligible for an Irish passport and she applies and gets one. Does that then mean that John Rooney is eligible for an Irish passport coz his grandmother has one? If you get what I mean?
    Newtown Celtic FC RIP (1992-2007)

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast